Drummy

From afl.com.au

Freo marching to the beat of a different Drum
6:02 PM Sun 22 July, 2007 | Back

By Geoff Dodd

for fremantlefc.com.au

THE LAST time the name Drum was associated with mid-season upheaval at Fremantle, the result was a bit different.

It was round nine, 2001, and Damian Drum was sacked as Dockers coach after 53 games in charge and a winless start to the season. Drum was replaced by Ben Allan for the rest of 2001, but unlike yesterday’s turnaround, the club recorded another eight straight losses. Allan was eventually succeeded by Chris Connolly.

This week saw the departure of Connolly, but perhaps the arrival of another Drum – Damian’s nephew, Marcus – whose four goals against the Crows helped the Dockers to a memorable 25-point win, breathing life into an ailing season.

Drafted at pick 10 in the NAB AFL Draft at the end of 2005, Marcus Drum played five matches in his debut season. He hadn’t been able to find a spot in the Fremantle side in the opening 15 rounds of 2007, but found out on Wednesday – in the middle of the drama surrounding Connolly’s resignation – that he’d be getting a chance this week.

It was an opportunity he took with both hands, with plenty of game time and four unexpected goals. In fact, he bagged four goals from four kicks (Drum’s other seven possessions were all handballs).

Drum, though, wasn’t keen to play up his role in the perhaps season-defining win.

“[Kicking four goals] was great, but it was our leaders who really stood up today. It was really their day, and a day to repay Chris and get a win,” Drum said.

“It was a pretty emotional week and at the end of it we got the four points.”

Caretaker coach Mark Harvey is clearly a rap for the 20-year-old.

“You don’t budget for Drum kicking four goals, but he’s got a great head on his shoulders,” Harvey said after the game.

“I don’t want to go over the top with him at the moment because he’s still learning, but he was a No.10 draft pick and he just handles situations really well when the moments present themselves.”

Harvey’s faith in Drum was illustrated when he assigned him the tough task of minding Andrew McLeod early. That move perhaps didn’t pay off, and Shaun McManus was switched to the champion Adelaide half-back, but Drum just shifted focus to a new role as a support forward.

“That was the role early, to watch McLeod,” Drum said. “It was off to a bit of a shaky start – he played very well. But then after that I was just predominantly playing as a forward.

“To have guys like Pav [Matthew Pavlich] and Taz [Chris Tarrant] and Solly [Dean Solomon] and Dessie Headland and these guys around you in the forward line it makes it a lot easier.”

In particular the captain was an inspiration.

“[Pavlich] was sensational. It’s been a tough week for him. And the way he stood up today away from Perth was just sensational. To kick five goals was a tremendous effort – a true skipper’s performance, leading by example.”

Drum said new coach Harvey handled the pre-game “very, very well”, keeping the message simple.

“It was just simple. Stick to our basics and make it a memorable day for Peter Bell, for his 300th official game. And just make sure we get something out of it.

“Everyone here believes our season is still alive. It was a must-win game for us, and we just had to do the job.”

Next up for Freo is the rampant Geelong.

“They’re going to be super-tough,” Drum said. “They’re in red-hot form, but we’re on our home deck. We’ll give them a lot of respect, but hopefully we can come away with a win.”

Drum says the self-belief in the Fremantle team was given a huge fillip by the win over the Crows, and the way it was achieved.

“I think we just lived up to the potential that we do have, today,” he said. “There’s a true belief that we can definitely go somewhere and that our season’s still alive.”

Stepped up to the next level (Just like I thought he would... ;)). :thumbsu:

Fought back after a bad turnover and giving away a free early in the game. Well done young man - 4 goals; a couple of ripper contested marks.

Onya Drummy! :thumbsu:
The worst thing about Drum's four goals is you were right in your same old, same old thread where you reckon we needed to try something new. If this keeps up you'll look like a legend.

Here's to you looking like a legend. ;)

The worst thing about Drum's four goals is you were right in your same old, same old thread where you reckon we needed to try something new. If this keeps up you'll look like a legend.

Here's to you looking like a legend. ;)

Why is it "the worst" thing? :confused: That's a bit harsh, isn't it?

:(

I wanna see Drummy bulk up a bit more and play Wing/Midfield. He has the pace!

Do Freo supporters ever learn?

Same mistakes over and over...

This time last year: "Sandi will win Brownlow", this week: "Warnock will win Brownlow"

Last preseason: "Play MJ and Mundy in midfield because they are tall and quick", this week: "Play Drum in midfield". Its not that easy girls and boys, surely Drum would be playing midfield at WAFL level if he had any chance of making it there in the AFL given Freo's lack of mids.

You again Davie??

Do you hang around with us here cos no-one else likes you?

Cos if that's the case, I'll let you in on a little secret. We don't like you either...

And we really don't care much for your over-blown, largely inaccurate opinions and pontifications.

You again Davie??

Cos if that's the case, I'll let you in on a little secret. We don't like you either...

And we really don't care much for your over-blown, largely inaccurate opinions and pontifications.
What are we doing to attract theses types?

It's becoming worse than redneck radio.

Because I was telling you it wouldn't make any difference. :o

I'm very disappointed you don't remember every single word I say ;). I thought females were good at filling in the gaps :).

Maybe I'm just not into "I told you so"s. :)

(But I am very good at filing things away for future reference / usage as sharp-tongued weaponry... ;)).

I know. My initial comment was obviously a way-too-obtuse-attempt at ensuring your percipicacity did not go unoticed. I was being complimentary.

As usual I just got myself into more trouble. :o

Now I need to consult the dictionary... :eek:

But if you say that you complimented my percipicacity... then thank you. :)

(I think.)

It would help if you could spell it right ralphie... sheesh, makes it hard to look it up when I can't even plug in the correct spelling... :p

perspicacity n. Acuteness of perception, discernment, or understanding.

Why thanks. But don't go saying anything nice too regularly. I'll get a big head, and might start telling people "I told you so". ;)

This time last year: "Sandi will win Brownlow", this week: "Warnock will win Brownlow"

Last preseason: "Play MJ and Mundy in midfield because they are tall and quick", this week: "Play Drum in midfield". Its not that easy girls and boys, surely Drum would be playing midfield at WAFL level if he had any chance of making it there in the AFL given Freo's lack of mids.

Hey mate, no one cares what you think, don't let the door hit you on the arse on the way out.

You again Davie??

Thats right attack the man not the logic because you know Im right.

No you think you're right... but you're wrong on so many levels.

The first level being that you actually think we care what you think.

Ouch. Shutdown.

I dont want to turn this into a slanging match but I do think you are being overly critical of me. I may be construed as being anti-freo but I put to you that I merely act as a devils advocate.

Ouch. Shutdown.

I dont want to turn this into a slanging match but I do think you are being overly critical of me. I may be construed as being anti-freo but I put to you that I merely act as a devils advocate.

No, again you might think that you are playing the devil's advocate. But you can't see past your own bluenyella ego to see that you are condescending, patronising, disrespectful, and often downright rude when offering your "opinions".

You tell us why we should take on board one single thing you say, or enter into any kind of sensible discussion with you, when it comes across as out and out trolling in the way it is delivered?

No, again you might think that you are playing the devil's advocate. But you can't see past your own bluenyella ego to see that you are condescending, patronising, disrespectful, and often downright rude when offering your "opinions".

You tell us why we should take on board one single thing you say, or enter into any kind of sensible discussion with you, when it comes across as out and out trolling in the way it is delivered?

I'm over this. I am not a WC supporter. I dont think my posts are condescending, you obviously do but I cant change how you take my opinion. Please look at my previous posts on this board, they are not made in a rude or obtrusive manner. They merely tug at the strings of many Freo faithful because its true.

You cant deny that MJ and Mundy were seen as midfield savious can you? And you cant deny that you people were claiming Sandi would be a Brownlow medalist.

And if you claim that Mark Harvey had a major impact on that game then I'd love to know how when it was the match committee as a whole that picked the side, not just Mark.

If I am wrong about these points I apologise but I think you'll find that everything I say gets at least some positive feedback from Freo faithful.

You used to have West Coast as your club in your profile.

And please tell me how we were supposed to interpret your description of our club as "this pig pen of a club"? That was sure positive... :rolleyes:

And Sandi may yet be a Brownlow medallist - who knows? I, for one, have never thought that - but that's beside the point. Don't all supporters talk up their players - over-rate some, have a bit of a laugh over "just how good" others are going to be? Who appointed you as the person to "keep their expectations in line"? No-one here as fair as I know. Oh, that's right - it was you...:rolleyes: At the moment Sandi has a groin injury - just like Mr 11 possessions in the past few games Judd has a groin injury. Here's something you might find hard to comprehend - it affects their output! :eek:

And IIRC, we were hoping that MJ and Mundy might be good in the midfield. Tall, reasonably quick, good skills, decent motors... we are all well aware of what the deficiencies in our midfield are, and sure it's exciting when we think there might be players who could fill the void and provide us with the missing link. AFAIK, no-one was calling them "saviours" or expecting instant success.

So if you're prepared to change your tone a little, then post away. But you lost this particular poster with the "pig-pen of a club" comment, and until you lose the patronising disrespect, then I'm afraid my opinion of you will not change a whole lot.

Pig pen comment was out of line. But it was the description told to me by a wafl club official and I found it quite humerous.

(ps never had WC as my club. No reason to ?)

OK, maybe I was wrong about the WC thing - but your comments certainly have a WC bent to them.

And maybe you should think about what we, on our board, will find humorous, and what we will find disrespectful and derogatory towards the club we support.

Because at the end of the day, you are a visitor to our board, and there are board rules which need to be adhered to.

(And your WAFL club official mate is quite clearly a low-class cultureless moron.) :)

OK, maybe I was wrong about the WC thing - but your comments certainly have a WC bent to them.

And maybe you should think about what we, on our board, will find humorous, and what we will find disrespectful and derogatory towards the club we support.

Because at the end of the day, you are a visitor to our board, and there are board rules which need to be adhered to.

(And your WAFL club official mate is quite clearly a low-class cultureless moron.) :)

A function where you have to have your team listed before you can post on a club board would be pretty useful. We seem to have more and more 'clubless' people on here who think it's their duty to provide us with their pearls of wisdom - I'd suggest they are getting almost as bad as the weagles fans. If you don't have the guts to declare who you support, what makes you think we will have any respect for your opinions? (Particularly when all you do is bag the club)

Thats right attack the man not the logic because you know Im right.

Ouch. Shutdown.

I'm over this. I am not a WC supporter. I dont think my posts are condescending, you obviously do but I cant change how you take my opinion. Please look at my previous posts on this board, they are not made in a rude or obtrusive manner. They merely tug at the strings of many Freo faithful because its true.

You cant deny that MJ and Mundy were seen as midfield savious can you? And you cant deny that you people were claiming Sandi would be a Brownlow medalist.

And if you claim that Mark Harvey had a major impact on that game then I'd love to know how when it was the match committee as a whole that picked the side, not just Mark.

If I am wrong about these points I apologise but I think you'll find that everything I say gets at least some positive feedback from Freo faithful.

Pig pen comment was out of line. But it was the description told to me by a wafl club official and I found it quite humerous.

(ps never had WC as my club. No reason to ?)

First Of.... You are no where near as funny as the fictional character you take your BigFooty name from so from the outset you are false advertising.
IP has you lined up & tagged and she is quite right.
I had a look at alot of your posts.. You seem to troll here and gift us your unwanted wisdom and self righteous pontifications. You visit the WCE board a fair bit posting non negativie comments and discussing general team matters. You go to a few other team boards as well.
You have recently posted pictures of what you call Freo fans in a negative tone - you deny in your own rebuttals to IP that you never have abused us and have no agenda, but you generalise all Freo' fans together and you take what you might read as one persons comment and then you alledge that all Freo fans think this way. If you can't name you team then just so off - because you are a troll davie....
who is your team davie?