DT 2011 Backs Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Thorgils

Its based on last years winning total and this years salary if you have 22 players that improve by 15 you win (based on last year). If you have 11 that stay steady and 11 that improve by 30 than you also win (based on 2010).

hey guys i know this is the wrong thread to post this in really, and i didnt want to start a whole new one, but i think this poses an interesting idea. i have created a team as food for thought of who i think can improve their average between 10-20 ppg. will also help everyone out i guess in picking mid-pricers and we can see people's opinions on them. here's the team.

Gibbs - at 96 avg, i think he can push to 105. bout time the no.1 draft pick became a real elite DTer
Broughton - more midfield time = more dt points
Malceski - the recruitment of Everitt should see him push into the middle more often
Grimes - only concern is injury prone
Brad Sheppard - absolute gun. priced at an average of 57. can easily push to about 70/75 this year. another full preseason under his belt and wc will look to put the ball into his hands
Otten - thats a given
Heppel - given

Markovic - moved well and looked the goods in NAB cup, provides B/F versatility
Toy/Coad - whoever looks to play rnd 1
Duigan/Puopolo

Stanton - new coach and gameplan seems to have helped his scoring and bigger tank = racking up cheap possies down back
Bartel - very uncertain about him. in and out of my team constantly. will he perform better of worse without ablett?
Jack - again very unsure, could very well average 100. will watch closely
Sidebottom - absolute gun who will receive no attention whatsoever and will rack it up in a dominant side.
Sherman - we all know what this guy can do, its jsut whether he pulls it together. new team, playing in a midfield where he wotn get tagged at all unlike at brisbane. can easily improve on an avg of 66.
David Swallow - pffft

Dan Harris
Mzungu
Atley/Callinan

Cox - injury free and good preseason. should push back up to around 105 average again
Ryder - guys only 23 and gettin better and better every year. love this bloke, such a good player to watch :)

Zac Smith
Some random rookie (Moran, Redden, Derickx etc)

Sylvia - could this be the year where he blows the competition open?
Franklin - with Hale upfowward he will be pushing up the ground gettin cheap marks and kicks all over the place like in intra club match.
Riewoldt - surely can avg over 100 this year
Okeefe - i know it breaks over 30 rule but this guy is an exception, huge tank, injury free this year.
Zaharakis - looked the goods in Nab, put on weight, moved well through the middle
Knights - bargain if he doesnt get injured
Veszpremi - Bulldogs traded hard early for him so he will play. played two very good games in opening nab round. will take brad johnsons spot?

Mckernan - may not play but atm provides B/F link with Markovic
Matera
Richardson

atm i have 172k in the bank. could possibly upgrade sherman or zaharakis or even a backmen with the money. was looking at squeezing sewell in their somwhere. priced at an average, can easily do better than that, as long as he is not given defensive duties.

Like i said guys this is just food for thought and this discussion about people who we think may improve can help everyone out. thoughts people? any changes you would make?

My back line at the moment

Goodard Gibbs Rawlings Enright Duffield Otten Duigan (Puopolo Batchelor Toy)

Not sold on Deledio as I think he may struggle to improve as I don't see Richmond going any better than last year.

Duffields vs Broughton almost an even money bet but most have Broughton so Duffield is a little bit unique.

Not convinced about Batchelor yet but gives me room to have Polec in the midfield whereas if I had Coad then I couldn't.

I have as my starting back

Goddard (expect to avg 105), Gibbs (100), Deledio (95), J Russell (92), Sheppard (90), Heppel (80), Toy (80)

Happy to start with Heppel & Toy who i expect to play 22 games if fit and average around the 80 mark so better than getting a seasoned player who will be 300k who will average the same. I have Puopolo in as an emergency only because of the spruik on here, but still needing 2 more emergencies, who are the best >100k options.

I have as my starting back

Goddard (expect to avg 105), Gibbs (100), Deledio (95), J Russell (92), Sheppard (90), Heppel (80), Toy (80)

Happy to start with Heppel & Toy who i expect to play 22 games if fit and average around the 80 mark so better than getting a seasoned player who will be 300k who will average the same. I have Puopolo in as an emergency only because of the spruik on here, but still needing 2 more emergencies, who are the best >100k options.

I think expecting Sheppard 90, Heppell and Toy 80 might be overestimating them a bit.

Otten is very cheap and would likely be better cover than a sub 100k player if you like him.

I think expecting Sheppard 90, Heppell and Toy 80 might be overestimating them a bit.

Otten is very cheap and would likely be better cover than a sub 100k player if you like him.

I am expecting huge things from Sheppard, was drafted by WC with pick 7 in 2009 in what now looks a very strong draft, was very solid last year despite being rotated a fair bit through the interchange, expect him to be a starting player and play way more game time this year. I reckon his points per minute played last year would have him very highly rated. Toy & Heppel are both ball winners so if they are given game time no reason why they shouldnt be averaging 80+

Otten could be a good option, will just have to see if I have $$ left over to be able to afford him.

If you only expect goddard to average 105, I would pick him from the get go.

Ill wage anything that neither Toy/Heppell average over 80.

i dont think Stanley is a great option unless he tears up the NAB cup. I was right on board when i saw his most recent NAB stats, then i realised it was against GWS, while against Sydney he only managed 18 points.

If you're confident Toy will be a mainstay throughout the first half of the year (which i am) then id go with him

hey guys i know this is the wrong thread to post this in really, and i didnt want to start a whole new one, but i think this poses an interesting idea. i have created a team as food for thought

Thats all i try and do, otherwise everyone plays the game the same and selects the same players. Diversity is great and needed right now in the DT game and the great thing about it, is any strategy can win. Midprice being one of them and usually win 2/3 past years. Whys that because to win you need to take these risk, otherwise if your really good youll finish between 10th and 150th the rest of your life, no one aims to be second best.

Could it be said that to win this game you need to take risk with a few midpricers.

Looking back at the last 3 years.

Thats all i try and do, otherwise everyone plays the game the same and selects the same players. Diversity is great and needed right now in the DT game and the great thing about it, is any strategy can win. Midprice being one of them and usually win 2/3 past years. Whys that because to win you need to take these risk, otherwise if your really good youll finish between 10th and 150th the rest of your life, no one aims to be second best.

Could it be said that to win this game you need to take risk with a few midpricers.

Looking back at the last 3 years.

Would be interesting to see the winner from last years round 1 team.

Does anyone else think Fisher will be a good buy this year with Gilbert moving forward? I had both last year so watched a lot of Saints game (ughh). Gilbert stole a lot of his cheap marks and kicks across the D50. Of course it could be a failed experiment with Gilbert and he could move back very easily.

It's either Grimes or Fisher for my last spot. Grimes has looked very good this preseason but I feel Fisher might be a bit safer. Can Grimes play 20+ games? He might have more upside with his scoring but that's where the gamble lies.

Does anyone else think Fisher will be a good buy this year with Gilbert moving forward? I had both last year so watched a lot of Saints game (ughh). Gilbert stole a lot of his cheap marks and kicks across the D50. Of course it could be a failed experiment with Gilbert and he could move back very easily.

It's either Grimes or Fisher for my last spot. Grimes has looked very good this preseason but I feel Fisher might be a bit safer. Can Grimes play 20+ games? He might have more upside with his scoring but that's where the gamble lies.

Well I think if you have Goddard go Grimes.......if no Goddard get Fisher. That's just me anyway.......

Have trouble with that 5th spot........250k to spend....Sheppard, Suban, Moore, Urquhart, Whitecross, Reid.....some of the names I'm looking at but struggling to find any with some 'real' upside other than just consistent scoring???? Any thoughts?

Nick MALCESKI (Sydney Swans - Defender) $355,800 Knee Injury - Out for 12 weeks

As I see it, that means at the earliest he MAY be back for Round 9, given it is a knee injury, give him another 2 weeks before he is match fit and his confidence has been boosted,

So he wont hit his straps until atleast Round 11, neally mid season. I suggest anyone who has him in their team, to trade him out NOW

:thumbsu:

I'd say no. With Gilbert moving forward, Fisher could have to play as a tall stopper a lot more. He won't just be like Gilbert, able to run off him for the mark knowing someone else is back there covering his man. Could see a drop in Fishers points possibly.

Nick MALCESKI (Sydney Swans - Defender) $355,800 Knee Injury - Out for 12 weeks

As I see it, that means at the earliest he MAY be back for Round 9, given it is a knee injury, give him another 2 weeks before he is match fit and his confidence has been boosted,

So he wont hit his straps until atleast Round 11, neally mid season. I suggest anyone who has him in their team, to trade him out NOW

:thumbsu:

and watch his price drop as he sees less game time and touches of the ball during his immediate return. :)

could be sub-300k by mid-season.

Damn Malceski.

I certainly wont be starting any more than 4 premiums down back. To many quality top scoring backs who are going to become dirt cheap that are all top 10-15 on avg.

and watch his price drop as he sees less game time and touches of the ball during his immediate return. :)

could be sub-300k by mid-season.

From what i've heard, he takes a while to get his confidence back up on the footy field, so i'd be suprised if he doesnt fall below $300k after he plays his 3 games midseason. could be a smokey to select leading up to the Dreamteam Finals

With Gilbert going forward, it does look like Tommy Walsh will take his place down back. Well that's what they are saying in the media

I'd say no. With Gilbert moving forward, Fisher could have to play as a tall stopper a lot more. He won't just be like Gilbert, able to run off him for the mark knowing someone else is back there covering his man. Could see a drop in Fishers points possibly.

I don't think that would particularly matter too much. Gilbert played as a loose 3rd tall even with Fisher there and picked off marks, etc. He's not really a negating KPD. Fisher plays that role but he can still get free and get his kicks. I think he will rack up more uncontested marks across D50 if Gilbert is not roaming the area and hence his scoring will improve. Don't know how long that move will last though. Might just go Grimes.

With Gilbert going forward, it does look like Tommy Walsh will take his place down back. Well that's what they are saying in the media

Yeah, I wouldn't be banking on Walsh to hold down the fort. I also don't know how well Gilbert will go up forward. Don't think it's his best position. As already mentioned he could be an upgrade target if his scoring drops and he moves back again to his normal role.

From what i've heard, he takes a while to get his confidence back up on the footy field, so i'd be suprised if he doesnt fall below $300k after he plays his 3 games midseason. could be a smokey to select leading up to the Dreamteam Finals

I wouldn't expect Mal to be a good pick-up at any point this season. Perhaps an option in 2012.