Toast Duffy

• Thread starter Thread starter estibador

Just heard Matty Lloyd on the radio and he said he coached Duffy as part of the ais squad, and that he was impossible to coach as wouldn't do the team thing. Also that Lyon is the perfect coach for him and has done wonders...

But Lyon doesn't develop yoof!

Yep heard him on Footy Classified said he wouldn't have survived if he had gone to a GWS or Gold Coast. So I think we can safely say that he was a real talent with a real attitude problem, clearly the penny fell last pre-season when he dedicated himself to be a professional footy player. He can make it.

A mates Dad was telling me last night that he coached him at Rossmoyne and that he was a bit of a rebel to coach and massive hog but a bloody good player.

Anyway, not to damper Duffy's achievement by any means. He must have just been another teenage draftee with a slight attitude problem. He is certainly not the first and won't be the last so good on him for making the adjustment.

However, in fairness to Max, I doubt I would of taken Lloydy too seriously if he was coaching me.

For some reason Nick Davis came to mind and that amazing couple of minutes he had against Geelong in the finals in 2005.
Duffy strikes me as the type that could not do much over a match and then just light it up at a crucial time.
He seems to have the temperament and skills for big moments. Teamed with Son Son and Balla with Mayne and Croz further up the ground that is a pretty scary forward half if we can find a couple of big blokes to go with them.

I thought Duffy was meant to be a bit of a douche? Was that just someone extrapolating from a "selfish" playing style or something? Seems pretty classy to me.
There was never any reference made to his character, just to his play style being very selfish when he was drafted. I remember comments being made that he would try to do the freakish thing, which may or may not come off.

Clearly he has elevated his game to AFL standard. Impressive considering he missed most of the season through injury.

Been looking forward to seeing him play ever since he was drafted.

I was not disappointed at all. Great first game, not perfect but really good. Best debut we have had for a few years IMHO.

A mates Dad was telling me last night that he coached him at Rossmoyne and that he was a bit of a rebel to coach and massive hog but a bloody good player.

Anyway, not to damper Duffy's achievement by any means. He must have just been another teenage draftee with a slight attitude problem. He is certainly not the first and won't be the last so good on him for making the adjustment.

However, in fairness to Max, I doubt I would of taken Lloydy too seriously if he was coaching me.

It's all a bit unfair bringing negatives up when he's played a great role for Freo and, personally, a very touching set of things... but yeah, I'm pretty sure he was originally at the Demons or West Perth and he and his old man walked off to Easts because they thought they were being hard done by or something. Really couldn't care even if he was a prick or arrogant in all honesty, as long as they're good footballers. The fact a majority of guys at Freo are good people is a great benefit. The only prick is also the shittest player we've played all season so...

Wasn't meant to rag him, it was more to point out that even IF he was arrogant coming to the club, it took a lot of character to realise that the club is far more important than a single player and you either adapt or get left behind. I reckon there'd be a tonne of blokes who come in thinking they are going to take the league by storm and are just chewed up and spat out never to be seen again.

I loved when Duffy kicked his second goal, the commentators were in genuine shock with "It's Duffy!!!". I was also surprised!

Similar reaction when he fed off the Ballantyne goal (I think), thought it was Neale at first the hands were that good.

kind of glad it was BT. Much as he can be annoying he's great for those kind of games when someone comes from the clouds. Remember how pumped he was during Barlow's first season.

Just heard Matty Lloyd on the radio and he said he coached Duffy as part of the ais squad, and that he was impossible to coach as wouldn't do the team thing. Also that Lyon is the perfect coach for him and has done wonders...

But Lyon doesn't develop yoof!
Good thing we've got development coaches then.

Seppo already touched on this but here is an article about Duffy donating half his match payment to HeartKids WA in tribute to a close mate who passed away a few years ago. What a wonderful gesture from a young man.

http://www.fremantlefc.com.au/news/2014-08-11/duffys-moving-tribute-for-a-mate

I've just watched this video,and it truly was a great gesture by the young man.Even better that he had good debut game as well.
I hope he's a long term player for you guys,I wish him the very best.