Toast Duffy

• Thread starter Thread starter estibador

Does this mean we can call our forward pocket, then, "the mosquito coast"? :)

Duffy I would say more of a half forward right now rather than pocket mind you he can play both but better half forward apprenticeship working towards midfield.

Looked more confident than Sheridan around goal and kicking on the run.

Occasionally you see players who come along and you can see they've go what it takes to play AFL off the bat. They may turn into stars, they may turn into fringe players - occasionally they throw it away with ill discipline or whatever, but you can see that they've got the temperament, body and mental "footy brain" to play at this level.

Duffy showed that tonight. That poise and confidence and decisive thinking in a heated game is gold. Great debut.

FWIW, unless we have other injury concerns that allow him to stay in (Balla?, Fyfe :(), I reckon he'll drop out for Walters next week. He was good, had his time, but he wont be the first to have a good start only to sit out the following week due to the bona fide star coming back. Hopefully this taste spurs him on even more, he builds an elite fitness base over the off season and we have a gun next year pushing for regular games.

Rtb will not drop Duffy as he did his role as sub.

He dropped Josh Simpson who did his role as sub. I hope he doesn't get dropped but it wouldn't surprise me either.

Let's face it, Duffy came on and did tonight what we all hoped Sylvia might have done.
This! x1000

He did what we need our forwards to do. Scored goals and got involved in scoring opportunities.

Ballantyne, Walters, Crozier, Duffy.

Deadly mosquito fleet.

At least our future for small/med forwards looks positive.
Add 2 KPF's and we might actually have something, Not sure if Tabs is part of that though.

This! x1000

He did what we need our forwards to do. Scored goals and got involved in scoring opportunities.

At least our future for small/med forwards looks positive.
Add 2 KPF's and we might actually have something, Not sure if Tabs is part of that though.

Mate give tabs 2 yrs minimum he need muscle and confidence took Tom Hawkins 3-4 yrs to mature into his body.

He played a corker in the end, tried hard and got the results. I was never a fan, I wanted him delisted, and in terms of his person I was never a fan. All of those things have been turned around tonight and for the last one, in the last 6 months. People on here reckon I have my pet hatreds and sure I do, but I will always say I made a dick and always come full circle when I need to. I need to now.
So you are like a Bradesmaen that isn't a flog and can actually admit they were wrong :p

Well done to Duffy, what a great debut! Has a natural goal sense and didn't seem nervous at all. I would love to have Crozier, Duffy and Walters in our side next week. Crozier and Duffy did what Sylvia has been needing to do in just one match. Hats off to them.

I think I wrote my (fake) expectations of his first match as "a couple goals a quarter, 30 or so possessions & cure cancer". Kinda disappointed he didn't cure cancer cos he covered the rest of my ridiculous expectations.

After a game like that I think he's earned his spot in the team for now, at the very least earned himself a new contract. He's just proven why Sylvia's been such a disappointment. I think a few guys on our list, and even in the best 22 should be looking out for their spots with a talent like this. I agree keep him as sub & give him some time to build match fitness. Considering how long he had off due injury this year, he's pretty close to full game AFL ready.

I hope RTB allows Duffy to play his own type of forward game. He did run forward of the ball, but that's the risk v reward we need.

Make the defenders come to him, not the other way around.

He will go missing in some games because of this but he seems a naturally offensive player.

Shouldn't be dropped, but might come off the bench again.

Great to see 2 young kids step up.

The Silvia and Gumbleton gambles were certainly worth taking, but my golly I'm more excited by our young prospects. Really hope Simpson can sort himself out, he also oozes class.

The one I really liked was the handball off to Ballas.

I mean I know it's such a simple thing, but when you're prepped all week to just have a crack he could be excused for letting him snap that himself.

The fact he shaped to snap, but handballed to a person in a better position shows he has a great awareness around him.

The one I really liked was the handball off to Ballas.

I mean I know it's such a simple thing, but when you're prepped all week to just have a crack he could be excused for letting him snap that himself.

The fact he shaped to snap, but handballed to a person in a better position shows he has a great awareness around him.
I remember people were saying he was a bit selfish and had an affinity for handballing to himself, stuff like that, nice to see that is taking it on as opposed to taking it on himself.

I don't like pumping up 1st gamers as we sometime see them crash in their second game.

Having said that he moved pretty darn well last night and the intensity of the game was by no way above him. He wouldn't get that experience playing WAFL.

I'll toast him with my hot chocolate today after toasting him with my Jamieson whiskey last night.

Not really. I think it was him who both the Dockers and Eagles were looking at and wanted. The Eagles told him they were going to take him with a certain pick and him being the good Freo boy he is went and told the club so we took him first. A lot of the good finds from the WAFL come from the recruiters being able to see them week in week out.
Thats not true.

Pretty sure he wasn't a freo supporter and pretty sure the eagles aren't the other team that was into him.