Dunn

So what does he have to do to get a run?

Preaching to the converted there mate. Apparently his form in the WAFL has been reasonably good as a defender while Dunn has not been playing particularly well and as a forward. When a spot comes up for a defender (as far as we can tell... Dunn was named in the back pocket) they pick the forward with so-so form over the defender with good form!

The mind boggles.

Oh to be a fly on the wall at the selection meeting.

Preaching to the converted there mate. Apparently his form in the WAFL has been reasonably good as a defender while Dunn has not been playing particularly well and as a forward. When a spot comes up for a defender (as far as we can tell... Dunn was named in the back pocket) they pick the forward with so-so form over the defender with good form!

The mind boggles.

Oh to be a fly on the wall at the selection meeting.

And Magic has been named up forward.

By the time they run out they will have swapped positions I reckon.

Here's wishing the guy all the luck in the world!

Stand up for yourself Dunn and give it a crack..

I agree with malpaso.

Whether the guy deserves a spot in the eyes of us or not, he's in the side and has been given a chance to show if he's good enough. Maybe his WAFL form isn't as good as Head's, but maybe he trains at a higher intensity and has shown he REALLY wants his spot on the main list back again. I dunno, but none of us do because we aren't involved in selections.

Go hard, mate. Give it everything and show us all what you want to do with your second chance.

i never thought i would see ryley dunn in a dockers jumper again

haven't paid much attention to the wafl this year so i got no idea how he's been going, but i hope he gets a good run at afl level. he is still relatively young too, same age as foster i think

Cannot agree with the "deserved" to get a run line. I think the coaches need to select the team based on a whole range of factors, which right now includes looking to see what players have a long term future at the club. Warnock did not deserve a run, but ot one.

I think Harvey should have all the freedom he wants to select the players he wants to find out about, and to get the structure and style that he thinks will get us into contention for finals as soon as possible.

Cannot agree with the "deserved" to get a run line. I think the coaches need to select the team based on a whole range of factors, which right now includes looking to see what players have a long term future at the club. Warnock did not deserve a run, but ot one.

I think Harvey should have all the freedom he wants to select the players he wants to find out about, and to get the structure and style that he thinks will get us into contention for finals as soon as possible.

Yea, I agree. Not everything Harvey's done has made sense, but this season is shot and he's got every right/opportunity to give players on the list some leeway to show him what they've got. While keeping team balance in line and paying attention to the sort of team we're playing, if they've shown something then he sticks with them (eg. Ibbo, Mayne), if not or if they get injured they will go back through and someone else gets a go ... still doesn't explain Head's absence though.

I agree all of the squad will get a run, the season is gone and it's time to take stock of what we have and then make informed decisions at years end.

Dunn has not had the opportunities to ever really demonstrate.

He was a twice all Oz from memory as a jr and so he obviously has some talent ....who knows this could be the start of a solid AFL career.

Put it this way - I would rather be waiting to see how the lad goes in purple than see him lining up for Carlton and wondering whether we had handed over another AFL calibre player.

I will say it again, what has Head done to upset the selection panel ?.

Good on Dunn for his call up, but geez he has at least one player in front of him deserving a game more than him.

Has Dunn shown the selection panel, compromising pictures of Head ?.
i was listening to slappo last night on pr and he believes that when head was drafted, the dockers wanted him to spend the whole summer in the gym and bulk up. it hasn't worked, and there is some doubt about whether he could physically cope with afl footy

that was his theory anyway, not what the club thinks

I will say it again, what has Head done to upset the selection panel ?.

Good on Dunn for his call up, but geez he has at least one player in front of him deserving a game more than him.

Has Dunn shown the selection panel, compromising pictures of Head ?.

I don't think they're competing for the same position. Head is tallish back flanker, behind Mundy, Johnson, Thornton in the pecking order. Dunn is a small forward/ defender/midfielder. He is competing with Mark Johnson, Hayden, maybe Brock for their spot. Hopefully he makes a go of it as a McVeigh/Beau Waters style backman, and allowa Rog more freedom to create

http://afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=61414
Good article on Dunn. For those saying he hasn't put on enough upper body bulk, it sems this is a deliberate approach to try to avoid ongoing injuries.

I just listened to that interview on Big Pond. He sounds like he's matured a lot (not really surprising) suggested he may of been a bit too naive as an 18 year old. Played the first two games in his first season etc.

They mentioned Medhurst's comments when asking about how he bulked up heaps in his early days. Didn't really say much other than all he does is aerobic stuff now though. Reckons he gets big really easily, and tries to avoid too much weights stuff now.

Talked (was asked) a lot about his injuries. When asked if he has changed the way he plays (being hard at the ball) because of it he said no, as it is a lot to do with luck eg. getting cleaned up off the ball and ending up with a broken collar bone.

I reckon Hayden is great. But Dunn has never shown anything to date.

Why does he deserve to be put on a flank? Mayne is going great guns there. I know who I'd rather getting game time, and if it puts Mayne out, I will be pissed off. Unless Dunn can reinvent himself, he has no future.

Back pocket has really the least most responsibility on the ground behind the forward pocket. Anyone should be able to play there stright up really.

Heard of a bloke named Johncock mate, running attcaking skillfull back pockets have become a messive part of the modern game fremantle lack drive and direction maybe he can give you some?>

Ever heard of a guy called Hayden? Idiot...
http://afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=61414
Good article on Dunn. For those saying he hasn't put on enough upper body bulk, it sems this is a deliberate approach to try to avoid ongoing injuries.
Sorry... doesn't wash with me.

The tendinitis he had as the biggest problem in his knee, is usually from the volume in running. Also, doesn't say much for our strength coach when he can't get players a heap stronger without making some look like bodybuilders.

i thought you're problem with him was that he didn't look like a body builder?
That he didn't look like he'd done a bicep curl in his life... and I was close to being right. He should look like a tank, no excuse. Tarrant looks like a tank but isn't of an obscene size.

Balanced strength is the best way to avoid injuries. If the person responsible at the club can't give him that then, well...

That he didn't look like he'd done a bicep curl in his life... and I was close to being right. He should look like a tank, no excuse. Tarrant looks like a tank but isn't of an obscene size.

Balanced strength is the best way to avoid injuries. If the person responsible at the club can't give him that then, well...

look at most players from the clubs that are good at developing players. Collingwood players all seem to have massive guns. Then there is Thomas, but he is early days yet.

Look at the young guys from the slime up the road. Most have the V noticeable through their jumpers 6-9 months into their AFL careers. It's really not hard, adds nothing to the weight, and adds everything to postural and connective strength. Wonder why they are all good getting arms free in a tackle? Hmm...

you can get *too* bulked up (see: Medhurst 2006) but yes, by and large bulking up too much above the weight shouldn't be a problem so long as you train your legs just as much .The key in tackles is to be able to hold your feet, and if our guys aren't doing alot of heavy squats i'd be seriously suprised.

Nah, it's core strength that helps you in tackles. Kerr, Ablett and Black are the 3 that come to my mind for strength in tackles. None of them look hugely strong in the legs, but look incredibly strong through the trunk. Judd is another (although very strong in his legs as well), and literally Danek Twists people off him. But keeping arms free is all upper back strength.

Having said all this, just looking at some footage of Dunn when he was "big". He was only standard AFL size anyway, so I don't know why that should have bothered him.

Good luck Riley.

I watched a pre season game quite a few years ago in Mandurah against North Melb. It was Dunn's debut year. He played in the middle and got a heap of clearances out of the middle and tackled ferociously,at half time he was BOG and faded out of the game in the second half.
I was as excited then as I was this year when Palmer was unvieled. So I have been really disappointed with the way things have turned out for the guy so far.

Now's your chance. Go get em!!

Dunn