Dunstall or Dermie

Dunstall over Dermie
i wish i was around when Dunstall was playing footy, hes the greatest ever but i was born 10 years after he finished so i have to watch his matches off youtube and there really hard to find,, but Dunstall every day, i know everything about him, got the ton so many times and kicked 17 once, the whole team can hardly get 17 these days, Dunstalls my favourite player anyway, i have the same football boots, tucked in gurnesy and same playing style as him, i watch his highlights every week before my football game and kick heaps of goals, lots of people say Dermie becuse he was more in the game, but its Dunstall who would play consistently over his whole carrer while Dermie was finished by 92 then went to sydney and collingwood while Dunstall knocked back a 2 million dollar deal from Brissy in 93, i went to Queensland for my birthday a month ago and i so badly wanted to go to Coorparoo, where Piggy was from, Hes the reason i started barracking for the Hawks because my whole family are Geelong, Carlton or Collingwood, Dunstall would be the one who would win you a flag,

Are we playing footy or going to a night club?

Lead out chest mark kick a goal. Dunstall on the field. Whereas Dermie thought an opponent was the ball.
Lockett missed a few games over his career too. Played 30 or so games in three years in his middle St Kilda years and then finished with 20 in his final two St Kilda years.

IMHO, ideally one would’ve broken the record and then the other would’ve broken that record.
A few of those missed games were self inflicted

But he also did play through 1996 with a torn groin taking painkillers every game, which ruined him for 1997

Funnily enough Dunstall in 1996 against Sydney Dunstall pretty much destroyed his knee, which also ruined his 1997 season and once he did his shoulder just packed it in

On a Hawks end of season trip a couple of players were larking about and although innocent, came under suspicion of shop-lifting.
Jason Dunstall was one of those involved.
Coach Alan Yabby Jeans police credentials were sufficient for him to be trotted out by the Hawks in charge of the trip when the LA police were called and he was reputed to have said “what ever you do just don’t shoot the fat guy”

I saw plenty of both. Dunstall could have had another 150-200 goals but don't forget how many he would dish off with the quick handball also. A very unselfish full forward with a brilliant technique in marking and kicking. Sits very comfortably in the all time top 5 full forwards and that is a very good list (Hudson/Pratt/Lockett/Coventry. Whether Ablett is included in that is a debate for another thread).

That said - for me it is Brereton by the barest whisker. He copped plenty of hits in contests against multiple players that slowed him somewhat but his ability to hit a pack and win the ball was fantastic to watch. Dunstall also copped plenty of attention from full backs but not going against 2-3 at once as DB often had to. Even if you take the 89 GF out of things, DB had plenty of moments where he would drag the Hawks home almost single handed. JD certainly did with his goalkicking also but for pure versatility it is DB for me.

That said - imagine if DB's attitude/personality had been installed into JD. It would have been like Tony Lockett only far bigger.

Dunstall was a machine and very enjoyable to watch. No hysterics, no complaining, just did the job week in week out for his whole career. TBH I'm surprised he's so outspoken and lively (even extroverted?) on tv because he wasn't like that as a player at all.
He was borderline dull as a player.

Almost looked disinterested, and his only trademark was spitting in his hands and rubbing them together.

I feel like Dermie would still be a gun in today's game but Dunstall wouldn't.

JD as a third tall in a good side would easily get 50-60 goals. Plus he was one of the few forwards of that era who actually chased when he didn't have the ball.

I would go Brereton myself - i know the end wasnt flash at Syd/Coll - but he did have that hip problem - and i dont reckon he had his heart in it with those 2 teams - hed already climbed the mountain etc

You only have to watch the 91 GF - to appreciate how good Brereton was and how important he was to Haw

That could be Dermies best ever game for Haw - he absolutely destroyed Ashley McIntosh- kicked 4-5 goals and his o/head marking was a highlight

Im pretty sure 2 weeks earlier in the 2nd semi against Geel - he was out injured or suspended -and Hawks just got over the line in that game

If i was rating Haw key position players of that era id go

(1) Brereton

(2) Equal 2nd Dunstall and Mew ( who was very rarely beaten - and i reckon just a little bit better than Langford )

(3) Langford
I'm not sure kicking 4 goals on an 18 year old in his 17th game can be called Dermie's best ever game.

true, its not that impressive, Dunstall's 6 as a 22 yr old in his 38th game on Doull in 1986 GF was way more impressive

Dunstall or Dermie