Dwayne Russel

• Thread starter Thread starter rayven

Isn’t David Parkin a university lecturer at a university in Melbourne? IIRC it’s not sports or coaching related either, maybe management
He lectures in health, physical education & recreation I think. Not sure which Uni. He does some corporate training stuff too on the topic of leadership.

Dont mind Dwayne Russel - except for the useless trivia

Dont mind Parkin - yes he is a mentor to Craig (well they have got together to talk footy) and his insight of the game and players, especially the young guys, is first class. Considering he is commentating for a team that he used to coach, I say he was fairly neutral. His problem is that he baggs the umps all the time, which although possibly correct, does get annoying (Blighty is the same).

Shaw is a complete nob. Hates us and we hate him.

Normally I hold quite a liberal veiw on how bias the commentary is but yesterday both Parkin and Shaw were shocking.

FFS as a commentator on a national broadcast they are supposed to be impartial and not barrack for either side, that’s what makes Dennis Cometti and Clinton Grybus so enjoyable to listen to.

IMO he was so bias he may as well been sitting in the coach’s box with Dennis Pagan and the other blue baggers. Some posters took acrimony with how bias Alastair Lynch was in the Brisbane game but Parkin was far, far worse.

I have to admit that Dwayne Russell wasn't too bad today. He seems to have improved heaps since leaving channel 9.

I thought the commentary was quite good today. It could have been worse, we could have had Robert Walls commentating.

The thing that got me - like you, re the father-son inequities between Victorian and non-Victorian clubs was that NEITHER Shaw nor Parkin addressed it.

Grybas is my fav, closely followed by Cometti. Bruce used to be sensational but I think he's lost the plot. Too many olympics stats confusing the brain perhaps??;)

The thing that got me - like you, re the father-son inequities between Victorian and non-Victorian clubs was that NEITHER Shaw or Parkin addressed it.

Grybas is my fav, closely followed by Cometti. Bruce used to be sensational but I think he's lost the plot. Too many olympics stats confusing the brain perhaps??;)

Definitely the 2 best in the business at the minute. :thumbsu:

At great depth no doubt! ;)

yep can picture it now:

Campbell: "Wow Dermy look at that great pass from Mcleod, lace out on the chest of Porplyzia"

Derm: "Yeah Matt, as you can see here Mcleod has the ball in his hand, closest to his index finger, he then drops the ball at a trajectory of 17 degrees, then hits the ball at the centre point of his boot on the 2nd longest lace on his boot, then the ball travels at 21 km/h allowing for wind etc........."

you get my point :D

What I love best about Grybas is that you often have no idea of the team that he supports and if he has to question that team, then he will do so. A commentator and journalist of the highest order in my book. I was shocked when I learnt who he actually supported as I would never haev never guessed.

Dennis was the greatest but he is stuck in the I have to have a funny line every couple of comments from his channel nine days.

What I love best about Grybas is that you often have no idea of the team that he supports and if he has to question that team, then he will do so. A commentator and journalist of the highest order in my book. I was shocked when I learnt who he actually supported as I would never haev never guessed.

Dennis was the greatest but he is stuck in the I have to have a funny line every couple of comments from his channel nine days.
Grybas is a great commentators. Really enjoy his work. Not bad for a Collingwood supporter :D :p

The thing that got me - like you, re the father-son inequities between Victorian and non-Victorian clubs was that NEITHER Shaw nor Parkin addressed it.

I actually just think he is struggling with having 2 of the stupidest commentators, if you can call them that, sitting next to him on most occasions in David Shwarz and Tim Watson.

Everytime there is a skerrick of physicallity or a free kick for rough play, Watson bleats on about how the Tribunal will take a look at that, such as the Byron Pickett tackle on Cornes. ITS CALLED A TACKLE TIM!
I reckon ive often heard it in Bruces voice that he is restraining himself from having a crack at this idiot.

And then there is shwarz... where do we start? Doesnt know whats going on half the time and is extremely prone to making sensationalist comments to make up for this.

Give me Dwayne Russel any day.

I actually just think he is struggling with having 2 of the stupidest commentators, if you can call them that, sitting next to him on most occasions in David Shwarz and Tim Watson.

Everytime there is a skerrick of physicallity or a free kick for rough play, Watson bleats on about how the Tribunal will take a look at that, such as the Byron Pickett tackle on Cornes. ITS CALLED A TACKLE TIM!
I reckon ive often heard it in Bruces voice that he is restraining himself from having a crack at this idiot.

And then there is shwarz... where do we start? Doesnt know whats going on half the time and is extremely prone to making sensationalist comments to make up for this.

Give me Dwayne Russel any day.

Yep thats a fair comment - he used to have blokes around him that knew something about the game! ;) Get him over to Fox and team him up with Clinton. That'd be interesting!

Dwayne Russell should get some new materials. Swear to God, everytime he covers the Crows game he always says "Brent Reilly, the player selected by Adelaide before Nick Dal Santo".

Nah not as good as when he was asked if Porps was related to the Porplycia that he played with at Port and he was adamant that he was not related in anyway at all. Only problem is that our porps is his nephew, just spells his surname with a z and not a c like many russian names can be.

There must be a market for a Dwayne Russell Bingo/drinking game card similar to the John Casey one by now?

"That's as good as it gets!"
"He sends it home!"
"Russell Ebert"
"The Port Adelaide Football Club"
"Father/Son rule"

Anymore to add?

There must be a market for a Dwayne Russell Bingo/drinking game card similar to the John Casey one by now?

"That's as good as it gets!"
"He sends it home!"
"Russell Ebert"
"The Port Adelaide Football Club"
"Father/Son rule"

Anymore to add?

Great start, but I'm yet to see DR use the same terms over and over in multiple sports.