Eade No1 again

Captain

Mar 19, 2002
Directly under the sun, nnnnow
The Sun jounalist (Hahahaha) D Timms states in the rag today that farken Eade is now the front runner for the coaching roll again. Personally I don't believe it but an announcment can be only a few days away.

I want JYD but I think Brittan will get the nod.

927 said Eade had been interviewed again but the club won't move until JYD is also interviewed. Seems to be between Eade, Brittain and JYD.. and reading between the lines looks like Shaw has dropped out of the running.

I like Brittain due to his player involvement but not too sure about his coaching record

It seems that who ever was the last interviewed is the favourite for the job. Yesterday it was Brittain, now it is Eade.
Last week it was Shaw.
This can mean one of two things. Either the reporters are overzealous, and are trying to invent a story out of nothing, and therefore assume that good comments from North officials about someone they just interviewed mean that this person is about to get the job.
Or it could be that our committee has no idea, and is changing their mind after talking to each candidate.
I really hope it is not the latter...

maybe we should voice our opinion to the club that we don't want reject [EAD] as sydney did with wallace PS GO AND FIX NO#6

Let's try and not be so negative about Eade. I do share some concerns about him, however, if he does get the job we don't want that sort of negativity around the club.
I mean, otherwise we will sound a bit like Richmond people...

To be honest, I think the fact that Sydney chose Roos despite clearly being more impressed with Wallace is the sign of a weak club and a weak board. Fan power is great but the coaching panel have more information, more background and likely more knowledge about footy than the average fan, and if they think that Eade is the best for the job then I would be disgusted if they didn't choose him based on a campaign from supporters that:

1 - Probably watch less than half a dozen Sydney a year over the past five years.

2 - Have no idea what Eade's plans for THIS club are

3 - Have no idea of the real quality of the other applicants

4 - Have no idea of the financial side of the coaching appointment.

Lets leave the decision to the people who are in the best position to make it.

Moomba

Originally posted by vlad76
This can mean one of two things. Either the reporters are overzealous, and are trying to invent a story out of nothing, and therefore assume that good comments from North officials about someone they just interviewed mean that this person is about to get the job.

You could imagine a North official saying, "We interviewed him and he's got no idea. He has no vision, no plans, it would be a disaster if any club ever appointed him as coach."

And then tomorrow's newspaper headline:

ROOS SMOKESCREEN FOR NEW COACH

Originally posted by myee8
NO EADE. I don't want him, i want Brittain or JYD. I shall be a VERY unhappy member if Eade coaches us.

Can I ask why. Facts and perceptions.

Moomba

Originally posted by moomba

Can I ask why. Facts and perceptions.

Moomba

Well it's just a personal thing for me, one of those things in me not liking Eade. I just don't like Eade and i don't want any of his flooding sh*t in our side. Brad Hardie spun some crap about how Eade would be good value for us etc etc, and i don't buy any of it.

On the other side of the coin, i am really wanting Nathan Lonie to come to us via the Carey trade.

Well it's just a personal thing for me, one of those things in me not liking Eade. I just don't like Eade and i don't want any of his flooding sh*t in our side. Brad Hardie spun some crap about how Eade would be good value for us etc etc, and i don't buy any of it.

On the other side of the coin, i am really wanting Nathan Lonie to come to us via the Carey trade.

Fair enough. I am going to try to do a bit of a thing on the three favourites this arvo, and I will address a few of the perceptions about Eade. I suspect the flood will be one I will be looking at. For what it is worth if Eade has intentions of flooding with a team that plays the majority of their games at Colonial and the MCG he has no chance of getting the job. I think he chose the best tactics for the SCG and used the with the Swans, if he gets the Roos job he will choose the best tactics for us.

On the other side, I think you are crazy wanting Lonie. ;)

Moomba

I don't think Eade would just come in and employ a flood. Coaches with sides who are not blessed with the talent to progress in a seaosn tend to flood, or employ the tactic for one or two games they do not want to be destroyed.

The less said about your infatuation for Nathan Lonie the better.

Can he do anything Shannon Motlop cannot?

The last 2 posts all have valid points made. Guess i have to keep an open mind now then. I am receptive to other's opinions.

In regards to Nathan Lonie, it's just that he is a tall, running half back who can break the lines and kick long like with brother Ryan. I mean i admit i have a soft spot for him, but u do have to admit he is a decent player for his age. If we don't get him, then i do hope Shannon Motlop can provide us with what Nathan can, although i want Shannon as more of a Makepeace role minding the oppositions small forward, with skull somewhere in the midfield. So far Shannon hasn't shown the attributes i said Nathan has, but with a new coach a new lease of life will hopefully be injected into him.

So far Shannon hasn't shown the attributes i said Nathan has, but with a new coach a new lease of life will hopefully be injected into him.

Showing ones attributes usually relies on getting a game I would think.

Came on against Hawthorn, kicked two goals.

PLayed v Freo, and played well IMO.

Dropped.

Not seen again.

I think with the Roos appointment in Sydney it was more the players support of him compared to the supporters support that swayed the selection panel

Also I think if we are looking for someone to kick long from the hb line (eg. Lonie) we should consider someone like Joel Bowden. In 2000 and 2001 he was unlucky to miss in All Aust selection, 2002 was a poor year but he has serious talent, kicks long and a new club could give him the drive he needs. Particularly if he is in a midfield with such hardworkers like Stevo (compared to the Tiges who have **** like Campbell).

Richmond could be after a few forwards if they end up losing Richo to the Blues, therefore Lange and a draft pick could be used to get him

Originally posted by moomba
To be honest, I think the fact that Sydney chose Roos despite clearly being more impressed with Wallace is the sign of a weak club and a weak board. Fan power is great but the coaching panel have more information, more background and likely more knowledge about footy than the average fan, and if they think that Eade is the best for the job then I would be disgusted if they didn't choose him based on a campaign from supporters that:

1 - Probably watch less than half a dozen Sydney a year over the past five years.

2 - Have no idea what Eade's plans for THIS club are

3 - Have no idea of the real quality of the other applicants

4 - Have no idea of the financial side of the coaching appointment.

Lets leave the decision to the people who are in the best position to make it.

Moomba

That is spot on Moomba.

I thought Sydney chose to avoid the short term pain (of supporter angst) , instead of going for the long term gain (the best coach).

Luckily for the Kangaroos there is no such popular candidate and they will defintley go for the best man for the job.

Firstly, we definitely don't need anyone with Bowden's age in the team. We have plenty of our own (King,Stevo, Arch etc) and we would never fit someone like him under the salary cap. We need draft picks. That is the only way to get through this cost cutting period, which hopefully won't last longer than 2 years.

As far as Eade goes, again I am not claiming he is my favourite to get the job, but at least he is a tactician. The flood was a perfect example of someone trying to come up with a better way of playing a certain ground and/or against a certain team.

We didn't have any flexibility under Denis. The only tactics he was credited for was blocking up the space against Port and those type of teams, and Pagans padock. The 'blocking up play' one is simply how we played everytime we ran out, and it just happen to suit us against some opposition. And the paddock was only ever working with people like Carey playing well, and people like Allison and Abraham running on to the loose ball. Once we lost them, we lost all tactical advantage over opposition.

So if you ask me, I would be happy with Eade because you can bet you bottom dollar that he would at least keep trying to come up with a different game plan each week. Something to look forward to...

Bowden:

Guernsey Number: 11

Height 188cm

Weight: 90kg

Recruited From: West Alice Springs (NT)

Debut: 1996

Date of Birth: 21 June 1978

FAN FILE

ABOUT
A prolific ball-getter who enjoyed his best year yet in 2001. The tall midfielder has now played 87 consecutive matches, passing 100 games in the process. Amassed 591 disposals and took 149 marks in 25 games. The versatile left-footer was often assigned run-with roles on key opposition play-makers, using his ball-winning ability to exploit the defensive side of his opponents. Capped off his season with 26 goals, including one bag of five and three bags of three. Unlucky not to be selected in the All-Australian side but played in the International Rules Series.
PLAYER HONOURS
3rd best and fairest 2000; International Rules Series 2001; AFL Rising Star nominee 1995.

I agree he may come at a price (prob $200k), but he is actually only 24 years old, with 100+ games under his belt. Also a very good leader and communicator and will hit his peak over the next 3 to 4 years with increasing consistency to his game.

Can't understand the anti-Bowden sentiments on here. He is a gun!!
Re getting him in a trade: He'd cost us a heap more than Lange and a draft pick.
Salary: We'd need to offer him nearly twice the $200K suggested to lure him away from the club he went to under the father-son.Would love to have him but there is absolutely NO WAY he will end up at Arden St (or is it Wurundjeri Way now?)

I have given it a bit of thought, and I'd really like to see Wayne Brittian get our coaching job. He'd have the fire in the belly to go out and prove to the football world that he is no dud, and what better way to do it with our youngsters behind him.

However, I reckon the club will have other ideas, as if they really wanted him - they would have appointed him by now.

Originally posted by Aussie_Roo
However, I reckon the club will have other ideas, as if they really wanted him - they would have appointed him by now.

Not true, they would at least wait for Laidley having stated that they are interested in him. To just appoint Brittain without even interviewing Laidley would be poor form...

Interesting that the same article in the Sun said that there were rumours that we were going to try to interview Laidley today. If so it looks like we have made a decision out of the ones we have interviewed and we are giving JYD one opportunity to stake his claim. If Laids does well we will probably just delay a week or so, but if he doesn't there is no point delaying any longer, and we will make an announcement tomorrow morning as originally planned. That's the way I see it anyway.

Moomba

Originally posted by Yianni

Not true, they would at least wait for Laidley having stated that they are interested in him. To just appoint Brittain without even interviewing Laidley would be poor form...

Agree, it would unprofessional to appoint someone without interveiwing all applicants, if Eade:( and Brittan have already completed second interviews they have had a big head start on JYD, unfortunately it may be to big for him to catch up. I hope I'm wrong but I think the decision is probably alresdy made.

Originally posted by Captain

Agree, it would unprofessional to appoint someone without interveiwing all applicants, if Eade:( and Brittan have already completed second interviews they have had a big head start on JYD, unfortunately it may be to big for him to catch up. I hope I'm wrong but I think the decision is probably alresdy made.

For sentimental reasons, I'd love to see JYD become our coach, but with the way things are at the club, I'd prefer someone with senior coaching experience (which means Eade or Brittain) so that when they take up the job, they can get on with it straight away - no learning on the go (as it were). In regards to the Roos, Eade probably has a slight edge on Brittain simply because he knows what the financial situation at Arden Street is like - he knows he'll have to improvise. Brittain has had some very good resources as his disposal at Brisbane and Carlton, so his settling in period may take a little bit longer than Eade.

ryan lonie!!!!!!!! you've got to be kidding! softer than butter. and his disposal under pressure is very ordinary. did you happen to see the round 21 game? he sh*t himself with someone running at him.

while i prefer laidley to eade, eade was working under the long arm of the syndey board more worried about crowds, perception and instant results. it would be interesting to see how he went with a new list and some freedom.

Eade No1 again