Eade on 5AA

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

After hearing Gary Ayres speak a lot but say nothing for the last 5 years, it was refreshing to hear a potential coach speak so openly.

Stiffy_18 said:
:D :D

What can I say, I am impressed

i'm just worried we are looking at rocket as a savoiur to all our woes,

the question you have to ask is what will he do that is different to craig ?

are we all getting excited over a simple phone interview he is a professional he isnt going to come on and talk a load of crap,

to be fair KG and cornsey should get craigy on so he can go through his ideas then we can have a fair idea of what his plans are and not just judge him on the last few games

while rocket sound impressive i still dont think we should throw a contract at him simly because we want a AFL "experienced" coach and he sounded good on radio - for all we know that could have been scripted by one of his management team

Stiffy_18 and tatts00 - OK, I have to admit I had butterflies also. :D

Grolm37 - We've all heard Eade before, we all know what he's about. The reason people are getting excited here (I think) is not because they've heard him present well in a radio interview, but because they've heard him reinforce that he's a genuine chance for the job and the media don't know what they're talking about when they (try to) write him off.

arrowman said:

Grolm37 - We've all heard Eade before, we all know what he's about. The reason people are getting excited here (I think) is not because they've heard him present well in a radio interview, but because they've heard him reinforce that he's a genuine chance for the job and the media don't know what they're talking about when they (try to) write him off.

Cant speak for Stiffy but thats why I was excited. For so long I have had the feeling in the guts that Neil Craig will be the next coach of the AFC. After hearing rocket speak it did seem he is a genuine chance for the job, thats the best thing I got out of the interview.

arrowman said:
I emailed in the current result of the coach poll (84% Eade) about 10 minutes before he came on. What a pity Cornesy didn't read it out during the interview! :)
Next time mate do me a favour and send in the number of voters registered as well to give your email a bit more credibility:p

They dismissed it off as saying we don't know how many people voted.

arrowman said:

Spot on my friend. Spot on. My major worry is that we had the committee split 3-2 in Craig's favour.

How convinient that Wayne Jackson was unavailable for Eade's interview yesterday :rolleyes:

We need a coach that either has little hair or does something different to it rather than the hideous mop Gary wore proudly.

Sign Eade, he is intelligent. Last intelligent coas we had got us back to back flags...after we had finished in the same position we are now.

spindoctor said:
More interesting...Adelaide has told him they're going to bring forward the announcement date for the coaching position. That suggests to me it is NOT Craig, as they would be likely to let him finish out the season if they were going to choose him, just as a precaution.

Even more interesting was that Stephen Trigg was parked out the front of my house this morning, intently talking on the phone whilst looking at a property thats just come on the market directly across the road. A double story mansion that would sell for around 700-750k. 3 hosues away from Brett Burtons house as well. Or maybe its just coincidence!

Macca19 said:
Even more interesting was that Stephen Trigg was parked out the front of my house this morning, intently talking on the phone whilst looking at a property thats just come on the market directly across the road. A double story mansion that would sell for around 700-750k. 3 hosues away from Brett Burtons house as well. Or maybe its just coincidence!
:eek:

arrowman said:
- he doesn't think Adelaide needs rebuilding; renovation; early picks important
- don't have to go back to square one
- plan to build for a premiership; not plan to finish 6th or 7th - aim for 2-3 years to challenge for a premiership
- What about the issue of "under the microscope in Adelaide"? - Probably more of an issue for a first time coach; you develop a hide after a while; not a real issue with him.

I love Rodney Eade.

Considering Richmond has officially hired Wallace, and Eade hasn't spoken to Hawthorn, it looks good for us.

Thanks for everyone who gave details of the interview.

Stiffy_18 said:
Spot on my friend. Spot on. My major worry is that we had the committee split 3-2 in Craig's favour.

How convinient that Wayne Jackson was unavailable for Eade's interview yesterday
:rolleyes:

Worse than that - Jacko is one of the 3 in favour of Craig, and he wasn't there to hear Eade's presentation.

If Jacko remains a Craig man, IMO there's no way his opinion should be allowed to be part of the final recommendation as he can't be considered to have participated in the "process".

Just come back to awful english summer (started raining last night and is still continuing today) from a lovely weekend in Dublin to the news that Wallace has gone to Richmond (yipee - I enjoy watching richmond implode) and that Eade had a 3+ hour interview at the Crows.

Please, please, please choose Eade - I always enjoyed listeningd to him when he was Sydney Coach and I think he would be a great fit for the club.

Replayed an interview with R. Shaw today talking about the virtues of Wallace and Craig.
Shaw pointed out that Wallace has had 50 times more exposure than Eade in the media, lives in melbourne and consequently has a higher profile.
The result is clubs are falling over themselves to sign Wallace, and Eade appears to be struggling to find a club prepared to give him his next opportunity.:confused:

Who said this wasn't a popularity contest?, or public opinion played no part?

But Shaw pointed out that their coaching record is almost identical, and Shaw said without any hesitation I know which coach I would prefer not to coach against on a Saturday afternoon (Eade) :)

I think Shaw has some very good credentials as a game strategist and is not prone to lavish praise lightly.

macca23 said:
Worse than that - Jacko is one of the 3 in favour of Craig, and he wasn't there to hear Eade's presentation.

If Jacko remains a Craig man, IMO there's no way his opinion should be allowed to be part of the final recommendation as he can't be considered to have participated in the "process".
Thats my point. How convinient that a pre Craig member of the committee is not present when interviewing Rodney Eade.

I just hope Rodney knocked the sock off some of the other members and gets the vote swung in his favour.

I hope we do sign Eade. I have listened to both him and Wallace and I must say Eade has come across as someone who is a better "fit" for our club. The fact that he said keeping draft picks is important tells me he is fair dinkum about getting some youth into the club and won't go for the quick fix.

I think the point Wayne's-World mentioned above (and **** previously in the other thread) is very valid. The only reason Wallace is rated higher than Wallace is because of the media beat up. The more I think about it the more I am convinced that Eade would be a better fit for our club than Wallace.

Rocket all the way;)

macca23 said:

Was Wayne Jackson at Neil Craig's interview today?

I think its a bit pi$$ poor that Wayne Jackson was not present at Rodney Eades interview.
Its a crucial stage of the process with final interviews coming up, and if rumours are true its a hung selection panel.
This to me does not seem fair to Eade or professional, why bother having someone on the panel if he is not there for such a major presentation?
Im sure that Jackson will be given a thorough summary of the presentation but it is not the same to read a presentation rather than watch and interact with the candidate.

tatts00 said:
I think its a bit pi$$ poor that Wayne Jackson was not present at Rodney Eades interview.
Its a crucial stage of the process with final interviews coming up, and if rumours are true its a hung selection panel.
This to me does not seem fair to Eade or professional, why bother having someone on the panel if he is not there for such a major presentation?
Im sure that Jackson will be given a thorough summary of the presentation but it is not the same to read a presentation rather than watch and interact with the candidate.
If your crook your crook!
I doubt he had a sicky to go fishing :rolleyes:

tatts00 said:
i didnt hear he was sick, all I heard was that he was unavailable.
If thats the case there is not much that can be done.
You would think the interview would have been video taped for referral and Jackson?