Competitions Eagles Board 2021 Phantom Draft

Round One Selections
ROUND ONE

Collingwood (matched bid) - Nick Daicos (MID, Oakleigh Chargers/Vic Metro, 183cm/72kg)
2 North Melbourne - Jason Horne-Francis (MID/FWD, South Adelaide/South Australia, 185cm/81kg)
3 Hawthorn (trade GWS) - Finn Callaghan (MID - Sandringham Dragons/Vic Metro, 189cm/82kg)
4 Western Bulldogs (matched bid) - Sam Darcy (RUCK/KPF - Oakleigh Chargers/Vic Metro, 204cm/75kg)
5 GWS (trade WCE Suns) - Neil Erasmus (MID/FWD - Subiaco/Western Australia, 190cm/82kg)
6 Adelaide - Josh Goater (MID/UTL - Calder Cannons/Vic Metro, 190cm/79kg)
7 West Coast (trade GWS Suns) - Matthew Johnson (MID, Subiaco/Western Australia, 192cm/81kg)
8 Fremantle - Josh Rachele (FWD/MID, Murray Bushrangers/Vic Country, 180cm/78kg)
9 Richmond - Ben Hobbs (MID, Greater Western Victoria Rebels/Vic Country, 183cm/80kg)
10 Richmond (trade Fremantle) - Josh Gibcus (KPD, Greater Western Victoria Rebels/Vic Country, 196cm/87kg)
11 St Kilda - Josh Ward (MID, Northern Knights/Vic Metro, 181cm/79kg)
12 Gold Coast (trade WCE GWS) - Tyler Sonsie (MID, Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro, 181cm/77kg)
13 Essendon - Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera (MID, Glenelg/South Australia, 187cm/71kg)
14 Port Adelaide - Arlo Draper (UTL, South Adelaide/South Australia, 186cm/75kg)
15 West Coast (trade GWS Suns) - Angus Sheldrick (MID, Claremont/Western Australia, 179cm/88kg)
16 Brisbane - Mac Andrew (RUC, Dandenong Stingrays/Vic Country, 200cm/70kg)
17 Fremantle (trade Richmond) - Jacob Van Rooyen (KPF/KPD, Claremont/Western Australia, 193cm/91kg)
18 Sydney - Mitch Knevitt (MID/FWD, Geelong Falcons/Vic Country, 193cm/81kg)
19 Melbourne - Jye Amiss (KPF, East Perth/Western Australia, 196cm/83kg)
20 Brisbane - Josh Sinn (DEF/MID, Sandringham Dragons/Vic Metro, 186cm/73kg)

ROUND TWO

Fremantle - Leek Alleer (KPD, Central District/South Australia, 195cm/84kg)
22 North Melbourne - Rhett Bazzo (KPD/KPF, Swan Districts/Western Australia, 195cm/81kg)
23 Hawthorn - Jesse Motlop (FWD/MID, South Fremantle/Western Australia, 177cm/77kg)
24 Geelong - Campbell Chesser (MID/DEF, Sandringham Dragons/Vic Country, 186cm/83kg)
25 Geelong (trade) - Toby Conway (RUC, Geelong Falcons/Vic Country, 205cm/97kg)
26 Hawthorn (trade West Coast) - Zac Taylor (MID/FWD, Calder Cannons/Vic Metro, 180cm/74kg)
27 Melbourne (trade Carlton) - Michito Owens (MID/FWD, Sandringham Dragons/Vic Metro, 190cm/85kg)
28 Fremantle (trade Richmond) - Darcy Wilmot (DEF, Northern Knights/Vic Metro, 183cm/75kg)
29 GWS (matched bid) - Josh Fahey (DEF, GWS Academy, 186cm/76kg)
30 Richmond - Tom Brown (DEF, Murray Bushrangers/Vic Country, 186cm/74kg)
31 Richmond - Jack Williams (KPF, East Fremantle/Western Australia, 195cm/93kg)
32 Brisbane (trade Gold Coast) - Sam Butler (FWD/MID, Greater Western Victoria Rebels/Vic Country, 184cm/76kg)
33 Sydney - Matthew Roberts (MID/FWD, South Adelaide/South Australia, 183cm/81kg)
34 Geelong - Connor MacDonald (MID, Dandenong Stingrays/Vic Country, 184cm/77kg)
35 Adelaide (trade) - Judson Clarke (FWD/MID, Dandenong Stingrays/Vic Country, 180cm/70kg)
36 Geelong - Blake Howes (FWD/MID, Sandringham Dragons/Vic Metro, 190cm/79kg)
37 Carlton (trade Melbourne) - Marcus Windhager (MID/FWD, Sandringham Dragons/Vic Metro, 183cm/82kg)

ROUND THREE

Carlton (trade Melbourne) - Cooper Murley (MID/FWD, Norwood/South Australia, 178cm/70kg)
39 Sydney - Brady Hough (UTL, Peel Thunder/Western Australia, 189cm/71kg)
40 Brisbane (trade Gold Coast) - Arthur Jones (MID/FWD, Claremont/Western Australia, 178cm/60kg)
41 North Melbourne - Sam Banks (MID/DEF, Tasmania Devils/Tasmania, 187cm/73kg)
42 Western Bulldogs - Kade Dittmar (MID, East Perth/Western Australia, 186cm/90kg)
43 Essendon - Paul Curtis (FWD, Western Jets/Vic Metro, 183cm/73kg)
44 Western Bulldogs - Sam Skinner (KPD, South Adelaide, 198cm/100kg)
45 West Coast (trade Hawthorn) - Luke Polson (KPF, Peel Thunder/Western Australia, 196cm/92kg)
46 Hawthorn (trade Essendon) - Bailey Rogers (MID, Claremont, 185cm/85kg)
47 GWS - Joshua Clarke (DEF, Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro, 183cm/77kg)

ROUND FOUR

West Coast (trade Hawthorn) - James Tunstill (MID, East Perth/Western Australia, 185cm/74kg)
49 Gold Coast (trade Brisbane) - Josh Browne (MID, East Fremantle/Western Australia, 185cm/77kg)
50 Fremantle - Taj Woewodin (MID, East Fremantle/Western Australia, 182cm/77kg)
51 St Kilda - Lachlan Rankin (UTL, Oakleigh Chargers/Vic Metro, 182cm/70kg)
52 Port Adelaide - Ned Long (MID, Northern Knights/Vic Metro, 192cm/88kg)
53 Melbourne (trade Carlton) - Charlie Molan (UTL, Greater Western Victoria/Vic Country, 186cm/83kg)
54 GWS (trade Hawthorn) - Corey Warner (MID, East Fremantle/Western Australia, 182cm/74kg)
55 St Kilda - Hugh Stagg (MID/FWD, Glenelg/South Australia, 180cm/79kg)
56 St Kilda - Blake Schlensog (KPP/RUC, South Fremantle, 199cm/99kg)
57 West Coast - Jack Avery (DEF/MID, Perth/Western Australia, 190cm/83kg)
58 Fremantle - Kai Lohmann (FWD, Greater Western Victoria/Vic Country, 185cm/76kg)
59 Sydney - Ronald Fejo Jnr (MID/FWD, West Adelaide/Northern Territory-Allies, 178cm/70kg)
60 North Melbourne - Youseph Dib (UTL, Oakleigh Chargers/Vic Metro, 174cm/76kg)
61 Port Adelaide - Lewis Rayson (DEF/MID, Glenelg/South Australia, 181cm/75kg)
62 Western Bulldogs - Richard Farmer (MID/FWD, Subiaco/Western Australia, 173cm/71kg)
63 Port Adelaide - Charlie Dean (KPD, Williamstown, 195cm/86kg)
64 Adelaide - Hugh Jackson (MID, North Adelaide/South Australia, 181cm/70kg)
65 Gold Coast (trade Brisbane) - Shay Linke (FWD/MID, Central District/South Australia, 190cm/79kg)

ROUND FIVE

North Melbourne - PASS
67 Collingwood - Jake Soligo (MID/FWD, Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro, 179cm/80kg)
68 Collingwood - Eric Benning (KPF, Carlton/Western Australia, 196cm/85kg)
69 Collingwood - Jase Burgoyne (MID/FWD, Woodville-West Torrens/South Australia, 185cm/65kg)
70 Adelaide - Jordan Lukac (KPF/RUC, Woodville-West Torrens/South Australia, 196cm/89kg)
71 Hawthorn - Matt Hammelmann (KPF, Aspley, 197cm/88kg)
72 Carlton - Blayne O'Loughlin (DEF, North Adelaide/South Australia, 171cm/74kg)
73 Richmond - Alastair Lord (DEF/MID, Norwood/South Australia, 180cm/76kg)
74 Fremantle - Josh Cripps (RUC/KPF, East Fremantle/Western Australia, 199cm/94kg)
75 St Kilda - Patrick Voss (UTL, GWS Academy/Oakleigh Chargers, 192cm/84kg)
76 Essendon (trade Hawthorn) - Miller Bergman (UTL, Dandenong Stingrays/Vic Country, 188cm/65kg)
77 Essendon - Luke Nankervis (FWD, Sandringham Dragons/Vic Metro, 189cm/76kg)
78 Sydney - Noah Pegoraro (KPD, West Perth, 194cm/88kg)
79 GWS - PASS
80 Brisbane - Jamieson Ballantyne (MID, Greater Western Victoria Rebels/Vic Country, 183cm/79kg)
81 Geelong - Oscar Adams (KPD/RUC, Glenelg/South Australia, 198cm/85kg)
82 Port Adelaide - Luke Strnadica (RUC, East Fremantle, 203cm/103kg)
83 Western Bulldogs - PASS
84 Melbourne - Anthony Caminiti (KPF, Northern Knights/Vic Metro, 196cm/83kg)

With the 12 hours passed, GWS select outside midfielder JAMIESON BALLANTYNE from Greater Western Victoria Rebels/Vic Country.

daddy_4_eyes you have until the next selection to swap this if you'd like.

Obeanie1 you're up.
With the pass being 12 hours ago, Ballantyne can have a reprieve. Obeanie1 you can change the pick if you’d like before the next selection is locked in.

AsterixTheGaul you’re up.

Mar 11, 2015
Just reading through your phantom draft and you have 7 West Aussies going in the top 23, I don’t think that will happen. I reckon 5 tops, my two cents worth

SumaGodCoach

How so?
Aug 1, 2021
Dallas Mavericks, Bayern Munich
Pick 84 - Melbourne - ANTHONY CAMINITI

POSITION:
Tall Forward

SNAPSHOT: “A mobile tall forward who shot on the scene this season, showcasing sound overhead marking and shrewd leading patterns.

The Northern Knights were stoked to bring Anthony Caminiti into their program this year, and it was easy to easy why after his five-goal NAB League debut in May. The athletic key forward slotted into Northern’s front six when Carey Grammar had a bye during the APS season, and did enough over both competitions to that point to be a late inclusion in June’s Victorian representative trials. With more promising form, he earned a draft combine invite and looms as a tall prospect with high upside among this year’s cohort.

STRENGTHS:

+ Mobility
+ Leading Patterns
+ Overhead Marking
+ Clean Hands
+ Scoreboard Impact

IMPROVEMENTS:

– Strength
– Exposure

Whoof. And just like that, it's over.

Thank you for all those who took part in this phantom trading picks incessantly draft. If you could finish your work by summarising the picks your club took, that would be fantastic.

FREMANTLE'S HAUL
Pick 8 -
Josh Rachele
Pick 17 - Jacob Van Rooyen
----------
Pick 21 - Leek Alleer
Pick 28 - Darcy Wilmot
----------
Pick 50 - Taj Woewodin (unmatched bid)
Pick 58 - Kai Lohmann
----------
Pick 74 - Josh Cripps

Obviously, Freo won't end up taking this many selections in the real thing. But even if these picks were capped at the first 4, I'd still be pleased with the haul. I always wanted Rachele with the first, and traded down to get JVR and an extra pick, so that worked out well. I may have reached a bit for Alleer, but I think this won't prove to be the case in the long run. My bluff was called with the Woewodin bid, but I wasn't too bothered as I'd missed out on Browne and he was my main later-pick midfield target. If I was being ultra-critical I'd say that I should have taken more genuine midfield talent, but things just didn't quite pan out that way. Wilmot was too good to overlook. I'd have liked Lukac late, but Cripps was a decent enough back up option after he went. Overall, a focus on pace and spread across the board, and I'm happy with the result.

Miguel Sanchez SumaGodCoach Eastcoasteagle ArdentEagle AsterixTheGaul Monocle Falco maxrm daddy_4_eyes THE A5 mattyc75 squashface bh90210fan Knifey Spoony buddymania omgfridge Obeanie1

bh90210fan

Sep 4, 2017
Ports Draft summary -

pick 14 - Arlo Draper
——————————————
pick 52 - Ned Long
pick 61 - Lewis Rayson
pick 63 - Charlie Dean
——————————————
pick 82 - Luke Strnadica

Overall happy with this haul, managed to cover most bases where I feel Port lack a bit of depth in the KPD and ruck department with later picks. Would’ve liked a slider with my first pic for the midfield, but with JVR and Amiss not being picked up earlier I settled with Draper. Did have a crack at trading with Sydney to get Matty Roberts in the second round and missed out, fortunately Ned Long was still there to make up for that somewhat.

Most exciting pick for me out of the group is Rayson. Reading up on him he has the potential to be a very damaging player with his run and carry, while also being one of the best kicks in the draft. He didn’t collect less than 20 possessions in any match he played this year at u18 level and captained the SA team in JHF’s absence this season in their last game. Would love West Coast to get their hands on him with one of their mid range selections. If you’re a fan of Sinn this guy looks the next best thing IMO.

Feb 26, 2012
North Melbourne 2021 Draft Summary

Pick 2 - Jason Horne-Francis MID/FWD (Collingwood matched my Pick 1 bid for Nick Daicos)
-------------------------------------
Pick 22 - Rhett Bazzo KPD/KPF
Pick 41 - Sam Banks DEF
Pick 60 - Youseph Dib FWD/UTL

In reality North may very well take 5 picks in the actual draft but I passed with my last as I didn't have the knowledge that deep but I am still happy with my haul. Horne-Francis is a given at this point although gut feel is North won't actually bid on Daicos on the day, I think GWS will bid on both Daicos and Darcy with their pick 2. Regardless, Horne-Francis is a genuine gun and North fans should be very excited for what he is going to bring.

I ventured onto the North board to see what their thoughts were on list needs and they told me a KPD, half back and a small forward were on the menu for them in this years draft. The Bazzo pick may be a slight reach but he wouldn't have been there at 41 so I'm happy with him at 22, really enjoy his game and I wouldn't be disappointed if WC were to pick up the WA swingman with one of our picks. Banks is one of the best prospects out of Tassie and his footskills and decision making will make him a good option coming off the half back flank for North once he puts a bit of size onto his slight frame, good value out of a pick 41. I was surprised when Collingwood decided not to nominate Dib as a NGA prospect as I see him as a nice option for a pacy small forward. He has played all over the ground so has versatility but due to his size (stands at only 174cm), I think his future is down forward which is where he played for Collingwood's VFL team this season (4 goals from 4 games)

buddymania

Sep 22, 2008
ESPN
NYG, Chicago Bulls
Gold Coast 2021 Draft Summary

Pick 12 - Tyler Sonsie (MID, Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro, 181cm/77kg)
Pick 49 - Josh Browne (MID, East Fremantle/Western Australia, 185cm/77kg)
Pick 60 - Shay Linke (FWD/MID, Central District/South Australia, 190cm/79kg)

Plus a future 2022 Third Round Selection (tied to Brisbane).

Gold Coast entered the draft with a solo pick 3 (sliding to pick 5) after the Daicos and Darcy bids. They have turned that pick 5 into 3 shots at a midfielder, with Sonsie being rated as a top 3 selection only a few months ago, Browne being rated in the top 25 and Linke a value pick who has already played against men in the SANFL so should be a plug and play option in his first year on the half forward flank. They also pick up a future 3rd for 2022 which will be handy as they can't seem to retain any players.

Feb 12, 2008
Hawthorn Draft Summary 2021

Pick 3 - Finn Callaghan (MID - Sandringham Dragons/Vic Metro, 189cm/82kg)
Pick 23 - Jesse Motlop (FWD/MID, South Fremantle/Western Australia, 177cm/77kg)
Pick 26 - Zac Taylor (MID/FWD, Calder Cannons/Vic Metro, 180cm/74kg)
Pick 46 - Bailey Rogers (MID, Claremont, 185cm/85kg)
Pick 71 - Matt Hammelmann (KPF, Aspley, 197cm/88kg)

I went to the Hawks board to ask for feedback on the type of players they're wanting/needing. The overwhelming feedback (really good board actually) I got from them was dynamic mid/skilled mid forward /skilled small forward and someone who can hit the scoreboard.

With this in mind, I knocked up a hit list of players and figured out workable trades to get most of them. (The situation was fluid so a few on the fly)
I'm absolutely stoked with my haul and did exactly what was requested of me.

Callaghan looks an absolute ripper. Nothing is ever guaranteed but he really looks a list top 5 prospect.
Motlop is highly skilled forward and natural footballer, if Monocle is a fan then I'm sold.
Taylor is a brilliant kick, great vision and good sidestep. Really happy to land him. I think he'll be one of the better players out of this draft
Rogers is plug and play and should be able to fill a variety of roles at the next level. Very good value at this stage.
Hammelmann is also plug and play, a proven goal kicker and I think would be very effective if given a 2nd chance.

Dec 7, 2000
Victoria home of football
Eagles
GWS Draft 2021

Pick 5 - Neil Erasmus (MID/FWD - Subiaco/Western Australia, 190cm/82kg)
Pick 29 - Josh Fahey (DEF, GWS Academy, 186cm/76kg)
Pick 47 - Joshua Clarke (DEF, Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro, 183cm/77kg)
Pick 54 - Corey Warner (MID, East Fremantle/Western Australia, 182cm/74kg)

Bit of a bizarre draft for GWS, with early picks lost to a completely pointless 2 spot upgrade due to the chief recruiter being a noob. With such an even group behind the clear top 2 of Daicos and Horne-Francis, the intended strategy was to trade down the #2 (live) pick in the draft for multiple good picks.

Alas, it didn't pan out.

At #5 GWS selected Neil Erasmus. I genuinely think he will be taken this early and won't last to Fremantle's pick 6 (which will be #8 by the time they get to pick). His highlights is all you need to watch to understand why. He just looks like he's in another class compared to his peers and the only thing which might see him slide to Freo is concerns about his durability given his injuries in 2021.

Pick 29 selected itself with GWS matching Richmond's bid for Josh Fahey.
Fahey will probably be bid on in the mid-20s, though I have read some suggestions he may even attract a bid in the teens to force GWS to pay up the draft points (after GWS takes their #13 pick). Josh's skill set make him a likely backup to Lachie Whitfield, who regularly misses 5-6 games a year through injury.

At pick 47 I selected Joshua Clarke. In all honesty, it's probably a reach to grab him here as I haven't seen his name mentioned in other mock drafts. However his highlights and 2021 stats suggest he has taken the necessary step to make it onto an AFL list as an over ager. But maybe via the rookie draft is more likely.

At 54 I couldn't believe Corey Warner was still on the board. Was both cursing myself for not taking him at 47 and thanking my luck nobody else realised he was there. Lots of suggestions he'll be picked in the 30s, though I'm not convinced the Sydney brother link is enough justification.

bh90210fan

Sep 4, 2017
GWS Draft 2021

Pick 5 - Neil Erasmus (MID/FWD - Subiaco/Western Australia, 190cm/82kg)
Pick 29 - Josh Fahey (DEF, GWS Academy, 186cm/76kg)
Pick 47 - Joshua Clarke (DEF, Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro, 183cm/77kg)
Pick 54 - Corey Warner (MID, East Fremantle/Western Australia, 182cm/74kg)

Bit of a bizarre draft for GWS, with early picks lost to a completely pointless 2 spot upgrade due to the chief recruiter being a noob. With such an even group behind the clear top 2 of Daicos and Horne-Francis, the intended strategy was to trade down the #2 (live) pick in the draft for multiple good picks.

Alas, it didn't pan out.

At #5 GWS selected Neil Erasmus. I genuinely think he will be taken this early and won't last to Fremantle's pick 6 (which will be #8 by the time they get to pick). His highlights is all you need to watch to understand why. He just looks like he's in another class compared to his peers and the only thing which might see him slide to Freo is concerns about his durability given his injuries in 2021.

Pick 29 selected itself with GWS matching Richmond's bid for Josh Fahey.
Fahey will probably be bid on in the mid-20s, though I have read some suggestions he may even attract a bid in the teens to force GWS to pay up the draft points (after GWS takes their #13 pick). Josh's skill set make him a likely backup to Lachie Whitfield, who regularly misses 5-6 games a year through injury.

At pick 47 I selected Joshua Clarke. In all honesty, it's probably a reach to grab him here as I haven't seen his name mentioned in other mock drafts. However his highlights and 2021 stats suggest he has taken the necessary step to make it onto an AFL list as an over ager. But maybe via the rookie draft is more likely.

At 54 I couldn't believe Corey Warner was still on the board. Was both cursing myself for not taking him at 47 and thanking my luck nobody else realised he was there. Lots of suggestions he'll be picked in the 30s, though I'm not convinced the Sydney brother link is enough justification.
I realised Warner was there, but went for a 192cm inside mid with a nose for kicking goals instead :moustache:

Sep 12, 2013
10 min from Optus
Lakers Claremont
I started the draft with picks 22, 30, 32, 34, 50 and 91. I traded 34 and 50 to Doggies for their pick 23 to move up to the early second round and then let the draft came to me. Plenty of offers but I was very happy at those 2 spots.

Pick 24 (orig 22) - Chesser offers speed, class and a genuine rebounding defender and possible outside midfield as a winger. I believe he will move to the wing but start on the HBF? With Smith, Menangola, Higgins and Duncan all getting on in years, the Cats need some outside dash. Oh, and he is a two way runner.

Pick 25 (orig 23) - Conway. I was really wanting this local Geelong Falcons ruck as I see him as the best genuine ruck in the draft and Geelong have been mucking around all too long on who will ruck for them. I suspect it was a slight reach but only 5 or so slots and it allowed me to shape my draft knowing full well that I had enough of what I waned likely to continue through to my next 2 picks in the 30's. Conway offers the complete ruck package coming in at genuine AFL ruck height (205 plus nearly 100kg) and has shown more than enough all round ruck game in his follow up work.

I then let the draft come to me.

Pick 34 (orig 32) - McDonald is the next inside midfielder that consistently gets the job done. He will sit in the VFL for a year and then start to replace the aging Dangerwood and Guthrey. What is impressive at stoppages is his ability to make good decisions and his speed to get the ball to the outside.

Pick 36 (orig 34) - Howes is a highly skilled forward who has started to show he might just be a midfielder. Worst cae is he stays a hff and has a run through the middle. Great skills overhead and by foot, excellent endurance and an wonderful athletic player.

Pick 81 (orig 91) - Adams is a KPD who can take a stint in the ruck. An ideal Blicavs replacement and he has come through a good SA programme and is still growing. At this level in the draft, you can afford to be patient and take a punt on a tall

Sep 30, 2012
The suburbs
Subiaco Lions, Ferrari, Minardi
Whoof. And just like that, it's over.

Thank you for all those who took part in this phantom trading picks incessantly draft. If you could finish your work by summarising the picks your club took, that would be fantastic.

FREMANTLE'S HAUL
Pick 8 -
Josh Rachele
Pick 17 - Jacob Van Rooyen
----------
Pick 21 - Leek Alleer
Pick 28 - Darcy Wilmot
----------
Pick 50 - Taj Woewodin (unmatched bid)
Pick 58 - Kai Lohmann
----------
Pick 74 - Josh Cripps

Obviously, Freo won't end up taking this many selections in the real thing. But even if these picks were capped at the first 4, I'd still be pleased with the haul. I always wanted Rachele with the first, and traded down to get JVR and an extra pick, so that worked out well. I may have reached a bit for Alleer, but I think this won't prove to be the case in the long run. My bluff was called with the Woewodin bid, but I wasn't too bothered as I'd missed out on Browne and he was my main later-pick midfield target. If I was being ultra-critical I'd say that I should have taken more genuine midfield talent, but things just didn't quite pan out that way. Wilmot was too good to overlook. I'd have liked Lukac late, but Cripps was a decent enough back up option after he went. Overall, a focus on pace and spread across the board, and I'm happy with the result.
A massive thankyou to Carbine Chaos for organising this and to AsterixTheGaul for his excel wizardry in keeping up with the pick swaps and F/S + NGA bid matching. Even if I am to blame for the majority of the pick swaps! I really enjoyed doing this - although my method acting of smashing pies and sausage rolls has wreaked havoc on my waistline. Anyway, I digest...

My initial approach to this draft was:

1. Draft to needs in the first and second
2. Draft on potential / best available late

I interpreted our needs as mids, mids and more mids. After that, I was after a KPP and a ruckman.

I started with 10, 29, 35, 68, 86. When I was approached by buddymania with an offer to move up I took it thinking that it may present me with an opportunity to leverage multiple second rounders and a drop down of our first. I had my eye on trading out WC's 2022 F2 but there were no takers at any point in my extensive :p negotiations and dealings. The GWS trade was predatory / opportunistic on my part (sorry again daddy_4_eyes ) and got me what I was after. I was in negotiations with ArdentEagle and SumaGodCoach about pick 26, whereupon I took the Hawks' offer - in hindsight, Melbourne's was better and I should've taken that. Maybe that made up for my steal earlier, karma got its own back to level the scores! In the end I had improved WC's position in the draft, but on points value, not amount of picks. I would've liked to have gotten into that second round with another pick, and If I had, I wouldn't have traded 26 and 76 for 45 and 48.

7 West Coast (trade GWS Suns) - Matthew Johnson (MID, Subiaco/Western Australia, 192cm/81kg)
15 West Coast (trade GWS Suns) - Angus Sheldrick (MID, Claremont/Western Australia, 179cm/88kg)
45 West Coast (trade Hawthorn) - Luke Polson (KPF, Peel Thunder/Western Australia, 196cm/92kg)
48 West Coast (trade Hawthorn) - James Tunstill (MID, East Perth/Western Australia, 185cm/74kg)
57 West Coast - Jack Avery (DEF/MID, Perth/Western Australia, 190cm/83kg)

My first two picks addressed needs. Johnson :thumbsupv1:, happy with that. I maintain my stated belief that Sheldrick will be a bolter and will go in the first / early second rounds, before pick 25. After that I was happy with Polson as a KPP, then I wanted an outside midfielder / utility. Tunstill was available, but I was after Brady Hough or Arthur Jones. Avery as a HBF appealed to me as best available and someone who could shore up that post given Shep's age and the doubts over Nelson and Cole. I get that trading out pick 26 for Taylor wasn't well received and I think its justified to wonder about that decision. Hypothetically, who would be better - Zac Taylor or Hough + A. Jones? Hard to say.

For the RD I would be going after Felix Flockhart as a project ruck and best available with whatever room we have left.

Anyway, I had a blast and would gladly do this again. Happy to help out if we want to run another one in a fortnight's time.

Alright, Richmond's pick summary.

Pick 9 - Ben Hobbs - Vic Country/GWV Rebels/Horsham Demons JFC - MID - 183cm/80kg - DOB 16/9/03

Tough inside mid, Tigers will be absolutely delighted if he was still there on draft night.

Pick 10 (traded from Freo) - Josh Gibcus - Vic Country/GWV Rebels/East Point JFC - KPD - 196cm/87kg - DOB 4/4/03

Leading key defensive prospect in the draft pool, which is a real area of need for Richmond (as evidenced by the fact they just signed a 44-year-old Robbie Tarrant for two years), so I was pretty happy to trade up to grab him even if I might've given up more than I had to to Carbine Chaos.

Pick 30 - Tom Brown - Vic Country/Murray Bushrangers/Mooroopna JFC - DEF - 186cm/71kg - DOB 30/7/03

Had my heart set on a running back, when Wilmot went the pick before mine (with the pick I gave CC, no less) I had a crack at Fahey and would've been happy if GWS hadn't matched. Brown was the next cab off the rank, with Cal Twomey rating him in the top 25 with his dash and poise off half-back. Sam Banks and Alastair Lord were also in the mix.

Pick 31 - Jack Williams - WA/East Fremantle/Rossmoyne JFC - KPF - 195cm/91kg - DOB 1/12/03

Key forward is another area of need for Richmond with Riewoldt nearing the end, Lynch rapidly approaching 30 and CCJ leaving. Williams, who was an effective partner for Amiss for WA, was the best of that type available and could be developed in other areas if need be.

Pick 73 - Alastair Lord - SA/Norwood/Athelstone JFC - DEF - 180cm/76kg - DOB 26/11/03

I probably wanted another midfielder to round out the draft cohort for Richmond but Lord being available, after being in the mix for my pick at 30, was too good to pass up. Another running defender with speed and dare.

Overall, I'm pretty happy with how it turned out, I think I got a balanced group and snapped up some bargains.

mattyc75

Dec 5, 2010
over here
,west perthgolden state warriors
Sydneys picks
18 mitch knevitt 193cm mid/fwd
Kennedy replacement who can play
Forward
33 Matt Roberts mid
Inside mid who fell down the boards
Due to concerns about athleticism
And disposal. He can play and I'd
expect him to have a long career
39 Brady Hough 189cm utility
Provides real versatility and should
end up in the midfield but could be in
any part of the ground
59 Ronald Fejo jnr 178cm mid/fwd
Looks really exciting on a wing with
ball in hand.
78 Noah Pegoraro 194 kpd
Overager who fills a list need

Think this is a good draft for Sydney
Knevitt could really be a top mid in a few years replacing kennedy and if Fejo makes it he could be anything!

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

FREMANTLE'S HAUL
Pick 8 -
Josh Rachele PICK 6 TO ADELAIDE
Pick 17 - Jacob Van Rooyen PICK 19 TO MELBOURNE
----------
Pick 21 - Leek Alleer PICK 15 TO GWS
Pick 28 - Darcy Wilmot PICK 16 TO BRISBANE
----------
Pick 50 - Taj Woewodin (unmatched bid) PICK 65 TO MELBOURNE
Pick 58 - Kai Lohmann PICK 20 TO BRISBANE
----------
Pick 74 - Josh Cripps UNDRAFTED
Not bad! Even if I'd kept it at 4, as Freo ended up with, I'd have been pretty content.

Sep 12, 2013
10 min from Optus
Lakers Claremont
My picks for Geelong
Did the deal with Doggies to get 23
Pick 24 - Chesser 14 West Coast
Pick 25 - Conway 24 Geelong
Pick 34 - McDonald 26 Hawthorn
Pick 36 - Howes 39 Melbourne
Pick 81 - Adams 51 St Kilda

Actual Geelong
Did the deal with Doggies to get 23
24 Conway
25 Knevitt
32 Willis
48 Kroeger
64 Whyte

So I picked 3 that went much earlier than predicted and 2 that were as picked (1 spot early/3 spots later)

Who needs Steven Wells? Maybe I should practice some dick eating and apply for the job!!!!!