Early Trade Week Thread

why would we trade for another tall back??

exactly we should be looking to off load one of our talls e.g LRT grundy or richards all good players but with A.J coming on one has to go or play ressies and wait for a injury

How many games have these lads all been fit for service at the same time.

In chronological order.
Bish bash bosh, The BLOODS:diamond: bids list!

Shannon Byrnes. (help the Cats with the cap again, for a 4th rounder)
Clint Young. (his first name is Clint)
Mitch Clark. (get him closer to Perth, more direct flights than Brisvegas)
David MacKay. (swap sumner, new crows coach will sink this:thumbsdown:)
Daniel Connors.(a boozer for our born again)

As sure as the world is my ashtray - you know it makes sense you swivel chair slobs!:footy:

why would we trade for another tall back??

LRT's almost gone ... injuries have reduced him to a bit player at this stage of his career (and I've always been one of his biggest fans). Grundy is a favoured whipping boy on BF, to the extent many Swans posters want to trade him. Richards, as brave as he is, is not a genuine KPD, which I believe Thursfield could be, particularly playing in a side renowned for its commitment to defence.

Young Johnson is not the type who'll play on the big key forwards of the competition.

I don't agree with getting rid of Grundy, but I don't see why there's an instant objection to looking for tall defenders, whatever your opinion of Thursfield.

L.J playing down back in ressies, spanger traded for as a defender, A.J, LRT,grundy,ted richards i think we have got tall defenders covered.

Dont mind if we dont trade any of them but dont think we need anymore.

And please no more running defenders got them covered too.

skillful outside midfielders is what our premiership puzzle needs

LRT's almost gone ... injuries have reduced him to a bit player at this stage of his career (and I've always been one of his biggest fans). Grundy is a favoured whipping boy on BF, to the extent many Swans posters want to trade him. Richards, as brave as he is, is not a genuine KPD, which I believe Thursfield could be, particularly playing in a side renowned for its commitment to defence.

Young Johnson is not the type who'll play on the big key forwards of the competition.

I don't agree with getting rid of Grundy, but I don't see why there's an instant objection to looking for tall defenders, whatever your opinion of Thursfield.

Don't know how you can say Richards isn't a KPD but Thursfield is:confused: Richards has been playing strictly as a KPD this year and usually on the oppositions best forwards! Thursfield is a decent player, and I do rate him for Richmond, but I don't think he is good enough to get a game for us and never will be. Grundy and Richards are both definitely better defenders than him, and Johnson is one for the future. We also have Heath who hopefully will have an injury-free run at it. We'd be better off drafting a couple towards the end of the national draft/rookie draft and hoping they develop.

Really disagree with the sentiment that Richards is still not a KPD. He may have once not been of the size to be considered as such, but you can he has stacked on the weight over the last 2 years and is much, much stronger in the contest than he once was. He's our FB for the next 2-3 years until he starts to slow down with old age IMO.

Look at Leo Barry, Michael Jamison, Craig Bolton. All undersized, all shorter than average but are excellent one on one players and all very smart in terms of the body work they employ. Teddy is in that category in that he may still be undersized a little, but his body work has become excellent and he is rarely beaten now.

FB's no longer need to be gorillas to take on the gorillas anymore. Mick Martyn, Mal Michael, Justin Leppitsch, Ben Rutten are examples of those really big defenders (and all quality players mind you), but they aren't the body type that has to be had for a FB anymore.

L.J playing down back in ressies, spanger traded for as a defender, A.J, LRT,grundy,ted richards i think we have got tall defenders covered.

Dont mind if we dont trade any of them but dont think we need anymore.

And please no more running defenders got them covered too.

skillful outside midfielders is what our premiership puzzle needs

Paul Roos said we need and we will be chasing a KPP, but what would he know?...:p

How about Danyle Pearce? Word is he is going to leave. If we had a chance of getting him, would you want us to?

Danyle Pearce is exactly the sort of player we sould chase

That's what I was thinking. We need an outside pacy midfielder to top off our midfield for the next few years. It is probably the hardest position to find a good player for, they all seem to be inconsistent and their application seems to be lacking, but I think Pearce would definitely be worth a shot.

so have you written off Jetta?

*gonna ignore the bullshit knee jerk responses from the usual suspects

you need to get a balance of outside runners and in and under midfielders

at the moment we are very lopsided.

its great to have lots of tough hard at it players but to many can make you look slow

so have you written off Jetta?

*gonna ignore the bullshit knee jerk responses from the usual suspects

No I haven't written off Jetta. But it is never a good thing to put all your eggs in one basket, so I think it would be a good investment to go after Pearce. I still think if Jetta can refind some confidence and starting using his stengths (such as pace and long kicking) he could still be a very good player, he doesn't seem capable of doing that at the moment though. Besides, it doesn't hurt to have 2 outside wingmen in any team.

Really disagree with the sentiment that Richards is still not a KPD. He may have once not been of the size to be considered as such, but you can he has stacked on the weight over the last 2 years and is much, much stronger in the contest than he once was. He's our FB for the next 2-3 years until he starts to slow down with old age IMO.

Look at Leo Barry, Michael Jamison, Craig Bolton. All undersized, all shorter than average but are excellent one on one players and all very smart in terms of the body work they employ. Teddy is in that category in that he may still be undersized a little, but his body work has become excellent and he is rarely beaten now.

FB's no longer need to be gorillas to take on the gorillas anymore. Mick Martyn, Mal Michael, Justin Leppitsch, Ben Rutten are examples of those really big defenders (and all quality players mind you), but they aren't the body type that has to be had for a FB anymore.

I get what you're saying about Richards, but he's nearing veteran category and I still argue he is not a genuine KPD, although he is more so than AJ.

Ideally, I would still like us to chase a genuine, seriously big-bodied key defender. I mentioned Thursfield because apart from having a good opinion of him, I noticed the other day how much more solid he is than even a year or so ago. Or even his Tiger mate Luke McGuane, although he seems to have ongoing injury worries.

I get what you're saying about Richards, but he's nearing veteran category and I still argue he is not a genuine KPD, although he is more so than AJ.

On what basis do you argue that Richards isn't a KPD? He's named at FB, and he plays on key forwards. He is nothing BUT a key defender.

As for Johnson, he too is a key defender. He hasn't played the role every single game, but he has played on (and beaten) guys like Mitch Clark and Podsiadly.

If you think either of those guys aren't key defenders then I'd love to know your definition.

On what basis do you argue that Richards isn't a KPD? He's named at FB, and he plays on key forwards. He is nothing BUT a key defender.

As for Johnson, he too is a key defender. He hasn't played the role every single game, but he has played on (and beaten) guys like Mitch Clark and Podsiadly.

If you think either of those guys aren't key defenders then I'd love to know your definition.

Glen Jakovich ... that kind of player. Again, I understand what everyone is arguing about Richards ... how about I just give up?

Sorry to intrude, didn't want to make a thread but....

Whats the go with Brett Meredith? Is he a contracted player next year?

Are they looking at trading him? or a future with the swans?

Sorry to intrude, didn't want to make a thread but....

Whats the go with Brett Meredith? Is he a contracted player next year?

Are they looking at trading him? or a future with the swans?

Not sure of his contact status.

While he's not exactly untouchable I think the club will persist with him. He's probably shown just enough.

Glen Jakovich ... that kind of player. Again, I understand what everyone is arguing about Richards ... how about I just give up?

i have often thought of Jako when watching AJ. He's only 18, is 194 cm, and apparently put on a bunch of weight in pre-season. Give him a few years to really fill out and we will have an awesome KPD. And someone said earlier, somewhere, he isn't quick, err, he is, watch some replays. Best of all, he has his head screwed on right and I already have a man crush happening..:heart: