Early Trade Week Thread

More or less agree with this. I reckon we could, and should, trade Bevan to GWS for an upgrade of our second rounder. Win-win for both sides as I see it. GWS won't worry about a slightly worse second rounder given their draft pick riches early on, plus they get a hard, experienced body that can protect the youngsters for 2-3 years, and even better is from Western Sydney! That or let him be signed up and take a compo pick. I'd like to see Moore traded or delisted but retained as a development coach.

A couple of exceptions though:

Everitt is almost certainly on a two year contract, and has been stuffed around this year. Spend the entirety of next preseason working with him as a HFF, get his endurance and core strength up, and play him there all year. He has talent, and should be a nightmare to match up on. If White has been given as much time as he has, Everitt should too.

I assume you've named Sumner to be cut because he has returned to Adelaide? If he wants out, then fine, but there's no indication that his move is permanent. He's sorting some stuff out, and the outcome of that may be that he ends up giving up footy, it may be that he tries to get signed by an SA-based club, it may be that he sorts out whatever is wrong and returns.

I'd like to see:

OUT:
Bevan (traded)
White (traded)
Moore (delisted/traded)
Currie (delisted)
Craig Bolton (retired)
Daniel Bradshaw (retired)

(Maybe):
Meredith (delisted/traded)
Kennelly (pushed into retirement if his form continues to decline)
Sumner (see how things play out)

That's 6-9 senior list spots freed up, and presumably some fair salary cap space with Craig Bolton, Jesse White (who would have been on decent coin given we had to prevent him going to GC - D'OH!), Moore, and possibly Kennelly. Bradshaw still has a year on his contract to run, so I think that's included in the cap, so no relief yet (AFAIK).

Coming into that vacuum, we can target a few big name players. Taylor Walker would be quite a lovely acquisition, and I'd kill for Dale Thomas (can't see it happening though). Add to that Tom Mitchell, with Gordon possibly elevated, and there's still 2-6 places for other draft picks.

I dont know why everyone here is so down on Bevan. I actully quite like him in the team. Ok, he isnt the most skilfull player going about, but he is couragious, a good tackler and his disposal isnt the worst in our team.

What credentials would Moore bring as development coach? Does he have some hidden talents that I'm not aware of? I'm happy for him to go.

As Bradshaw has retired, doesnt that automatically remove him from our list and our salary cap? Surely if he's not attending training and is getting on with his life in another field, there would have been some arrangment made regarding the compensation package paid out to him. Or Maybe transfer that over to him (under the table) in a role as goalkicking coach, we could use him.

I love him and reckon he has great value for a list but considering he hasn't been able to cement a spot in the side since 2008 (when he came 6th in the Skilton) and wanted to leave the club last year through the trade week at the end of 2010 (and has failed to win a consistent spot in the 22 this year), I think all signs point towards him leaving the club at season's end, given he is out of contract at the end of 2011. And GWS is the logical location for him.

I dont know why everyone here is so down on Bevan. I actully quite like him in the team. Ok, he isnt the most skilfull player going about, but he is couragious, a good tackler and his disposal isnt the worst in our team.

What credentials would Moore bring as development coach? Does he have some hidden talents that I'm not aware of? I'm happy for him to go.

As Bradshaw has retired, doesnt that automatically remove him from our list and our salary cap? Surely if he's not attending training and is getting on with his life in another field, there would have been some arrangment made regarding the compensation package paid out to him. Or Maybe transfer that over to him (under the table) in a role as goalkicking coach, we could use him.

On Bevan - I absolutely love the guy. I just don't think there's room for him in the team. His only valuable contribution is as a small forward but I think we're better of going with McGlynn and developing Parker (when not in the midfield). As a depth player he's very handy but I doubt he'd want to see out his career as the guy who gets 4-5 games a year when someone else is injured when he could play a valuable role at a team like GWS.

On Moore - He's a very, very clever player with excellent skills. Handballing, kicking & marking are all exceptional and hard at the contest to boot. The only thing that holds him back as a player are physical attributes... He's too slow and too short.

And given his inclusion in the leadership team a couple of years ago, I'd suggest he's well respected at the club. From the outside looking in, I'd say he's the ideal candidate for a development coach.

He's too young for that. He wouldn't want his AFL career to end now surely. There'd be another club that'd take him on, if indeed he was to leave the club at the end of the year (which I doubt anyway). Unless he loved the club so much that he'd never play against Sydney.

Bevan would be a great addition to a good forward line, but is too inconsistent in front of goal to be a focal point. He'd be a champ in the eagles, hawthorn or collingwood forward line where he can bob up for a cameo every now and again. He does all the hard work but just lets himself down with the finish. He's one player that I really feel for, cause every time he was in the side I was willing him to have a great game, he does a lot of great things, and hell always give 110%, but he just does things that leave you scratching your head. There's a place for him on an afl list somewhere but I don't think its with us. Gws would definitely benefit from his services.

So he will stop playing to be a coach at his age. He will end up playing for GWS, THE SCUM or VFL. That would make "sense"

Why wouldn't he? I can't see any other team picking him up, and he'd earn more as an assistant coach than as a VFL player. He'd get to stay in Sydney, where no doubt the bulk of his current friends live, at the Swans, where he is highly respected.

I like him, but he's a depth player at best now.

What credentials did Playfair bring as a development coach? The same as Moore. Neither are fantastic footballers (neither quite have the athleticism required, in different ways), but Playfair has been a revelation for the reserves. Moore is rated for his footy brain and his leadership. He has a lot of respect at the club, and so I could easily see him getting a job.

Nah, I dunno, it's weird. I'm not sure we have to pay him the contract, but I think it still counts under the cap or something. I dunno, I'm no expert on the matter.

Why wouldn't he? I can't see any other team picking him up, and he'd earn more as an assistant coach than as a VFL player. He'd get to stay in Sydney, where no doubt the bulk of his current friends live, at the Swans, where he is highly respected.

I like him, but he's a depth player at best now.

What credentials did Playfair bring as a development coach? The same as Moore. Neither are fantastic footballers (neither quite have the athleticism required, in different ways), but Playfair has been a revelation for the reserves. Moore is rated for his footy brain and his leadership. He has a lot of respect at the club, and so I could easily see him getting a job.

Nah, I dunno, it's weird. I'm not sure we have to pay him the contract, but I think it still counts under the cap or something. I dunno, I'm no expert on the matter.
Why has Playbad been a revelation as a coach, ffs he's coaching AFL listed players against club players!

I still swear I remember Playfair getting a fair bit of the ball before he inevitably butchered the kick. He clearly knew what he should be doing; just didn't know how to do it.

Just thinking but having read the posts about Phil Davis (Adelaide) possibly going to GWS next year, if this happens that might put us in the box seat to get Walker from adelaide because GWS can only take the one uncontracted player from each club allowing us to trade with adelaide, Also Sylvia would be a handy get in trade week aswell.
(either way the writing is on the wall for white, he will become trade bait to get these these trades done)

Another player (Sylvia) using the Swans as a negotiating chip with their club!

The guy will stay at Melbourne definitely if Scully signs with GWS.

I'm thinking Scully is gone to the GWS and if Sylvia leaves, it'll hurt Melbourne big time, but would love it, if Sylvia comes to the Swans though. How old is Sylvia, he'd be around the 25 years of age, wouldn't he?

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl...ower-struggle-on/story-fn8thmk1-1226099530943

As usual, Sydney linked to another star. Thoughts on Sylvia? I like him as a player and would definitely have him at the club under the right circumstances, but doesn't seem like the kind of player we need.

If that's genuine, I'd be all for it. Sylvia's a gun, been a SuperCoach stalwart of mine for a while, I pay close attention. Always had the ability, tough as nails, triffic mark, just needed to mature ... he's 25, would be a ripper for us but I seriously doubt he'd leave the Dees.

Yeah hopefully he's over his woman bashing phase!

Here's one I made earlier ...

McVeigh and Malceski to Essendon for David Hille and a draft pick, maybe second rounder.

Essendon will talk a deal for Hille, and he'd surely help us as a genuine back-up ruck able to go forward a la Leigh Brown. McVeigh could go play with his brother and Mal, well ...

I'm not sure Swans fans would be happy with my offer but I'm keen to hear other opinions.

Here's one I made earlier ...

McVeigh and Malceski to Essendon for David Hille and a draft pick, maybe second rounder.

Essendon will talk a deal for Hille, and he'd surely help us as a genuine back-up ruck able to go forward a la Leigh Brown. McVeigh could go play with his brother and Mal, well ...

I'm not sure Swans fans would be happy with my offer but I'm keen to hear other opinions.

No way would I want that!

We should be right for ruckmen Seabs and Pyke are sitting in the stands and if Hille would be brought in they'd not get a game although Hille isnt really that good, I would hate to lose Mc and Mal.

That's overs for Hille and 2nd rounder IMO. Essendon would take that in a heart beat.

Dunno about overs. McV and Mal have never reached the levels I expected when they started, and both have their flaws. Hille could have 3-4 years as a Leigh Brown type. Anyway, just a thought.