Eastern VS Calder

hothead

Jul 15, 2004
blues
Just wondering what people thought of the two games on the weeend at port, who played well and any injuries that might hurt the two teams going into saturdays big clash!

Oakleigh fell away badly after half time, and were absolutely smashed in the ruck. They lacked a quality defender to contain Bate and Cloke, and eventually Gilham had to be moved back to contain him.

Sharp had a shocker, copped a knock and never really recovered. Bain was OK until going off injured.

For Eastern Bate was great up forward, kicked 4.3, but he still drops a lot of marks. Knights was good once again, kicking is his only concern.

Deluca and Falovic were very impressive in the ruck.

Jacobs was also good down back, took some great marks, and Spangher towelled up Bonaddio.

GOALden Hawk said:
Oakleigh fell away badly after half time, and were absolutely smashed in the ruck. They lacked a quality defender to contain Bate and Cloke, and eventually Gilham had to be moved back to contain him.

Sharp had a shocker, copped a knock and never really recovered. Bain was OK until going off injured.

For Eastern Bate was great up forward, kicked 4.3, but he still drops a lot of marks. Knights was good once again, kicking is his only concern.

Deluca and Falovic were very impressive in the ruck.

Jacobs was also good down back, took some great marks, and Spangher towelled up Bonaddio.
From a Collingwood perspective, how did Cloke perform ?

GOALden hawk if you are talking about jacobs for eastern you have the wrong person because he didn't play. Dalton was great down back on dowler i thought.

For Eastern Bate was great up forward, kicked 4.3, but he still drops a lot of marks

there was only one mark i can remember that he clearly should have taken, his set shot kicking needs to improve though!

i thought Dalton was good on Dowler, and Knights killed it with 39 touches!

footyfreak11 said:
GOALden hawk if you are talking about jacobs for eastern you have the wrong person because he didn't play. Dalton was great down back on dowler i thought.

Oops, meant Wilson (28). Dalton was good - the Ranges ability to close down Oakleigh's key forwards played a big part in them winning the game.

Cloke kicked 3 and looked pretty good to me. Has a big turning circle, but he can kick the ball a mile.

GOALden Hawk said:
Oops, meant Wilson (28). Dalton was good - the Ranges ability to close down Oakleigh's key forwards played a big part in them winning the game.

I think Oakleigh would have been better off putting Dowler to CHB and leaving Gilham up forward. Gilham looked to be the only one likely to get goals and Dowler might have gotten into the game at CHB.

Once Eastern got on top in the midfield it was game over. Oakleigh don't really have any genuinely good tall defenders and Bate, Hill and Cloke were allways going to towel them up if they could get good supply.

yerr i saw the game, i thought bate was outstanding, he just seem to be involved both in the air and at ground level, the kid can definatly play! dont no how he didnt get in the bests for eastern! knights was good, and the defense for eastern stood up well in general! i'm glad they beat oakleigh as well :)

For oakleigh sharp was terrible injured or not ( if he was he shouldnt of played)
dowler was almost kickless!
The only players that did anything was myers who did a great job acting as a big man all day, bain was very flashy in and out of the game, but looked a class act when he got it, untill he got stretchered of in the last 5 mins! poor effort all round!

anyone no how bad bains injury is? and any other injuries to come out of the game, especilly for eastern?

Bain didn't look good as he was stretchered off the ground.
There are no injury worries for eastern from the game, also Todd Burley and Leigh Adams are chances to come back from injury this week for the granny.

Also i heard from Evan Johnson (eastern) that Myles Krakouer refused to shake his hand after the game just because he'd been bagging him a bit during the game!
Bad bloke i reckon!

Watched the Eastern V Oakleigh game closely. Lost interest in the other game as the scores show. Here’s my run down of the better players

Cloke – Was excellent especially when moved to a wing in the third. One of the better games I’ve seen him play. Surprised wasn’t in the best. Adds to the theory that players who have a chance of being drafted get in the named best players.

Deluca- Fantastic. Great mobility for his height and followed up his tap outs once they hit ground level.

Knights- Good skills and set the play up well. Was everywhere in the second half.

Wilson – Looked like he took about 15 marks the way he kept bobbing up across half back. Did well on Murphy and was a key contributor to the teams success on the day. When kicking just needs to look for team mates running past a little more rather than always kicking long to a contest.

Spangher – This kid continually impresses. Had to step up at CHB on Bonnadio with the injury to Burley and was giving away 12 to 15 kilos. How his not been invited to a test I’ll never know. Bonnadio had little impact. Will be drafted next year.

Bate - Was well held early and I think the coaching staff moved him up the ground a little to late. When he went there he dominated the rest of the match.

Dalton- Solid as usual without being flashy.

Gilham – I thought was one of the best and gave them a lot particularly early on. Very impressed with his attack on the ball in the marking contests.

Laidlaw - Held Bate well early which was no mean task. Played a consistent 4 quarters.

Dowler – Although they didn’t kick many he was there better forward over the 4 quarters. Gave them something on the leads. The ball never went past half forward in the 3rd quarter so he didn’t have much of a chance. As we all know this kid has a bright future and will take the comp apart next year.

Sharp – Obviously injured as he rarely ventured past half forward.

Bain - I thought was Oakleigh’s best player. Hope he pulls up ok with the injury

The thing about Calder is that as individual players they are not necessarily that good, but they play a great team oriented brand of footy.

Even in a 120 point win there were too many examples of great marks, dashing runs, guys running past people, spectular snap shots, last ditched spoils etc etc.

Just heaps of putting pressure on the ball carrier, standing in tackles, taking opponents to ground in tackles, keeping the ball alive in the forward line, getting front and square to contests, knocking the ball forwards when you can't pick it up, kicking long and quickly from from broken play, punching from behind, playing in front at all times and always having touch on an opponent at stoppages.

Far from boring I thought Calder were great to watch on the weekend. They dotted every i and crossed every t.

Eastern fought hard against Calder in the earlier finals meeting, but really it was effort to stay close more than really threating Calder. Can't see the Calder team getting done on the weekend.

i have been a critic of calder in the past, but they well deserve it now, they will win the grandie easily.

I'm just glad that oakleigh arent there! i'm a fan of a couple of there players but dont like the way the play, just bombing and hoping for there big guyz to mark, if dowler or bonnadaio dont kick goals they are stuffeed!

Golden Hawk do u no about bains knee for sure? sorry to drain the topic but i am a fan of this lad, and although he needs to improve in some areas, i do think he is a good talent!

FIGJAM said:
I can tell you that Travis Cloke played a very good game. Kicked three and played on the wing for a bit.

Funny how these Cloke "duds" keep managing to get their teams to Grannies!!
funny how none of them will win a granny!! idiot.

Wavell said:
Can someone tell me how did Heath Hocking play and did Josh Singh play?

Hocking was ok - Has set himself a high standard so maybe judging him on past performances.

Singh I believed was left out. No injuries that I know of.

Weaver said:
I think Oakleigh would have been better off putting Dowler to CHB and leaving Gilham up forward. Gilham looked to be the only one likely to get goals and Dowler might have gotten into the game at CHB.

Once Eastern got on top in the midfield it was game over. Oakleigh don't really have any genuinely good tall defenders and Bate, Hill and Cloke were allways going to towel them up if they could get good supply.

Weaver
I think you'll find that Gilham was on Easterns fourth best defender. With Burley out, Spangher took Bonaddio whilst Dalton takes the best tall, not necessarily the full forward. Gilham I agree was impressive early and needed to stay there. But moving someone else down back they may have suffered the same issue.

Surprised Ainger didn't play, that could've stretched them.

hawks2005 said:
Bain didn't look good as he was stretchered off the ground.
There are no injury worries for eastern from the game, also Todd Burley and Leigh Adams are chances to come back from injury this week for the granny.

Also i heard from Evan Johnson (eastern) that Myles Krakouer refused to shake his hand after the game just because he'd been bagging him a bit during the game!
Bad bloke i reckon!

U r a **************** and so is ure little mate Johnson!!

isn't williamstown the reserves for collingwood? making him a 'dud'! Jason is a "dud" no question about it! as for trav i reckon he is the best of the three, however is very predictable in the way he plays. p.s. the shaws r "duds" as well. idiot

juDDa said:
isn't williamstown the reserves for collingwood? making him a 'dud'! Jason is a "dud" no question about it! as for trav i reckon he is the best of the three, however is very predictable in the way he plays. p.s. the shaws r "duds" as well. idiot
Hello troll. That was before he had made his debut for Collingwood. Idiot.