Easy Grammar Fix

Re: There vs Their vs They're

A quick look at your other posts turns this one up http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=23853252#post23853252

Lets all take a collective breath now! The players are going through a mourning period. It was to be expected. It has nothing to do with Buckley, but more to do with loosing Malthouse. The situation is no different at an emotional level to your parents getting divorced and you getting a step dad. At first you dont believe it that it has happened, you then get angry, then you rebel, and finally you might accept the step dad as a father figure. This has nothing to do with Buckley, but everything to do with the players dealing with their emotions of loosing Malthouse who was a father figure to them. Give it time. It will get better.

Did you mean loosing or losing? I'd put it down to a typo but you did it twice!

Personally, unreasonable and illogical arguments from our supporters, such as saying we should've kept Malthouse, worry me much more than bad spelling and grammar.

Totally support this 100%.

People bag us all out as collingwood supporters and call us feral. Half of us spell as though we never went past grade 4, let alone grammar and punctuation (did I just spell grammar wrong? If I did, that is very ironic!).

My pet hat is incorrect use of Your vs You're.

Correct example time: Example 1.0 - how to disagree with someone else's opinion with correct use of "your" (ownership) and "you're" (you are);

"Your opinion that Dane Swan should be dropped from the side is ludicrous. You're obviously an imbecile. Please run back to your mum and have a sook. Yes, that's right, I believe you're a sook!"

Realistic enough?

:p

most people bag out collingwood supporters for being poor dole bludgers with no teeth as well my pet hate is people who dont own there own homes and cars outright because well we all learnt to save when we were kids so wtf have you been doing all your lives it makes us look bad

where the $#%$ do people get off having a go about how people write on a forum about a club we all love take each post on its merit even if there are errors not everyone can be a marvel grammatically as there talents maybe in other areas so except them for who they are on the forums and what they post and not make fun of their grammer skills

I hope you like how i wrote it all out as well enough errors in it all for you guys

How can anyone that's gone through primary school not know the difference between his and he's? Some of the spelling mistakes are understandable but not knowing the difference between his and he's is rather concerning.

That is by far the most annoying mistake on these boards.

I went to a conference during the week. one presentation was about new technology, what has been made obsolete in the last few decades (eg, Audio cassettes, vinyl records, Sega Mega Drive, CRT TV's etc) and part was about what was predicted to be obsolete in coming years.

Spelling is predicted to be obsolete within 5 years.

This is an internet footy forum... caring about that stuff here is like going to a skatepark in cragieburn and trying to stop the swearing.
I think it is more than that.

The poster who cannot spell or put words into context forces the reader to try and work out what the poster means.
I think it is just laziness on the part of the poster.
If someone has something to say, its up to the poster to make it understandable to the reader(s) or to take the other option and don't post.

In other words if you can't be bothered to spell correctly why should I be bothered top read your post?

The poster who cannot spell or put words into context forces the reader to try and work out what the poster means.
I think it is just laziness on the part of the poster.
If someone has something to say, its up to the poster to make it understandable to the reader(s) or to take the other option and don't post.

In other words if you can't be bothered to spell correctly why should I be bothered top read your post?

What if the person is dyslexic?
What if english is not their first language?
What if they left school early to work to help support their family?
Should these peoples thoughts on Collingwood be treated different to yours?
Our you guys could get Chief to create a perfect grammer forum and you guys will never have to worry about it happening again.

Somebody recently posted a candid reminder about how to spell "Keeffe"

Since then I've noticed most people spell it correctly.

We whinge and get all indignant about being corrected - but it works.

What if the person is dyslexic?
What if english is not their first language?
What if they left school early to work to help support their family?
Should these peoples thoughts on Collingwood be treated different to yours?
Our you guys could get Chief to create a perfect grammer forum and you guys will never have to worry about it happening again.
Yes, all very good points and for many posters they will agree with you, but it doesn't change my reasoning, which is I tend to skip over posts that don't make sense to me or which I find are are unintelligible due to poor spelling or grammar.

You don't have to. You might choose to, but generally a courtesy like that is entirely optional. :)

Further to that, you might miss the benefit of some genuinely good "salt of the earth" footy thoughts and passion because of your high grammatical standards...

You don't have to. You might choose to, but generally a courtesy like that is entirely optional. :)

Further to that, you might miss the benefit of some genuinely good "salt of the earth" footy thoughts and passion because of your high grammatical standards...
That's partially my point, if I can't understand it, I'll miss nothing

It amazes me how many people on this board do not know when to use what! I can not sit there and do nothing. I feel the need to help them improve their language skills. They're never going to learn unless someone points it out!

http://www.wikihow.com/Use-There,-Their-and-They're

You're, you, your a **** wit. :D

just kidding bro, but seriously relax, not everyone's educated, i left school at 14 after wagging my final 2 years.

i didn't bother with school because when i was younger i was a gun, but when i hit 15 i was told i was to slow/lacked stamina/strengh/courage/speed/desire, sad part is, i only wanted to be a ****in water boy!

We as a group have more important things to worry about than making sure we as a group dot the I,s and cross the T,s.

It is absolute bollocks belittling peoples post,s bcause they may not have a uni education,they post sense enough to get the gist of their arguement and that is all we should worry about as somebody else pointed out we don,t have to read them if we do not want too.

What we as a supporter group need more than anything is a win or 2 and then we might not be picking holes in people over their spelling,it is a trivial matter and matters not in the scheme of things.

Who cares? If you have a problem with people with they're spelling an grammer I suggest that you go support upperclass Melbourne they have no problem as being seen as uneductaed over their do to there education we are just toothless Collingwood supporters GO PIES!!!!!
So people who are literate should support another club?

I dare say we'd struggle to reach our membership targets if we kicked out anyone who can read and write.

In reality, just as people who care about spelling and grammar have to accept that others find it irrelevant in today's day and age, those who overlook it will have to accept that some will subconsciously discount their opinions and assess them as being of lower intelligence.

That's just the way it is. I work in a field where if you submit a CV with spelling errors, your CV is discarded without being read. It indicates that not only are you unable to spell, but you're unable to use spell-check on a computer. Neither is a glowing recommendation.

Re: Thomas turning the corner

How on earth does he seem like a keeper? Nearly 21 for memory and can barely string a few VFL games together. Alex fasolo is the deffinition of a keeper. I think elliot will show his far better than thomas, witts/williams too. And eventually paine

He is still a prime candidate for delistings... just because bucks said his turned a corner with his injury doesnt mean its the case, or that he wont reinjure it / get another injury. The odds are stacked heavily agaisnt this guy, hope he makes it but his body looks like its gonna let him down. Sorry for the negativity :p

Really?

Seriously?

How hard is it to type he's, you even put 'He is' in between.

Boggles the mind.

Really?

Seriously?

How hard is it to type he's, you even put 'He is' in between.

Boggles the mind.

image.php

:D

Seriously, it's ONE more character if you include the apostrophe. ONE.

It's not even the same sound. HIS and HE'S completely changes the context of the sentence.

It's not like someone accidentally dropping an O off of 'too'. Even though the meaning changes somewhat, they still at least SOUND the same.

HIS and HE'S don't even sound the same. You have to conciously type in 'his' instead of 'he's' so it can't be an accident. It's being done on purpose which is mighty scary.

It's not even the same sound. HIS and HE'S completely changes the context of the sentence.

It's not like someone accidentally dropping an O off of 'too'. Even though the meaning changes somewhat, they still at least SOUND the same.

HIS and HE'S don't even sound the same. You have to conciously type in 'his' instead of 'he's' so it can't be an accident. It's being done on purpose which is mighty scary.

Oh man, some people on here are scary :D

This is one of the rare occasions I agree with Speshal Ed:D

FFS just get it right.

I have no issue with people disagreeing with me on a topic that is completely subjective.

But surely even someone who hates my guts can take a 5 minute time out to agree with me on something that isn't subjective AT ALL.

It's the abbreviation of HE IS....HE'S. Where the hell did this HIS instead of HE'S shit start? God damn internet.

Conciously? WTF. Get it right will you! ;)

Easy Grammar Fix