10k Posts
Bolton,Clippers,Falcons,Mariners
What are people's thoughts ?

Missus and kids are away tonight, I had a busy day at work and I couldn't be bothered cooking and then having to clean up afterwards. Its not that I don't like cooking. I love it but tonight I just didn't have the energy.

Anyway, local club has rules that you have to eat in the bistro so was seated on my lonesome without even having Fox Sports to distract me. Thank god for I-Phones.

Did feel a little like the person who goes to the movies by himself - which I've never done.

On the other hand, feed was great and good value. Home an hour later and no dishes to be done.

Would do it again but probably not too often.

Nothing wrong with eating out alone, I do it quite a bit.

Usually it's for one of two reasons. The first is the same as you - tired, hungry, can't be bothered cooking, want a decent feed instead of a pizza or burger, at a loose end so just go somewhere local and sit down for a meal.

The second is if I want to go eat at a restaurant noone else I know likes. For example I love going to Yeah Maan in South Yarra for the Jamaican Jerk chicken, but my missus hates it and none of my other mates are keen. So i'm not going to never eat their delicious food ever again just because I can't get anyone to go with me.

Do it occasionally. You need a newspaper or something because it can seem a little awkward playing on your phone the whole time you are waiting for your meal.

God, I feel awkward enough sitting in my car alone.

I never eat alone in restaurants. Don't see the point. If I don't have friends, family or my partner to eat with then I'll cook something for myself or go through the drivethru. Far too weird sitting alone eating while everyone else is with someone.

Having spent many a year travelling on business, I consider myself a veteran at eating out alone.

It can be a pleasant experience. Always have a book, paper, magazine, iPad handy. And you would be surprised at the number of people (other guests, waiting staff) who will try and strike up a conversation with you because you are alone.

It's definitely not loser city.

Going by the thread title you are a flexible lass. Congrats :thumbsu: and I think I speak for all of GD when I ask for pics.

But seriously, I reckon a large portion of it would come down to how you act while doing it. If you sit there and mope and think 'everyone's looking at me' of course you'll have a shit time. But if you sit there, enjoy your meal/surroundings and have the constant thought of 'i don't have to do any dishes when I get home, **** yeah'. You're gunna have a half decent time :thumbsu:

I have no care for what people think of me. However I like to repect myself and sitting by myself for a meal would make me feel like a massive saddo.

Having spent many a year travelling on business, I consider myself a veteran at eating out alone.

It can be a pleasant experience. Always have a book, paper, magazine, iPad handy. And you would be surprised at the number of people (other guests, waiting staff) who will try and strike up a conversation with you because you are alone.

This

When I travelled with work always made sure I had a book handy to occupy myself while waiting for food to arrive at the table.

You get used to it after a while

Going by the thread title you are a flexible lass. Congrats :thumbsu: and I think I speak for all of GD when I ask for pics.

But seriously, I reckon a large portion of it would come down to how you act while doing it. If you sit there and mope and think 'everyone's looking at me' of course you'll have a shit time. But if you sit there, enjoy your meal/surroundings and have the constant thought of 'i don't have to do any dishes when I get home, **** yeah'. You're gunna have a half decent time :thumbsu:

True. It's all about the attitude. And bringing something to keep you company.

forgetting.jpg

Do you want like a magazine or something? :D

When i travel or sometimes on my lunch break but never dinner.

Eating lunch alone. :thumbsu:. Eating dinner alone. :thumbsd:

I've done it once, (cut a long story short, my mum cracked the shits at everyone refused to cook anything/go out- i didnt do anything wrong- so i cracked it stormed out and drove to a local restaraunt).... was excrutiating, as I forgot my magazine, had to sit there like "The Lonely Guy" from that movie lol. The people on the next table (a family of like mum, dad, kids and uncles and aunties i think) took pity on me and were talking to me... but then it got kinda creepy and i reckon the uncle was kinda chatting me up.

:o

But OP you mentioned not going to the movies alone- i fine no problem in that whatsoever- I used to work at a cinema, so had acess to free tickets every day, so i saw alot of movies alone. Doesnt worry me a bit, not like you can have a conversation with anyone.

Not that that stops some people tho. :rolleyes:

I also dont mind going to the footy alone either....

But OP you mentioned not going to the movies alone- i fine no problem in that whatsoever- I used to work at a cinema, so had acess to free tickets every day, so i saw alot of movies alone. Doesnt worry me a bit, not like you can have a conversation with anyone.

Not that that stops some people tho. :rolleyes:

I also dont mind going to the footy alone either....

Footy alone = Yes.
In fact more often than not its preferable unless I go with someone who thinks almost exactly the same as me. I get too wound up and end up arguing with people otherwise.

Movies = No
Just seems a bit weird to me. No offense.

Movies = No
Just seems a bit weird to me. No offense.

Lol, none taken. Its not like i go on me own on a Friday or Saturday night tho!!!! Maybe just one arvo when im bored I'll go is all... or during the school holidays. I had 7 weeks off, that is ALOT of time to kill you know?!?! :p

Have done it occasionally when travelling alone and have generally found it pretty excruciating, although if the place has a very friendly wait staff it definitely eases the pain. Also, the level of discomfort is proportional to the classiness of the joint.

It's my no.1 reason for trying to find a travel buddy when I go overseas these days, as it's pretty difficult to find backpackers who are willing to eat out at a proper restaurant, and doing so alone tends to suck.

Haven't done it besides a fast food place but would have no issue with doing it in the OP's situation.

I wouldn't have an issue going to the movies on my own either. Done it before. There are cinemas near where I live. If I simply want to see the movie and that is it, then why not? If I went with someone else we'd just be shutting the **** up during the flick anyway.

Missus and kids are away tonight

Har har! Ur marrige iz on the rockz!

I don't see what's so weird about going to the cinemas alone :confused: Admittedly I haven't done it in some years (I only go if friends invite me these days because the prices and screen quality are crap) but if you feel odd about people seeing you sitting alone then just wait outside or in your car until the advertised start time (ads and trailers go for a while so won't miss any of the movie).

Going to a restaurant alone would feel weird (depending on what type it is of course) but if you bring a magazine or newspaper it shouldn't matter much. I'd think the other patrons would be more interested in chatting to their company than thinking "Look at that guy what a ****ing loser".

Juat an observation I've made - does anyone find it less weird for females to be seen doing things by themselves (eg. eating out, seeing a movie) than males? Not always obviously, but often the solo male just seems like a loser or a creep if they're by themselves in situations that are usually shared with others, but you don't get the same vibe from a female.

God, I feel awkward enough sitting in my car alone.

I never eat alone in restaurants. Don't see the point. If I don't have friends, family or my partner to eat with then I'll cook something for myself or go through the drivethru. Far too weird sitting alone eating while everyone else is with someone.

who sits on your lap when playing Big Footy then, your mum?

Eating out alone is very weird, i only go through Drive Through if i am hungry i wont dine in, in saying that, a lot of boys i work with, will head down to different Delis and chill out eating a pie by themselves on there lunch breaks to escape the other lads.

Restaurants would probably hurry you up for taking up space.