Roast Eddie freaking Maguire

• Thread starter Thread starter jmadrox

Yes that was what I noticed, I had the sound off as I normally do as I simply can't bear to listen to any of them anymore. It didn't take much to imagine all the whining going on when we got frees as the replays were repeated ad nauseum.
Its amazing how much more relaxing it is with the sound off. Even the constant ignorant reaction to perceived or awarded free kicks from partisan home crowds does my head in. I put music on and just watch. Its not like they call the play these days, just spout self aggrandising crap or mouth hyperbolic cliche.

I either put music on in the background or lower the volume so it is just background noise, it is amazing how much more relaxed watching the game you feel. Well, relaxed may not be the word I am looking for considering this game but you get my drift!

I like it. Watched crows and port vs Carlton earlier in the year and his biased Victorian commentating brought passion to the game.

Was also interesting that we never got a replay of any contentious ones against us but if we got one they'd replay it to death.
I'm assuming the replays are based on the commentators interest. Maguire is a disgrace of a commentator. I think most of the other Fox boys are ok.

I know what you mean in the sense he's actually a broadcast professional rather than an ex footballer and as such has probably spent more than 3 minutes thinking about the caper but for mine the over-excited faux mania style calling has had its day. I long for a Premier League understated style of commentary with someone like Martin Tyler just quietly calling the players names with a minimum of connecting statements and just one informed special comments person instead of this more is more cavalcade of histrionic shouters who almost never say anything that relates to what is occurring on the field. Even better would be a red button where you can just have the crowd sounds and no commentary.
I am puzzled that professional organisations who you could reasonably expect to give some consideration to the psychology of the listener completely ignore the idea of leaving something to the imagination. Its just lowest common denominator everywhere now.
Yeah, it's artless. The television stations reward hyperbole rather than articulation, probably because they underestimate the average viewer, probably because the average viewer is an artless, illiterate boofhead. Straya.

Turned the sound off too. The call (what I heard in the beginning) was all Richmond. We might as well not have been on the ground.

I'll often put the radio on as I usually find their calls (both options) less annoying. Interesting sometimes listening to the difference in the call if I've watched it with radio and then watch the replay with the Fox (or 7).

Bomber T's carry on about that free in the 4th ".... it was there, but I don't like it...." If you don't like it, tell the player not to infringe.

Loved all their in-depth analysis of every Freo free with Eddies cowboy derivatives 'WE'RE GONNA GET TO THE BOTTOM OF THIS ONE FOLKS' - whereas our Frees were met with silence or comments that the umpiring was vigilant tonight. Bombers call that he hoped for a Richmond goal violates every rule in The Commentary book but unfortunately there's not much that can change... Except maybe start a Facebook Page?

As a neutral I found it appalling. Eddie and Dunstall were deat set barracking for Richmond. One of the most biased disgraceful calls of a game I have seen. Go to the fox footy Facebook page and vent your anger. Someone from Fox must see it.

What annoys me most is their lack of research considering a) how much they get paid b) how little actual work they have to do. Dunstall continually banging on about Fyfe's poor goalkicking and his 'great' field kicking. Which Fyfe is this exactly? Not they one I watch every week. And what the $%^ was it with Dunstall and Thompson crapping on about the 2nd Crozier free kick. Dunstall: "You're allowed to block". No you're #$%#$ not! This is not basketball! Any shepherding +5 off the ball is a free kick. "Earning your free kicks" Christ he pushed a guy to the ground 60 metres off the ball from behind. That's why we have three umpires remember jackass! Thompson is like some wacky app that splices footy cliches and weird grunts with a random order and timing (he honestly sounds mentally deficient). It'd be great art, but as footy commentary it leaves something to be desired. Makes you wonder how their performance and popularity is assessed.
That being said I'm not sure their bias is deliberate, but they are also so used to pitching instinctively to their insular Melbourne audience, and they're not professional enough to overcome it.

Oh and Eddy, pls.

who cares what they say?
i just watch the footy
opinions are like assholes every one has one,
they get paid to entertain,listen to it if you want,if it offends you turn the sound down
never could get why people get so pissed at commentators

What the hell is wrong with Bomber Thompson? The man is ear pain! No wonder they prefer Hird if that verbal diarrhoea is what they had to listen to at the club.

Seriously who cares? They are media commentators. Invariably they go for the underdog. Did the same thing when Freo last played Richmond and was coming back towards the end of the game.

Don't think I've ever been the slightest bit offended by anything any game commentator has ever said.

Seriously who cares? They are media commentators. Invariably they go for the underdog. Did the same thing when Freo last played Richmond and was coming back towards the end of the game.

Don't think I've ever been the slightest bit offended by anything any game commentator has ever said.
Richmond were favourites to win mate

Sometimes I wonder if it's just my internal parochial West Australian when I listen to these commentators and think about if they are biased or not. Am I being precious?? I found Eddie's, Thompson and Dunstall's call appalling - and Eddie hasnt been too bad with Freo in the past but he was flat out barracking for Tigers during the call. Why? Be professional. Even when we get a West Aussie like Big Nose he's worse. At least give us Wow Weeeee!! BT for our games - seems to be the only caller with a bit of respect for Freo'.

Honestly - whatever faults you may find with the team - Freo are currently two games clear of the top and just won a clutch 8 point game yesterday. The lack of respect is odd.

Is it because it's still trendy to dump on Freo'?? ..and they dont like the Carlton's being rubbish but cant stand the "interstate" teams performing well?

Look at Brisbane - they don't seem to give a toss AFL is in dire straights in Queensland.

I'd take a whole season of Eddie than 4/24 games of Shaw.

Shaw is horrible. Shaw + Russell = mute

I thought they were just digging the crowd yesterday, thought commentary wasn't to bad (kept for geelong coach, he's terribad)

Bomber really has issues with the English language too doesn't he.

I think Thompson has severe issues with reality. He and reality have only a passing acquaintance these days.

He, Eddie and Dunstall have always cheered for the opposition against Fremantle.

As commentators it is weak and unprofessional by all of them to behave that way but they are a reflection of the AFL. Weak, biased and unprofessional. Demetriou and McLachlan have a lot to answer for.

If you pay money for it, you expect a certain standard.

:confused:

Don't you always get really riled up when you think an opposition fan is having a dig at us? This is the equivalent of having Bay 13 locals in the commentary box and you reckon we should suck it up?

As clogged said, basic professionalism should be the minimum expectation.

:confused:

Don't you always get really riled up when you think an opposition fan is having a dig at us? This is the equivalent of having Bay 13 locals in the commentary box and you reckon we should suck it up?

As clogged said, basic professionalism should be the minimum expectation.

Yes to the first. But honestly never heard a commentator say anything that has offended me. I'm not sure what all the fuss is about TBH.