Nov 8, 2000
South of the river
Peel Thunder
McGuire declares war on salary cap
5:19:46 PM Sun 29 September, 2002

Collingwood president Eddie McGuire has declared war on the AFL over salary cap concessions for Brisbane.

Speaking at the Collingwood family day on Sunday, in the wake of the club’s gallant nine-point loss to the Brisbane Lions in the grand final, McGuire said Brisbane's salary cap, second only to Sydney's, makes for an uneven playing field.
Blah, blah, someone take the steel rod out of his ar*e please
And then finally after whining about the 'uneven playing field', he leaves us with a classic:

“In the next 12 months, we will have the best facilities of any sporting club in Australia, by that far, it’s not funny. So we’ll all enjoy that.”

Real level playing field that would be wouldn't it? What a **********.

Originally posted by Rob
“In the next 12 months, we will have the best facilities of any sporting club in Australia, by that far, it’s not funny. So we’ll all enjoy that.”

Real level playing field that would be wouldn't it? What a **********.

Yeah. Makes complete sense.

Oh Goody.

An even playing field.

Can all the Melbourne teams play the interstate teams, interstate.

Can no non Melbourne team play at York Park or Maunka or Cairns.

No blockbusters.

All gate revenue for the whole season split 16 ways, as it used to be.

Can Ediie just stop sooking.

Believe it or not ....i like Eddie..... but him and sidekick Mick are coming down with what is commonly known as COLLIWOBBLES and if hes not careful he will infect the whole club.

Originally posted by campbell
Oh Goody.

An even playing field.

No blockbusters.

No to mention finals and grand final to be always played at the higher ranked teams home.

Eddie doesnt realise how good collingwood already have it. Or he does, and greed has got the better of him

Yeah, and how about no games at the MCG during the home and away series, just like the Crows had this year....

Sook on, Eddie...... it makes for a great laugh.

Maybe Eddie hasn't seen what the inter state teams already have. West Coast, Crow, Port and the Dockers have state off the art facilities so far ahead of most Victorian clubs its not funny. Essendon's aren't bad either and Hawthorn are getting the re-developed Waverley with everything that is being built at Olympic Park (for a total cost of $1).

But then Eddie never lets facts get in the way of a good Collingwood Propaganda Pump Up.

Gee those poor victorian clubs....being screwed by the AFL damn shame that (although it makes a nice change). I say we start a fund to help the poor bastards. :rolleyes: :eek: :rolleyes:
Keep sooking it up Eddie. At least your making me laugh every time you open your mouth

They may not have *bought* extra players, but that would have been able to re-sign a few more a lot easier instead of getting the players to take cuts like Richmond and Essendon have had to do to keep star players.
Also now they have 800k more...and will be struggling to keep this side for next year, whats that say about how many stars they have been able to keep as it is.

Originally posted by eagleskickass
They may not have *bought* extra players, but that would have been able to re-sign a few more a lot easier instead of getting the players to take cuts like Richmond and Essendon have had to do to keep star players.
Also now they have 800k more...and will be struggling to keep this side for next year, whats that say about how many stars they have been able to keep as it is.

So given Brisbane are behind the 8 ball to begin with having a vast majority of their squad recruit outside Brisbane, don't you think an increased salary cap is adequate compensation for this?

If not, can you suggest another way to rectify this?

Originally posted by Rob
McGuire declares war on salary cap
5:19:46 PM Sun 29 September, 2002

Collingwood president Eddie McGuire has declared war on the AFL over salary cap concessions for Brisbane.

Speaking at the Collingwood family day on Sunday, in the wake of the club’s gallant nine-point loss to the Brisbane Lions in the grand final, McGuire said Brisbane's salary cap, second only to Sydney's, makes for an uneven playing field.

I have no problems with all clubs having the same salary cap and then it is fair for everyone. However, there is a time & place to make these sort of comments and the day after being beaten in the GF by an interstate side is just not it. Makes it really sound like a load of sour grapes by coming out and squealing like that, might be better to have waited for a more appopriate forum to do so ???

Originally posted by Lockyer24
2 premierships later is it time to say enough is enough?

Me thinks so.
Eh? You want Malthouse gone?

FatEd should worry more about his own backyard and the concessions afforded to Collingwood.

For instance, when was the last time Collingwood played an away game in Brisbane ?

level playing field my arse.

When was the last time Adelaide and Port played a home and away game in Melbourne against the pies? It would have to be at least 3 or 4 years

I don't have a lot of time for Eddie but he does have a right to raise this issue at this time, He has been vocal on this issue all year as has Mick Malthouse. It was not an overnight decision from sour grapes to bring this topic up today.
$800 000 is a lot of money, considering the biggest stars of the game are on $280-330k a year.
If Collingwood yesterday had a Tredrea, Darcy and a Travis Johnstone in their side it could of been a completely different scenario.
I know if I had a choice of choosing between playing in Fremantle or playing in Brisbane I would take the Brisbane lifestyle, If one club can get this benefit I think all clubs deserve it. I thought the AFL had already rectified this problem by using a Draft System and cutting out zoning so all clubs get an even spread of players.
It hurts me deeply that my side has won 35 out of it's 48 games in the last two years and 4 of these losses have come against the superior lions and 2 of those being in finals. It may have been a different story for Port if it was an even playing field. Last year we would of hosted Richmond in our first final and this year instead of playing Collingwood in our first final we would of played Essendon who we beat the week after and then it may have been a different outcome.
Anyway Brisbane won it, congratulations and till this issue gets assessed I think Brisbane will have the flag sewn up year after year. And now with Sydney cleaning out their cobwebs in their admin they could be the only club to challenge the lions in the next ten years. I am with Eddie on this one, no more of this "it's good for the game bull****"
I barracked for Brisbane GF day as I couldn't handle Collingwood winning it, but if the AFL had the integrity to be even it should not of been Brisbanes flag. Also If it was a fair competition and punished salary cap rorts like the NRL It would only be fair to hand the Crows the 93 premiership as that year Ess and Carlton broke it convincingly, but I could not live in Adelaide if they were to be acclaimed with 3 premierships so in some ways this AFL corruption does have benefits. But it is time for the AFL to shape up. the judiciary system is an absolute disgrace, the umpires- well where do I start, I know Port have a good ratio with frees but it just ****es me off the inconsistencies, where one gets paid and one doesn't, how one umpire has his rule and the other has his own rules. The Ticketing pricing is unrealistic, interstate pricing is 10-30% dearer than in Melbourne, the Brownlow Medal, how the hell do these umpires come up with these votes? Do they get their numbers mixed up. The deliberate rule and the 15m rule is the most inconsistently judged rule in any worldwide sport (worst than Steve Bucknor's LBW decisions in cricket). One day a mad spectator is going to kill an AFL umpire, I am not a mad person but I have felt like smacking one in the head a few times, there are mad people out there, Umpires must be made to wear paperbags over their heads so we don't have to look at their ****** guilty little smirking faces that **** you off ten times more than the shoppers who have 63 items and use the ten items or less lane. Also this image thing of the AFL is a disgrace, how a coach cannot comment on various incidents, umpiring, etc. A $5000 fine to a coach or player is a joke, the AFL acts like the big employer and think they generate all the money, well it is the media that generates the AFL and it is the fans that generate the media. The fans deserve to see all aspects of the game, we pay, we support the TV, The AFL is corrupt and Wayne Jackson u are a joke, u have belittled the reputation of South Australia, it is time to stand up for yourself and make it fair or **** off back to your farm.
I love the game with a passion and will never boycott it or deny it because it is the greatest game in the world but I am sick of all this corruption and money greeding scum that is now ruining our game, this year it has dropped to an all time low and the way things are heading it looks like we haven't seen the start of it.
Victorians haven't noticed it when it seemed to us as Anti-South Australian but hey wake up guys because soon it will also have the Anti-Victorian image, they have drained our pockets and know they have got the money flowing in from our states, Qld and NSW's is a goldmine for the AFL and wheres in a sporting capacity they have 65-70% of money in WA, SA, and Vic whereas they only have about 10% in the Northern States.
Why was there a big push for Jacko to get Carey to the Swans next year? We will only see bigger and better things for these teams in the next few years, the Lions 2nd flag probably gave the AFL another 4% of the Qld market, just wait until they get sucked in have a state supporting them and the AFL doesn't give a **** about them anymore!

Gee Eddie always forgets to point out two things when talking about the extra salary cap room we and Brisbane get.

1) The facts
2) His club along with all the AFL clubs agreed to the move in the first place.

The fact we have only 1 player on our list from Metro Sydney means our entire squad had to move a fair distance to play for us. Its a fact that players from interstate will want to move home and with us it hurts us more than anyone else when you have 37 players wanting a move home. The fact Collingwood spent 2 years in 1995 and 1996 tapping Rocca to come home means they should be the last club to lead this battle. Facts are the cost of living is higher in Sydney than Melbourne by about 15% and add the cost moving interstate and you start to see the differecnce the extra room makes.

Also the Swans players as a whole do 2 times more promotional work than the Melbourne based players and as the players have to be paid to do this work as part of the AFLPA deal, that money has to go under the salary cap. So if Collingwood pays its players $100,000 for promational work we have to pay $200,000 which if I'm correct means we take up more cap room this way than any other club.

In any case when the AFL looks at our player payments the extra room we get must be shown to be used in the way it was given to us and frankly not one person, not the least Eddie can prove that the Swans or Brisbane get such a clear advantage.

Originally posted by campbell
Oh Goody.

An even playing field.

No blockbusters.

you forgot : Number of Victorian Teams reduced to a maximum of two.

No concessions for anyone.

Originally posted by Rob

So given Brisbane are behind the 8 ball to begin with having a vast majority of their squad recruit outside Brisbane, don't you think an increased salary cap is adequate compensation for this?

If not, can you suggest another way to rectify this?

as a pie fan and as someone who enjoys the 'national' comp, i have a problem with the cap. i recognise the difficulty of keeping players who have travelled to brissy/sydney etc to start or further their careers. but the WA and SA clubs do not receive the same compensation despite having a fair share of interstate players in their squads. so, it can only be inferred the concession is necessary in Rugby dominated states. how is paying players extra solving the problem here? for the next 10 years we(as in the afl) can continue to fork out the money but will still be left with the problem come the next generation of footballers. malthouse(and others including coaches, 'experts' and those in the media) have proposed a possible fund run by the afl to which a club like sydney or brissy would have to apply to within a criteria to receive extra payments in individual cases where a player(ie headland) is wanting to go home. whether this will work or not will obviously never be known unless it is trialled.
the system as it stands makes no impact on the source of the problem - rubgy(both league and union). the afl and indeed the clubs in question do a decent job of promotion in their states but clearly more needs to be done to advertise the game to the kiddies from their early school days. plunge the money into promotion, advertising, school footy programs etc etc to ensure a 5yr old dreams of being a lion or swan, not a wallaby. these programs are somewhat in place already(auskick etc) but more can be done. the current situation achieves little more than a quick fix solution that half the comp disagrees with. im all for expansion of our game but it needs to be done with the future in mind.

Originally posted by piefan2002
When was the last time Adelaide and Port played a home and away game in Melbourne against the pies? It would have to be at least 3 or 4 years

Because the MCG is reserved for the Melbourne teams and Syndey and Brisbane. A total of one MCG game between them this year.

If Collingwoods home ground was Colonial like Essendon youd get Port and the Camries most years.

Eddie still going the sook