EDFL "A" Grade - 2010

mate you play for abers so you should know?? Did you want an autograph. Fair dinkum. You blokes are unbelieveable trying to make mountains out of molehilles. He shook plenty of hands. Had kids coming up to him, had his own 3 kids kids out there and both teams stayed out on the field for 10 minutes as it was so hot.

He got one free kick all day which considering the amount of time the ball was down there was bizarre. Also given Abers kicked what 1?? maybe two goals that weren't from frees or 50's??

Seeing we are on the big big issues? Any chance your could shell out for Rabee to get a new mouthguard? He played played at Keilor what three sign on's ago. Prob four if you count the one he took from Marby. Surely he can afford to upgrade?

Thats interesting about Lucas not shaking hands if it is indeed true. I must admit I didnt witness it so I am not going to make assumptions. He did however have a cheeky reply to some heckling from the Abers supporters near me which was amusing. I think he did fairly well on the whole and took some good contested marks, albeit on a bloke who was a collingwood six footer but thats not his fault. Was it just me or did lucas look a bit disinterested in the game, he seemed to always play on and have pot shots from anywhere on the ground. I know that its only abers and he will probably lift against the bigger threats but that sort of stood out in my mind. Overall a good performance on debut. It can only be good for the league to have players of his ilk playing in it.

I think abers looked ok and looked fairly well drilled, our disposal and decision making was well below par for this league and we will need to rectify this for the game against Heights this week. A very big game at clifton park awaits.

Havent heard much from the Marby Keilor game, who played well? How did Van Riet, Livingston etc go?

maribyrnong park won it with their 4 goals in time-on of the third. it was your typical bat-first, bat-second game taking it turns with an influential wind assistance. maribyrnong's forwards had better hands and rewarded the midfield when they went inside 50. same can't be said for keilor who had 3-4 shots marked by lions defenders on the goal-line. keilor caught on that they needed to go through prowse as their playmaker but not enough followed his lead by driving it long down the middle.

ayres was ready to come back on in the last quarter when all the lions' players were out on their feet but didn't have too in the end. don't know any more about that knee though.

Thats interesting about Lucas not shaking hands if it is indeed true. I must admit I didnt witness it so I am not going to make assumptions. He did however have a cheeky reply to some heckling from the Abers supporters near me which was amusing. I think he did fairly well on the whole and took some good contested marks, albeit on a bloke who was a collingwood six footer but thats not his fault. Was it just me or did lucas look a bit disinterested in the game, he seemed to always play on and have pot shots from anywhere on the ground. I know that its only abers and he will probably lift against the bigger threats but that sort of stood out in my mind. Overall a good performance on debut. It can only be good for the league to have players of his ilk playing in it.

I think abers looked ok and looked fairly well drilled, our disposal and decision making was well below par for this league and we will need to rectify this for the game against Heights this week. A very big game at clifton park awaits.

Havent heard much from the Marby Keilor game, who played well? How did Van Riet, Livingston etc go?

Mate, are you not a fan of the AFL??????? He made his living from doing exactly the same thing for 270 odd games. Didnt hurt his career you wouldnt think.......

Were you at the game? I watch a fair bit of footy and every time Scott Lucas marked the ball in the AFL, he went back about 25 yards, took his time and let rip. As I said, it was probably because he was playing against a team who are not considered a premiership threat. Also, every team including abers would love to have him take a mark and play on quickly and have a shot. I just think that if he had have gone back and taken his kicks seriously, abers would have been beaten by 10+ goals. Hopefully the extra percentage will come back and help us come August.

2 more players walking out of Craigieburn this week

S.Kenna

S.Terzievki

Not looking good for Craigieburn, also not a great start to the season, didnt see them play saturday was told they got smashed up.

No real losses, Kenna cant handle A Grade, will be a gun in B Grade - hear APW is the front runner, the other was from the 18's who played a few senior games last year, not as good as he thinks he is. Big Lance signed last night

can you disclose? it seems they need all the help they can get at the moment...... only kidding Paul will be ok ..... young team and will surprise...

yes big red will be playing with craigieburn, also heard from a few ppl close to him that he knocked the first offer of $1200 down but after another chat was happy with $1800.
not sure if this is sold info or not?

hey guys, i had a quick question on A Grade. i was watching the boys train a couple nights ago and wow, i was impressed.

how do you think a top tier team in A Grade would do against say a mid tier VFL side? reason i ask is because i was talking to a guy earlier and he said the boys in the VFL get paid much less than the EDFL teams. the reason they play in the VFL is to hopefully someday get a shot at playing in the AFL.

yes big red will be playing with craigieburn, also heard from a few ppl close to him that he knocked the first offer of $1200 down but after another chat was happy with $1800.
not sure if this is sold info or not?

cragieburn,you are off your rockers.

big red on 1 leg

sponsors ask 4 your money back

hey guys, i had a quick question on A Grade. i was watching the boys train a couple nights ago and wow, i was impressed.

how do you think a top tier team in A Grade would do against say a mid tier VFL side? reason i ask is because i was talking to a guy earlier and he said the boys in the VFL get paid much less than the EDFL teams. the reason they play in the VFL is to hopefully someday get a shot at playing in the AFL.

I think Greenvale played Bendigo Bombers 2nds in a practice match and got smashed, so fair to say there is a big difference between them. But you are right that players can earn far more playing EDFL than VFL, but playing VFL gives you and extra couple of hundred to your match payment ie a kid coming straight from Calder might get paid $250 a game where might get paid a $150 at VFL, but the next year after that kid has played a few senior games he could expect to get $500.

Bendigo Bombers don't have seconds,
Last year they did get beaten by Werribee seconds though.