EDFL "A" Grade - 2011

Good to see that the EDFL have put a lot of thought into the fixturing of finals this week with both Greenvale and Oak Park having their seniors and reserves playing at different venues meaning they will have to travel to watch both...
Surely it would have made more sense to have the reserves the other way round so only one club (Strathmore) has to travel between games and not two clubs.

as a club Strathmore did finish on top. There isn't any reward btw 1st and 2nd so maybe thats is it. They get there 1sts and 2nds together.
Cant be it though,all second semis and all first semis have always been at different venues,why has it been changed this time around to suit Who, as mentioned in the previous post just stick to the rules in the system reward the clubs that finish in the top two from 18s to Seniors to be at the same ground, contrary to how many teams they have in other finals.

Had an interesting talk with a few Keilor boys yesterday and it appears that if Marty Pask is playing on next year then Keilor could lose a few players due to their dislike of hime!

The only reason I can think of that the league has given it to strath more is they feel they have more of a supporter base, logistically it makes no sense and considering their seconds finished fourth they definately didn't earn it, it is basically a slap in the face to both greenvale and oak park... OPFC earnt the right over 18 rounds of football to have both their teams play on the same ground and I can't speak for greenvale but I can tell you my club is fuming and isn't going to take it lying down... Let's hope it is just an oversight, finals footy is a serious business wether it be in the ones or twos and it would be a shame if the league was allowed to start playing god with the fixturing to make sure the benefit the most out of it

And what EXACTLY is "your" club going to do about it? I can answer that, Sweet FA, so stop the whinging and empty threats, no-one takes you seriously.
I have said this right from the start - "Whoever spends the most $$$'s wins". It is a sad situation for a "community" based football league but it's reality, the EDFL executive LOVE the media exposure so it's never going to change(the leagues never been stronger they say, which is true but at what cost?).
Good luck to all the teams in the finals, to the 3 teams who don't win the flag I hope you are happy spending $200k + for no reward.

And what EXACTLY is "your" club going to do about it? I can answer that, Sweet FA, so stop the whinging and empty threats, no-one takes you seriously.
I have said this right from the start - "Whoever spends the most $$$'s wins". It is a sad situation for a "community" based football league but it's reality, the EDFL executive LOVE the media exposure so it's never going to change(the leagues never been stronger they say, which is true but at what cost?).
Good luck to all the teams in the finals, to the 3 teams who don't win the flag I hope you are happy spending $200k + for no reward.

And what about Aberfeldie and Keilor how much did they spend for not even a sniff
Clinton Casey would be a tad peeved

How did your team go mate?
How did they go last year?
If you keep thinking that way , nothing will happen, backward thinking by you.:thumbsdown:

Unfortunatly your right Price and his puppets only listen to four clubs and they are the ones the recruit all the ex AFL guys in order Marby,Strathmore,Abers and Greenvale,who seem relentless in blowing money with the egotists and benefactors that run them, good luck to Oakers who are mainly home grown with a few ex VFL guys thrown in.To all the clubs thinking of joining the EDFL, please note the new Rule 1/ if you finish on top of your senior division you can then demand where your reserves and 18s can play in the future, on the subject of EDFL Media Exposure how come Strathmore do not have the leagues sponsor Bonaire on any of there senior jumpers look at any of the media shots taken this year in my reckoning thats 66 players each week by 18 games at 10 bucks per fine thats $11800, Have they paid there fines? and wont Bonaire be happy if a Strathmore team happens to hold up a cup makes for a great Photo ???????

And what about Aberfeldie and Keilor how much did they spend for not even a sniff
Clinton Casey would be a tad peeved
Probably Water off a ducks back for Casey, what about Larkins and his AFL duds over the years,how much egg can one face bare.

Absoultely disgraceful comment about a bloke who has done 1000 times more for his club than what you will ever do.

Don't you follow Oak Park? Do you seriously reckon you blokes are spending any less than the rest of the top six? Kidding yourself if you do.

If Oak park is made up of home grown players so are the others.. all of the finalists (and some who didn't make it) poach players from elsewhere but this whole discussion has been done to death.
Seriously what is it with finals time and pointless negativity? Each year people jump on here potting people/clubs needlessly. Whoever wins the Premiership in any grade a lot of hardwork has gone into it and not just $$$. So just chillout and enjoy what should be an absolute cracker of a finals series.:thumbsu:

Seriously what is it with finals time and pointless negativity? Each year people jump on here potting people/clubs needlessly. Whoever wins the Premiership in any grade a lot of hardwork has gone into it and not just $$$. So just chillout and enjoy what should be an absolute cracker of a finals series.

Well said mate :) its ok to be negative at times and have a say i know i do :) but it can be over done and become peoples main focus which isnt good.

Only one team can win the GF so from my point of view you can have a successful year without winning one but its hard in other people eyes i guess as you have to spend to be competitive and then if you dont win it you may be criticised for paying too much with no result.

Having said that im sure the guys at Abers would be bitterly disapointed they didnt make the finals as they only beat us and the lakers in the second half i think :( and yes Johhny Larkins is a very very good man and would be an asset at any club :)

Bring on the finals i say as we get to watch some pretty handy footballers battle it out in what maybe a pretty even finals series :)

THE DREBSTER

So just chillout and enjoy what should be an absolute cracker of a finals series.:thumbsu:

Hi, am intrested in watching some local footy this weekend, am in a group of 14 blokes coming over from tassie and want to watch a match. can anybody tell me where and when the matches will be on. and how far from the city would we need to travel.

cheers

Hi, am intrested in watching some local footy this weekend, am in a group of 14 blokes coming over from tassie and want to watch a match. can anybody tell me where and when the matches will be on. and how far from the city would we need to travel.

cheers
I recommend you venture out to the Keilor Recreation Reserve to watch what should be 3 great games of football.

U18 - 1st Semi -Doutta Stars vs Aberfeldie - starts 0930
Reserves - 2nd Semi - Aberfeldie vs Oak Park - starts 1200
Seniors A Grade - 1st Semi - Greenvale vs Maribynong -starts at 1410

Ground is about 16kms from CBD with taxi fare of about $45-50

I recommend you venture out to the Keilor Recreation Reserve to watch what should be 3 great games of football.

U18 - 1st Semi -Doutta Stars vs Aberfeldie - starts 0930
Reserves - 2nd Semi - Aberfeldie vs Oak Park - starts 1200
Seniors A Grade - 1st Semi - Greenvale vs Maribynong -starts at 1410

Ground is about 16kms from CBD with taxi fare of about $45-50

Can anone tell me why Windy Hill isnt being used for finals this week?:confused:

Unfortunatly your right Price and his puppets only listen to four clubs and they are the ones the recruit all the ex AFL guys in order Marby,Strathmore,Abers and Greenvale,who seem relentless in blowing money with the egotists and benefactors that run them, good luck to Oakers who are mainly home grown with a few ex VFL guys thrown in.To all the clubs thinking of joining the EDFL, please note the new Rule 1/ if you finish on top of your senior division you can then demand where your reserves and 18s can play in the future, on the subject of EDFL Media Exposure how come Strathmore do not have the leagues sponsor Bonaire on any of there senior jumpers look at any of the media shots taken this year in my reckoning thats 66 players each week by 18 games at 10 bucks per fine thats $11800, Have they paid there fines? and wont Bonaire be happy if a Strathmore team happens to hold up a cup makes for a great Photo ??????? quote]

wow that post should be awarded some type of award.

ill-informed, so deluded and worst of all insulting to ppl that have done more for the community than you'll ever dream about.

Lets just leave it your a deadset dill mate and an embarassment to Oak Park.

cheers

I recommend you venture out to the Eastern Oval (BALLARAT) similar weather to Tassie, you will feel right at home,,,,,.

Ground is only 115kms from CBD, wouldn't catch a cab too expensive. Alternative is catch a train to Ballarat,,,,,,,,:p

Unfortunatly your right Price and his puppets only listen to four clubs and they are the ones the recruit all the ex AFL guys in order Marby,Strathmore,Abers and Greenvale,who seem relentless in blowing money with the egotists and benefactors that run them, good luck to Oakers who are mainly home grown with a few ex VFL guys thrown in.To all the clubs thinking of joining the EDFL, please note the new Rule 1/ if you finish on top of your senior division you can then demand where your reserves and 18s can play in the future, on the subject of EDFL Media Exposure how come Strathmore do not have the leagues sponsor Bonaire on any of there senior jumpers look at any of the media shots taken this year in my reckoning thats 66 players each week by 18 games at 10 bucks per fine thats $11800, Have they paid there fines? and wont Bonaire be happy if a Strathmore team happens to hold up a cup makes for a great Photo ??????? quote]

wow that post should be awarded some type of award.

ill-informed, so deluded and worst of all insulting to ppl that have done more for the community than you'll ever dream about.

Lets just leave it your a deadset dill mate and an embarassment to Oak Park.
Hutchy watch this space it isnt going to go away,the anti is going up,and dont talk to me about community involvement I am still doing it, I will just keep going back to how oakers were totally dudded for finishing top 2 in seniors and ressys splitting the club in half on its most important day, look at the fixturing only one team should of travelled that being Strathmore, that would of kept Greenvale Abers and oakers all at the same venues.You know this Hutchy.

mate came back to whatever you want your a dill. You seem so very very deluded about your own teams makeup but this is a very tired arguement and most on can't be bothered with it and just enjoy the actual footy.

Also you have potted and insulted hard working people at all the top clubs and the EDFL when you have little idea of what lengths they go to to improve facilities, run community groups etc etc. You play football for OP! what exactly do you do thats better than these egotists and benefactors who volunteer??

mate came back to whatever you want your a dill. You seem so very very deluded about your own teams makeup but this is a very tired arguement and most on can't be bothered with it and just enjoy the actual footy.

Also you have potted and insulted hard working people at all the top clubs and the EDFL when you have little idea of what lengths they go to to improve facilities, run community groups etc etc. You play football for OP! what exactly do you do thats better than these egotists and benefactors who volunteer??

So Seeker is bagging people who volunteer their time and yet he is getting paid to play footy?? Seeker, ex-AFL players are attracted to clubs where they have mates hence why Cragieburn has 4 playing for them?? Abers have had a handful of former AFL players in past 10 years (McKee, Minton-Connel, Peverill, Skipworth and Mal Michael...I cant think of many more??) usually due to a connection from the club and this year is no different as we have strong ex-Essendon connection...what's the big deal? Raso and Jess Smith are both former AFL players, so what? Good luck to you guys for getting them.

Oak Park are a fantastic club who have got probably the best coach going around and some terrific young players along with a handful of top quality stars. Good luck to them in finals, but comments like yours Seeker just embarrass the hard work of the people that actually matter at your club.