EDFL "B" Grade - 2010

Mindbender....

More then happy for Westmeadows to continue to fly under the radar. It appears that everyone is surprised that we are on top of the ladder, and they are all waiting for us to fall over. (I'm not a current player, played a couple of years as a junior, but regularly attend on game day)

At the end of the day who cares what everyone else thinks? I can see how we have improved, and quite frankly don't care what other people post here as excuses. It is not the responsibility of the Westmeadows Football Club to prove these people wrong - all we need to do is go out on the park week in week out trying our best to bring home the 4 points.

Bring on Tullamarine tomorrow. I look forward to heading down to Willowbrook and hopefully seeing the boys win another 4 points.

stiff for westy to be 9 goals up and tulla showing alot of heart to come back and win great game of footy

Can't wait to hear Mindbenders & Craig Ryan's excuses for the weekend?

Not really sure where this comment comes from??

Don't think I have ever got on here and made excuses for anything. So I guess this is another example of your immaturity & lack of research.

Tulla, as much as I hate to say it, were the better side on the day. We jumped them early and got out to a 8 goal break.

I wouldn't say that we did anything different in that we went defensive or changed the game plan. They just played better than us. Pretty simple really.

It's a little sad that you really think that people at Westmeadows don't know who you are.

Everyone is looking forward to Rnd 15.

Lakers going from strength to strength. Now have beaten Tulla at Tulla, Paco at Paco and Airport West at Airport West. They have some soft games coming up starting with Rox Park at Taylors Lakes this sat. Both seniors and the twos have not lost a game so the depth is also good. Writing them off as a genuine chance to win it this year could be a big mistake.

Can't wait to hear Mindbenders & Craig Ryan's excuses for the weekend?

Learn how to read mate.

I have already indicated that I feel that Westmeadows deserve a tough training week this week and that Tullamarine got on top and deserved to win. They dominated the ruck and in the end dominated the midfield.

No excuses, I'll call the game as I see it. Even when we were 8 goals up, I felt the Tullamarine were still dangerous when rebounding off half-back - this was evidenced by 2 goals they got late in the second quarter. When given the opportunity they move the ball and move it quick!

All the club can do is learn from this experience, identify why it occurred and build from it.

I'll go down on Saturday hoping to see a team fired up from the loss on the weekend.

Fair call mate. Don't think Westmeadows need to be punished they are 6 - 1 and sitting second, as i have stated earlier they have suprised everyone this year. Tulla will be there abouts come finals they are young fit and quick and play a very similar game plan to Westy.

There were quite a few upsets in B grade over the weekend.

Hadfield beating Glenroy - Anyone at the game that can give a run down.

Moonee Valley beating the Northern Saints - The saints have looked good for the first six rounds. What happened on Sat.

Hadfield, the Jekyl & Hyde of the competition....

Last week against Roxy they looked very ordinary, but this week against one of the biggger guns of the competition, they never looked like losing....

Haddy were up against some old teamates from last year, so pretty sure they were out to show that the group that is playing now is just as good, if not even stronger than previous years...

Probabaly one of the best games I've seen this group play over a four qtr effort.....

This season is still very much up for grabs!!

Saturday was arguably the saints worst performence for the year.
Both teams would continuously fall asleep for 15 minutes allowing each other to kick 5 or so goals in a row.
Discipline cost the saints with a player being sent off in the 3rd quarter.
Was quite impressed with the young blokes from both teams, definatly showed a bit.

Lakers going from strength to strength. Now have beaten Tulla at Tulla, Paco at Paco and Airport West at Airport West. They have some soft games coming up starting with Rox Park at Taylors Lakes this sat. Both seniors and the twos have not lost a game so the depth is also good. Writing them off as a genuine chance to win it this year could be a big mistake.
roxburgh park are not soft

Soft games as in easy wins. The draw for the next month is soft as they will only have 1 team they might be able to challenge. It is not a tough month - not saying the teams are physically weak.
Roxy will need a lot of rain on Sat to keep this within 100 points so it is a very soft game.

10 weeks to go. no one writing taylors lakes off at all. hope you blokes arent getting ahead of yourselves. seen it happen before... i reckon taylors are at their highest peak at the moment and teams like pacco, glenroy and keilor park still have lots of improvement to go. so should be an interesting back end of the season :thumbsu:

sydenham hillside came back from 6 goals down to win against east keilor .. was real close in the last qtr .. goal for goal but then sydenham pulled away with it .. another game that has slipped from the hands of east keilor

10 weeks to go. no one writing taylors lakes off at all. hope you blokes arent getting ahead of yourselves. seen it happen before... i reckon taylors are at their highest peak :thumbsu:

but just remember taylors lakes great finals record dont mind to stuff up at the right end of the year

They said the same thing about Marbo Park a few years ago. If you don't believe things can change you may be in for a shock at years end. The kids that lost those finals are now 24 -25 and the players that were timid in the big games are now older and more battle ready. Make no mistake Taylors Lakes can win the 2010 flag.

so in those years they were playing all 18-20 year olds were they im sure they had experince in that team they just dont no how to finish

im sure they can win the grand final but the way b grade is shaping up atm anyone could win it

so in those years they were playing all 18-20 year olds were they im sure they had experince in that team they just dont no how to finish

im sure they can win the grand final but the way b grade is shaping up atm anyone could win it

The good players in the teams were young and did not stand up in finals. They have a harder edge about them and this is why they are undefeated. They won a final last year so they can play in finals. The two teams that were picked as the big sliders at the start of the year were Lakers and Westmeadows - people who nominated these two have gotten it wrong.

Any way what is happening at KP? Speaking with one of their players the injury list is massive - 15 - 20 players missing. Can anyone from KP comment?

The good players in the teams were young and did not stand up in finals. They have a harder edge about them and this is why they are undefeated. They won a final last year so they can play in finals. The two teams that were picked as the big sliders at the start of the year were Lakers and Westmeadows - people who nominated these two have gotten it wrong.

Any way what is happening at KP? Speaking with one of their players the injury list is massive - 15 - 20 players missing. Can anyone from KP comment?

Can confirm the fact that injuries have been an issue over the past couple of weeks 15-20 is probably a conservative estimate (across 1's and 2's). Things are on the improve though and they should be much stronger going forward and especially after the break. Big game against MV this week to stay in touch with the finals!!:footy:

Roxy finding out first hand why Lakers are on top undefeated. Too wet and cold to watch the last quarter of a no contest game. 133 - 17 at 3 quarter time. Roxy's 2 goals coming from 50 meter penalties.

Gee the silver spoon A grade sides would be hoping Lakers do not get promoted - their ground is in terrible condition.

Roxy finding out first hand why Lakers are on top undefeated. Too wet and cold to watch the last quarter of a no contest game. 133 - 17 at 3 quarter time. Roxy's 2 goals coming from 50 meter penalties.

Gee the silver spoon A grade sides would be hoping Lakers do not get promoted - their ground is in terrible condition.

The ground is sub standard.......the school ground next door is in better nic...also they wont make agrade not that good Roxys team is full of kids and while the score board points to a big easy win they didn`t have it all there own way

Which team will be promoted? Who are better? 133 to 17 at 3 quarter time - 116 points at 3 quarter time is having it all your own way. Lucky for Roxy it rained.