EDFL "B" Grade - 2010

kings army mustn't have been in too many wars , thinking that one finals battle wins the flag . The way your pathetic mob carried on after beating a team that lost 3 players in the first 15 mins. of the game by a whopping 4 points was a joke . almost as funny as the big choke in the 3rd 1/4 .....oh and if you want to bring up a player's actions today , what a brave man "elbows" number 9 was

Settle down princess - Lakers has just won the right to play in their 1st senior Grand Final - they have the right to celebrate how ever they like. They only played 1/4 and still won the game - what happens if they play 2 or 3 - Paco will be no chance. As for the hits lets see who gets weeks too work out who was brave yesterday.

Now to enjoy the week off - maybe some golf or an early trip to the races before the Spring Carnival starts. How sweet it is!

Can your side Taylors Lakes win it from here Kings Army, they are in the box seat after many previous disappointments !

Who are you tipping next week the team of individuals or the team that played for one another today in Westmeadows !

Westy in close one and the choker tag to move to Paco! At least Westy have a bit of class about them.

Settle down princess - Lakers has just won the right to play in their 1st senior Grand Final - they have the right to celebrate how ever they like. They only played 1/4 and still won the game - what happens if they play 2 or 3 - Paco will be no chance. As for the hits lets see who gets weeks too work out who was brave yesterday.

Now to enjoy the week off - maybe some golf or an early trip to the races before the Spring Carnival starts. How sweet it is!

Do you play mate?

Would be good to see Westy get in, Tayls will be in his elemant. A bit of irony about a westy vs Taylors Lakes GF, couldn't be a better script. You'd think Taylors Lakes being the best side all year would go up but on a day anyone can win hence the Spotty loss to Albion yesterday.

thats 3 from 3 and you seem to have a new excuse every time fact is the game was there for you to win yesterday but taylors lakes were all heart and passion something money cant buy that really stood out yesterday, all the pressure is on pacoe now, westy well be a big chance next week because pacoe have no tica

Pacco have no ticker? That is quite possibly the most unobservant call on this thread today. To lose 2 players for the game in the first 10 mins of the game which made pacco have 7 of there best 21 out was a fantastic effort. To get within a kick I'd be pretty proud of the effort shown. Taylors lakes do like to carry on after a good win, let's just hope it's not dejavu like we saw last year. Enjoy the week off and don't think to much about playing in a grand final in 2 weeks time. And kings army there was officially no reports yesterday so number 9 throwing elbows is just as much of a "dog"

Do you play mate?

Would be good to see Westy get in, Tayls will be in his elemant. A bit of irony about a westy vs Taylors Lakes GF, couldn't be a better script. You'd think Taylors Lakes being the best side all year would go up but on a day anyone can win hence the Spotty loss to Albion yesterday.

Yes I do at Gisborne and the handicap is 7. Gun!

thats 3 from 3 and you seem to have a new excuse every time fact is the game was there for you to win yesterday but taylors lakes were all heart and passion something money cant buy that really stood out yesterday, all the pressure is on pacoe now, westy well be a big chance next week because pacoe have no tica

so chicky allen rizz and dipper didnt cost no money????

pull the other 1........

go lakers

Word out of the game is the Paco ruckman broken ankle and one of there key players will get plenty of weeks for a sheep dog strike. Maybe time to jump on the Lakers wagon. Still under rated but now has had Paco's measure 3 times in 2010.
Clearly you don't even attend games Kings when you get on here and talk of blokes getting weeks and there is barely a scuffle in the game let alone any reports. So might pay to disregard anything you have to say in future. Why is it you don't watch your team K.A ? $12 entry fee a bit rich for you perhaps? Or maybe too scared to leave your Mac Mansion for fear of having your hub caps stolen.
Standing with PascoeVale people in the second half they were quite dissapointed to lose but also believe they have plenty of upside to come.
No one begrudges TL supporters the right to celebrate their win but I don't beleive taunting and screaming obscentities towards the opposition players and supporters is appropriate or very smart.Then again maybe thats all they know.

great point mate, it was a great game - with a great come back from paco. TL crowd did go quiet, as you would expect when the other team is going queit. what i found more amazing though was the 'typical paco supporters' who with out a doubt would have to be the worst supporters in the league. they were very quiet early, got very vocal when they came back(which again youwould expet) but the taunts of TL chokcing again and they were weak. waqs great to see TL get over them in the end. even just to see those bunch of old blokes eat humble pie, shame they didnt though and continued to mouth off even after the game.

gee this is a bit rich to mate. i was impartial on the weekend and support another B grade team. paco supporters are reknowned for their taunts and on the weekend. deserved a barage after the game from where i was standing

Pacco have no ticker? That is quite possibly the most unobservant call on this thread today. To lose 2 players for the game in the first 10 mins of the game which made pacco have 7 of there best 21 out was a fantastic effort. To get within a kick I'd be pretty proud of the effort shown. Taylors lakes do like to carry on after a good win, let's just hope it's not dejavu like we saw last year. Enjoy the week off and don't think to much about playing in a grand final in 2 weeks time. And kings army there was officially no reports yesterday so number 9 throwing elbows is just as much of a "dog"

And I was very proud of our supporters giving it to the Pacco people. Everyone knows Pacco have been spruiking since Pre-season after spending the BIG $$$$ and would be far too good for anyone else. Well just proves that homegrown gut's & determination will always beat scumbag merceranies!!!! I hope Pacco win next week so we can kick your arses again in 2 weeks. You reckon you copped a spray after the game, that is nothing compared to what we have in store for you!!! GO LAKERS

No one begrudges TL supporters the right to celebrate their win but I don't beleive taunting and screaming obscentities towards the opposition players and supporters is appropriate or very smart.Then again maybe thats all they know.

End of the day Paco have a hell of lot more things to worry about than a few excited Laker fans.

And I was very proud of our supporters giving it to the Pacco people. Everyone knows Pacco have been spruiking since Pre-season after spending the BIG $$$$ and would be far too good for anyone else. Well just proves that homegrown gut's & determination will always beat scumbag merceranies!!!! I hope Pacco win next week so we can kick your arses again in 2 weeks. You reckon you copped a spray after the game, that is nothing compared to what we have in store for you!!! GO LAKERS

have a listen to yas. you just beat an undermanned team by 4 pts!! keep talking up your chances because your just putting more pressure on yourselves. pacco nothing to lose now. and pacco supporters have every right to be yelling out "chokers" you choked in the prelim last year. enough said. 2 weeks left in the year. far from over

We can only beat who is put up against us, not our fault your players can't go the distance! That shows weakness from your side, nothing to do with us. You say Pacco have nothing to lose, are you implying Westy & Lakers have someothing to lose? Listen Peanut, the fact is we are 3 from 3, are in the GF and you have to get there. If I was you I'd be worried about Westy as they are a bunch of home grown blokes without profiles who have a crack and would be looking forward to smashing a team of money hungry jibs like Pacco. The pressure is on Pacco for the reason is they continually portray that they are a club above everyone else, the fact is they had to spend truck loads of $$$ to get players to the club in the hope of success but have failed miserably again. ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

You are now bringing up last years Prelim? Gee you are scrapping the bottom of the barrel now. How about we dicuss Paco's choke in last years Grand Final. On the big stage they sh!t their pants - maybe they will drop the game to Westy this week to save having the same embarrassment in 2010.

i think the only thing we can agree on is that we all hope the next meeting between these 2 sides will be just as good an encounter as the last 2 meetings between the sides? 2 ripper games and easily 2 best sides

The fact of the matter is both Taylors and Pacco are where they are is because they were both not good enough to win a grand final when all of the so called good B Grade teams were in the competition. All of these clubs who have won a B Grade flag in the past 6 years played the 2010 season in A Grade. Except for Glenroy who won their flag in 08' of course.
B Grade Premiers: 04' Avondale, 05' Craigieburn, 06' West Coburg, 07' Marby, 09' Oak Park.
Have a look at the clubs who have come down from A Grade in that time. Clubs like Moonee Valley, East Keilor and Keilor Park have all had their struggles since returning to B Grade. The facts are both Pacco and Taylors are a long way behind. Good luck to both teams, one of them will get a flag, even if it is 6 years overdue.

While all this natter makes for interesting reading (As do most historical recollections) I think it’s time to focus on the future and look at the Pros and Cons for the last 3 contenders of the B Grade premiership.

Taylors Lakes: Pros
Clearly the favorites for the flag.
  • Have been the most consistent performers in 2010 and deserve their place in the Grand Final.
  • Obviously they have depth and will be spoiled for choice when it comes to senior selection.
  • They would have a great deal of faith in each other, their structures and game plans as well as their ability to win in any circumstance.
  • Appear to be team orientated and focused and many have come from the local area so more than team mates…I believe they would also be mates.

Taylors Lakes: Cons
Not a lot of things spring to mind.
  • The pressure of going into a final series with 1 loss and the favoritism tag may appear to be somewhat of a concern but not to the players. Means nothing when the ball is bounced.
  • Only playing 2 games in 4 weeks stands out as the major draw back of such a successful year. 1 week rest at this time of year is great to freshen up and reload for the final assault on the summit but such little game time will provide challenges for the coaching staff in my opinion.
Pascoe Vale: Pros
Money might buy you happiness…
  • Flexibility
  • Versatility
  • Depth
Having these 3 things at your disposal provides you with options. They are (for me) the best side I have seen play this year in terms of the style of game they play. This is largely due to the 3 points I raise above. Being able to select a team not purely based on availability but on potential “Match Ups” is a luxury most clubs at this level don’t have.

Pascoe Vale: Cons
As with any action comes an alternate “Reaction”
  • With the level of depth and talent available team stability may be the Achilles heel for Pascoe Vale. Trying to settle a team to take on other finals contenders might be a challenge even for the most talented of teams.
  • From all reports the game against Taylors Lakes was a ripper and very physical. This could be the only crack in a very strong Pascoe Vale dyke (I know this line will get a response)
Westmeadows: Pros
Sometimes no knowledge is good knowledge.
  • Young, fast recovery.
  • Disciplined (Never thought I would see the day)
  • Structured
  • Fit
At the opposite end of the expectation spectrum (Externally) to the other 2 clubs they have no fear of under delivery. It would also appear they are quick learners. After providing Pascoe Vale with less resistance than Witches Hats in the first final it appears they learned quickly what is required to play finals footy by removing a Monkey the size of King Kong from their backs in the game against Tulla.

Westmeadows: Cons
Too much to gain.
  • No fear no caution.
  • A long hard slog.
I think most people observe Westmeadows as a kid who’s parents have just taken off the training wheels on a new bike. The parent then pushes them a long until they get up enough momentum but then realize you need to let them go so they can ride by them selves. The training wheels are off….time to start pedaling….

i think the only thing we can agree on is that we all hope the next meeting between these 2 sides will be just as good an encounter as the last 2 meetings between the sides? 2 ripper games and easily 2 best sides

Agree 100% - any final let alone a Grand Final that is settled by less than a kick would be a worthy spectacle. :thumbsu:

While all this natter makes for interesting reading (As do most historical recollections) I think it’s time to focus on the future and look at the Pros and Cons for the last 3 contenders of the B Grade premiership.

• Have been the most consistent performers in 2010 and deserve their place in the Grand Final.
  • Obviously they have depth and will be spoiled for choice when it comes to senior selection.
  • They would have a great deal of faith in each other, their structures and game plans as well as their ability to win in any circumstance.
  • Appear to be team orientated and focused and many have come from the local area so more than team mates…I believe they would also be mates.

• The pressure of going into a final series with 1 loss and the favoritism tag may appear to be somewhat of a concern but not to the players. Means nothing when the ball is bounced.
  • Only playing 2 games in 4 weeks stands out as the major draw back of such a successful year. 1 week rest at this time of year is great to freshen up and reload for the final assault on the summit but such little game time will provide challenges for the coaching staff in my opinion.

• Flexibility
  • Versatility
  • Depth
Having these 3 things at your disposal provides you with options. They are (for me) the best side I have seen play this year in terms of the style of game they play. This is largely due to the 3 points I raise above. Being able to select a team not purely based on availability but on potential “Match Ups” is a luxury most clubs at this level don’t have.

• With the level of depth and talent available team stability may be the Achilles heel for Pascoe Vale. Trying to settle a team to take on other finals contenders might be a challenge even for the most talented of teams.
  • From all reports the game against Taylors Lakes was a ripper and very physical. This could be the only crack in a very strong Pascoe Vale dyke (I know this line will get a response)

• Young, fast recovery.
  • Structured
  • Fit
At the opposite end of the expectation spectrum (Externally) to the other 2 clubs they have no fear of under delivery. It would also appear they are quick learners. After providing Pascoe Vale with less resistance than Witches Hats in the first final it appears they learned quickly what is required to play finals footy by removing a Monkey the size of King Kong from their backs in the game against Tulla.

Too much to gain.
  • No fear no caution.
  • A long hard slog.
I think most people observe Westmeadows as a kid who’s parents have just taken off the training wheels on a new bike. The parent then pushes them a long until they get up enough momentum but then realize you need to let them go so they can ride by them selves. The training wheels are off….time to start pedaling….

What a great post - well done!! Let the teams play and see what unfolds.

• Flexibility
  • Versatility
  • Depth

• Young, fast recovery.
  • Structured
  • Fit

Too much to gain.
  • No fear no caution.
  • A long hard slog.

Dude , I hate to say it as I thought I never read a piece as which you have written. You are a champion great observation. great reading , thankyou !!! keep up the good work , cheers :thumbsu:

Last weekend's Taylors Lakes v Pascoe Vale final, ripping game. Will put up Keilor vs Greenvale later when I get the time to edit it down to 15 mins.

[YOUTUBE]LJKry2fTIx4[/YOUTUBE]