EDFL "B" Grade - 2011

What an absolute joke it will be if a team playing finals in B grade is relegated to C grade.
Playing in C grade will benefit Jacana and possibly Roxburgh Park. The other 4 clubs, who at the moment could possibly only be 1 or 2 years away from challenging for the B grade flag, will be taking so many steps backwards its not funny.
How can the EDFL even begin to justify this decision.

Which team in the bottom 6 listed teams can play finals this year?? My tip is 1 and that is a long shot - Syd Hillside. The rest are no chance. Jacana, Roxy and East Keilor have been terrible for a long time - Moonee Valley not much better and Nth Saints are not very strong.

Also 6 teams may not be relegated - depending on how many teams join the EDFL it could only be 4 teams going to Div 3. The EDFL justify it because it will strengthen the league, attract new clubs, have the terrible B grade teams more competitive in a lower grade and which will stop 100+ point hidings week after week.

No way any of those 5 teams are a year or 2 away from challenging for a B grade flag but all can build a team to play finals and get promoted to Div 2. You cannot make everyone happy but this is a step foward for the EDFL - even if it is a step back for a couple of clubs.

the problem is money,money,money, players who might be good in the lower teams get chased by the bigger fish up the road lets face all the b teams take a long time and a lot of cash to get anywhere near being put up into the A`s. Bringing more teams into the comp will only make it harder for them to get to the top. And most teams A`S and B`s are still trying to get kids.And by the sounds of things Jacana are almost gone which would leave 5 teams in the C div. and l bet they wouldn`t be the only team in the same situation.

I think Money is the exact reason why this 3rd division must happen, teams playing in Div 3 will not feel like they have to pay every player, might be a handful that get paid or go back to the old days of handing out a few envelopes of cash for BOG. There is 6 division of Amateur clubs that manage to get by and recruit players without paying. I am sure clubs like Jacana would benefit hugely by not having the pressure on not having to pay players to simply compete.

100% wrong jacana Are not going anywhere strong numbers at training 45 tuesday and 35 last night in crappy weather

Keilor Park beat Taylors Lakes by about 5 goals today... I'm sure both sides had a few out but could be an indicator for both sides...

roys had a solid hitout today against diamond creek ended up going down by 3 goals after sluggish first half and pretty good second with at least 6 or 7 who missed including hartigan,oneill,campbell,baker,ronaldson,carruthers,jeffries,harmes,mooey

whats the story justin mall? recently posting about your loyalty to the jacana fc now there is a clearance to craigieburn? whats that about?

Oh no, I heard there was a chance of him coaching. I thought it was at Jacana though.

The move to having a third division was met with a strong response by the clubs presidents. Problems that were brought up include A Grade clubs exploiting kids from B grade and will be worse in the future C grade comp,
C Grade will have problems with U18 and U16 wanting to go to stronger clubs in B and A grade, un-financial clubs, feel like C grade is a rushed decision, 6 team C grade is impractical, no guarantees C grade clubs will not be smashed by 100+ points, 09 10 performance has no relevance on predicting 2012 performance, grading clubs on the eve of this season is not fair, clubs want to know who will be joining the EDFL and more research needs to be done to see if this will work.

The EDFL has some work to do to make the clubs feel at ease about a third division. Interesting times ahead.

The move to having a third division was met with a strong response by the clubs presidents. Problems that were brought up include A Grade clubs exploiting kids from B grade and will be worse in the future C grade comp,
C Grade will have problems with U18 and U16 wanting to go to stronger clubs in B and A grade, un-financial clubs, feel like C grade is a rushed decision, 6 team C grade is impractical, no guarantees C grade clubs will not be smashed by 100+ points, 09 10 performance has no relevance on predicting 2012 performance, grading clubs on the eve of this season is not fair, clubs want to know who will be joining the EDFL and more research needs to be done to see if this will work.

The EDFL has some work to do to make the clubs feel at ease about a third division. Interesting times ahead.

heard one club president is holding a meeting at his club with all the other B grade presidents to try and stop this going ahead

I just hope that the club presidents can see through their own short sightedness and self-agenda and see the benefits of the 3rd division to the whole league.

Kids changing clubs to play better footy/ earn a better $$ is not a new issue and this has always been the case with 2 divisions and wont change regardless and you cant blame the kids for wanting to play / earn better, but the other alternative is the kid stops playing footy all together because they are sick of being flgged by 10 goals each week.

I do agree using 2009 season results to determine who goes down is flawed and would be simple enough to just say who ever finishes bottom 6 in 2011 goes down, I would suggest we then have 2 teams go up and down for relegation for the first few years and that way any team that is unlucky to go down can quickly come back up the next year and anyone who doesn’t finish top 2 probably deserved to go down.

Clubs saying players will change clubs when they go down, i reckon is misleading there may be a couple that will but the reality is for the majority of the playing list who were playing in a bottom side and there is usually a reason for it and that is because that is your ability otherwise you wouldn’t be bottom, so cant see too many clubs chasing them.

A sad story mate. I tossed and turned for days. It was the hardest decision I've ever had to make.

My loyalty towards Jacana remains very strong and I'll continue to support the club by attending as many functions as I can and I'll continue to communicate with people from the club.

I'm grateful for the experience and the support I received at the Jacana Football Club and I look forward to keeping tabs on the improvement of the Jacana Football Club in the coming years.

I'm also looking forward to improving my football in A grade and giving 110% to the Craigieburn Football Club.

Is this not the very reason why the Presidents are so rightly concerned. Yes, it does happen now with current A Grade Clubs, but the problem will only excerbate for C Grade Clubs, as players will now go to not only A Grade, but B Grade Clubs.

This is a great example of what will and actually IS happening.

apparantly allan faraj is retiring and wont play out the 2011 season with airport west. will free up some cash for the eagles to chase some other players but it will make their job of making the finals even tougher. there is talk of him going back to where it all began to finish off at jacana.

reading my tarot cards i see nothing but trouble for the future or lack of future for the C division....players who dont leave to go to more successful clubs will be bored to death playing against the same 5 other teams and wont bother to show up......potential sponsors will ask how many people come to your games/rooms to see their advertising only to be told apart theteam theres 5 old guys in the corner enjoying a beer... . Whichever other clubs want to join the league should start off in the B`s say in 2012 and if thats 2 well then the 2 top teams at the end of this year should go up to the A`s.

round 1 winners

west coburg vs hillside

northern saints vs roxburgh park

jacana vs tullamarine

keilor park vs east keilor

glenroy vs airport west

westmeadows vs hadfield

pascoe vale vs moonee valley

round 1 winners

west coburg vs hillside

northern saints vs roxburgh park

jacana vs tullamarine

keilor park vs east keilor

glenroy vs airport west

westmeadows vs hadfield

pascoe vale vs moonee valley

Very predictable round only one game may be questioable and thats Westmeadows and Hadfield it will be interesting to see if Westy can keep the young legs running.

Well done to the Airport West club for showing some sense and clearing the two young blokes back to Broadford. Is it just the "thing we do" in rejecting the first one or two or was there more to it?

Either way good form, and when the boys are older and more experienced I know they'd consider having another crack down there :thumbsu:

How about some Predictions.

Ladder

Pascoe Vale
West Coburg
Glenroy
Hadfield
Keilor park
Tulla
APW
West Meadows
Hillside
Nth Coburg