EDFL Div 1 2014

All I would like to see at this stage is, kids who won't be playing for their club on any given weekend and I can guarantee there will be plenty, pop over to clubs like Tulla, Burnside, Jacana, Northern or whoever and go have a kick. Not every weekend, but just when you might have missed selection in your own side.

I know if my son only gets 14 games I'll be knocking on some doors at clubs who might need a hand for the weekend we have byes.

All I would like to see at this stage is, kids who won't be playing for their club on any given weekend and I can guarantee there will be plenty, pop over to clubs like Tulla, Burnside, Jacana, Northern or whoever and go have a kick. Not every weekend, but just when you might have missed selection in your own side.

I know if my son only gets 14 games I'll be knocking on some doors at clubs who might need a hand for the weekend we have byes.

That might sound good in theory but u can't play players who aren't registered to your club. Then u need a clearance from your club to the new club. Then will the new club clear u back to your old club?? Or make u play with them for the rest of the year??

At Craigieburn it is about rebuilding and repairing the damage done by others. All the coaching panel are committed the kids are the future of the club or you can take the quick fix and throw Big Dollars around but in the end it is a band aid solution because when the money goes so do the players . How many ex Craigieburn players are at other clubs in Div 1 ?

I totally agree.

Don't worry about Craigieburn. They're the sleeping giant. With the very competent coaching staff (Pete Bugden etc) that they have in place, they will come good!

The coaching staff that Craigieburn have in place have proved in the past that they have the correct structures. All they need know is to get game time into the young blokes and install confidence and they're away. They will very quickly identify other teams weakness and take advantage of it.

Good luck to everyone down at the nest in 2014. I am confident that they will come away with some positives for season 2014.

That might sound good in theory but u can't play players who aren't registered to your club. Then u need a clearance from your club to the new club. Then will the new club clear u back to your old club?? Or make u play with them for the rest of the year??

Pretty sure you can do game day clearances.

I think it's great that clubs have more than one team in junior levels of U10,12,14 & 16's

It's a positive sign for the clubs and the leagues futures.:thumbsu:

Although, their is obviously a problem in this age group across different leagues. I don't see anything wrong with limiting the Clubs to one U18/U19 team per club.

These boys are nearly men at this age and when players hit Seniors they tend to move around anyway. Some take it seriously and some don't at this age. Some might be cruising in the seconds team while clubs in a higher grade struggle for numbers to field a side. I just think something needs to be done otherwise>as you said local footy fan it might come back to bite us in the arse in a few years

The leagues and clubs will benefit, plus blokes that wanna play have options and they can get good game time before they hit Seniors which will help everyone..

i agree with your comment ( I think it's great that clubs have more than one team in junior levels of U10,12,14 & 16's) but in my experiance there is quite a drop off from under 15 ,16 level most will field mutipul side up to this level then drop back to one or two un 15 /16 if they are lucky and the one u 17 side depend on the age range of the league.

So how did lakes go,the boys that won the paper cup last year with a stronger team managed to beat the lakes.how did they go with shutting there mouths.It's going to be a very even competition this year

Biggest winner from Friday obviously was Hillside. Great result for them and obviously most people underestimated them. Biggest loser from yesterday undoubtedly Crazyburn. Massive favs to get relegated they need yo find their mojo and find it fast or it will be div 2 for them. Last years spooners smashing them by 20 goals must be a massive worry. Shaping up tp be a very even season. After 9 games of footy already only 2 undefeated teams.

Ok, I checked with the league and you can play as many games as you like and all you need is a Special Match Permit.

It would be good If all Clubs were aware of this AM but I will take a guess here and say that not many are, you did a little research with the league and I am surprised how quickly you got a definite answer.

More communication between Clubs about the 'Special Match Permit' topic should be welcomed and the league should inform them all about it, If they already havn't..

At least make it widely known.:thumbsu:

That's a heck of a win for them. I also see a lot of familiar young players names in their side too which is great.

Volpato, what a gun

It would be good If all Clubs were aware of this AM but I will take a guess here and say that not many are, you did a little research with the league and I am surprised how quickly you got a definite answer.

Have had a fair bit to do with Steph over the last few years and she's tremendous value when seeking information or getting things done.

More communication between Clubs about the 'Special Match Permit' topic should be welcomed and the league should inform them all about it, If they already havn't..

At least make it widely known.:thumbsu:

I'd be surprised if the clubs weren't (at least) aware of it. We were doing it at North Coburg and Northern Saints when we either needed or lent players ages ago.

Volpato, what a gun

Yep. Throw in the Psaila brothers, Pulitano, Coletta and Rusi it instantly adds some terrific talent there.

I know J.Volpato is but are those blokes you mention all young fella's? Positive signs if so

Hillside definitely has surprised this year. Even after their big named departures from last;they also took it up to Tulla few weeks ago.. not a bad start to the season for the club.

I know J.Volpato is but are those blokes you mention all young fella's? Positive signs if so

Yep. Mostly 17 year olds. Coletta's probably the best of them IMO.

Hillside definitely has surprised this year. Even after their big named departures from last;they also took it up to Tulla few weeks ago.. not a bad start to the season for the club.

Indeed. Very good start.

Promising for hillside, problem I see is when those boys play for jets will leave a big hole in team.
Volpato was unbelievable, kicked a left foot banana from boundary about 35metres out on the run.
Plenty more good kids in u18,16,14.
The current u14 side is very good, have had 5 really good players come over from other clubs to a team which won u12 div 1 in 2012.

I totally agree.

Don't worry about Craigieburn. They're the sleeping giant. With the very competent coaching staff (Pete Bugden etc) that they have in place, they will come good!

The coaching staff that Craigieburn have in place have proved in the past that they have the correct structures. All they need know is to get game time into the young blokes and install confidence and they're away. They will very quickly identify other teams weakness and take advantage of it.

Good luck to everyone down at the nest in 2014. I am confident that they will come away with some positives for season 2014.
Surely you are joking? " Don't worry about Craigeburn" sleeping giant blah blah. They are an absolute rabble, biggest budget in div 1, biggest growth area and most kids to choose from. They should be dominating Premier division. They won about 2 games last year and they have been thumped first 2 rounds this year including a 20 goal thrashing by last years spooners. Big trouble at Crazy imo

back to back premerships for Hillside in 2014?

Na, I reckon both West's will be hard to beat this year,

Westmeadows and West Coburg :thumbsu:

Hillside will be up there though and a very unpredictable team to play imo.

Hello just a call from the RDFL our club is chasing any under 18.5 s' that want a game and cant get one at their club we are desparate and we just want to give our boys a chance to play give me a call 0421619259. No strings attached but under 18.5 s' are the life blood of the future
let me know if you can help. transport from the metro area can be arranged

Hello just a call from the RDFL our club is chasing any under 18.5 s' that want a game and cant get one at their club we are desparate and we just want to give our boys a chance to play give me a call 0421619259. No strings attached but under 18.5 s' are the life blood of the future
let me know if you can help. transport from the metro area can be arranged

Mate, ring around some of the clubs. Pascoe Vale have a bye in Div 2 U18.5 and Hadfield and Oak Park in Div1.

snax Will have a good look at West Coburg this week. I don't see Westmeadows as a threat despite their win. Still like Tulla although I believe they shouldn't be promoted without an 18 side. Glenroy, TL and OP in the mix for now.

Westmeadows were very comfortable winners over Glenroy today. Bassman played well for WM snagging 5 in a 9 goal win over last years runners up. Solid win for Westy :thumbsu:

Final scores

Glenroy 9.10.64
Westmeadows 18.10.118

Amazing what can happen to a team/club when you attract decent coaching personnel. Today's result speaks volumes for Westmeadows and serious questions need to be asked about Glenroy!

Should've paraphrased this by saying my comments are based on output from both clubs in 2013 - one has had a drastic rise in performance and the other has gone the other way + some!