EDFL Div 1 2014

Is this the division that Tony Fulton plays in and if so whats he like heard he may be on the move to our little country league and am interested or is he div 2

Wouldn't be Lancefield would it? Along with a couple of other blokes from Airport West???

Just been informed that Oak Park have signed a few from VAFA & also a couple who walked out on the club are back for season 2014. I put them to make the top 2 quite easily imho.

Also was at Tullamarine training to go for a run, they really are looking the goods also. This looks like the closest season coming where any team from 1-5/6 can win it

Taylors/Hillside/Cragieburn. imho.

you?
Get fair dinkum Anthony. Why will lakes finish bottom 3? Silly comment! And I doubt oak park are a certainty for top 2. They will be lucky to make the 4. Top 3 Roy's, Tulla lakes ( in any order) fighting for 4th oak park, wc and maybe crazy burn. Westy 7th Haddy 8th hillside 9th. Lock it in Eddie

This is my opinion as you are entitled to yours. This season will be the closest season ever which is great for the league you can win and jump to 3rd or lose and go to 6th, will be extremely close. In regards to your post Cragie/Hillside are definate bottom 4 then.

Tulla & Glenroy will be the top two, bit of daylight, then Taylors Lakes, WC and Oak Park imo..

And the others, heard alot of rumours about the rest but the above mentioned teams will be hard to beat

No doubt it will be a close division next year, Tulla & Glenroy are already solid teams and the others will have alot of new recruits, more so than Tulla/Glenroy, which may take a while for them to gel imo.

Good Luck to all in 2014 :thumbsu:

i hear westmeadows have recruited any news on the recruits

Was told they have signed nearly 20 new players

Yarraville B&F Shane Barry and Bassman Abdul-Wahed are amongst those, along with a CHB from Riddell League

Walked past a few training sessions and they have massive numbers at training. Looks like things have turned for the better there , which was needed after a horrible year this season

Was told they have signed nearly 20 new players

Yarraville B&F Shane Barry and Bassman Abdul-Wahed are amongst those, along with a CHB from Riddell League

Walked past a few training sessions and they have massive numbers at training. Looks like things have turned for the better there , which was needed after a horrible year this season

I said 14 new signings and people laughed now gone to 20. I too went to watch them train they will finish 2-3-4-5. On the up definately.

Not knocking your prediction but out of the 20 blokes how many are any good? They only won 2 games last year they need to pick up 20. I would prefer them to pick up 6 quality but credit to them they have been very proactive. I still don't reckon they will play finals.

Mate I can confirm thy are from Yarraville in WRFL & most if not all would play in premier edfl, all very close to the coach of Westy. They will make finals and make it with ease.

What's makes you say they will play premier EDFL. I think yarraville struggled this year in div 1 at wrfl and we all know that the top sides in wrfl would struggle to make finals in premier EDFL. So u just making stuff up now

There are several reasons why players dont want to play premier, work late hours and can only train once a week or they want to take footy serious but not too serious. In time youll see where they finish. Quote me for future ref

That's the reason west meadows won't finish high on the ladder. Players must train twice a week these days. Local football is pretty much a part time job. Players/clubs that don't realize this wont be successful. Whether its premier or divy 1 players must be committed or they won't be successful. Gone are the days where u can just train once a week the play on Saturday. You might be able to do that in lesser competitions but not in the EDFL

There are about 6 or 7 guys that are Westmeadows juniors that all left to go and play a higher level.They have all decided to come back now and help Westmeadows have success after a disappointing few years. Guys like Mullen, Hoban, Both Liam and Adam Turner, Church, Valentine etc
From what I hear there are only 4 or 5 from Yarraville and those guys are all from the EDFL. Barry is from Tullamarine originally, there is one that only just went to Yarraville form Doutta Stars and Atik was at West Coburg in 2012 when they were runners up.
Guys like Kaakour and Abdul-Wahead from Marby along with young ruckman Osman Allouche will all be quality at this level.
They will certainly improve a fair way from this year how far is only a guess

That's the reason west meadows won't finish high on the ladder. Players must train twice a week these days. Local football is pretty much a part time job. Players/clubs that don't realise this wont be successful. Whether its premier or divy 1 players must be committed or they won't be successful. Gone are the days where u can just train once a week the play on Saturday. You might be able to do that in lesser competitions but not in the EDFL

Sent frTapatalkom my iPhone using Tapatalk

Am I reading this correctly, guys who get paid to play don't train twice a week?? And, what is more inconceivable is that clubs let them get away with it. Surely this is incorrect.
Sorry, can't get my head around this.

There are about 6 or 7 guys that are Westmeadows juniors that all left to go and play a higher level.They have all decided to come back now and help Westmeadows have success after a disappointing few years. Guys like Mullen, Hoban, Both Liam and Adam Turner, Church, Valentine etc
From what I hear there are only 4 or 5 from Yarraville and those guys are all from the EDFL. Barry is from Tullamarine originally, there is one that only just went to Yarraville form Doutta Stars and Atik was at West Coburg in 2012 when they were runners up.
Guys like Kaakour and Abdul-Wahead from Marby along with young ruckman Osman Allouche will all be quality at this level.
They will certainly improve a fair way from this year how far is only a guess
Now here is a post i like, this person has given us names (evidence). Don't get me wrong they have done well to recruit/get back so many guys. But lakes and Roy's smashed Westy by 20+ last year and the names you have mentioned arnt striking any fear into the good sides. If blokes are playing wrfl 1s at a shit club then i doubt they would play premier div in edfl. Top 2 or 3 in wrfl go ok but I reckon sides like Roy's, Tulla & lakes would/could beat the bottom 5 in wrfl. The standard in premier is fantastic and that has made div 1 better as well. I remember everyone talking up cob dist last year and I told everyone they wouldn't play div 2 finals. Edfl is miles in front. As for kak & baseman how many ones games did they play last year?

Bassman did dominate for northern saints before he went to marby would have been a walk up start in their flag side this year... Probably just a bit old for premier div these days but westmeadows aren't recruiting him to play in their premier div senior side... He will still be a good player in div1... Very for for an older bloke

Come on mate when did bassman dominate for nth saints? When they finished 7th. He is a good player in div 1 but not in the top 8 mids. I saw him play 2s at marby, he looked miles off it. And garaunteed he will be on 600+. Ps walk up start in their flag 100% but he wouldn't have been in their best 3 mids

Who will be the better mids this year?
Who will be the best players in the divy?

Who will be the better mids this year?
Who will be the best players in the divy?

Well the top 3 sides would all have 2 mids better than anyone at Westy. But I am not knocking their efforts recruiting just knocking the blokes tipping them to play finals. Oak park have 3 gun mids pascu, German & Kennedy. Roy's- Campbell & Dennis. Lakes morelli & desousa. Tulla Egan, hare, marcy. Wc Hudson. Even crazy burn have Jacobs & Gordon.

He doesn't have to be the best player in the league to fill his role... Even if he isn't in the top 8 mids doesn't mean he wouldn't get a game.... His value will be determined by what they are paying him

There is no doubt about it, Bassman is a gun and any team in div 1 this year would gladly pay him for his services.

His delivery to forwards is second to none, he also can kick goals. Just needs to keep a cool head to get the best out of the bloke, good luck to Westy they have been very pro-active this pre-season and will climb up imo.

Any talk of any other clubs movements ??

Well the top 3 sides would all have 2 mids better than anyone at Westy. But I am not knocking their efforts recruiting just knocking the blokes tipping them to play finals. Oak park have 3 gun mids pascu, German & Kennedy. Roy's- Campbell & Dennis. Lakes morelli & desousa. Tulla Egan, hare, marcy. Wc Hudson. Even crazy burn have Jacobs & Gordon.

For mine, Cburn have the best mids in the comp in 2014
* Christian McErlain ( Missed some games last year "Travelled" but previous Coburg VFL for 5 years )
* Jesse Davies ( Ex Premier Division with Paco - very good player, breaks lines )
* Brent Gordon ( Gun left foot )
* Shane Jacobs ( Previous B&F winner )

EDFL Div 1 2014