EDFL Div 1 2014

Excuse my ignorance lads, but being overseas and losing touch with the going ons, why only 9 teams ?
Who folded / merged / changed leagues ?
Enjoy all the comments here
Thanks
I may be a little off but I believe that: there was 8 teams in Div 1 last season and with the introduction of Burnside Heights in div 2 the league decided not to relegate any sides at the end of last season, while still allowing Hillside to be promoted.

Correct, and no team got demoted which leaves 9

I wonder what will happen this year?

Will clubs stress when it comes the season end gets near only to be told later there will be no relegation and the comp will be 10 teams in 2015, or is there already a clear agenda set for 2015?

Meanwhile Tulla have forfeited their U18s for the rest of the year and that's a tragedy IMO.

Will clubs stress when it comes the season end gets near only to be told later there will be no relegation and the comp will be 10 teams in 2015, or is there already a clear agenda set for 2015?

Meanwhile Tulla have forfeited their U18s for the rest of the year and that's a tragedy IMO.

re-Tulla;thats pretty shet if true AM.:thumbsdown:

EDFL-can you help or na? Or can other clubs if the league can't?

Did not think they were struggling that much and I thought they picked up a few young blokes this year.

Correct, and no team got demoted which leaves 9

Yep, and Westmeadows might aswell had won a Grand Final last year..

In reality they should be in Div 2 this year..

Get out of jail free card right there, no wonder they are doing backflips to pay new players this season.

I don't blame WM at all for that, the league should be more transparent to all clubs of thier future plans IMO.

I need a beer

Craigieburn would have to be early faves for relegation based on their first two games... Which is incredible that a club like craigieburn with all the advantages they enjoy could find themselves in that situation

re-Tulla;thats pretty shet if true AM.:thumbsdown:

EDFL-can you help or na? Or can other clubs if the league can't?

Did not think they were struggling that much and I thought they picked up a few young blokes this year.

Pretty disappointing mate. 14 games for the boys is just ridiculous. It's not like the off season isn't long enough for recruitment either.

I just hope some common sense prevails if kids want to go and play for another club in the league on any given day they have one of their 4 byes.

Also, should Tulla be allowed to play finals without 3 open age sides?

I noticed the Northern boys lost 295-6 today too. Do you know if Keilor helped out with players?

Craigieburn would have to be early faves for relegation based on their first two games... Which is incredible that a club like craigieburn with all the advantages they enjoy could find themselves in that situation

They played 10 kids under 19, 7 of them under 18 today. Not ideal, but at least they're giving the kids a shot.

5 major ins for the next round should help, but it's going to be tough to turn it around.

They played 10 kids under 19, 7 of them under 18 today. Not ideal, but at least they're giving the kids a shot.

5 major ins for the next round should help, but it's going to be tough to turn it around.

Remember in my earlier senior days... We would get thumped by craigieburn... This was in the 1st couple of years of their introduction to edfl just before they won the flag... North coburg were cellar dwellers too

How times can change Greenvale were still still in B grade then and jacana made the prelim

Pretty disappointing mate. 14 games for the boys is just ridiculous. It's not like the off season isn't long enough for recruitment either.

I just hope some common sense prevails if kids want to go and play for another club in the league on any given day they have one of their 4 byes.

Also, should Tulla be allowed to play finals without 3 open age sides?

I noticed the Northern boys lost 295-6 today too. Do you know if Keilor helped out with players?

At Craigieburn it is about rebuilding and repairing the damage done by others. All the coaching panel are committed the kids are the future of the club or you can take the quick fix and throw Big Dollars around but in the end it is a band aid solution because when the money goes so do the players . How many ex Craigieburn players are at other clubs in Div 1 ?

At Craigieburn it is about rebuilding and repairing the damage done by others. All the coaching panel are committed the kids are the future of the club or you can take the quick fix and throw Big Dollars around but in the end it is a band aid solution because when the money goes so do the players .

Completely agree and I think it's great what they're doing, and a positive is, they have some terrific young kids too.

How many ex Craigieburn players are at other clubs in Div 1 ?

Not really sure, but probably a truck load.

Remember in my earlier senior days... We would get thumped by craigieburn... This was in the 1st couple of years of their introduction to edfl just before they won the flag... North coburg were cellar dwellers too

How times can change Greenvale were still still in B grade then and jacana made the prelim

What year did Craigieburn come into EDFL ?

Pret

They did, but Northern were still short. Struggling for numbers in the 18s and reserves who finished the first game against Pacco with 15, but fielded 18 this week with 3 of the 18s admirably backing up

The Tulla FC have tried everything possible to get an under 18s team up and running this year and last. Last year the club made membership free I am not sure what else the club can do. With no under 16s as well it is going to be a difficult few years for the club but if any 16s or 18s are missing out on a game at their club come down to Tulla and you will get a game. On another matter what an amazing result with Westy smashing Crazyburn by 20 goals. I know Westy have improved significantly but it could be another long year for the boys at Crazy.

You are not alone with this senario i was going to coach and under 19 team in 3 div In the NFL I know it a differant league but its the same problem .We too had free rego all the boys had to pay for was soxs and shorts. The most we had commit to playing was 7 players so the club pulled the unders out for the year . Also of the 7 div 3 sides in the NFL only two were able to get the numbers for complete teams. I have read on of the league site on big foot they have had the same problem with under 18/19 level.I think this lack of numbers at under 18/19 level will come back and bit us all in the arse in a few years

I know how hard it is to get my boy out of bed between 7 and 7.30 on a saturday morning, so I would imagine there would be others in the same boat. Throw in girls, work, alcohol, friday night with your mates and it makes it very hard.

In my opinion if you can't field a18s team You should be relegated after seasons end, as the edfl do state you must have 3 senior teams (Saturday teams)

I know how hard it is to get my boy out of bed between 7 and 7.30 on a saturday morning, so I would imagine there would be others in the same boat. Throw in girls, work, alcohol, friday night with your mates and it makes it very hard.

I coached an U18 side for a couple of years and unfortunately, for most of the team, Football came in at around number two or three behind girls/work/cars/nightclubs/girls etc. Whoever the rocket scientist was that scheduled the U18.5 for 9.30 on a Saturday morning clearly has not had a teenage boy or been involved with an U18 side. These kids do not want to get up and "have a run with their mates" if it means they are going to get flogged every week meaning that unless you have a strong side and are successful your up against it. The other problem is the constant battle against the Premier Division clubs chasing any of the decent players from the lower divisions and promising them the world, telling them that they are too good for Div 1 ect etc Loose a couple of those players, the teams weaker and the cycle continues.

Some of the smaller clubs are always going to struggle for numbers when some of the larger clubs are allowed to field 2 under 18s sides. Another contributing factor which makes matters worse is that representative squads also encourage boys to play at the highest grade possible which leaves the club that has developed these boys in the lurch.

bluejet you are right on the money about the tac clubs and rep sides advising the kids to go to the div 1 clubs but if the keep doing this then in a few years there might not be and unders comp in any of the leauges for these kids to play in

In my opinion if you can't field a18s team You should be relegated after seasons end, as the edfl do state you must have 3 senior teams (Saturday teams)

In a perfect world I agree with this, yet we seem to have a common problem with local footy leagues in this age group in recent years.

If they change the rules so that a club doesn't need a full tier of teams to join the league or compete in the league....IMO would be such a cut throat move>with the demise of some clubs,history,soul,heart etc.

Let's face it, the U16's of today will be playing ones in 2,3 years and they are the future of football

More focus and direction needs to be put on the junior transition from U16 footy to U18/19 in local leagues IMO

Some of the smaller clubs are always going to struggle for numbers when some of the larger clubs are allowed to field 2 under 18s sides.

This orange above.... 2 teams Should not be allowed in U18's imo..:thumbsu:

True, but it also comes to the club itself that usually only focuses on winning a senior flag with their money, and maybe not putting in enough time and effort for the junior ranks because they are so focused on the now of their seniors, I've seen that happen first hand

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/quote]

In a perfect world I agree with this, yet we seem to have a common problem with local footy leagues in this age group in recent years.

If they change the rules so that a club doesn't need a full tier of teams to join the league or compete in the league....IMO would be such a cut throat move>with the demise of some clubs,history,soul,heart etc.

Let's face it, the U16's of today will be playing ones in 2,3 years and they are the future of football

More focus and direction needs to be put on the junior transition from U16 footy to U18/19 in local leagues IMO

This orange above.... 2 teams Should not be allowed in U18's imo..:thumbsu:

I agree with you but it is hard to get kids to move and split from their mates especially if they have been playing at the club since they were tackers together I reckon if you force them to move they are more likely to pull the pin all together than move to a new club in small groups.

I think it's great that clubs have more than one team in junior levels of U10,12,14 & 16's

It's a positive sign for the clubs and the leagues futures.:thumbsu:

Although, their is obviously a problem in this age group across different leagues. I don't see anything wrong with limiting the Clubs to one U18/U19 team per club.

These boys are nearly men at this age and when players hit Seniors they tend to move around anyway. Some take it seriously and some don't at this age. Some might be cruising in the seconds team while clubs in a higher grade struggle for numbers to field a side. I just think something needs to be done otherwise>as you said local footy fan it might come back to bite us in the arse in a few years

The leagues and clubs will benefit, plus blokes that wanna play have options and they can get good game time before they hit Seniors which will help everyone..

EDFL Div 1 2014