EDFL Div 1 2019

No Hill for EK this week so can't see them winning against Tulla. Maybe holding something back for finals??

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

East Keillor without hill / Lyons / arrowsmith

Tullamarine also without Prestia / Mulvaney / Barresi / Bonnici.

I don’t think it’s a hold back by either team. Both sides are missing players from best side, it’s that time of year, injures etc. No excuses from either side in this game I think.

Craigieburn playing a 6 pointer tomorrow Brodie Griffiths,
Burner fan who is he and isn’t a 6 pointer straight out of AFL ?

WC over T/lakes 25 points.
CB to good for Oar Park, rain might keep the margin down a little bit. 50 points.
EK vs TM should be a ripping contest, shame about the weather but i think it will suit Tulla. Arrowsmith Hill and Lyons HUGE outs for EK, would be the first 3 blokes picked for them. TM by 12.
Westy to lock in finals with a win over Hillside, 20 points.
Some tight low scoring games this week.

WC over T/lakes 25 points.
CB to good for Oar Park, rain might keep the margin down a little bit. 50 points.
EK vs TM should be a ripping contest, shame about the weather but i think it will suit Tulla. Arrowsmith Hill and Lyons HUGE outs for EK, would be the first 3 blokes picked for them. TM by 12.
Westy to lock in finals with a win over Hillside, 20 points.
Some tight low scoring games this week.
Agree with your EK v Tulla points

Reckon Dion Hill will be a big in this week. In spite of what TURBO says he is a star of the comp and should be cherry ripe to have a big one .

This comment makes me think you have no idea about football in this division. If you class Hill as a “star” then how do you class players like Bongetti, Castello, Flynn, Lyon, Grabrowski, Coletta, Baravi and co.

Most ridiculous comment I’ve heard in a long time..

Towards Zero round last week. I must say Hillside Football Club did a great job in promoting awareness to reduce road deaths. All sides including ALL junior teams had someone wearing a jumper with 0 on the back. Great stuff.

Im aware all teams had seniors wearing the no 0 but how many clubs had juniors doing it in the last round as well?

Some clubs don't have the money to buy normal jumpers let alone special ones but good on Hillside for getting behind it.
Towards Zero round last week. I must say Hillside Football Club did a great job in promoting awareness to reduce road deaths. All sides including ALL junior teams had someone wearing a jumper with 0 on the back. Great stuff.

Im aware all teams had seniors wearing the no 0 but how many clubs had juniors doing it in the last round as well?

I'm sorry for rehashing old news but with the 6 point error on craigeburn kid did EK actually play over points or is this a clerical thing? It's a legitimate question not stirring pot, cheers

Hill’s star power has been debated all year on this forum. Key forwards are always going to be maligned if they kick bags against the weaker sides and not against the top sides, especially if they are reportedly on good money.
I’ve only seen him against Tulla a few times over the last 2 years and while dangerous at times he hasn’t put in dominant display.
But at the end of the day he has kicked 52 in 11 games which is far more than any other key forward in the division this year.

The reality is there probably isn’t a genuine star key forward that’s going to tear apart a final like we’ve had in the last few years (cloke x 2, winter, Limbach, young).

I'm sorry for rehashing old news but with the 6 point error on craigeburn kid did EK actually play over points or is this a clerical thing? It's a legitimate question not stirring pot, cheers

Willow, I will reply however I do risk another suspension from div1 forum for stating facts.

Here goes!!!
Yes they played over 47 points in a number of games at the start of the season.

East Keilor

R-1 50 points - Beat Taylor’s Lakes 135pts 👎

R-2 44 points - Beat Roxy by 195pts 👍

R-3 Bye

R-4 51 points - Beat Hillside by 16pts👎

R-5 48 points - Beat Oak Park by 123pts👎

R-6 45 points - Lost to Westmeadows by 42pts👍

Facts are:
-The first 6 rounds they played 5 games and 3 of those were played over the allocated 47 points.

-All 3 games they played at higher points ALL resulted in wins.

-A crucial early season game against Hillside (similar ranked side) at Hillside was played at 51 points. The game was very close and could have gone either way.
*the EDFL was notified in the days leading up to this game that there is a discrepancy in the player points for certain EK players (recruits)

- The first game EK played under 47 points (against a similar ranked team) was against Westy in rd6 which resulted in a 42 point loss.

So Willow, if you were working on this case and examined all evidence of these games (and taking into account all the hype and publicity surrounding EK new coach and number of recruits) what would be your findings? Would you throughly investigate things in full detail?
In short the EDFL said “no rules were breached by EK so play on” No penalties whatsoever and the other clubs who played within the points can just suck it up!! NO loss of points, no deduction in %, no fines, nothing..Zero action taken.

HOW does this affect other sides:
- EK now sit on top of the ladder with the highest % of the top 3 sides. So it possibly will have an effect on Tulla and Craigieburn top 2 chances in a top 4 set up.
-Relegation battle could come down to % with Oak Park affected.
-Early season victory over Hillside was telling early. Did it effect Hillside’s season as they were a chance to fight for 4th spot.

Now in premier league AH have decided to play with 21 players to stay under 47 points so as to include a high point player instead of 2 one pointers.

That’s not right either, but ultimately which case is gaining more advantage to a side on the field. Clearly it’s playing all 22 players and playing at 50 or 51 points.

SO the EDFL have created this mess. It’s never to late to undo a wrong, however they will just sit down and wipe it under the carpet. Where is AFL Victoria in all this?

No more from me on this as im over it..

Cheers and enjoy the footy weather.

Some clubs don't have the money to buy normal jumpers let alone special ones but good on Hillside for getting behind it.

It’s not about the money, but more about what this club has done to raise awareness about this issue in the community. I was more pointing out the work this club has done off field should be commended. They are a div1 club (not 1 of the bigger more powerful clubs) and really leading the way.
I’m not sure if any other club did a similar thing.

By teaching young kids what this means might help in saving lives on our roads. Someone at every footy club would have a sad story to tell about a friend, family member etc so it’s not about the money to buy jumpers. I believe it was fully funded by a sponsor who wanted to help such a worthy cause and generate conversation around this issue we have in society today.

Once again if anyone takes a look at the Hillside Football Club social pages you will see some great work done. 👏👏👏👏👏

Willow, I will reply however I do risk another suspension from div1 forum for stating facts.

Here goes!!!

East Keilor

R-3 Bye

Facts are:
-The first 6 rounds they played 5 games and 3 of those were played over the allocated 47 points.

-A crucial early season game against Hillside (similar ranked side) at Hillside was played at 51 points. The game was very close and could have gone either way.
*the EDFL was notified in the days leading up to this game that there is a discrepancy in the player points for certain EK players (recruits)

- The first game EK played under 47 points (against a similar ranked team) was against Westy in rd6 which resulted in a 42 point loss.

So Willow, if you were working on this case and examined all evidence of these games (and taking into account all the hype and publicity surrounding EK new coach and number of recruits) what would be your findings? Would you throughly investigate things in full detail?
In short the EDFL said “no rules were breached by EK so play on” No penalties whatsoever and the other clubs who played within the points can just suck it up!! NO loss of points, no deduction in %, no fines, nothing..Zero action taken.

- EK now sit on top of the ladder with the highest % of the top 3 sides. So it possibly will have an effect on Tulla and Craigieburn top 2 chances in a top 4 set up.
-Early season victory over Hillside was telling early. Did it effect Hillside’s season as they were a chance to fight for 4th spot.

Now in premier league AH have decided to play with 21 players to stay under 47 points so as to include a high point player instead of 2 one pointers.

That’s not right either, but ultimately which case is gaining more advantage to a side on the field. Clearly it’s playing all 22 players and playing at 50 or 51 points.

SO the EDFL have created this mess. It’s never to late to undo a wrong, however they will just sit down and wipe it under the carpet. Where is AFL Victoria in all this?

TRUTH is hurting to many people turbo you better stop,

Hey mate, very true. I’m stopping now as I’ve stated enough facts and was in fact responding to a question, not instigating or bringing up this topic even if it’s raised its head again through the AH issue.
I did state a while ago that the league has left itself wide open for some other clubs to source avenues to get around this points system as it would be very discriminatory to now punish a club.

Here goes!!!

East Keilor

R-3 Bye

Facts are:

Why don’t you mention Taylor’s Lakes playing over points in your example? If you are going to try and have an educated opinion be balanced

The question raised by Willow was about EK playing over the points in which I responded accordingly and with 100% facts. I guess my 20mins of research is more than the league did 🤔

I don’t know the circumstances surrounding the TL incident in round 4 in where they played at 48 points in there loss to Tulla. But seriously, you surely can’t compare the 2 cases. You do realise EK played well over, and in 1 case was up to 51 points. That’s huge.. Probably the most points a team has put out on the oval in the whole of this country that play under a points system. 😠