EDFL Div 1 2019

I went out to Windy Hill today to watch some footy and here is my say..
*watched the last quarter of the 19s and left at 1/2 time of the Senior game.
Hey turbo what about the scoreboard today. Very hard to see scores.
1. Windy Hill toilet facilities are an absolute disgrace..I wouldn’t encourage families with young kids to attend Windy Hill unless you use the toilets outside in the bar. I had to wash my shoes when I got home as urine all over the toilet floor about 2-3mm deep.

2. Canteen food prices are total rip off. Seriously $9 for a plain burger. Even worse is paying 3:50 for a can of Coke. FFS surely that’s a joke!!

3. League officials rarely present around the ground. EK reserves had about 6 people on the interchange bench. I’m sure your only allowed 4 plus runner. EK waterboy was close to the play roaming the boundary line and at times inside the field of play when the ball was close. He appeared to be a listed player as had footy shorts on.

4. Umpires in reserves need to review the game. One decision in particular was defining in a close game.
HS player receives a free kick inside the defensive 50. The ball took a long time to get back to the player and then an EK player stood over the ball (not the player on the mark) and the HS ruck pushed him aside to get the ball and the free was reversed. Gee whiz I couldn’t believe my eyes. That’s not a free when they are trying to hold up play and not getting the ball back.

Senior Game *but I only watched the first 1/2.

1. Difference in the 2 sides in finals might be the coaches, as one is inexperienced and the other has coached before and tactically much better. Whitnall using a lot of rotations and appears to be a good teacher who obviously has a lot of knowledge and experience. Pat appeared to be slow to react and at one stage Grabowski came to the bench to give some instructions to a player.

2. EK better players are very good and display pace with good skills. There better 3-4 players are better than Craigieburns but CB are more better across the park. EK don’t have a true ruckman but gee that King did an enormous job in the ruck and took some telling marks. Tough, fair and fearless for such a young player. Has a bright future imo as does cover the ground well for a big unit. Copped an early knock to the head but wasn’t fazed nor did he react. Lyons didn’t look fit and played predominantly forward in the 1st half. Josh Grabowski is clearly wasting his time playing div1. Absolute star of the competition. Hill struggled as he has done against better opposition. He leads well and is hard at it and a very fair player. Often seen offering a hand to opposition players who are on the ground. 👍
CB have a few stronger bodies and young was good early kicking CB first 3 goals. Boyall racked up possessions and uses the footy well. The big FF Bellino struggles and in my opinion is a liability in that side. Morrison was going ok.

On young Browning. His all class. Runs and has great skill. HOWEVER I know his a CB junior so I commend him for staying with his club but if he wants to improve his footy and put his name forward for VFL selection next season he MUST play premier league or the equivalent. Div1 footy is not doing this kids development any good at all.
Overall CB players looked very fit and a good mix/balance of players. Probably lack a ruckman which would allow Morrison to play deep forward and omit Bellino.

Under 19s:
Gee it was a close game but the skill level was very poor overall. A bit of talent on both sides but overall not a great standard of footy. But who cares 😄

EK don’t have a true ruckman but gee that King did an enormous job in the ruck and took some telling marks. Tough, fair and fearless for such a young player. Has a bright future imo as does cover the ground well for a big unit. Copped an early knock to the head but wasn’t fazed nor did he react.

Just turned 22. A great kid with a very good footy brain for someone so young. He'll tear up this grade when he's 26-27.

Great post.
What about the scoreboard

Yeah the scoreboard was difficult to read. How small were the numbers..

I would like to see the area between the ground and the grandstand roped off for the visiting side before, after and at 1/2 time. Crossing paths with spectators is not acceptable imo.

Why isn’t there security up the grandstand where you can buy alcohol..

EDFL once again standing still and are falling behind other leagues fast..They charge $15 to watch div1 finals and make enough money throughout the year to do things much better. But hey what do we expect.

I would like to see the area between the ground and the grandstand roped off for the visiting side before, after and at 1/2 time. Crossing paths with spectators is not acceptable imo.

EDFL once again standing still and are falling behind other leagues fast..They charge $15 to watch div1 finals and make enough money throughout the year to do things much better. But hey what do we expect.

I was gobsmacked when I seen spectators being charged to go upstairs to watch the game. That’s never happened before That’s a joke. Double dipping at its best...

I will commend the bloke on the gate near the social club, I mentioned to him I’d just come from Coburg after I’d paid and he gave me my money back saying since I’d paid there I didn’t have to pay again.

Very surprising....

What a great goal.
I see nothing wrong in celebrating.
Ek Still sooking from the loss.
U should video your supporters in the grand stand yesterday they did EK football club proud?

I'm not an East Keilor supporter mate, and the bloke in that clip behaved like an absolute wozzle.

Might want to give the EK supporters in the stand a bit of leeway. They played and won the thirds Grand Final the night before and were still very happy after the win. Anyone who was in the same boat would have acted the same.

You

You’re clearly never played footy if you think that is bad behaviour,

Played plenty of footy mate, at 3 x EDFL clubs, and I am proud to state that anyone who behaved like that towards a kid was automatically branded a dickhead for life. You couldn't come back from that.

Might want to give the EK supporters in the stand a bit of leeway. They played and won the thirds Grand Final the night before and were still very happy after the win. Anyone who was in the same boat would have acted the same.

Unfortunately I strongly disagree as it’s a bad look for EK as a club. Surely they have a leader on the committee who goes up and speaks to them about respecting the club you play for or go drink somewhere else. It’s been their attitude all year. Should have an EDFL. official stepped in? Ummm that’s to hard 😂😄😄

Spot on turbo

I'm not an East Keilor supporter mate, and the bloke in that clip behaved like an absolute wozzle.

Which bloke? Hope you mean the EK supporter who filmed it. Reacting like that.
I don’t much like either team/club but the player copped it and kicked a nice goal and gives it back to the moron in the crowd. That’s not unusual nor was he being rude..It’s called passion and he was obviously pumped up.

Surely your not serious and criticising the CB player..

To Swans and Burner,

I seen another side to CB yesterday in that they played hard but fair. More focussed on getting the footy first and not being over physical. That’s the way they need to play as they have a better overall side that EK when they all play a part. Going the man or even pushing and shoving does no good. The tag on Grabowski was a run with role and not physicality which was great to watch.
Even the CB crowd was unusually quite and seemed to respect the game.

I went and watched the HS v CB game in the 2nd last round and I seen the CB players helping HS players up and the odd pat on the back. Bit unusual and credit to HS for playing the ball and footy in good spirits. There has been some history between these clubs however I’m sure CB respect HS for playing the ball against a finals bound side without incident.
*well to be honest I didn’t watch a lot as I was on the cans all day. 😂

To Swans and Burner,

I seen another side to CB yesterday in that they played hard but fair. More focussed on getting the footy first and not being over physical. That’s the way they need to play as they have a better overall side that EK when they all play a part. Going the man or even pushing and shoving does no good. The tag on Grabowski was a run with role and not physicality which was great to watch.

I went and watched the HS v CB game in the 2nd last round and I seen the CB players helping HS players up and the odd pat on the back. Bit unusual and credit to HS for playing the ball and footy in good spirits. There has been some history between these clubs however I’m sure CB respect HS for playing the ball against a finals bound side without incident.

I will be going today to watch WM v Tull. Should be a cracker of a game

My tip WM in a upset. 11 pts.

To Swans and Burner,

I must agree with you turbo I’ve seen 7 games of Craigieburn this year and it looks like they have got there shit together on and off the field and if they can continue down this path they will be great for competition in premier if and when they get there.
Those new rooms and the new attitude from the whole club is great to see.

I must agree with you turbo I’ve seen 7 games of Craigieburn this year and it looks like they have got there s**t together on and off the field and if they can continue down this path they will be great for competition in premier if and when they get there.
Those new rooms and the new attitude from the whole club is great to see.

Yes totally agree as a strong and vibrant Craigieburn is good for the competition. Hopefully it flows down to the junior program as well as clubs MUST move forward and instill a good culture win, lose or draw. Can’t beat clubs with families and seeing young kids running around on a Sat afternoon. But families and kids can’t be putting up with foul mouth people.

Turbo EDFL must have been reading your post. Scoreboard a lot better today big numbers lol

Anything on today’s game anyone ? Didn’t get to watch it but was keeping up with the live scores .