EDFL Div 1 2020

I have a question around player points. All the players that EK signed haven't actually played a game yet. If we don't pay footy this year does another point come off for them? They haven't really been at the club and played a season so points really should stay the way they were this year. Interested in everyone's thoughts. It's not the clubs fault they don't play so can understand the club arguing the points should come off. Interesting to see how AFLVic handles this one

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app
I think they should get a point deduction but who knows. It’s an interesting one.

I honestly don't know. This is a season unlike any other I guess, so there may well have to be some concessions given if that is the case. It's a good topic for debate.

Also heard the AFL VIC will be closing off transfers for 2021 if we don’t play this year. So all 2020 contracts ect will be rolled over to 2021 but at a reduced rate.

I get the reduced rate, but forcing people to play somewhere they might not want to in 2021 seems wrong to me.

I think fair enough but not sure you can reduce contract payments without consultation. Maybe salary cap will reduce and the might advise clubs to reduce them but a contract is when 2 parties come to an agreement. Im not convinced clubs are losing a lot of income other than “part” of the coaches wage and if any club paid sign ons. What else are they really spending of note?? Business will resume before next season and the economy will restart.

There probably needs to be some give and take on both sides. Anyone who wants to move on should be allowed to especially if their contract is being altered.

Grossly over paid I don't think so most coaches are going 11 to 12 months and working huge hours to try and make their respective club successful if you broke their wage down to an hourly rate over the twelve months you would not get out of bed to do the job .Also take into account the toll on their home fronts with the wife and kids .Lets use a round figure of 20k and a rough estimate of hours per week they would put into coaching say 25 hours per week 52 weeks in a year lets drop 4 of for the Christmas break that brings it to 48 weeks works out to $416 per week . Then break it down into an hourly rate 168 hours per week this works out to $2.50 per hour .I have not factored into time spent on the phone to the club reps and other coaches .So if the coaches get paid I reckon its fair enough I have a couple of mates that coach at suburban level and I reckon I could be well under on the hours spent each week doing a job the love

Why would you divide it by 168 hours

I didn’t miss it PTC, but prefer if he did his research properly or maybe even send me a PM. [emoji106]
Haha happy to comment on all things football.... this one a little close to home? Your possibly not the only parent on here..... love of the jumper? Give me a spell

Donald D

If you think the economy will reset by next year you are a dreamer.
If salary cap is reduced by 50% it’s pretty simple. So will players contracts.

Players will have no say in the reduced payments. Clubs will only pay what they can. Clubs lost majority of their revenue, already missed two or three functions, no chance of holding any major functions as not time to plan. Juniors will not play at all so fees will have to be paid back to parents which is around 50-60% of a club’s revenue. Sponsors going out of business with very little chance of attracting new sponsors. Any player that thinks they are going to get anywhere near what their contract stipulates has rocks in their head. Love to see a player go up to a President or Football Manager who are trying to keep their club alive and insist on their full payments, I’m tipping they will be shown the door quick smart. Probably a mute argument anyway as it looks as if their will be no footy this season with the news saying the NRL can not start in 8 weeks time, so what chance has local footy have of starting in 8 to 12 weeks time? Contracts for this season will expire in September and can not roll over regardless of what AFL Vic say, so those players on $800 per game this year may need to start to look for another revenue stream on a Saturday if they want that type of money for their time.

I've read this a few times now, where people have been talking about when the seniors start playing again, but mention that juniors won't play this year.

I don't get that. The seniors will not play, until it's safe to play. So if it's safe to play for the seniors, why wouldn't the juniors start to play at the same time.

To me, it's all or nothing. We'll either all play, or no one will play.

How times have changed. Only a couple of months ago on this forum people were banging on about how clubs should hold players to their contracts - the lad that wanted to go back to Roxy, bonnici from Tula to hillside- blah,blah,blah,blah...Now ,the common theme is that all contracts should be null and void because clubs won’t be able to afford to pay players. Everyone just bangs on about the doom and gloom and provides no solution. I know of a couple of clubs that have already secured funding for when we return for 2021. What sort of leaders are driving your club? Are they just the complainers or are they good planners or good decision makers. I hope they are the latter otherwise there is only one outcome for those clubs!!

There probably needs to be some give and take on both sides. Anyone who wants to move on should be allowed to especially if their contract is being altered.
Exactly right, if a contract is altered then without agreement from the parties, then it’s a breach surely, and if we are talking about time or money, then it’s material. I’d suggest parties will either talk about it and come to some agreement or the contract will cease, otherwise it needs to be honoured. The alternative is to Start again. That will be the fairest way forward, not the AFL getting involved in individual contract discussion and negotiation. They may set the tone and guidelines moving forward but that’s about it, will be up clubs and players and to a lesser extent leagues regarding the money side, which will impact both the amount of contracts and level of contract dollars clubs will be able administer and contract.

Something of topic of coronavirus
Who do we think are the best players in this div
In each part of the ground etc defenders mids & forwards
I follow a club in div 2 but I’ll give it a going off what I’ve feel free to add in any as I’m sure I’ve missed a bunch
In no order
Def
A Arrowsmith EK
D Lucas Wc
J Elliot RP
J Bonnici
T Matson TM

Mids
R Castello WM
J Grabowski EK
A Liberatore TM
J Hobbs TL
V Micallef
H Short RP
D Bartrop TM
B Caluzi EK

forwards
D Hill EK
B Coletta
L Bowkett WC
M Church WM
B Allen TM
A Scott TM
O Saad WM
R Deacon TL
A Prestia TM

Exactly right, if a contract is altered then without agreement from the parties, then it’s a breach surely, and if we are talking about time or money, then it’s material. I’d suggest parties will either talk about it and come to some agreement or the contract will cease, otherwise it needs to be honoured. The alternative is to Start again. That will be the fairest way forward, not the AFL getting involved in individual contract discussion and negotiation. They may set the tone and guidelines moving forward but that’s about it, will be up clubs and players and to a lesser extent leagues regarding the money side, which will impact both the amount of contracts and level of contract dollars clubs will be able administer and contract.

AFL VIC just cut the salary cap by 50%. Guess players payments have just been halved.

It’s a recommendation at this stage but highly likely. It’s 50% of total and then the % of the reduced season for example if only 8 games out of 16 rd season are played the cap reduced by another 50%.

200k - 50% = 100k
50% of 100k = 50k for season

Season has to be played play into october/November if you have to cricket can be moved to other grounds not used

How bout Football just find grounds not used for cricket? Football not priority #1 for everyone out there.

Will be no local football unfortunately. Maybe VFL and AFL with lots of restrictions including no crowds.
which is the reason for no local footy, to hard to stop the social distancing
Unfortunately I agree there will be no local footy. Even VFL footy cannot afford for play without crowds as limited income stream without the supporters.
I think they are hoping to start in mid June but just can’t see it starting at all. The best you “might” see is each club plays 2 practice matches in late July early Aug just to generate some income and make a day of it for the local community to all gather.

No chance of cricket being moved. Need to remember they also need time to prepare wickets etc.
However most cricket doesn’t play in October as usually they are washed out but cricket won’t move..
Which local grounds are just for footy? Maybe Greenvales 3rd and 4th ovals and Highgate but Can recall many others mate.

No chance of cricket being moved. Need to remember they also need time to prepare wickets etc.
However most cricket doesn’t play in October as usually they are washed out but cricket won’t move..
Which local grounds are just for footy? Maybe Greenvales 3rd and 4th ovals and Highgate but Can recall many others mate.
Greenvale’s 3rd oval has cricket with district cricket. Every other ground has cricket on it. Unfortunately footy season is over. Chief health officer has said that big group gatherings won’t happen till 2021. So can’t see how local footy and maybe other local sports will be played in 2020.