EDFL Div 1 2020

Will be no local football unfortunately. Maybe VFL and AFL with lots of restrictions including no crowds.
which is the reason for no local footy, to hard to stop the social distancing
The spread rate of this Chinese virus is at a low in Victoria, talk about overblown and it’s not because of these “restrictions” all you have to do is go outside and see how many people are still out at a Bunnings/Kmart/Coles not even following social distancing let alone staying inside

I get your point however being a contact sport it won’t start this season. How many players spit on the ground or spit the water bottles out. Not to mention clubs will need to have the change rooms professionally cleaned before and after each team. Not sure how that can be managed. 1 person gets it then it spreads to possibly another 50. Just unfortunate mate.

I guess local footy won’t be back then until a vaccine is found.

Under those circumstances local sport won’t return until after a vaccine is discovered, that is of there ever is one discovered. However say there is, which according to reports is estimated to take somewhere around 12-18months and distributed worldwide to countries that are in a more desperate situation prioritised over ours. If that is the case we won’t play local footy until atleast 2022, if ever.

Some European countries have started to ease restrictions including Denmark and Germany and with only 128 active cases in Victoria it’s plausible that come may 11 that we shall see some movement our way in that regard.

I agree community footy is going to look very very different whenever it returns and the sooner footy clubs except it and get there heads around different revenue models the better off they will be, the days of big crowds, big beers sales and large player payments are long gone for the next few years anyway.

Under those circumstances local sport won’t return until after a vaccine is discovered, that is of there ever is one discovered. However say there is, which according to reports is estimated to take somewhere around 12-18months and distributed worldwide to countries that are in a more desperate situation prioritised over ours. If that is the case we won’t play local footy until atleast 2022, if ever.

Some European countries have started to ease restrictions including Denmark and Germany and with only 128 active cases in Victoria it’s plausible that come may 11 that we shall see some movement our way in that regard.

I agree community footy is going to look very very different whenever it returns and the sooner footy clubs except it and get there heads around different revenue models the better off they will be, the days of big crowds, big beers sales and large player payments are long gone for the next few years anyway.

And lets add if you believe the media pubs could be closed to September (hard to believe) then football social clubs will be closed which means no functions for clubs to raise much needed funds.And how about all the clubs that are sponsored by pubs,I know of 1 club that up to 90% of their income comes from 2 pubs and how about NRL clubs up north.

That’s us up here at Noosa MCG! Our major sponsor is a popular restaurant on Hastings street, the two surf clubs up here give us heaps financially,the rsl is another major sponsor and the resorts/ accomodation partners have been great support for many a year.All are closed or have just had the worst Easter holiday figures in history.Lucky building industry still going although no where near as strong since virus hit.Be some different and much harder revenue raising times ahead!

If clubs and committees thinking that wiping the season and hoping to pick up where we left off in 2021 are in for a big shock. If grassroots football can return in 2020 even if just 9 games then clubs and committees should embrace it. It will give you a head start. Executive committees need to start planning for football life without revenue from those traditional streams otherwise there club will die regardless of what year football returns. If you can only spend $20,000 then budget for $20,000. If you can spend $2,000 then budget for $2,000. It’s not going to be easy but all clubs will be in a similar boat and the ones that don’t have there heads in the sand will be the ones who prosper out of this.

We need local footy back at senior and junior level in any form ASAP. Forget economics. If players are so selfish that they wont play without the big bucks then stuff em. Let em go. Think about the juniors, kids need to play, be a tragedy if a whole season written off for self serving, small minded financial reasons.
Clubs and players have to make the sacrifices required for the good of the game and all the associated benefits.

We need local footy back at senior and junior level in any form ASAP. Forget economics. If players are so selfish that they wont play without the big bucks then stuff em. Let em go. Think about the juniors, kids need to play, be a tragedy if a whole season written off for self serving, small minded financial reasons.
Clubs and players have to make the sacrifices required for the good of the game and all the associated benefits.
We all want local footy back of course but only if it’s safe to do so. Which unfortunately i don't think will be this year. AFL will be played a long time before local football can be played, and they are hoping for July. Realistically just cant see it happening which is a real shame.

Of course safety first.
Im talking economics only

Players will never ever see the sort of money that was going around ever again. If they are playing footy as a revenue stream then they better look for something else to do on a Sat. If we only play 9 games this year then players will only get 25% per game of their agreed contract fee. The salary cap will be reduced to under $100k for next year in premier with no clearances allowed unless the two clubs agree or their is exceptional circumstances such as moving to a club over 50km away. Some players will give it away, I say so be it, they were obviously there for the money only so why would that club want them. I’m hearing some clubs won’t be able to pay the 25% of the cap this year as sponsors gone out of business. They will be telling players what they can afford to pay and if a player does not want to play for that, then the club is happy for them to sit the season out then not clear them for 2021 season. So that will be two seasons out of footy for that player.

About time the power went back to the clubs in my opinion.

Players will never ever see the sort of money that was going around ever again. If they are playing footy as a revenue stream then they better look for something else to do on a Sat. If we only play 9 games this year then players will only get 25% per game of their agreed contract fee. The salary cap will be reduced to under $100k for next year in premier with no clearances allowed unless the two clubs agree or their is exceptional circumstances such as moving to a club over 50km away. Some players will give it away, I say so be it, they were obviously there for the money only so why would that club want them. I’m hearing some clubs won’t be able to pay the 25% of the cap this year as sponsors gone out of business. They will be telling players what they can afford to pay and if a player does not want to play for that, then the club is happy for them to sit the season out then not clear them for 2021 season. So that will be two seasons out of footy for that player.

About time the power went back to the clubs in my opinion.

There is no way they will say no clearances. That’s not practical at all..
I’m sure players will most likely stay on at clubs for next season unless they are older types wishing to drop down a level.
I can see a lot of players leaving and working Saturdays. Clubs will now need to be flexible with training and will still need to cover for injuries etc. I can see a few players working, traveling etc and just having the year off. On the flip side I can also see a few clubs paying over the cap which is another issue.
Clubs with strong home grown numbers, locals and strong 18s will be better off than clubs who have recruited for 2020 on the back off paying players big money as those players won’t play now most likely..

I’m sure players will most likely stay on at clubs for next season unless they are older types wishing to drop down a level.
I can see a lot of players leaving and working Saturdays. Clubs will now need to be flexible with training and will still need to cover for injuries etc. I can see a few players working, traveling etc and just having the year off. On the flip side I can also see a few clubs paying over the cap which is another issue.
Clubs with strong home grown numbers, locals and strong 18s will be better off than clubs who have recruited for 2020 on the back off paying players big money as those players won’t play now most likely..
I agree with the clearance part, league or clubs can’t stop clearances if player has no contract.

It's going to be a very challenging time. Most clubs are going to struggle big time and will be hoping like hell the players hang around now they are unable to pay them what they could in previous years. Unfortunately your right Turbo, some clubs that still have access to funds will take full advantage of the situation. Cheat the cap, offer players more than they can get at other clubs and we will see the gaps between divisions and even within divisions get bigger and bigger.

Hey my old mate Bissa. Hope your doing well during these times mate. Has isolation affected you to be agreeing with me. 😄
But yes some clubs will definitely rebound quicker than some others and it will give them a huge advantage with regards to budgets..The bigger clubs will have a huge advantage. Some examples below:
Club A - Can a prominent coach (ex AFL legend) maybe gather up his contacts and get things moving..
Club B - Pretty sure there they have a sponsor who is a big builder and that business will still be going?

Subject 2/
With the VFL in trouble what will happen with these players if clubs go under. Is Coburg done? As I said years ago that by West Coburg moving games there it’s a great thing if they can sneak in there and have that as there main ground and use Shore reserve for auskick, 10s and 12s only. That will strengthen them and full credit to those who have changed the culture from juniors to seniors there. Big attraction for players to play on a good ground with good facilities. I think they should now look to change the jumper to involve both clubs history. Could they design a more modern look jumper as a marketing tool???

Hey my old mate Bissa. Hope your doing well during these times mate. Has isolation affected you to be agreeing with me. 😄
But yes some clubs will definitely rebound quicker than some others and it will give them a huge advantage with regards to budgets..The bigger clubs will have a huge advantage. Some examples below:
Club A - Can a prominent coach (ex AFL legend) maybe gather up his contacts and get things moving..
Club B - Pretty sure there they have a sponsor who is a big builder and that business will still be going?

Subject 2/
With the VFL in trouble what will happen with these players if clubs go under. Is Coburg done? As I said years ago that by West Coburg moving games there it’s a great thing if they can sneak in there and have that as there main ground and use Shore reserve for auskick, 10s and 12s only. That will strengthen them and full credit to those who have changed the culture from juniors to seniors there. Big attraction for players to play on a good ground with good facilities. I think they should now look to change the jumper to involve both clubs history. Could they design a more modern look jumper as a marketing tool???
Coburg will be fine. Have manage to last 5-6 years in the VFL and should be ok now. Have minimal overheads and did get good compensation from the AFL for the late pick up of Callum Moore. They have increased there membership and sponsorship over the last 2 years. I think you’ll find West Coburg are probably in more trouble then Coburg.

I think the good old brown paper bag will be more prevalent than ever for clubs who are cashed up or have members with disposable cash..... nothing will change the cheats will remain strong and the poor smaller clubs will vanish from existance....

Donald D

I have heard that a nine round season is being orchestrated and local footy could be back within approx. a month ,so long as we don't get a second wave /outbreak in that time. Lets all hope that is the case :thumbsu:

I have heard that a nine round season is being orchestrated and local footy will be back within approx. a month ,so long as we don't get a second wave /outbreak in that time. Lets all hope that is the case :thumbsu:
So they will lift the social distancing from 2 people outside to 500 in a month? Not gona happen. Season will be called off, along with the VFL.

You are probably right but that is the EDFL contingency plan I believe and a lot can change in a month. Progress has been so much better than everybody thought and it cant hurt to be optimistic. We could all do with a bit of good news / hope.

Even with 500 rule will still struggle to play games. How will the league and clubs make sure that they follow this rule.
3 games every Saturday requires 180 players and officials at the ground. So that means roughly 300 supporters family and volunteers will be allowed not sure clubs would be able to cap this so unless all restrictions on gatherings Are lifted then local football won’t go ahead in 2020

I have heard that a nine round season is being orchestrated and local footy could be back within approx. a month ,so long as we don't get a second wave /outbreak in that time. Lets all hope that is the case :thumbsu:
Heard on the radio this morning that community football will NOT resume this season unless a vaccination can be found. VFL not going ahead I believe and an announcement to be made in the coming days. As mentioned on the news AFL a slim chance but with players staying in motels and being played on certain grounds with no crowd. Oh well I guess what can you do..

You won’t get a vaccination for months maybe years people simply can not be lockdown till September onwards this government scare mongering needs to stop

Yeah that’s the point I guess. The AFL have strict rules if they go ahead and that can’t be done at community level so it won’t get going this season is what has been reported. Yes the laws will be relaxed at some stage but it won’t be to allow community footy to restart this season.