EDFL Div 1 2020

The virus will be here in October when cricket starts and it will still be here this time next year no “cure” last I saw 2-3 people actually in hospital the rest at home with a cough? Get on with life..start the seasons (football/soccer ect)
I’ll give until midnight by which time you can expect a Cheap Seat reply of 5 pages of things he has repeated on a daily basis for past 4 weeks.

Nothing I can say to that mate there will always be people like you, antivaxxers, climate deniers, conspiracy theorists etc..

We are just lucky we have fewer loose marbles here in Australia than somewhere like America and end up in the mess their in because they have heaps more people like you who ignore science and selfishly ignore the seriousness of what’s happening.

Australians aren’t different human beings to people in America, Brazil, India, Spain, UK etc it’s how we dealt with it and it’s that approach your wanting to ignore.

Sorry pal your just on the wrong side of this debate for any right minded person.👍🙏

Nothing I can say to that mate there will always be people like you, antivaxxers, climate deniers, conspiracy theorists etc..

We are just lucky we have fewer loose marbles here in Australia than somewhere like America and end up in the mess their in because they have heaps more people like you who ignore science and selfishly ignore the seriousness of what’s happening.

Australians aren’t different human beings to people in America, Brazil, India, Spain, UK etc it’s how we dealt with it and it’s that approach your wanting to ignore.

Sorry pal your just on the wrong side of this debate for any right minded person.👍🙏
A few loose marbles are the ones canceling sporting seasons and buying bulk packs of toilet paper and whipes.. the normal ones are going on with life

You keep telling yourself that mate and the 31 local football leagues in Victoria and the 600 or so clubs they represent who pulled the pin will leave you to your game of marbles.

They are all wrong and your right 👌🏿

Hmmm interesting that I have not posted my opinion before.

Can someone explain how and why the EDFL will explore playing an alternative senior competition when they said their will be no senior competition.
How irresponsible to ask kids to play with this virus when you won’t let senior men play. Most of this boards time is up.

Can someone explain how and why the EDFL will explore playing an alternative senior competition when they said their will be no senior competition.
How irresponsible to ask kids to play with this virus when you won’t let senior men play. Most of this boards time is up.
Next on the agenda is to call for an EGM and bring along the Sports Law specialist and sports association constitution expert to spill the board, ask for the EDFL CEO’s resignation and investigate what the decision making frameworks were to hear and action the majority members interests and what was happening to impede that process?

Then get a board and executive that represents all clubs interests evenly.

It's been one of the most disappointing things I have seen in 30 years of local footy involvement and has shined a light on how everyone runs for cover and looks to cover their own interests not whats best for the majority.

The type of leadership we deserved from the EDFL was what the EFL clubs got from their league, it should be something we all ask ourselves, why didn't we get that leadership? Why wouldn't they listen to the majority interests, why were they willing to expose their local footy clubs, players and stakeholders to so much health and financial risk just to collect fees when they were the only entity with circa $800K in the bank and could carry it.?

EFNL CEO Troy Swainston said: “The EFNL (Eastern Football Netball League) has maintained a view throughout this process that we do not want one club to come back next year worse off than they are now.”

I’m guessing they got till end of October to organise a lighting premiership. Where clubs will have an option to play a few games toward the later part of the season. Maybe September and october. You got a 6-7 week window where clubs that want to play can play some games

Why? All that does is push back next season and compromise that??? This is more ridiculous than the length of time it took to make this decision in the first place.

2020 is done.... move on and don't try to raise more $$$$$ when you have 800 thousand of them in the bank and your member clubs you represent have bugger all
I’m guessing they got till end of October to organise a lighting premiership. Where clubs will have an option to play a few games toward the later part of the season. Maybe September and october. You got a 6-7 week window where clubs that want to play can play some games

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Next on the agenda is to call for an EGM and bring along the Sports Law specialist and sports association constitution expert to spill the board, ask for the EDFL CEO’s resignation and investigate what the decision making frameworks were to hear and action the majority members interests and what was happening to impede that process?

Then get a board and executive that represents all clubs interests evenly.

It's been one of the most disappointing things I have seen in 30 years of local footy involvement and has shined a light on how everyone runs for cover and looks to cover their own interests not whats best for the majority.

The type of leadership we deserved from the EDFL was what the EFL clubs got from their league, it should be something we all ask ourselves, why didn't we get that leadership? Why wouldn't they listen to the majority interests, why were they willing to expose their local footy clubs, players and stakeholders to so much health and financial risk just to collect fees when they were the only entity with circa $800K in the bank and could carry it.?

EFNL CEO Troy Swainston said: “The EFNL (Eastern Football Netball League) has maintained a view throughout this process that we do not want one club to come back next year worse off than they are now.”
I’m guessing that’s just your opinion that they haven’t showed leadership. I’ve been saying the season should be cancelled but that doesn’t mean I’m correct. If you look at the statistics 3 weeks ago we were heading in the right direction. So the league had every right to keep the option open to play. Then it would’ve be up to individual clubs to make their own decision as to whether they could’ve played this season. Just because you and your club that your involve in isn’t happy doesn’t mean that the board lacks leadership.
If you look at that board everyone except for the chairman have been elected in the last 2 years. So clubs have hand picked them. So don’t complain now.

I’m guessing that’s just your opinion that they haven’t showed leadership. I’ve been saying the season should be cancelled but that doesn’t mean I’m correct. If you look at the statistics 3 weeks ago we were heading in the right direction. So the league had every right to keep the option open to play. Then it would’ve be up to individual clubs to make their own decision as to whether they could’ve played this season. Just because you and your club that your involve in isn’t happy doesn’t mean that the board lacks leadership.
If you look at that board everyone except for the chairman have been elected in the last 2 years. So clubs have hand picked them. So don’t complain now.
Worth a look under the hood 😉

Let’s say things are fluid and recent events have shone a light on a few things.

Fair comment Whisp. However going by the statement released the senior season is not over. Then again the statement released is the most wishy washy say plenty say nothing.

Surely if senior footy is done and dusted, we aren’t going to risk our children’s health by playing junior football? Surely!
Makes no sense at all... kids contract the virus, just as adults do, they still come into contact with the same amount of people on match day and throughout the week.
If senior football was ‘canned’ for these reasons above, junior football cannot proceed FULLSTOP!

I wonder if other league coaches will reach out to Airport West players like their pos coach has done to players from other leagues ,probably not considering most have a conscience and wouldn’t stoop so low. All seems like a waste of time in hindsight housey, but at least he’s a try hard.
Which clubs are you referring to as I believe your from the Riddel league. The Riddel league is still to decide if a season goes ahead.

RDFL club, but never mind that league won’t play either I’d imagine. This whole thing has been poorly managed by AFL Vic, leagues and some clubs.

Roll on 2021

OK season over.....
Now planning must start for 2021 and the first thing EDFL has to do is make sure any player signed prior to pandemic closing Leagues is guaranteed to go down one point next season!
It is common sense and no fault of player or club that they did not play this year.

OK season over.....
Now planning must start for 2021 and the first thing EDFL has to do is make sure any player signed prior to pandemic closing Leagues is guaranteed to go down one point next season!
It is common sense and no fault of player or club that they did not play this year.
I would think the first thing that needs to happen is the drop kicks at afl vic need to get their shite together announce a fixed salary cap for all suburban and country leagues so clubs can plan to a buget

OK season over.....
Nope. Players haven’t played footy so no point deduction. Simple. How do you prove they were signed prior to the pandemic. Contract can be back dated and some clubs don’t submit all clearances till a week before season starts. So not all recruits would’ve put in clearance by the time the pandemic hit.

Clearance would have to have been applied for prior to scheduled rd.1 of season. Simple.
If clubs had recruited pre season they would of had to have lodged by then.
It was not till mid March that we knew season was not going to be starting.
90% of clearances would be lodged by then.

Clearance would have to have been applied for prior to scheduled rd.1 of season. Simple.
If clubs had recruited pre season they would of had to have lodged by then.
It was not till mid March that we knew season was not going to be starting.
90% of clearances would be lodged by then.
So what about the 10%. Mid March is still 2 weeks before round 1 so plenty of time to lodge a clearance. It wasn’t like it was The season was suspended the night before round 1. Clubs tend to cheat so I don’t trust committees to be honest. So it’s simple if they haven’t played the required number of games then no reduction. That’s the fairest thing for all clubs.

100%. It’s like 2020 never happened. So anyone who was recruited for 2020 is now a new player for 2021
If clubs recruit with an open chq book and don’t manage their player points that’s their issue. The rules don’t get changed to make it easier for them