EDFL Div 1 2020

Even EK coach has had enough. “I’m over it and sick of false hope” This was his comments this morning on social media. It’s taking its toll.

See St Kilda City reporting they have signed Dane Swan, McCaffer, Aaron Edwards and another player. Gee whiz!! Things change quickly with players.

Fair point this process would be exhausting for coaches, players and clubs.

What’s your gut feeling? You think it will
Get over turned ?

Not a chance... I t is all over for 2020, shame but there was no option with this FU--ING second wave in N.W.
At least we still have AFL (for now! )

And BTW Bulldog Nicholl (EK Pres.) has done the right thing with his statement...Cant have Seniors cancelled and Kids playing...Ludicrous.
No need for consultation. Good strong leadership.

Uptherox
Hearing Tulla signed two from your mob if the season got underway any truth?
Doesn’t matter anyway now i guess

Even EK coach has had enough. “I’m over it and sick of false hope” This was his comments this morning on social media. It’s taking its toll.

See St Kilda City reporting they have signed Dane Swan, McCaffer, Aaron Edwards and another player. Gee whiz!! Things change quickly with players.
It is taking it's toll on me too.... everybody has had enough but we have a way to go yet!

Roxy have pulled juniors as well
EK Pres has done the right thing, it’s hypocritical cancelling seniors and not juniors considering how many adult volunteers and parents are involved in juniors.

Just as Craigieburn did pulled the pin on the lot, if you’re claiming your pulling the pin for health reasons not money reasons then juniors and seniors should be cancelled.

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Not a chance... I t is all over for 2020, shame but there was no option with this FU--ING second wave in N.W.
At least we still have AFL (for now! )

And BTW Bulldog Nicholl (EK Pres.) has done the right thing with his statement...Cant have Seniors cancelled and Kids playing...Ludicrous.
No need for consultation. Good strong leadership.
Seniors v Juniors is any interesting topic and many views are held. I understand all the safety stuff and if it’s cancelled in line with seniors so be it.
However the big difference is kids don’t need change rooms, less coaches, probably could get away with no runners etc, and the big thing for me is the crowds are way smaller so less chance of any social distancing issues. Plus they can play less rounds to just get them involved as they want kids out excercising as that’s a huge part of society with kids overweight.

Get over turned ?

No chance mate. Season done. It’s now almost July and if we don’t push cricket back (which affects next season) that’s only 12 weeks which is really 9-10 weeks in total which to me is not enough time. I agree coaches have done plenty of work and a decision should be as is to avoid more unnecessary work. Sorry mate just my opinion..

Can assure everyone that the EK junior issue to play or not to play was not solely the Presidents decision . Started with an email sent by the Sec. to all committee last Friday followed by phone calls between committee members over weekend seeking each individuals opinion. Overwhelming response was weighing up Risk V Reward and we didn’t see a lot of reward coming out of this, with the risk seemingly increasing by the day.

I guess I lot of us are thinking why does EK have 2 stances on the risk v reward as you put it. They were all for senior footy however a week later saying the opposite and pulling out the juniors. I’m confused as it’s not a consistent message your sending your members.

Definitely wanted to play but the interest we gauged from other Div 1 clubs about playing in the last couple of weeks wasn’t that positive. Once the league cancelled and now we have the COVID spike, it’s either all in or all out in relation to the juniors and seniors.

Sorry Turbo but there will be a lot of parents at junior games. 2 coaches minimum, 2 boundary umps, 2 goal umps, 2 umpires escorts, 2 runners, 2 covid-19 officers (minimum), 2 umpires ( 1 may be junior) 2 time keepers, 2 match day officials..... plus kids can't drive themselves to footy... good luck being the covid officer telling parents they can't talk. At least seniors players can drive themselves to games.
Seniors v Juniors is any interesting topic and many views are held. I understand all the safety stuff and if it’s cancelled in line with seniors so be it.
However the big difference is kids don’t need change rooms, less coaches, probably could get away with no runners etc, and the big thing for me is the crowds are way smaller so less chance of any social distancing issues. Plus they can play less rounds to just get them involved as they want kids out excercising as that’s a huge part of society with kids overweight.

Sorry Turbo but there will be a lot of parents at junior games. 2 coaches minimum, 2 boundary umps, 2 goal umps, 2 umpires escorts, 2 runners, 2 covid-19 officers (minimum), 2 umpires ( 1 may be junior) 2 time keepers, 2 match day officials..... plus kids can't drive themselves to footy... good luck being the covid officer telling parents they can't talk. At least seniors players can drive themselves to games.

Yeah understand your point just putting another opinion out there but I’m either in or out but thinking juniors could even start in August if everything calms down and play a 6 game plus 2 finals.

I would elimate assistant coaches. time keepers could be a problem as they sit close.. I would say no runners but you really do need them. But it’s an interesting one and already parents pulling kids out so it’s a challenging one. However maybe they can hold off on a decision till as late as 3rd week July. Unfortunately senior footy can’t.

My concern is some kid saying to another kid I’m going to spit on you and all hell with break loose. Yes you might all laugh but seen it happen. Some parents not much better to tell you the truth. But hey let’s not go there..

Most likely you will have about 110 (50 are players and umpires) people at the game which is more easy to control then say 300-400 people (drinking alcohol) at a senior game. Each team will have 1-2 COVID 19 officers in each team, 1 to look after the team the other to look after the parents. The 3 officer can be in control of the toilet facilities in wiping down toilets after each use. If the parents don’t listen to the COVID 19 officer then their little Johnny doesn’t play footy.
Most will listen if the threat of there son/daughter missing footy because off their actions.
All you need game day is
Coach
Assistant Coach.
Runner
First Aid
Boundary
Goal
Time keeper
COVID 19 officers x 3
Team manager
That’s 11 parents that won’t be standing around talking(involved in the game). So that means somewhere between 10-16 parents watching the game from each side. Much more manageable.
you then make sure there is a 30-40 minute gap between each game so there is no parent cross over, allowing the risk of cross contamination to minimise. Keep the clubrooms/canteen closed to parents. Kids to come dressed to play that means change rooms aren’t needed also. Only allow them in to use the toilet facilities. That way the club only needs to wipe down the toilets after each use. To get enough COVID 19 officers then clubs should make a rule that the parent that attend their child’s match must do the government course ‘infectious control training - covid 19’. It takes 15 minutes to complete so not that time consuming. That way those jobs can be rotated every week.

Most likely you will have about 110 (50 are players and umpires) people at the game which is more easy to control then say 300-400 people (drinking alcohol) at a senior game. Each team will have 1-2 COVID 19 officers in each team, 1 to look after the team the other to look after the parents. The 3 officer can be in control of the toilet facilities in wiping down toilets after each use. If the parents don’t listen to the COVID 19 officer then their little Johnny doesn’t play footy.
Most will listen if the threat of there son/daughter missing footy because off their actions.
All you need game day is
Coach
Assistant Coach.
Runner
First Aid
Boundary
Goal
Time keeper
COVID 19 officers x 3
Team manager
That’s 11 parents that won’t be standing around talking(involved in the game). So that means somewhere between 10-16 parents watching the game from each side. Much more manageable.
you then make sure there is a 30-40 minute gap between each game so there is no parent cross over, allowing the risk of cross contamination to minimise. Keep the clubrooms/canteen closed to parents. Kids to come dressed to play that means change rooms aren’t needed also. Only allow them in to use the toilet facilities. That way the club only needs to wipe down the toilets after each use. To get enough COVID 19 officers then clubs should make a rule that the parent that attend their child’s match must do the government course ‘infectious control training - covid 19’. It takes 15 minutes to complete so not that time consuming. That way those jobs can be rotated every week.
Or you can guarantee your child and family doesn’t become infected from the football club by missing a few weeks of football and letting the clubs get organised for next year just in case it’s still around.
You tell me what’s easier and guarantees a safer environment

What happens if little Johnny breaks a leg, is knocked out or concussed etc. and there are no change rooms open? Does he just sit there in the pissing rain waiting for an Ambo? Can't put him on the interchange bench because they will be roped off and closed last I read.
All you need game day is
Coach
Assistant Coach.
Runner
First Aid
Boundary
Goal
Time keeper
COVID 19 officers x 3
Team manager

What happens if little Johnny breaks a leg, is knocked out or concussed etc. and there are no change rooms open? Does he just sit there in the pissing rain waiting for an Ambo? Can't put him on the interchange bench because they will be roped off and closed last I read.

Now your just making stupid comments to try win an argument. There are exception to everything. I’m sure common sense would allow the rooms to be open. Maybe that’s why Roxy had to cancel there season. They don’t have much common sense around that area.

For starters if he breaks a leg or is knocked out I highly doubt a junior club has a trainer qualified enough to move him safely.
If the injury is less serious you get someone with a key to open the rooms, or you remove the rope from the bench?

Now your just making stupid comments to try win an argument. There are exception to everything. I’m sure common sense would allow the rooms to be open. Maybe that’s why Roxy had to cancel there season. They don’t have much common sense around that area.

* you're *exceptions *their.........looks like no intelligence in your area

All you need game day is
Coach
Assistant Coach.
Runner
First Aid
Boundary
Goal
Time keeper
COVID 19 officers x 3
Team manager
I think you/we all of us are possibly thinking about this the wrong way.

As a local footy forum, debating about the science behind kids transmission rates or the aggregate effect of kids interacting at school or a local footy club on the community transmission rates in Victoria compared to adult sport isn't the debate that really matters.

In practice at a league and local football club administration level, the focus should be on what does trying to put on or execute a shortened junior local AFL footy season look like in this overall environment.

For example how likely will it be that clubs will get shut down for cleaning and or isolation of groups of players etc.. and in practice how likely will it be that a tight 9 week season with no buffers will be interrupted often enough to render a competiton meaningless?

If on balance if we thought if it happens 3 times in the next 9 weeks where a team in a competition had to pull out of a round of footy that it would render that competition meaningless then that information might be meaningful in informing whether junior football competitions should run.

Take the Abers Under 14 kid who tested positive yesterday or the rumoured St Bernards kid or Strathmore Kid, if we were playing games this week would the Abers Under 14 team be able to play this week, if the kid played the weekend before does the opposition team they played need to be shut down pending testing because keep in mind there is no recorded footage for clubs to pass onto the DHS to rule out or isolate known contacts so they have to assume all possibly had close contact.

Let's look at the current schools and childcare centre shutdowns as at today, if Horse and Hooksy are right that the statistics will play out similar in junior footy clubs as schools then we can assume that similar numbers of junior football clubs in the EDFL catchment will be shut down at any given time over the next 9 weeks. So based on the below maybe 9 junior local footy clubs will be shut down on a rolling basis which means there will be approx. 9 teams not fielding teams each week across the Junior EDFL competitions?

Just a thought starter.

1 Footscray High School (Kinnear Campus) Kinnear St, Footscray
2 Port Phillip Specialist School Nott St, Port Melbourne
3 Queen of Peace Primary School Everingham Rd, Altona Meadows
4 Maribyrnong College River St, Maribyrnong
5 Al-Taqwa College Sayers Rd, Truganina
6 Aitken Hill Primary School Rhyolite Dr, Craigieburn
7 Ascot Vale Primary School Bank St, Ascot Vale
8 Essendon-Keilor College (Essendon Campus) Buckley St, Essendon
9 St Bernard's College Rosehill Road, Essendon
10 Moreland Primary School Moreland Rd, Coburg

11 Camberwell Grammar Mont Albert Rd, Canterbury
12 Hume Central Secondary College Blair St, Broadmeadows
13 Parkwood Green Primary School Community Hub, Hillside

1 Guardian Childcare and Education Flockhart St, Abbotsford
2 Guardian Childcare and Education Cumberland Rd, Pascoe Vale
3 Gowrie Clare Court Early Learning Centre Court St, Yarraville

I think you/we all of us are possibly thinking about this the wrong way.

As a local footy forum, debating about the science behind kids transmission rates or the aggregate effect of kids interacting at school or a local footy club on the community transmission rates in Victoria compared to adult sport isn't the debate that really matters.

In practice at a league and local football club administration level, the focus should be on what does trying to put on or execute a shortened junior local AFL footy season look like in this overall environment.

For example how likely will it be that clubs will get shut down for cleaning and or isolation of groups of players etc.. and in practice how likely will it be that a tight 9 week season with no buffers will be interrupted often enough to render a competiton meaningless?

If on balance if we thought if it happens 3 times in the next 9 weeks where a team in a competition had to pull out of a round of footy that it would render that competition meaningless then that information might be meaningful in informing whether junior football competitions should run.

Take the Abers Under 14 kid who tested positive yesterday or the rumoured St Bernards kid or Strathmore Kid, if we were playing games this week would the Abers Under 14 team be able to play this week, if the kid played the weekend before does the opposition team they played need to be shut down pending testing because keep in mind there is no recorded footage for clubs to pass onto the DHS to rule out or isolate known contacts so they have to assume all possibly had close contact.

Let's look at the current schools and childcare centre shutdowns as at today, if Horse and Hooksy are right that the statistics will play out similar in junior footy clubs as schools then we can assume that similar numbers of junior football clubs in the EDFL catchment will be shut down at any given time over the next 9 weeks. So based on the below maybe 9 junior local footy clubs will be shut down on a rolling basis which means there will be approx. 9 teams not fielding teams each week across the Junior EDFL competitions?

Just a thought starter.

1 Footscray High School (Kinnear Campus) Kinnear St, Footscray
2 Port Phillip Specialist School Nott St, Port Melbourne
3 Queen of Peace Primary School Everingham Rd, Altona Meadows
4 Maribyrnong College River St, Maribyrnong
5 Al-Taqwa College Sayers Rd, Truganina
6 Aitken Hill Primary School Rhyolite Dr, Craigieburn
7 Ascot Vale Primary School Bank St, Ascot Vale
8 Essendon-Keilor College (Essendon Campus) Buckley St, Essendon
9 St Bernard's College Rosehill Road, Essendon
10 Moreland Primary School Moreland Rd, Coburg

11 Camberwell Grammar Mont Albert Rd, Canterbury
12 Hume Central Secondary College Blair St, Broadmeadows
13 Parkwood Green Primary School Community Hub, Hillside

1 Guardian Childcare and Education Flockhart St, Abbotsford
2 Guardian Childcare and Education Cumberland Rd, Pascoe Vale
3 Gowrie Clare Court Early Learning Centre Court St, Yarraville
Why does it have to be a season. Why can’t kids just play footy games. I mean if kids get to play 3,4,5 games isn’t that better then none. I never said it has to be a season. I think that clubs should be able to play junior football matches. If for some reason the team can’t play that we or for 2 weeks then so be it.
I agree a season with a premiership awarded should be shelved. But why can’t kids just play footy games every Saturday/Sunday till September.

Why does it have to be a season. Why can’t kids just play footy games. I mean if kids get to play 3,4,5 games isn’t that better then none. I never said it has to be a season. I think that clubs should be able to play junior football matches. If for some reason the team can’t play that we or for 2 weeks then so be it.
I agree a season with a premiership awarded should be shelved. But why can’t kids just play footy games every Saturday/Sunday till September.

I totally agree with this.

Unfortunately, a lot of junior parents think it’s all about little Johnny winning a premiership or winning a bnf rather then letting them learn and enjoy playing footy with there mates, so a season with playing for no points would be seen to be a waste of time for them and they will probably pull there kid out.