EDFL Div 1 2020

If this is true, then those 5 people representing their clubs should be sacked and never involved in football again. What a bunch of sooks !! Why don’t they put their energy into how to improve and beat the opposition. It would be interesting to see what the agenda and what actual evidence is presented. It would be interesting to see if any players from those clubs have been consulted about forfeiting and conceding defeat even before a challenge. I can just hear the sledging... in advance - Surely this is just rubbish !!
sacked? they should be lauded for daring to challenge what is happening. these people put that much energy into keeping footy clubs afloat and vibrant it is heartbreaking when the playing field cannot possibly be even and its supposed to be.Thats why there are points and caps. without these people prepared to talk about making a stand the competition would be full of yes men without passion and drive. who needs evidence when these people who you say should be sacked, try and recruit from the same player pool and they know where the supply and demand chart for players and payments stand.They understand where payments sit and also know if the cap is not just being exceeded a bit or simply being abused. We all enjoy going to watch our teams play and there is comaraderie between clubs who appreciate the challenge and competition. Thats why they will discuss forfeiting games because the competition cant be compromised .

I don’t know who bashed is but I have a lot friends from Ek and as a neutral supporter. The last game they played was a grand final loss after massive recruiting campaign. They have gone with a new batch of recruits as half of that side that played that day have gone! And on paper, this side may still not get it done on grand final day because they lack speed. But, to talk about forfeiting is just ridiculous!! You can call it whatever you like but at the end of the day- it is Sooking cause you don’t want to play against what you perceive as an unbeatable cheating team !!
2 questions
Is cheating by paying way over the salary cap just as ridiculous as forfeiting?
Cheating by paying way over the salary cap - how can this ever be justified?

2 questions
Is cheating by paying way over the salary cap just as ridiculous as forfeiting?
Cheating by paying way over the salary cap - how can this ever be justified?
A) Yes if proven. No if can't provide evidence to back up the claim.
B) It isn't. So far no evidence has been provided only hear-say.

Exactly my point - To say that we are going to forfeit games because we KNOW a club is cheating but cannot prove it is just ridiculous. And Yes - if found Guilty that they have been cheating, then come down hard on the club with big fines and maybe No recruits allowed for 2 years and loss of points- But until then worry about your own club being competitive and let the so called EDFL admin sort it out. To say that you are not going play can only be classified as " Sooking". Anyway, i think i have said enough on this-Move on...
Doing nothing didn't work for the WRFL , wrecked the league

To me the league with the backing of AFL Vic should come out and say this with regards to anyone found breaching the cap.
-Any player found to have taken payments for footy outside there contract will be suspended for 2 years and return as a 5 point player.
-Coach will be suspended for 2 years
-Club points for next 2 years will be reduced by x amount.

I think this way might be a big deterrent for players as they will be suspended and ultimately shamed to some degree by the media. Missing 2 years is a huge penalty. Yes if your in your low-mid 30s it probably won’t deter you as much but for those younger type players it’s a huge risk.

Just my opinion.

But agree how do you police it. You really can’t, and do we blame players for taking “extra” money If it’s offered? Most of us probably would do the same in all honestly.

Let’s be honest again and say clubs do pay some players outside the cap in some way. But usually it’s a select few and at times maybe just over the cap. If rumours are true (and I believe they probably are) a certain club is going way over the cap. I’m not a supporter as such but if someone was to come into your club with some $$ most would welcome them as long as it didn’t mean controlling some things. The GA years were good to Marby. Things were buzzing. He was previously at Greenvale. But GA played his part in the background although he did coach reserves at one point if I’m correct. Plus it was pre salary caps and premier league footy. It probably made other clubs stronger as well as they all tried to beat them. This situation is different as there is a lot of social media attraction and a bit in your face “up yours” look to the outside world. And it’s B grade.

Anyway just my thoughts!! As not much else to report on.. 😄😄

Enjoy the sun boys..

It doesn't have to be proven to be well known around the traps. Players have left clubs on good coin and joined EK even if we assume on same coin!
Problem is cap is now half of what is was when all clubs last played.
Unless of course EK can prove well paid players left their club and joined EK on less than 1/4 of what they were previously paid?
You will have to convince the football world that this is true! Good luck with that.

EK are paying well above the new cap. FULL STOP!

To me the league with the backing of AFL Vic should come out and say this with regards to anyone found breaching the cap.
-Any player found to have taken payments for footy outside there contract will be suspended for 2 years and return as a 5 point player.
-Coach will be suspended for 2 years
-Club points for next 2 years will be reduced by x amount.

I think this way might be a big deterrent for players as they will be suspended and ultimately shamed to some degree by the media. Missing 2 years is a huge penalty. Yes if your in your low-mid 30s it probably won’t deter you as much but for those younger type players it’s a huge risk.

Just my opinion.

But agree how do you police it. You really can’t, and do we blame players for taking “extra” money If it’s offered? Most of us probably would do the same in all honestly.

Let’s be honest again and say clubs do pay some players outside the cap in some way. But usually it’s a select few and at times maybe just over the cap. If rumours are true (and I believe they probably are) a certain club is going way over the cap. I’m not a supporter as such but if someone was to come into your club with some $$ most would welcome them as long as it didn’t mean controlling some things. The GA years were good to Marby. Things were buzzing. He was previously at Greenvale. But GA played his part in the background although he did coach reserves at one point if I’m correct. Plus it was pre salary caps and premier league footy. It probably made other clubs stronger as well as they all tried to beat them. This situation is different as there is a lot of social media attraction and a bit in your face “up yours” look to the outside world. And it’s B grade.

Anyway just my thoughts!! As not much else to report on.. 😄😄

Enjoy the sun boys..
GA coached a B grade flag at Marby then led them for one year in A Grade before stepping aside. He then moved on to the President role at Marby which he completed for a couple of years before moving into the background for a few years. He then moved on to Deer Park

Yeah but it would damage the EDFL brand and create a lot of issues for Kyte and his team.
Players wouldn’t get paid, no income coming in, etc etc. It sounds crazy but I guess it’s a way of making a point via protesting.
Especially if the boycotting team still paid their players for that game, or put that money towards an end of year function.

GA coached a B grade flag at Marby then led them for one year in A Grade before stepping aside. He then moved on to the President role at Marby which he completed for a couple of years before moving into the background for a few years. He then moved on to Deer Park
GA was an EDFL Board Member between MP and DP

Seems like this guy has a massive WAD of cash to splash why doesn’t he start his own super league and get the best sides around maybe he can appoint some administrators with Balls to enforce proper rules

might solve it all when everyone leaves these leagues with relaxed rules

Seems like this guy has a massive WAD of cash to splash why doesn’t he start his own super league and get the best sides around maybe he can appoint some administrators with Balls to enforce proper rules

But it’s not GA bankrolling things in this conversation thread regarding div1 club.

Curious to know, what would it take to actually get this started? Which clubs do you think would partake? I’ve always wondered if this was a possibility to take on the VFL/ TACCUP system and become a feeder for recruiters. Privately owned franchises and not run by AFLVIC. Could it work?

Great idea but it would never get off the ground as AFLVIC would not affiliate them with no say in how its run. With no affliation the players have no where to go this is how AFL VIC threaten any league that wants to go it alone no affiliation no pathway for your players senior or junior . Beside the knob jockeys at the AFL would have fit could you imagine an unregulated league run by rich business men with huge egos and no salary caps or points system .

😂 knob jockeys!
I reckon it could work. If you began it from the ground up, ie junior to senior groups all playing against each other.
The current system is broken. Full stop.
Why? Because you play for a junior team, you then play rep footy and then if good enough or fit a mold, you play TACCUP. From there, of the 600 on a list, 50 get drafted each year and then how many play? Bugger all!!!! What do the rest do?
Stuff all chase that dream to play AFL so stick on to play VFL and those that don’t, shop themselves around to clubs and on the rare occasion go back and play at their junior club.
What if we were to turn this on its head.
You recruit from the bottom up
A rebel league
Where you stay with a club, until you make it to the heighest level.
The AFL will have to buy into it!
Thoughts?

😂 knob jockeys!
I reckon it could work. If you began it from the ground up, ie junior to senior groups all playing against each other.
The current system is broken. Full stop.
Why? Because you play for a junior team, you then play rep footy and then if good enough or fit a mold, you play TACCUP. From there, of the 600 on a list, 50 get drafted each year and then how many play? Bugger all!!!! What do the rest do?
Stuff all chase that dream to play AFL so stick on to play VFL and those that don’t, shop themselves around to clubs and on the rare occasion go back and play at their junior club.
What if we were to turn this on its head.
You recruit from the bottom up
A rebel league
Where you stay with a club, until you make it to the heighest level.
The AFL will have to buy into it!
Thoughts?
I agree the system is Donald Ducked behond repair but recuiting from the bottom up is fraught with danger ,if you start recuiting and offer incentives to juniors to come across to your club it is a mine field i would rather side step .club loyalty is long gone but loyalty to the dollar is rampant. The Afl dont have to get on board so to speak as they think they own the bloody game its their way or the highway .and with no direct pathway to the elite level mommy and daddy will arc up and take their little monstar elsewhere

Rupo has picked up a pretty decent coach.

Arron Bray will guide Rupertswood into a new era in the Essendon District Football League.
The experienced mentor has been appointed coach of the Division 1 outfit and links up with the club after a break from coaching.

Bray steered Broadford to consecutive preliminary final appearances in the Riddell District league in 2015 and 2016 and also led the competition’s interleague team to victories over West Gippsland and the Central Highlands.

The Sharks claimed the 2019 RDFL premiership under Nick Ash but will contest the EDFL’s second tier next season after they were given the green light to switch leagues.

President Brad Pietromonaco said Bray was the standout candidate from a quality field.

He has been locked into the top job for the next two seasons, but Rupertswood hopes the union will last much longer.