EDFL Div 2 2019

• Thread starter Thread starter Punt05

Checked out a game at Coburg on Saturday A tough battle to get into the granny for Moonee valley and Northern.

Anyone got any news on either club for my son to look at going for a kick next year?

That would've been the Reserves match if it was between those two as the Seniors was Moonee Valley vs Burnside on Saturday. If you think your son is mainly going to play reserves at this stage then either of those clubs are a good fit as would be any of the other ones in the division. Just depends on what suits your son personally. All a matter of what's best for each person really!

Not sure where he will play, that's the coaches choice or where my son fits.

More concerned about culture at this stage.
What are the coaches like? Same ones for next year?
How have the clubs been over the last few years?

All the clubs in and around that area are good value. Full of hard working men and women doing their best to create a safe and fun place for kids and families to spend a day out. Hadfield or the Saints would both be good choices.

Well said auklander. All the clubs in the area have something to offer, that’s the beauty of choice. If the fellow doesn’t mind a travel then Moonee Valley is also a good choice in Div 3, but so are the Saints (who are next door and the closest), Haddy and Districts are good, and further West Jacana for something different again.

It's not that far.
Just looking for a stable club with a good culture.
Success is always a bonus.

Hadfield would welcome you with open arms
Struggled on field with results last couple but are on the way up some big name recruits I’m hearing for next year should see them rise up the ladder, great culture off field full of hard working people.

Hadfield would welcome you with open arms
Struggled on field with results last couple but are on the way up some big name recruits I’m hearing for next year should see them rise up the ladder, great culture off field full of hard working people.

If this is true Lek, then that’s great news. That’s 2 clubs in Haddy & Keilor Park who were down but have got back on there feet and moving forward quickly. Can Jacana rebound? Tough for them but hope they can. Unfortunately the volunteers there are older types working hard but they need some younger 30-40 year olds on board with energy. Hard for the same blokes to keep pushing uphill..

Not sure where he will play, that's the coaches choice or where my son fits.

More concerned about culture at this stage.
What are the coaches like? Same ones for next year?
How have the clubs been over the last few years?
Not sure how old your son is but if he is up for a little bit more of a challenge then Roxburgh Park is just down the road. Recently had brand new club rooms open up, with a strong family orientatted culture. Women’s footy, junior footy.
The senior coach, Micheal Farrelly, has just been locked away for another 2 years which is awesome. Senior premiership captain at Bundoora, highly decorated playing career and recently a premiership coach at Roxburgh Park in 2018. We were able to consolidate in the higher division this year and looking forward to improving again in 2020 in division 1 (division 2).
Just up the road from Campbellfield. 😉

Anyone else witness that last quarter between Moonee Valley & Northern Saints reserves on the weekend ?
Good game of footy 👍🏽

Yes. There were some real clutch moments in that game in the last qtr. Moonee Valley had their chances, but Northern defended really well and definitely did well to hang on with what was at least a 4 goal breeze.

Great win to MV in the seniors. Can they reverse the results of the first final? As we all know anything can happen in finals so MV should give it their all, you never know they might just come up trumps against a raging favourite in Sunbury.

I reckon we will take a good look at Northern. I'll get in contact with their head coach this week.
I heard he is good at developing young players

If this is true Lek, then that’s great news. That’s 2 clubs in Haddy & Keilor Park who were down but have got back on there feet and moving forward quickly. Can Jacana rebound? Tough for them but hope they can. Unfortunately the volunteers there are older types working hard but they need some younger 30-40 year olds on board with energy. Hard for the same blokes to keep pushing uphill..

Very true turbo! Well done to both clubs. Hopefully jacana can rebound, never a good thing to see a club struggle, anyone have any news on how they are going?

I'm not sure what you mean by that ?
Heard he works with teens and did EDFL interleague or something.
Is that true?
He Did do junior inter league this year

Is a bit of a no nonsense type coach which is needed at times has a bit of a no dickhead policy

and does expect more professional standards from players eg recovery

Decent sort of bloke is a very smooth speaker .... has his detractors but who doesn’t

He Did do junior inter league this year

Is a bit of a no nonsense type coach which is needed at times has a bit of a no dickhead policy

and does expect more professional standards from players eg recovery

Decent sort of bloke is a very smooth speaker .... has his detractors but who doesn’t
You need most of that to be a good coach.

So is he leaving?

It will be interesting to see who cheers on who this weekend, As i'm sure most clubs would love to see Sunbury get beaten, but at the same time could fear that to happen and have another season with them in Div 3.

Not sure... I’m not on the committee anymore mate
Did you leave the committee?

Clubs are tough work I'm sure and any help is great for all involved.

I did really like the sound of the coach but I'm not liking the sound of what I'm hearing about the club -- so I think we will look at other clubs .

Did you leave the committee?

Clubs are tough work I'm sure and any help is great for all involved.

I did really like the sound of the coach but I'm not liking the sound of what I'm hearing about the club -- so I think we will look at other clubs .

You must of heard a lot about the club inbetween posts, in less than 24 hours from deciding to go to The club and then saying you aren’t liking what you are hearing. I find that pretty incredible..