EDFL Div 2 discussion 2023

Patanui

May 13, 2018
Let's hope this Div gets through this season with no casualities. Suspect there will be a couple though sadly, including a coach or two.

Great points I really like the idea of allow them to compete in the thirds comp, if they can compete for a few seasons in the 3rds and start to get some success ,then hopefully they could build for the future and get back into therein comp .This is done time and time again in the ammos with some success . No one wants to see a side fold completely but it is getting harder and harder with less people willing to roll their selves up get stuck in and see where it leads too

Agreed about the thirds suggestion.
Sandown is another club in the Southern League who has had to retract to just a thirds side but it's a better alternative than disbanding completely.

Agreed about the thirds suggestion.
Sandown is another club in the Southern League who has had to retract to just a thirds side but it's a better alternative than disbanding completely.
unfortunately I think this is just the start and we are going to see a lot more clubs struggling for numbers I know Reservoir and Lalor in the NFNL are in similar positions as jacana getting belted each week and walking over the seconds every few weeks .Mean while the fools at afl vic will do nothing but blow hot air over it. Questions should be asked of the players not playing anymore to see why they stopped playing and see if there is any thing that can be done to get them back playing .

I reckon a lot of local player’s priorities have changed over the last few years. So they maybe found other clubs to play for or have moved away from the area.

A thirds / clubbies side might be the best option for Jacana to re-generate their club. Who were a very tough opponent to play against back in the day.

I reckon a lot of local player’s priorities have changed over the last few years. So they maybe found other clubs to play for or have moved away from the area.

A thirds / clubbies side might be the best option for Jacana to re-generate their club. Who were a very tough opponent to play against back in the day.
I think it will be the only way for Jacana to exist going forward and would take a lot of pressure off the committee as they would not have to worry about any form of match payment . Play their games on a Friday night which will attach the tradies who find it hard not to work on a Saturday but could play on a Friday night this might attract support and crowds for the game

I agree LFF.
There’s plenty of great people lost to the game because they need to work weekends for their families or they simply can’t commit to week in, week out training that local footy requires these days.

Tbh thirds footy is a niche that could really grow rapidly for struggling clubs who can provide a home for the above profile.

Name your Top 4 and why?
Districts, good last year after the setback of early injurys, can only improve and has a good coach & committee & has recruited well.

Sunbury, well organised club who now has signed a great coach and some key players who are back from the premiership year, expect them to bounce back to play finals but loss of 2 key forwards will be a challenge to cover.

Oak Park, after a nearly there year and only losing a couple of fringe players they will contend again in finals with there finals style game plan, discipline let’s this club down, get that right and they could be back in div 1 2023.

Taylors Lakes, after a nothing year in 2022 they have now recruited well with a key forward a big tick and one of the best coaches going around expect the lakers to be near the top of the table at finals time.

finishing bottom this year for the 2nd year in a row unfortunately will be Northern, expect The Jags to fold early on in the year giving the Saints no saviour, they have recycled players who made no impact in 2020 and the recruiting has been average, committees make or break clubs and we all know the issues here, rumour of no U18 is a worrying sign for the future.

Name your Top 4 and why?
Districts, good last year after the setback of early injurys, can only improve and has a good coach & committee & has recruited well.

Sunbury, well organised club who now has signed a great coach and some key players who are back from the premiership year, expect them to bounce back to play finals but loss of 2 key forwards will be a challenge to cover.

Oak Park, after a nearly there year and only losing a couple of fringe players they will contend again in finals with there finals style game plan, discipline let’s this club down, get that right and they could be back in div 1 2023.

Taylors Lakes, after a nothing year in 2022 they have now recruited well with a key forward a big tick and one of the best coaches going around expect the lakers to be near the top of the table at finals time.

finishing bottom this year for the 2nd year in a row unfortunately will be Northern, expect The Jags to fold early on in the year giving the Saints no saviour, they have recycled players who made no impact in 2020 and the recruiting has been average, committees make or break clubs and we all know the issues here, rumour of no U18 is a worrying sign for the future.
What about the other team in Sunbury?
How do you think they will go?

Name your Top 4 and why?

why no U18’s ? They ve done well for a long time defied the odds really when many clubs around the area couldn’t fill 18’s, they did? So why now?

Districts 2021 & Haddy 2022 couldn’t get numbers for 18”s so it’s nothing new, there captain & coach kept them together & both have moved on, players have been training at other clubs.
18’s is fickle, they all go with there mates, and there mates are training at Haddy, without a coach what are they going back to?
Zahraman was a smart move by Haddy, he knows all of the boys and they will follow him as a mentor.

Districts 2021 & Haddy 2022 couldn’t get numbers for 18”s so it’s nothing new, there captain & coach kept them together & both have moved on, players have been training at other clubs.
18’s is fickle, they all go with there mates, and there mates are training at Haddy, without a coach what are they going back to?
Zahraman was a smart move by Haddy, he knows all of the boys and they will follow him as a mentor.
Districts pulled out early in 2021 with the u/18s but had good numbers in 2022 and in 2023 will have 2 u/18s side which is not bad