EDFL Div 2 discussion 2023

So Cavka was paid $1000 for the round 4 game against Jacana where they won by 40 goals - If this is true, probably explains why clubs fold based on decisions like this - The Cap is $70k in this division - which averages out to $198 per player per game. It is set at this rate for a reason. KP spent well over $100k on players in 2022 - very interested to see how their numbers are this year - I doubt they will have 2 thirds teams -if a thirds team at all. Their biggest challenge will be to win 3-4 games and stay up.
I only said that’s a fair price for someone of Cavka standing.
There is no way Keilor park would have paid outside the cap as they only just returned from being in recess a few years prior.
Anyway didn’t the edfl ignore other clubs going over so it’s really a “who cares” situation in this league. 😀😀😂

Well that’s probably fair for Cavka. If you were involved and had the opportunity to get him I’m sure you jump at it. The others you mentioned if true is pretty common in div2 mate. Getting Kempster to stay and then recruiting Castello was a great base and a huge advantage for a div2 club. Both playing for well under what they could get elsewhere.
Castello I believe was a kP junior and always intended to end his footy back at KP

I only said that’s a fair price for someone of Cavka standing.
There is no way Keilor park would have paid outside the cap as they only just returned from being in recess a few years prior.
Anyway didn’t the edfl ignore other clubs going over so it’s really a “who cares” situation in this league. 😀😀😂
Dreaming if you think any club played under the cap

Jacana only in 3rds comp this year, where they will be competitive - unlikely to see them recover and could be there las year of senior footy
Do the smart thing and head back to the RDFL. Previously they were a good fit and offered a point of difference. At the very least it may extend their existence by a few years.

Oak Park need to win it this year or they're just about stuffed(destined for many more years in C Grade).. Unfortunately for them I don't think they will win it, C Districts and TL GF - you heard it here 1st... Baaaaannngggggg :handfist:

Do the smart thing and head back to the RDFL. Previously they were a good fit and offered a point of difference. At the very least it may extend their existence by a few years.
They’re done

No kids in the area that care about footy

Lost the guys that were there for years

That flag and Cloke was a disaster

If they can’t attract blokes to play in the edfl div 3 they have no chance getting guys to play there and the extra travel involved in the rdfl

Sad situation I hate seeing clubs shut the doors but it just seems inevitable

Some respect for the RDFL here. Jacana is a long way off being competitive in EDFL D3, they would be a long, long way off being competitive in the RDFL, a better standard. They may have been a better fit in the RDFL when that comp was semi suburban 20 years ago but not now.

Hope Jacana can stabilise in the 3rds, rebuild, no hurry, don't rush, and return a stronger club at some stage.

Some respect for the RDFL here. Jacana is a long way off being competitive in EDFL D3, they would be a long, long way off being competitive in the RDFL, a better standard. They may have been a better fit in the RDFL when that comp was semi suburban 20 years ago but not now.

Hope Jacana can stabilise in the 3rds, rebuild, no hurry, don't rush, and return a stronger club at some stage.
The thirds is an up and down comp some strong teams some average teams and some weak teams. Will.be interesting if they get 13 teams like they had last year.

Also with that said them moving to thirds, do you think the edfl will look at bringing another club over for div 2?????

They’re done

No kids in the area that care about footy

Lost the guys that were there for years

That flag and Cloke was a disaster

If they can’t attract blokes to play in the edfl div 3 they have no chance getting guys to play there and the extra travel involved in the rdfl

Sad situation I hate seeing clubs shut the doors but it just seems inevitable
IT might surprise everyone that just playing thirds might attract blokes back who don't have the time to commit to full time footy, especially if they play on a Friday night so the tradies can work on the Saturday

The thirds is an up and down comp some strong teams some average teams and some weak teams. Will.be interesting if they get 13 teams like they had last year.

Also with that said them moving to thirds, do you think the edfl will look at bringing another club over for div 2?????
Nah they’ll just bring Caroline Springs into Div1, then demote 2 again🙄

I mean at least they are bringing in new clubs and expanding the league. Not sold on how they just start new teams in div 1 and relegate 2. Makes it pretty unfair and pretty stupid.

But if im trying to be positive it might make teams who are irrelevant in div 1 slighlty more competitive if they go down and play in div 2.

IT might surprise everyone that just playing thirds might attract blokes back who don't have the time to commit to full time footy, especially if they play on a Friday night so the tradies can work on the Saturday
Playing thirds on a friday night would be great. You still have your whole weekend and yeah a bit less pressure

Understand your views but thirds footy wasn’t brought in for that reason that ALL players just roll up and have a kick. It was supposedly for those kids out of 18/19s that weren’t capable of making seniors or reserves just yet. Add that in with some ex players keen for a run around and it gives you another side. Especially those clubs who had 2 18/19 sides and an influx of kids around 18 years old.
If we allow a side just to rock up on a Saturday or Friday night to have a kick it might spell trouble. I recall an incident a few years back where a young bloke from Oak Park I think, was seriously hurt after being king hit by an opposition player. I just very cautious here of what thirds footy was introduced for..

Cheers

Understand your views but thirds footy wasn’t brought in for that reason that ALL players just roll up and have a kick. It was supposedly for those kids out of 18/19s that weren’t capable of making seniors or reserves just yet. Add that in with some ex players keen for a run around and it gives you another side. Especially those clubs who had 2 18/19 sides and an influx of kids around 18 years old.
If we allow a side just to rock up on a Saturday or Friday night to have a kick it might spell trouble. I recall an incident a few years back where a young bloke from Oak Park I think, was seriously hurt after being king hit by an opposition player. I just very cautious here of what thirds footy was introduced for..

Cheers

Said who ? Surely it was just a comp created for clubs with an overflow of players ? Not sure how much thirds footy you’ve seen but it ain’t all 18/19yo’s that’s for sure.
If Jacana can keep the doors open by playing Thirds for a season or 2 then I can’t see the negative.

Cheers
I agree with you about the oak park incident that sort of idiot is not welcome in any division of football ,however the ammos use their clubbies for similar to the edfl 3rd but also for clubs struggling for numbers to go back and not be under so much pressure with player numbers and try and rebuild the club .This has been done with success of late so I am all for the jags having a go to see if they can right the ship .

So is it offical that jacana are playing in the thirds ? Is there a statement from the edfl or the club?

And does this mean the EDFL will release a new fixture for div 2? And when do you think that will be ?

EDFL Div 2 discussion 2023