EDFL Div 2 discussion 2023

Is it confirmed jacana to play thirds?
Given the desperate nature of their FB posts I don't think they intend to go down that path, and probably won't have the numbers to even field a team there. Calls to arms sometimes worked in the past but with clubs all over the state not returning for 2023 it's a fair chance this will be another number on the pile.

Hopefully they can convince people to play. Hate to see a club go

Jacana officially done for the year can’t get a side up.
its a sad situation but I think this might be the end of them with no juniors and now very little player support it must be heart breaking for the few who have busted the guts for the last few season to get them back up and running to have the fsllover again

So sad for Footy in general. Jacana are the Last of the Mohicans in the Northern area.
Sadly they may be be joining neighbours Broady Bandits, Broady YCW, Dallas Blues, Dallas YCW, Coolaroo Rovers, Gladstone Park and so many, many more in the EDFL and NDFL as History.
I'd suggest the likes of Doull, Breidis, Wynd, Johnson, Romero, Zantuck, Smith and more are a testament to the JFC and all those involved with Jacana should be heralded for their passion and commitment to see kids playing footy. I hope I'm proved wrong but whatever happens Jacana and the Valley of Death will be held high in the history of footy.

I fear this might be the tip of the ice burg as there are a few other clubs in a bit of trouble. There is too much is being asked of the few who put their hands up to run clubs theses day. The leagues and afl vic keep adding more garbage to be done each year to keep teams on the park no wonder less people are putting their hands up to help

I don’t believe the AFL or many (some) leagues care too much about “some” clubs folding. Perhaps it’s a natural or not so natural attrition of clubs is a way of thinning things out and making things stronger from their eyes, I presume . It’s a crying shame really especially for those ardent people at those clubs who can no longer fly the flag. Damn shame.

Understand your views but thirds footy wasn’t brought in for that reason that ALL players just roll up and have a kick. It was supposedly for those kids out of 18/19s that weren’t capable of making seniors or reserves just yet. Add that in with some ex players keen for a run around and it gives you another side. Especially those clubs who had 2 18/19 sides and an influx of kids around 18 years old.
If we allow a side just to rock up on a Saturday or Friday night to have a kick it might spell trouble. I recall an incident a few years back where a young bloke from Oak Park I think, was seriously hurt after being king hit by an opposition player. I just very cautious here of what thirds footy was introduced for..

Cheers

Do you think 3rds has kept players at stronger clubs . If there were not 3rds some of these guys would go to the weaker clubs. Maybe stating obvious.............
you might get one or two but most 3rds players are lucky to train one night a week and with the way we expect our footballer to commit to the cause one night a week is not going to get you a senior game even in div 2

Keilor thirds would easily defeat div 2 mid table sides, probably finish in the finals.

Hey mate, post Covid training 1 night per week is probably allowed for the better players but definitely it’s acceptable in div2. Covid changed heaps mate. Junior numbers lower. Senior training numbers much lower than pre Covid. It’s just the way it is!!

EDFL Div 2 discussion 2023