EDFL Div 2 discussion 2026

ZingerAbed Great analysis and agree and also agree the Div 2 comp is much stronger and competitive with the top 4 you listed would be just about on par to the top 4 of Div 1. Roxy on paper should play finals but a Westy and Gelnroy grand final would be a match to watch.
Only my opinion, but no chance div 2 top sides would be able to compete with top sides in div 1.
They would however be very competitive with the bottom sides of div 1.

Robbie Gray to ES confirmed

Turbos mail I agree, theyve done a pretty good job on recruiting. Looks like the only consensus across the board is Glenroy to be pretty strong finish top of the ladder. And Roxy Westy to finish 2nd or 3rd

Turbos mail I agree, theyve done a pretty good job on recruiting. Looks like the only consensus across the board is Glenroy to be pretty strong finish top of the ladder. And Roxy Westy to finish 2nd or
Turbos mail I agree, theyve done a pretty good job on recruiting. Looks like the only consensus across the board is Glenroy to be pretty strong finish top of the ladder. And Roxy Westy to finish 2nd or 3rd
Word is around Sunbury town there is a lot of unhappy people at East. Clearly the novelty of playing with Fev has worn off & with Gray coming in for a few games doesn’t seem very reliable for them & also paying huge overs for a player from Hillside. I still think they’ll jag a few wins but might be in dire times in 2027 & beyond.

Last edited by a moderator:
Glenroy
Westy
Roxy

Kp
Had
Cd

Sk
Ns
Burnside
Es
Roys
WM

Roxy
CD
Haddy
KP
SK

East Sunbury
Northern

Burnside

Top 2 should clear away from the chasing pack which will be close. Easts will be competitive as will Northen at home. Burnside will snag a win or two but it will be a long season for them.

Roys
WM

Roxy
CD
Haddy
KP
SK

East Sunbury
Northern

Burnside

Top 2 should clear away from the chasing pack which will be close. Easts will be competitive as will Northen at home. Burnside will snag a win or two but it will be a long season for them.
Not convinced on Westy as I think Glenroy are miles ahead of the pack based on recruits. I reckon the next 6 are all capable so it will be a great fight for the top 4.

Interesting that Merrifield is advertising for a second Thirds team. Are they likely to push for a spot in Div 2 next year?

Not convinced on Westy as I think Glenroy are miles ahead of the pack based on recruits. I reckon the next 6 are all capable so it will be a great fight for the top 4.

Interesting that Merrifield is advertising for a second Thirds team. Are they likely to push for a spot in Div 2 next year?
Glenroy in the ANZAC Day clash will be a good match to be at then.

Maybe it will be Merrifield in, kangaroos back to RDFNL.

I think you would want a couple of seasons with two thirds sides and to even think about it. The attraction of playing thirds is that they mostly only have train one night a week and then play on a Friday night. This makes it easier attract guys who work on a Saturday and players less committed and only wanting to have a game of footy. it would help if they have two or three u17 sides and a u19 side then this might make it easier to get a seniors side up and running

Glenroy
Westy
Roxy

Kp
Had
Cd

Sk
Ns
Burnside
Es
Think Hadfield will be closer to those top 3. A lot of questions about Beaver last year, and rightly so, but he seems to be switched on. Have gone past their trainings a few times and they have looked good. They had some big full forward there who looked unreal although I haven't seen anything about a transfer being put through.

Also sounds like Josh Polizzi as an assistant coach will be a good get, which surprised me considering the other two Polizzi brothers don't seem too bright. one to watch

Think Hadfield will be closer to those top 3. A lot of questions about Beaver last year, and rightly so, but he seems to be switched on. Have gone past their trainings a few times and they have looked good. They had some big full forward there who looked unreal although I haven't seen anything about a transfer being put through.

Also sounds like Josh Polizzi as an assistant coach will be a good get, which surprised me considering the other two Polizzi brothers don't seem too bright. one to watch
Haddy have had alot of 3-4 point players in the last couple years, points reductions should help them massively this year. They will be thereabouts, but a big ask to go all the way.

Decent post, lost me abit with calling out the brothers though mate

A guy from work is playing at Northern Saints and apparently there is already some internal rumblings between coaching group and the players. Many players unhappy with the level of coaching and culture being set early in the season.

They will soon find out in round 1 against Glenroy as to where the coaching and playing group is at!