EDFL Division 1 2017

Agree Mel Jesse had it on a string today he was unbelievable and little Brown did a great job. Gee Ross Terra was under the pump for the entire game but they prevailed in a great game of local footy plenty of hard fair collisions and the game was played in great spirit. Well done Roys deservered winners good luck at the next level well done APW you did your club proud.

On SM-G935F using BigFooty.com mobile app

APW are in great hands with Geoff Maddern at the helm. Reckon we might see a few of his old players heading that way in 2018.

Where is he from ???
Douttas i think Planks. Mainly juniors but will stand corrected. He has coached very well since taking over they seemed well structured and well drilled. Plenty of role players. They have some very experienced players out on the ground directing traffic like McGrath, Duggan, Rogers, McVeigh x 2 and Godden. Lets see how they go recruiting over the summer. It still raises the question who next wants to go up a level out of the current crop of clubs. Bloody tough ask going up a div for all div 1 clubs.

On SM-G935F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I was surprised by APW today, I thought they would get done quiet easily. The bigger bodies of Glenroy did not phase them. Stand tall and be proud you put up a great fight. In the end the difference was Winter, Dulic and Gilliand.
Yes I will touch on the umpires, I think they were OK in patches but boy they made some shocking decisions. Did they have an outcome on the game. I think so.
Glenroy go up next season, let's see how many of their team go up with them.

APW are in great hands with Geoff Maddern at the helm. Reckon we might see a few of his old players heading that way in 2018.
He is a good coach and yes you may see a few younger boys joining him but I am sure he won't be just relying on them. He would have been looking far and wide throughout the season to attract some new blood. A few of the rep boys that have played for him over the years could of got a phone call from him.

Question for the Glenroy faithful who I know read big footy.

Glenroy played the GF with max 48/48 points compared to APW who played with 38/48. So with the possibility of points dropping to 45 for season 2018 how will Glenroy be competitive in premier league? Even if Winter and a couple of others depart as we expect they won't have much room for recruits. Going to be a huge battle for them.
They will need a gun ruckman, midfielder, key back and forward. Current lot go ok but to be competitive in premier they will need 6-9 players and it's not possible under the current points system. They will get a pass mark next season if the can avoid relegation.
Craigieburn of 16 and EDS of 15 would have beat Glenroy by over 10goals IMO. But it depends on who they can hold and then recruit in the off season as the end result of 17 was the same as the other 2 clubs..

Question 2 / Who at Glenroy has previous connections with a top level A grade club in a league? That might also be a concern as most recent recruits (outside Winter) have been recruiting from B or C grade clubs.

Now I must congratulate Glenroy on the master stroke by recruiting Winter last season. I wasn't there but it seems he was the difference. Had enough of premier league but still a class above div1 when firing. They got reward for their money.. Well done.

Just goes to show to have any chance of winning div1 you must have some experience players in key spots. APW had a few and McGrath was another who can take the younger players along with him.

Glenroy played the GF with max 48/48 points compared to APW who played with 38/48. So with the possibility of points dropping to 45 for season 2018 how will Glenroy be competitive in premier league? Even if Winter and a couple of others depart as we expect they won't have much room for recruits. Going to be a huge battle for them.
They will need a gun ruckman, midfielder, key back and forward. Current lot go ok but to be competitive in premier they will need 6-9 players and it's not possible under the current points system. They will get a pass mark next season if the can avoid relegation.
Craigieburn of 16 and EDS of 15 would have beat Glenroy by over 10goals IMO. But it depends on who they can hold and then recruit in the off season as the end result of 17 was the same as the other 2 clubs..

Question 2 / Who at Glenroy has previous connections with a top level A grade club in a league? That might also be a concern as most recent recruits (outside Winter) have been recruiting from B or C grade clubs.

Now I must congratulate Glenroy on the master stroke by recruiting Winter last season. I wasn't there but it seems he was the difference. Had enough of premier league but still a class above div1 when firing. They got reward for their money.. Well done.

Just goes to show to have any chance of winning div1 you must have some experience players in key spots. APW had a few and McGrath was another who can take the younger players along with him.
How'd Pacco go this year Turbo . Maybe you should worry about your own club before commenting on others .How about waiting for the celebrations to finish before you stick the knives in

Pacco didn't meet expectations Tragic. Very disappointing year by the panthers.

Not sure I'm sticking the knives in other than comparing them to the previous two div1 GF winners. Just trying to get some conversation going. Cmon mate the Roy Boys love the Turbo..xx

Will terranova be up to coaching at premier divison with out being able to buy ina huge amount of talent

That's the $1000 question on his coaching. Huge gap between coaching NFL C grade then to EDFL B grade then to EDFL premier..But I guess he deserves his opportunity.. Did he lose his cool at any time in the GF as he did lose it just before 3qrt time in the Semi and they were about 15 goals up..

I think what kept Glenroy in the game was their kicking for goal. I think it was about 10 straight before they got a behind.

FFS let them enjoy the win

There is one thing I would like to raise or should that be twenty things. The EDFL must think they are the AFL to charge $20 to get into Windy Hill to watch the Grand Finals. I certainly won't be going to watch this weekend.

There is one thing I would like to see raise or should that be twenty things. The EDFL must think they are the AFL to charge $20 to get into Windy Hill to watch the Grand Finals. I certainly won't be going to watch this weekend.

You want everything for nothing.

Took the 2 kids on sunday for free and they had a ball. Great day out for $20 and they got show bags and want to go again this week. We pay nothing all season and are spoilt to be able to watch a very good competition.

Its cheaper than a packet of smokes FFS

You want everything for nothing.

Took the 2 kids on sunday for free and they had a ball. Great day out for $20 and they got show bags and want to go again this week. We pay nothing all season and are spoilt to be able to watch a very good competition.

Its cheaper than a packet of smokes FFS
No happy to pay a reasonable price, they should of kept it at $15. If the EDFL would spend some money on upgrading some of the facilities it wouldn't be so bad.

I love watching footy at Windy Hill. Toilets aren't great but you can always use the facilities in the social club.

Some people are never satisfied.

Word going around windy hill Saturday that Jacana will look to splash the cash so that they are competitive coming up a division for the first time. Rumour is they will offer big coin to a couple of doutta boys to get them across.

They are not a big club at all so where do they get the cash from.

Sorry mate, you could be right as the guy is bloody loyal and as I've stated many times is their inspiration leader down there. When his up & about they lift.. I understand loyalty but no one would have questioned it if he decided to go and play premier in previous years, especially when he was a bit younger. Question for you Jack! What position would he be best suited in premier league?

Be interested to see if Kite & Knox return to Sewell Res..
Looks like he made the right decision to stick fat Turbs.