EDFL Division 1 2017

That is the dilemma for teams in Div 1.

What do you do, just be content with finishing 3rd to 8th every year to stay in that div.
No
But you need to recruit for the long term. With all the development league players available next year spend your money on them so that they can be 8-10 yr players at your club. Not older players that have 1-2 years left.

No
But you need to recruit for the long term. With all the development league players available next year spend your money on them so that they can be 8-10 yr players at your club. Not older players that have 1-2 years left.
Some good advice there for sure, what age are the players EK have recruited.

They played a lot of U19 & U17 players last season in the 2nd half of the season. That was when they started winning games with those kids in the team.

Most would be 29-30+
Winter if he plays is 35

Gday Horse, have any of these signings been confirmed? - nothing released by the club? or just rumour mill?

If true - Gleeson, Licciardo and Knight all 26
Oldest player i believe is Grigg (28) from the team East Keilor fielded last year.

Handy pickups if True- all played a higher level. Question remains do they all stay if the Cougars win it?

From what i saw EK played with almost the youngest side in the back half of last year. Age profile isn't an issue. Potentially very smart recruiting if true.

Gday Horse, have any of these signings been confirmed? - nothing released by the club? or just rumour mill?

If true - Gleeson, Licciardo and Knight all 26
Oldest player i believe is Grigg (28) from the team East Keilor fielded last year.

Handy pickups if True- all played a higher level. Question remains do they all stay if the Cougars win it?

From what i saw EK played with almost the youngest side in the back half of last year. Age profile isn't an issue. Potentially very smart recruiting if true.
Just checked EK Facebook page they will be announcing some signings tonight.

Some good advice there for sure, what age are the players EK have recruited.

They played a lot of U19 & U17 players last season in the 2nd half of the season. That was when they started winning games with those kids in the team.

In div1 you do need a bit of experience and promote youth. My opinion is clubs get older guys who play forward when I think the experienced player/leader should be a midfielder or half back to lead the group and at times control the tempo..Big slow forward lines are non existent these days as you need a bit of youth there for pace and forward pressure..
Also agree the majority of players recruited must be prepared to stick around for a year or 2 if the get promoted. Even to guide the young group. Winter is the exception as his still got a lot to offer a div1 club but past playing premier.

On the flip side I’m dead against players dropping back to div1 and asking ridiculous amounts of money. It’s div1 footy (well really div2 yeah) so you need to be a dominant player and in your peak to warrant more than 500-600 in my book. I think a side should maybe have 1 marquee player on >600 but others surely need to be reasonable and play for what their worth. Give a bit more to the local talent coming up I say..

Rumour reaches me that Crazyburn are chasing the Harvey brothers in a crazy Cloke like deal upwards of $30k

Thats an interesting post Ed. I was talking to Ben at Bunnings in CB on Monday and i was told the following.... The Boomer Bros. Offered $60-$70K between em and big Lance is on $20-25K to be footy manager. That is big coin for a couple of old boys who stand 5 foot tall albeit both very good players. Is this what footy ops guys are wanting? Mel can u confirm any of these rumours with your friends at CB? Anyone from CB on here who can confirm or deny? No wonder its called silly season!

On SM-G935F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Thats an interesting post Ed. I was talking to Ben at Bunnings in CB on Monday and i was told the following.... The Boomer Bros. Offered $60-$70K between em and big Lance is on $20-25K to be footy manager. That is big coin for a couple of old boys who stand 5 foot tall albeit both very good players. Is this what footy ops guys are wanting? Mel can u confirm any of these rumours with your friends at CB? Anyone from CB on here who can confirm or deny? No wonder its called silly season!

Silly season alright. What rubbish

Mel can u confirm any of these rumours with your friends at CB?

All pretty slow so far. Reckon you might see some consolidation ahead of a bigger push in 2019. Div 1 in 2018 should be even more competitive than ever before IMO.

Yes Bissa 25K for a fifootyoty manager is massive [emoji6]

I was thinking the role is surely worth 15-20k if they are also getting some sponsors and doing work during the year then probably a 20k job. Tough role as it also involves list management..
Hence why someone like McGuane is paid well as he basically does both roles.

These days a coach and football manager will set you back about 40-45k and possibly more.

Heard a whisper Coletta moving to Coburg VFL.
It will be hard for these young fellas to get a game at VFL level now without a development league. Im sure there is a heap of talent getting around all leagues who would be invited to have a go at the higher level but the reality is these VFL teams have 22 spots available every week. Good for local footy I say

Tulla advertising a lot of new recruits talking them up, fact is most of them are strugglers... Can't fault DC as he does a truck load of work to get players in, but at the end of the day at best he's an ordinary coach(but good bloke).. Talking to a few Westy fella's on the weekend that's what they said and the story has been consistent from Albanvale & Yarraville... Tulla could be in for a long year , but not as long as T.Lakes, lot's of noise about debt and a max exodus of players.......
I heard a similar song out of Lionheart Survey i think your on the money... 60-70K in the red with a few departures already. 2 of there better players yet to re sign for 2018 hopefully Sammy can hold it together he is a good man.

Anyone know where East Keilor has found the money to throw around.
I’m hearing they are offering up to 1500 a game for some players. A few years ago they were struggling now they are big spenders

Apparently 50 loyal EK members supporters chucked in 1K each last year and banked it so thats an easy 50K what pick have they got in next months draft Lol

1500, that’s surely dribble? Who on there list or recruits would be on anything close to four figures?