EDFL Division 1

Westmeadows have returned last week with good numbers on the track. Had a scratch match on Monday night with young Bilal Allouch and Cameron Trewin looking good. Have also just signed previous B&F Matty Sammut who is a great get, and another guy from Port Colts, unsure on name. Also have heard that Mitch Jenson who had signed with EDS has decided to stay at Footscray VFL now and will be using Westy as his home club to play with cousin Mullens.
Praccy matches locked in against Moama, Port Melbourne Colts and Melton Bloods

Westmeadows have returned last week with good numbers on the track. Had a scratch match on Monday night with young Bilal Allouch and Cameron Trewin looking good. Have also just signed previous B&F Matty Sammut who is a great get, and another guy from Port Colts, unsure on name. Also have heard that Mitch Jenson who had signed with EDS has decided to stay at Footscray VFL now and will be using Westy as his home club to play with cousin Mullens.
Praccy matches locked in against Moama, Port Melbourne Colts and Melton Bloods
Can believe Jensen is staying with Footscray but not buying into whats been said about him signing for Westmeadows. He committed to Douttas last year.

Also! Kites in contract with Glenroy ! Hope EDS are willing to give a bit of a pay out for him!
You sound like a very happy Glenroy supporter ? It's a well known fact that the boys departing Glenroy weren't happy with the attitude of the coach and the direction the club was heading In it's been a massive turn over in players since loosing the grand final by 2 goals not so long ago clearly culture seems to being playing a big part in it. Your sitting here potting all these players when you would have all 5 of them back in a heartbeat ? Cronin finished 3rd in the clubs bnf in a grandfinal team at 20 years of age . Ronaldson more then proved himself at senior level last year in first season . Ramsay had the year off but if fit has proven himself at senior level in the past . Coombseys year at Glenroy might off not went to plan but stats don't lie his put the runs on the board in other comps . As for kyte your having a fair stab at a bloke who has given nothing but class to Glenroy since returning to club by memory he would of kicked over 300 goals in about 45 games of senior football for the club not a bad average for a bloke who goes missing when the tough gets going ? Personally I don't no if his feet will hold up but if they do his last 2 full seasons have put 96 an 80+ Goals on the board . Kyte vs dulic won't happen to completely different players . Eds will be strong Glenroy will slide harsh but reality .

@ legend09 obviously your involved down there has there been any signings to replace these blokes? as i know Glenroy weren't to fazed about losing cronin,ramsay,coombes and scibberas from the year before, but as much as you weren't worried at the time if you add kite,ronaldson plus a few others that have departed roys coming from a long way back, bit of talk down the local on weekend that morrelli might be on the move up to sunbury can anyone confirm as lakes been very quiet this summer and a lot of that senior core getting older, will they be around the finals mark again?

Gee wiz, all the talk on EDS on here. Never heard so much crap in my life. Don't get me wrong the will be a top 3 side along with Westy and Craigieburn by the looks of it but to have them as this unbeatable side. come on....

Majority of the guys they have picked up are good average B grade footballers.
A Ramsay - Average at best at westy in back half of 2014. Slow and EDS ground is massive. 4th club in last 2 years says it all. Overpaid and under delivers.
Cronin - Good B grade player. Again slow
D Ramsay - Good 2s player in B grade at best
Ronaldson - Good young player. Only ever played B grade
Coombs - Only as good as you last game at that was in the twos at Glenroy
Scibberas - Played 2s all year at Greenvale
Buttigeg - Slow and has been playing B grade WRFL
Gervasi - A good B grade WRFL player, soft.
Kite - Well who knows, contracted and needs to get cleared first. Hasn't played best footy for a couple of years
Carey - again who knows if he will even play a game. Hasn't played for 3 years
Laverde - Been a gun, inj have taken there tole and is now a shadow of his past. Was borderline being selected in Tulla GF side last year
Shylo - Gun, absolute A grader. Tick

So out of those 12, one gun 1-2 reserve standard and 8-9 good average players.
As I said will be there about but cant see that list of players all of a sudden making them unbeatable.
A lot of those guys are slow too, and on EDS ground that could be telling.

EDS have got Prestia now who will be a very handy addition and probably better than all those players except Smith. I also think you are selling a fair few of those guys short, you can't buy experience. Is Buttigieg the same one who played for Marby? If so then he will be good even at 30+. They will have the depth and good combo of youth and experience which should see them top 2.

Agree with your assessment Prophetic. EDS have managed to hold onto some very good young players with Premier division experience from 2014 so clearly they will be top 3 in 2015 without doubt. The question is of all those listed by Mal Marshall above will they cut it in Premier in 2016 if successful in Div 1 this year. Perhaps a short term fix at a lower cost base to get back up into Premier?? Then reload with a greater budget in Premier!! Prestia & Smith absolute guns and will go well in Div 1.
So of the perceived 3 top teams EDS, C/Burn & Westy who in your opinions has the best list to win the Div 1 flag and go into Premier and maintain their place in the top grade? Perhaps to early to call but does make for an interesting discussion. For what it is worth I think EDS & C/Burn are best placed at this stage
Will certainly be an interesting year ahead for this division.

You sound like a very happy Glenroy supporter ? It's a well known fact that the boys departing Glenroy weren't happy with the attitude of the coach and the direction the club was heading In it's been a massive turn over in players since loosing the grand final by 2 goals not so long ago clearly culture seems to being playing a big part in it. Your sitting here potting all these players when you would have all 5 of them back in a heartbeat ? Cronin finished 3rd in the clubs bnf in a grandfinal team at 20 years of age . Ronaldson more then proved himself at senior level last year in first season . Ramsay had the year off but if fit has proven himself at senior level in the past . Coombseys year at Glenroy might off not went to plan but stats don't lie his put the runs on the board in other comps . As for kyte your having a fair stab at a bloke who has given nothing but class to Glenroy since returning to club by memory he would of kicked over 300 goals in about 45 games of senior football for the club not a bad average for a bloke who goes missing when the tough gets going ? Personally I don't no if his feet will hold up but if they do his last 2 full seasons have put 96 an 80+ Goals on the board . Kyte vs dulic won't happen to completely different players . Eds will be strong Glenroy will slide harsh but reality .

Great post mate. Only know Kite and his been very loyal to Glenroy playing for way less than his going rate. On the flip side have heard from many good judges that he probably lacks a bit of grunt which might be why he didn't make it with Adelaide but getting on an AFL list is a great achievement and more than most people have achieved, so let's not bag the kid..

"That's my say"

Rumours have heard that the only reason kite Ramsay and Cronin have gone to EDS is because Ramsay said they could only play footy at douttas this year? Because all three work for him? Not surprising really!
But in all seriousness; Ramsay! No loss! Glenroy have lost him before and have dealt he's not that good anyway? From memory he played reserves footy!
Cronin is a loss, but he's no Roy boy anyway!
And as for kite - once the pressures on he turns into a fairy! Would love to see big trav dulic play on him this year! Aaron will walk away crying! When the tough gets going Aaron kite gets running.
Joel coombes! Brilliant player, in B grade reserves. Wonder how he will go in seniors?
And are Aaron kites feet going to be a problem? Or his calf?
Kade Carey and Aaron Ramsay, both getting on in age.... No doubt still have the talent but may be a bit slow these days!
Yes Glenroy are on a slide. But Glenroy didn't get given 100k to spend either like cragieburn!
Kudos to EDS for the pick ups! Looking forward to watching the clash between EDS and craigurburn. Will be a big match.

typical glenroy supporter when things don't go your way you turn to social media to have a stab at blokes . I don't follow either team but I have found this reading interesting and im looking forward to seeing how it all unfolds. instead of coming on here and pasting players when we haven't even heard from a Glenroy person in this forum how bout you post your recruits for the year an something positive about your club so we can talk . you made a few valid points the Ramsay one i don't agree on your commenting on a bloke who's come back from a knee reco that alone is hard to do . I watched this kid at tulla against the Northern saints a couple years back as a 19 year old kick 7 . I'f fit im sure he has a lot to offer you don't loose ability over night . as for the kite vs dulic match up Id love to see it . but can Glenroy sacrifice the run dulic provides an push him back to the goal square ? haven't seen him there to many times. interesting to see how it all pans out.

Some real quality there and will make Doutta hard to beat, although if they are dropping back and expecting to be able to waltz it in without putting in the hard yards they will get found out quickly. Too often blokes drop back from A Grade expecting to just dominate but they drop off there intensity and commitment to training and get shown up. The whole Oak Park side this year is prime example.
looking forwatd to steeing what dylan ramsay can bring to the table at eds very good player before a knee injury. Seen him kick 8 on justin mall as a 16 year old playing seniors for tullamarine. Very exciting. Also blair cronin a great junior and senior in his time. Great all australian u16 player. Aaron kite will bring great things to... a forward line consisting of kade carey and aaron kite will be very dangerous. Dylan ramsay probably the best small forward/mid in the comp before his knee reco.

typical glenroy supporter when things don't go your way you turn to social media to have a stab at blokes . I don't follow either team but I have found this reading interesting and im looking forward to seeing how it all unfolds. instead of coming on here and pasting players when we haven't even heard from a Glenroy person in this forum how bout you post your recruits for the year an something positive about your club so we can talk . you made a few valid points the Ramsay one i don't agree on your commenting on a bloke who's come back from a knee reco that alone is hard to do . I watched this kid at tulla against the Northern saints a couple years back as a 19 year old kick 7 . I'f fit im sure he has a lot to offer you don't loose ability over night . as for the kite vs dulic match up Id love to see it . but can Glenroy sacrifice the run dulic provides an push him back to the goal square ? haven't seen him there to many times. interesting to see how it all pans out.
Going back further as a 16 yr old kicking 8 against northern saints. Must be a few blokes sooking that these boys have left the club. A weaker young lad would have given up after a knee reco. Ramsay is all heart. Great big game footballer those who have seen his best may agree

Can all the signing play as a team to actually win. When Oak Park when down it was very much a team in coming back up and not individuals

wowee, I have never been on this site and heard from someone, some of the dribble being posted on here about Glenroy and some EX players. As you can see by screen name this will my only post and probably won't even get back on to listen to the bullshit replies.

1.Aaron Kite has put in for a clearance will not be getting cleared contracted player (or sit year out)

2.Lachie Ronaldson put in for clearance will not be getting cleared contracted player.

3.Coombes,Cronin,Ramsay also put in clearance to EDS, Cronin is a good clubman/bloke probably puts half his footy pay back over the bar but is unfit,slow and never really set the world on fire at the roys handy at best and yes good junior, if i had a dollar for every time i heard that in local football. Ramsay did not play 1 game in either reserve or senior football last year, and the 2 years before that struggled in reserves football, coming off a broken leg lost all his speed and fitness and again yes very good junior footballer that was 7 years ago only as good as your current form, Coombes no doubt has talent had a rough year off field last year and clearly affected his football, to his credit he chose to help out the reserves at end of year to try and win them a flag will be very handy for the stars.

4.Scibberas, in no way or form should be linked to glenroy, played 1 game last year went overseas for 4 weeks, come back refused to play a game in reserves didn't even show up or let anyone know and left the 2's one short against Cragieburn, (really someone you want around your club)

5.We have recruited well not big names like some of the big budget clubs, Matty Brown has come from bundoora, Steve Golding from CoburgVFL/Hadfield, Abdul Moustafa who has won back 2 back comp medals in under18's, Tanner Neilsen back from calder cannons who played in GF and was prob best in finals 2 years ago, Signed a mid from Heidelburg last week. We are probably key fwd short but leaving no stone unturned at moment and in talks to sign 1.

6.Obviously disappointed that Kite and Ronno want to leave, especially young lachie who this year would of had the fwd line to himself and is the future of the club he's grown up playing for, but at the sametime we can't make these guys play if they don't want to, if there idea of football is to chase big money and flags with a bunch of money hungry mercenaries at big budget clubs good luck to them because at Glenroy we do what we can with what we've got.

7. I read someone have a crack at our culture, obviously haven't been to a game at Sewell Reserve in the last 4 years, 40 blokes in the reserves to choose from every week all have a drink and support the seniors every week down in the famous little pocket, prob one of biggest most loyal supporter bases in EDFL as you prob saw in this years GF, when the reserve GF had more atmosphere than the senior game and to top it off would be the best social club hands down in EDFL so clearly because some on has wrote on big footy our cultures shit it must be true.

Good luck to everyone in 2015, you won't hear from me again

wowee, I have never been on this site and heard from someone, some of the dribble being posted on here about Glenroy and some EX players. As you can see by screen name this will my only post and probably won't even get back on to listen to the bullshit replies.

1.Aaron Kite has put in for a clearance will not be getting cleared contracted player (or sit year out)

2.Lachie Ronaldson put in for clearance will not be getting cleared contracted player.

3.Coombes,Cronin,Ramsay also put in clearance to EDS, Cronin is a good clubman/bloke probably puts half his footy pay back over the bar but is unfit,slow and never really set the world on fire at the roys handy at best and yes good junior, if i had a dollar for every time i heard that in local football. Ramsay did not play 1 game in either reserve or senior football last year, and the 2 years before that struggled in reserves football, coming off a broken leg lost all his speed and fitness and again yes very good junior footballer that was 7 years ago only as good as your current form, Coombes no doubt has talent had a rough year off field last year and clearly affected his football, to his credit he chose to help out the reserves at end of year to try and win them a flag will be very handy for the stars.

4.Scibberas, in no way or form should be linked to glenroy, played 1 game last year went overseas for 4 weeks, come back refused to play a game in reserves didn't even show up or let anyone know and left the 2's one short against Cragieburn, (really someone you want around your club)

5.We have recruited well not big names like some of the big budget clubs, Matty Brown has come from bundoora, Steve Golding from CoburgVFL/Hadfield, Abdul Moustafa who has won back 2 back comp medals in under18's, Tanner Neilsen back from calder cannons who played in GF and was prob best in finals 2 years ago, Signed a mid from Heidelburg last week. We are probably key fwd short but leaving no stone unturned at moment and in talks to sign 1.

6.Obviously disappointed that Kite and Ronno want to leave, especially young lachie who this year would of had the fwd line to himself and is the future of the club he's grown up playing for, but at the sametime we can't make these guys play if they don't want to, if there idea of football is to chase big money and flags with a bunch of money hungry mercenaries at big budget clubs good luck to them because at Glenroy we do what we can with what we've got.

7. I read someone have a crack at our culture, obviously haven't been to a game at Sewell Reserve in the last 4 years, 40 blokes in the reserves to choose from every week all have a drink and support the seniors every week down in the famous little pocket, prob one of biggest most loyal supporter bases in EDFL as you prob saw in this years GF, when the reserve GF had more atmosphere than the senior game and to top it off would be the best social club hands down in EDFL so clearly because some on has wrote on big footy our cultures shit it must be true.

Nice work 1st and last.
BUT we all know what we really happen...
EDS - "Here glenroy take $10K and clear them all". "Glenroy - ok no prob."
OR
Kite and Ronaldson put in clearances to a SANFL club saying they are going over there to play, then get cleared back to EDS later just before the season starts.
We all know threatening to make them sit out a year is never going to happen.

This is actually pretty amusing now. Surely "number 1 critic" is infact Dylan Ramsay himself or worst case his mum

Poor kid, sounds like he was ready to get drafted before doing his ACL and cutting him down in his prime

Gee wiz, all the talk on EDS on here. Never heard so much crap in my life. Don't get me wrong the will be a top 3 side along with Westy and Craigieburn by the looks of it but to have them as this unbeatable side. come on....

A Ramsay - Average at best at westy in back half of 2014. Slow and EDS ground is massive. 4th club in last 2 years says it all. Overpaid and under delivers.
Kite - Well who knows, contracted and needs to get cleared first. Hasn't played best footy for a couple of years
Laverde - Been a gun, inj have taken there tole and is now a shadow of his past. Was borderline being selected in Tulla GF side last year

As I said will be there about but cant see that list of players all of a sudden making them unbeatable.

Malcolm,
We had A Ramsay, Luke Wilson and Brendon Hollow in the Goulburn Valley footy league at Rochy in 2014. Ramsay slow, and couldn't kick over a jam tin. Wilson slow and not good enough on the big grounds. Both parted ways with club mid-year which saved further embarassment for all parties concerned. Clubs in GVFL would not look at either again. Hollow is a gun player but a mercenary. I am confident Marby Park will be his 4th club in 4 years. Enough said ....

haha mate, I know for a fact the culture has absolutely gone down hill in the last 2 years and stats
prove that...
ok here we go,
16 out of 22 players from glenroys grand final side 2 years ago are no longer there.
10 of which who are home grown and have played their whole life at the club. so if they're packin up their bags and leaving there obviously is something wrong down there...
perhaps you might know about some cash that went missing on a footy trip????
or what about a players phone been stolen from the valuebles bag???
hmm....
but your right, the atmosphere that a match with Glenroy involved can be electric!
but Glenroy have done absolutely nothing to keep all the people that make the atmosphere cos they're tighter than a nuns nasty!

AND it's easy to sit there and take pot shots and blokes about their junior career...
but did you know your the only bloke to ever be delisted from
an afl club as CAPTAIN?
AND the only bloke to ever spend 6 pre seasons at "phat farm"!

thank god it's your last post cos everyone can not be bothered reading anymore of your rubbish!

A lot of the posts have gone way to far on this thread, well done to 1st and last for mentioning the positives signings for the roys and i have a few friends down there the culture is just fine, going to be interesting to see how the kite and ronaldson clearances playout

que?
A slight contradiction, especially considering Scibba played predominately in the 2's after departing Sewell reserve.

que?
A slight contradiction, especially considering Scibba played predominately in the 2's after departing Sewell reserve.
Don't forget scibaa finished 3rd in the comp BnF behind the Caruso brothers 2 years ago in b grade, must be able to play

To many blokes bagging players that leave there club. Get on with it and move on

EDFL Division 1