EDFL Division 1

I think Fab is training at Coburg. Did a pre season and still there. Would need to get fitter than when he played at Hillside but does have some talent.

Dilizia was sent packing from Coburg after 3 pre-season sessions in November 2014. Rumour is that Hillside don't want him back either. Used Dizilia's $$ on Ferraro and Stocco. Good decisions IMO.

There could be goals flying in this season
What a group of forwards!
C.Cloke
J.Cloke
K.Carey
A.Kyte
M.Stocco
R.Ferraro
F.Dilizia
C.Trewin
R.Aldrige

Could be some serious shootouts between EDS C'BURN WESTY and HILLSIDE. Some massive scores against weaker sides unfortunately
Kite wont play. Denied clearance from Glenroy and apparently will stand out for the season!

Just looking at the clearances on the EDFL website. Why in the hell would EDS bother trying to recruite some of these players? Sciberras, could hardly get a kick in Greenvale reserves last year. Kite, spends more time on the bench with injuries. Nick Millman, ordinary at best.
I think we could have run with the side we had last season and still finish top 2!

Do not know why douttas would recruit him in the first place, the lad refuses to play ruck despite being an obvious ruckman. Loose cannon. Douttas better off without him

Did they pay him a sign on?? This is why the "good" clubs didnt go near him. Even now, no one wants him.. You might think that Wallis and co. could have turned him around.

To think the Bulldogs rookie listed him for 2 years. They have a lot to answer for as well. Surely they could contact him and try and help him, not just leave kids out there.. Remember his still a young lad and probably all mixed up.
I'm not trying to defend anyone but some of these AFL clubs just dump kids with nothing after promising the world..

To think the Bulldogs rookie listed him for 2 years. They have a lot to answer for as well. Surely they could contact him and try and help him, not just leave kids out there.. Remember his still a young lad and probably all mixed up.
I'm not trying to defend anyone but some of these AFL clubs just dump kids with nothing after promising the world..

I really can't stand that attitude... Nothing against you turbo but... There are plenty of people in the world with far less opportunities than guys that have had a crack at being a professional sports person and needing to baby them.... Just like the afl running courses to afl rookies teaching them about not raping women I've never done such a course but am aware raping women is not on... That's just one example though there are plenty others

Hey Turbs. Prato was a nuff
Did they pay him a sign on?? This is why the "good" clubs didnt go near him. Even now, no one wants him.. You might think that Wallis and co. could have turned him around.

Hey Turbs. Prato was a nuffer when he attended St Patrick's College as a 17 yr old and we failed to teach him otherwise. Arrogant and selfish. When he looks in the mirror he sees Drew Petrie!

Grassbag & Silver Tongue, love your work, and I didn't take anything the wrong way. Agree with everything you said and yes Eddie Prado maybe is a nuffy. I wouldn't like to coach in these days and you need to babysit and nurse some players that are high maintenance.
This big footy is addictive and sometimes we feel obliged to write something.

Hurry up March and bring on the footy practice games. Cricket is boring me.,

Sorry Turbo mate, I was not having a crack at you but simply agreeing. The bloke has big issues and his history in footy proves that. I just happen to have had an insiders view of his burgeoning years. Nothing has changed.

Great pick up for Hillside.
I don't understand why a bloke who is training at VFL level but then pulls out through time constraints, which is perfectly understandable, would not go and play at the next best level ie. A Grade/Premier Division. Especially if the quote above is true and the door has been left open for him to join pre season again next year.
No idea about what he is getting at Hillside but reckon there would be a few A Grade clubs who could have matched Hillside's offer if money is a factor.
I maybe off the mark in this case but in general there is a huge amount of big fish, small pond type of footballers floating around these days.

Knowing Stocco personally for many years now money, adulation or FIGJAM personality do not apply to him. He is quite a relaxed and humble guy whom many will prejudge simply on how he looks etc. Yes he will be renumerated for playing and so he should but so what, that's life. So to is the fact that he and his partner are expecting their first child, VFL commitment difficult to manage for a guy in mid 20's as a chippy and the priority in choosing from many suitors was the security of day in day out on going wages as a chippy. Obviously Hillside were able to assist in that area thus his decision to commit. Strathmore I believe was the other main option.

Lastly, just as a general observation, I don't know how many clubs have been able to stem the rising cost of players when still meeting the cost of utilities, medical, coaches, equipment/supplies and league affiliation fees but I can tell you after being involved with one of the biggest spenders in Premier Division that the Business Networking to create career opportunities for current and potential players leaves a lot to be desired. Many many $$ could be saved through this 'barter trade'.

Example; Health Scotland has committed to Doncaster Sharks in the EFL Div 2 comp. they also have the likes of Ben Johnson and 1-2 other ex AFL guys playing for them. They got him a start in a sustainable career at United Petroleum, no doubt being mentored within their corporate or operations side of the business. Using a nominal figue of $2000 a game that he may be worth, Doncaster may only be paying $1200 with no sign on due to the opportunity and subsequent wage he receives in a new career that should set up the rest of his life. Balwyn do this all the time.

To tie my comments together, Hillside have obviously scoped who and the extent that their networks are able to offer employment opportunities to new recruits who they are chasing. Stocco being exhibit A. They may well have saved a few penny's on his weekly wage simply through business networks. Clubs want to control rising player wages, tap into business networking for employment opportunities that present the player with finance that extends well beyond their footy career.

Knowing Stocco personally for many years now money, adulation or FIGJAM personality do not apply to him. He is quite a relaxed and humble guy whom many will prejudge simply on how he looks etc. Yes he will be renumerated for playing and so he should but so what, that's life. So to is the fact that he and his partner are expecting their first child, VFL commitment difficult to manage for a guy in mid 20's as a chippy and the priority in choosing from many suitors was the security of day in day out on going wages as a chippy. Obviously Hillside were able to assist in that area thus his decision to commit. Strathmore I believe was the other main option.

Lastly, just as a general observation, I don't know how many clubs have been able to stem the rising cost of players when still meeting the cost of utilities, medical, coaches, equipment/supplies and league affiliation fees but I can tell you after being involved with one of the biggest spenders in Premier Division that the Business Networking to create career opportunities for current and potential players leaves a lot to be desired. Many many $$ could be saved through this 'barter trade'.

Example; Health Scotland has committed to Doncaster Sharks in the EFL Div 2 comp. they also have the likes of Ben Johnson and 1-2 other ex AFL guys playing for them. They got him a start in a sustainable career at United Petroleum, no doubt being mentored within their corporate or operations side of the business. Using a nominal figue of $2000 a game that he may be worth, Doncaster may only be paying $1200 with no sign on due to the opportunity and subsequent wage he receives in a new career that should set up the rest of his life. Balwyn do this all the time.

To tie my comments together, Hillside have obviously scoped who and the extent that their networks are able to offer employment opportunities to new recruits who they are chasing. Stocco being exhibit A. They may well have saved a few penny's on his weekly wage simply through business networks. Clubs want to control rising player wages, tap into business networking for employment opportunities that present the player with finance that extends well beyond their footy career.

You are spot on footy apprentice regarding different forms of remuneration. As mentioned I don't know any details about the Stocco and Hillside deal.

I just don't understand the mentality of some blocks who would rather get 40 possessions in a lower division rather than try and play at the highest standard they can. There is plenty of time to shop around at the end of your footy career

There could be groups of teams fighting for relegation/ top 4 / top 2

Relegation
Oak park
Tullamarine
East Keilor

Top 4
Westmeadows
Taylors Lakes
Glenroy

Top 2
Craigeburn
Hillside
Essendon Doutta stars.

Going to make
hillside V Taylors Lakes
Eds V cragieburn
Tullamarine V Oak Park

These types of games are going to be massive games in the context of the teams seasons

There could be groups of teams fighting for relegation/ top 4 / top 2

Relegation
Oak park
Tullamarine
East Keilor

Top 4
Westmeadows
Taylors Lakes
Glenroy

Top 2
Craigeburn
Hillside
Essendon Doutta stars.

Going to make
hillside V Taylors Lakes
Eds V cragieburn
Tullamarine V Oak Park

These types of games are going to be massive games in the context of the teams seasons

Agree on most part, however I would replace Hillside in the top 4 group and Westmeadows into the top 2 group.

Hillside won 5 games last year and have added 2 gun forwards and looks like have lost Dilizia. ( im hearing to KP with a couple of others )

Westmeadows played finals and have had a lot more gains than losses with the likes Tamer Abdullah, Bilal Allouch, Matty Sammut etc who will all be top line mids.

Agree on most part, however I would replace Hillside in the top 4 group and Westmeadows into the top 2 group.

Hillside won 5 games last year and have added 2 gun forwards and looks like have lost Dilizia. ( im hearing to KP with a couple of others )

Westmeadows played finals and have had a lot more gains than losses with the likes Tamer Abdullah, Bilal Allouch, Matty Sammut etc who will all be top line mids.
Good call mate

Heard from a very reliable source that jayden borg from glenroy could also be leaving the roys and joining close mate lachy Ronaldson at eds
Thoughts?

If eds win the div 1 flag...Will their plethora of recruits stick around once they're in premier div?
Like most div 1 footballers l would say no & plus there gone & got players old & way past their used by date in Carey & Ramsey , l would rather be a club like the sharks who are building a list that when it's ready to be promoted to premier division the player's want to challenge themselves at a higher level & hang around , unlike these lazy overpaid player's who will move on to another Div 1 club once there club gets promoted

If eds win the div 1 flag...Will their plethora of recruits stick around once they're in premier div?
Well I believe players like Ramsey and Carey and gervasi won't cut it if there successful but players like
Clothier
Kyte
Ronaldson
Anderson
Scibares
Borg (potentially)
Shylo
Along with young guns
Conor Thompson
Calvaresi
Meyers
Ntalianis
Nabbout
Rogers
Jensen
Thomas
J.Brown
K.Brown
D.Paras

The young players at EDS out weigh the older fellas. So if successful you recruit the players you don't have and the kids gain experience and then you can potentially finish mid table and build on that the following season

WFC have announced another signing, Young bloke from Port Colts who was at Coburg VFL in 2013. Can't recall the name. Midfielder I think. 20 year old

No many clubs go down and come straight back up.

Beside Oak Park who was the last team?

Might have been Avondale heights in 2004

Some of the clubs that have been relegated recently have taken a couple years to get back up like airport west and west coburg

EDFL Division 1