EDFL Division 1

• Thread starter Thread starter muppet007

Taylors lakes have Jackson wright who Imo is the best defender in the comp, Hillside have Weightman , Glenroy have Dulic, Craigieburn have Bennett , J Cloke, Tullamarine Col Laurie and Hynninen if playing.
Oak park have a couple of tall defenders , most sides will have quality down back but not sure if any of them will be good enough for Cloke or Carey if he is fit.
Only play 16 games though so that is averaging over 6 a game if they play all 16 so it may be a big ask.
I don't think there are going to be too many blow out games either ,looks a pretty even comp.
If anyone can do it I reckon it would be C Cloke . No surprise there though.
Apparently Glenroy have picked up 2 big backmen from the bush. Big help to Trav Dulic

With the couple star forward pairings at a few clubs if kite gets through it'll depend on who has the deepest backline as you might stop one but not the second or third forward
Tough year ahead for the backline I reckon

Cam Cloke will be a star of comp (as will Jason) but dont think he will kick 100 goals.Yes he is definately good enough but would think Crazy would try and groom another young local key forward and give him a chance against the lower sides?Not much use Cloke kicking bags against crap teams I wouldnt think.
The good thing is both Clokes can play ff chf chb and ruck.Jason also full back..A luxury any club would love to have.Im sure The presence of these 2 will make team mates stand tall and strive to impress.A real coup for Crazy

Not much use Cloke kicking bags against crap teams I wouldnt think.
This used to be a bigger problem when it was just 2 divs.... Guys were kicking 15-18 goals against sides like jacana moonee valley roxy inflating goals kicked.... Once they split it into three divs those enormous bags of goals dried up and nobody was kicking anywhere near the amount they previously were

Third division has been a roaring success in the edfl by not having the really struggling clubs not playing against far far superior sides pretty much stopping the enormous hidings giving the lower clubs a chance to compete and build

Speaking of when it was just two divs remember playing against jacana when they were really struggling a few years back a fringe 1's player kicked 6 goals for the game in a side that won by about 350 points and was dropped back to the twos the following week

When he was summoned into the selection room it was explained to him yes he had played well but he was playing on witches hats and the 6 goals wasn't enough to keep his spot in the side... Wasn't a happy bloke when he left the room

hi all just moved into the edfl area and looking to play footy around here but not sure of the standard, ive played in the wrfl div 2 in the last couple years how do the 2 comps match up both seniors and reserves?

Edfl slightly higher standard than wrfl

Id be looking at a team in div 2 I played well and found the standard here to be a lot lot tougher

Key backs is a good new subject.. Hillside recruited Ross Weightman who will most likely play on Kade and Cam Cloke. Yes his 32 but still fit, strong and experienced. They also have some good young tall kids with a year or two of senior footy under their belts so should go well on the Kites etc..
Might also depend on the ruckman being able to drop back and fill in the holes..
Weightmans nearing the end of his career will be Handy for hillside who are young an are light on down back . But at times last year he was caught out on key forwards kyte kicked 7 on him in a half last season so saying his the man to play on either cloke or Carey who make kyte look small as a key position player is a big call. Hillside have recruited well I think they will creep into the 4 but lack of height down the spine an young body's will stop them from going all the way. My predictions
Cragieburn
Eds
Westy
Hillside
Taylor's lakes

Goal kicking cam cloke

Comp medal shylo smith

Weightmans nearing the end of his career will be Handy for hillside who are young an are light on down back . But at times last year he was caught out on key forwards kyte kicked 7 on him in a half last season so saying his the man to play on either cloke or Carey who make kyte look small as a key position player is a big call. Hillside have recruited well I think they will creep into the 4 but lack of height down the spine an young body's will stop them from going all the way. My predictions
Cragieburn
Eds
Westy
Hillside
Taylor's lakes

Goal kicking cam cloke

Comp medal shylo smith

Top 4 looks about right, as well as goal kicking and comp medal. Shylo is a gun and should win it. Maybe Stocco can challenge Cam but depends if they both stay at FF all year.

With regards to the Hillside comments your on the ball though I did hear Weightman played well on Mango in the GF. I watched the Hillside vs Tulla game last year at Hillside and a blonde haired young skinny kid did well on Mango for 3 quarters but then Mango took over due to having extra strength late in the game and broke the game open.
Cam Cloke will be hard to match up on for most teams, so clubs will need a 3rd man up to spoil and the ruckman blocking the hole.. Maybe expose them through pace off the backline and quick ball movement.
Kade (if he plays) will be dangerous but has to be slowing down a bit so interesting to see how he goes. If fit or even at 90% will cause some damage. I think Weightman could be a good match up for Kade.
With regards to Kite yes Weightman would be to slow as Kite is a dam good player on his day and to good for div1 when switched on. I lot of people on BF have been bagging him but his quality when he turns it on. Yes maybe doesn't play a physical style of footy hence why he fell just sort of going further in the AFL. But that's more than most of us on here..

I dont think Weightman was recruited to play the major key back role but as you mentioned his experience will be invaluable and his pretty fit for his age.

Cheers mate.

Practice matches this week! Finally some footy. I believe EDS vs Gisborne
Glenroy vs mulwala
Taylors vs Abers
Crazy vs broadford
Any others?
Always tough to get a reading early practice games with player unavailability

Glenroy vs mulwala
Taylors vs Abers
Crazy vs broadford
Any others?

Not the real thing but praccy matches means not long to go till round 1. Do most believe recruiting all done or is there a club or two that might have a few players up their sleeve to be revealed closer to round 1?????

Glenroy vs mulwala
Taylors vs Abers
Crazy vs broadford
Any others?

Westmeadows playing Moama at Moama

Sam Sarkis and Fab Diliza signed at Keilor Park. Is being announced tonight at the club. Good get by the Devils.. These boys will tear the comp apart..
I believe its a high possibility Fay Sarkis and Portelli might follow them but the 2 big ones are signed..

Taylo
Glenroy vs mulwala
Taylors vs Abers
Crazy vs broadford
Any others?
Taylors v Abers??? Really???
Coburg Districts v Sydenham @ CD

Watched half the craigieburn broadford game... If craigieburn had 10 players out other clubs in div 1 lookout

Broadford defenders did ok on the Cloke bros while I was there but you can see the damage they will cause when they get hold of it throughout the year once they are on top... But as I've read on here pretty easy to put them off their game and they start becoming slightly undisciplined

Watched half the craigieburn broadford game... If craigieburn had 10 players out other clubs in div 1 lookout

Broadford defenders did ok on the Cloke bros while I was there but you can see the damage they will cause when they get hold of it throughout the year once they are on top... But as I've read on here pretty easy to put them off their game and they start becoming slightly undisciplined

They (Craigieburn) dropped off a fair bit in the 2nd half, but probably understandable first game and all. Lots of ins still to come a bonus. Reckon it will take a few rounds before they really get cracking.

Was a cracking day for watching footy... Would have been pretty warm out there for the players though

Can we name the 10 players that were out of cragieburns side? Not your fringe players genuine walk up starts that are going to make a difference I counted 3 mcerlain an young an Bennett . Cragieburn looked a much quicker side then last year with a few noticeable inclusions that will be very handy in div one . There backline was a little suspect once again with number 24 looking like a good pick up for them down there . If there going to play that fast moving ball style play on at all costs game there skills have gotta improve as both clokes were very frustrated with the delivery they were given an it started to show with back chat to the umps and a few stupid free give always broadford defenders held there own . Cragieburn held there own and showed signs being there first praccy still coming from a long way back from last year tho . Top 3 finish my predictions

Thought I saw mcerlain in the twos could be wrong. Nick fletcher looked super fit and I agree that the new inclusions looked handy but discipline was a major issue with 3 goals given away from stupid 50 meter penalties. Can cloke looked ominous and will be hard to stop