EDFL Division 1

• Thread starter Thread starter muppet007

It was hard not to get a little excited. 5 U18s playing prominent roles plus still fiddling around with the squad looking at options for round 1. Might get a closer idea to that for the Marby game next week.
Also 10 players still to play that all are capable of walking into that side a 70+ point win a good place to be in.

Ex box hill hawk signs at eds
Don't have a name.

Fresh clearances put forward for the Glenroy players... Maybe a deal has been done??

Westmeadows played Port Colts away. Fairly even first half with Westmeadows then running all over them in the second half to win by 5 goals. Got told westmeadows had about 8 regulars missing as well so pretty good win

Long, long, long way off from what we have been told! Looks like they might be watching the footy this season.

If what we are hearing is correct and Glenroy won't clear them (as per there right if they are contracted) why doesn't Aaron Kite go ask for a release to a premier club, as maybe then Glenroy might budge as its a higher division and not in the same division. Really that's where Kite should be playing anyway especially while his young.. "Take the challenge"

Dont think its a matter of where kite wants to play. More Glenroy being reimbursed for him stuffing them around

As someone who seems to have a fair bit to do with the club or in the loop. What would your view on a ball park figure be to satisfy the clubs view on being reimbursed . What's a div one edfl player worth in this case ? I'm sure both teams are in negotiations an must be getting close to a deal . It would be a shame to see two quality young players watching football from the sidelines but the way it's dragging out it seems to be where it's heading .

In my view i thought for example if was getting $600 per game. times this by how many games in a season. $600 x 18 games = $10,800. thats how much id be asking for him!

Kite was super impressive yesterday kicked 6 or 7

Aaron Ramsey shylo smith dominated

Paul Salburg from riddles creek ex Keilor player played extremely well in a side that lost by a 100

In my view i thought for example if was getting $600 per game. times this by how many games in a season. $600 x 18 games = $10,800. thats how much id be asking for him!

Hey Aussie,
I like following this thread but not sure if you understood bags question. He was asking how much Glenroy would want to approve the clearance. It's not going to be 10k or anywhere near this mate. I know this stuff and your way off the mark for a release in div1 let along a higher division.
Glenroy are well within their rights to hold their position and refuse it, but yes a settlement usually is the common way. But it won't be 10k mate..

Kite has served Glenroy well and came back there from Adelaide rejecting some huge offers. I know Keilor spoke to him at that time with a massive offer but he went to Glenroy for much less. Give him some respect as his been loyal to the roys. No one can dispute this..

Hey Aussie,
I like following this thread but not sure if you understood bags question. He was asking how much Glenroy would want to approve the clearance. It's not going to be 10k or anywhere near this mate. I know this stuff and your way off the mark for a release in div1 let along a higher division.
Glenroy are well within their rights to hold their position and refuse it, but yes a settlement usually is the common way. But it won't be 10k mate..

Kite has served Glenroy well and came back there from Adelaide rejecting some huge offers. I know Keilor spoke to him at that time with a massive offer but he went to Glenroy for much less. Give him some respect as his been loyal to the roys. No one can dispute this..

My info is that when Kite went up the bush and then wanted to come back to Glenroy , the Roy's had to pay money to bail him out of his contact with Mertlyford I think it was. I think Glenroy are in their right to ask for anything they want. Even more so if they have helped him out financially in the past.

Hey mate,
I'm not in the know on this but if he owes the club money or took a sign on which covers 2015 then this should be paid back to Glenroy by the club that wants him. Then the club that wants him get its back from his match payments over the course of the year. That's how the system generally plays out..
The questions here are:
1-does he owe them anything???
2-has he been playing for less than what other clubs have offered him?? Or less than his worth/value.

If the answers are 1-No 2-Yes, then they should consider clearing him to keep a good relationship as he might come back one year..

It would be interesting to understand why he wants to leave to go to another club in the same division?? This is a bit unusual..

Yes your right Cat. Glenroy have bailed Kite out many times! as for the reason he is going to EDS, which is coming from his lips, is a major sponsor of the club and a company he works for told him unless he plays for EDS he wont have a job! Classy sponsor IMO. maybe get them to payout his contract? thoughts?

If he was in this job working full time before going to EDS then they can't do that by law, however did he get the job through the footy club on the condition he signs at EDS well that's a different situation. In that case EDS should have been aware of the situation and they need to strike a deal with Glenroy. Surely EDS didn't expect Glenroy to bend over and agree to his release.
In closing getting players jobs is sometimes what clubs have to do, but do your due diligence and get all the details first before you commit..
Another ongoing footy saga..

If he was in this job working full time before going to EDS then they can't do that by law, however did he get the job through the footy club on the condition he signs at EDS well that's a different situation. In that case EDS should have been aware of the situation and they need to strike a deal with Glenroy. Surely EDS didn't expect Glenroy to bend over and agree to his release.
In closing getting players jobs is sometimes what clubs have to do, but do your due diligence and get all the details first before you commit..
Another ongoing footy saga..
hahahaha Yes i agree Turbo!! it will all work out in the end i guess!

Any other practise match results? No a few but not all of them, hillside, taylors lakes, oak park?

What are glenroy going to get out of not clearing kite and Ronaldson. They won't recieve any sort of money and yeah they might get the luxury of not having to play against them but let's be honest glenroy arent going to be a top 4 team this year anyway. Glemroy really gonna go to the extent of potentially leaving on bad terms with two young talented footballers who have grown up at the club and I would've thought would've been a big chance to return to the club by not clearing them?

By playing hard ball on Kite, all Glenroy will achieve is ensure that no future ex AFL or high profile players will go to Glenroy. Everyone knows Kite could have got significantly more $ had he wanted it but signed with Glenroy and stayed for 4 years, even whilst others deserted them. I never thought much of him as a footballer but I reckon he has served his dues at Glenroy and if he now wants to leave Glenroy should thank him for his time and send him on his way.... and if they have any bad blood simply make sure he earns his first kick when they play Doutta.

What are glenroy going to get out of not clearing kite and Ronaldson. They won't recieve any sort of money and yeah they might get the luxury of not having to play against them but let's be honest glenroy arent going to be a top 4 team this year anyway. Glemroy really gonna go to the extent of potentially leaving on bad terms with two young talented footballers who have grown up at the club and I would've thought would've been a big chance to return to the club by not clearing them?
Your missing the point Rover! Do you actually know why Glenroy refused his clearance? You cant sign a contract in October then say your leaving in February! I know he has been loyal and all that crap, but what would you do if you were Glenroy? be honest, obviously your close to him! hahah

If you sign a contract with phone company and want to get out of it early, what happens? YOU PAY! no different

I would let them going keeping a good relationship in the hope of getting them back, you seem to be very close with glenroy as you seem to pounce on every opportunity you get when something revolving around glenroy is said