EDFL Division 1

Lets not be smart and pretend this didnt happen. No doubt it was just an honest mistake from glenroy but it did occur there was a mad rush on there bench to get the 19th player off but luckily for glenroy they managed to get him off by the time the umps called the count. Pretty harsh for eagles that it resulted in a 50m an goal to glenroy. Umpires the only ppl at the ground that managed to not see the player run off. Very lucky im the end it didnt effect result or in sure there would of been an uproar from craigieburn. Anyway it didnt so lets move on..

Big call by Craigieburn particularly as the player was off within 60 seconds of the quarter starting. Now they will have to pay the price:
Where a count reveals that the opposing Team has the permitted
number of Players on the Playing Surface, the following shall apply:
(a) a field Umpire shall award a Free Kick to the captain or acting
captain of the opposing Team, which shall be taken at the Centre
Circle or where play was stopped, whichever is the greater penalty
against the offending Team;
(b) a Fifty-Metre Penalty shall then be imposed from the position
where the Free Kick was awarded; and
(c) if a field Umpire is of the opinion that a request was made under
Law 5.5.1 primarily to delay play or such request did not have
sufficient merit, the field Umpire shall report the Player who
requested the count
for Time Wasting under Law 19.2.2.

Big call by Craigieburn particularly as the player was off within 60 seconds of the quarter starting. Now they will have to pay the price:
Where a count reveals that the opposing Team has the permitted
number of Players on the Playing Surface, the following shall apply:
(a) a field Umpire shall award a Free Kick to the captain or acting
captain of the opposing Team, which shall be taken at the Centre
Circle or where play was stopped, whichever is the greater penalty
against the offending Team;
(b) a Fifty-Metre Penalty shall then be imposed from the position
where the Free Kick was awarded; and
(c) if a field Umpire is of the opinion that a request was made under
Law 5.5.1 primarily to delay play or such request did not have
sufficient merit, the field Umpire shall report the Player who
requested the count
for Time Wasting under Law 19.2.2.
Correct!

Are u really that bias and arrogant aussieone? It was absolutely not for time wasting there was half an hour left in the game. Glenroy started the last qtr with 19 players on the field! Fact! An i would of thought u guys would stop talking about it because the fact that craigieburn are letting it go despite it being on video is doing u guys a big favour i would have thought!!! Glenroy also no it happened so i think u should drop it

What in the hell are you talking about Bissa? i didnt say a word! i just agreed with the rules mate! i wasnt even at the game so i dont know what happened! relax max! hahaha

Did the 19th player affect the games result. Other then the free kick and 50 after the head count

Don't you people from craigieburn start talking about arrogants, I've never seen or heard so much arrogants in my life like the arrogants showed and spoken up DS AIKEN on Saturday ,
Craigieburn won the game and from what I hear and read you are the one still making a 19th a topic when to me it looked like he was on for no more then 20 seconds and had no impact on anything other then the glenroy coaching panel from I seen , if you want to bring a video tape into it your more then welcome cause I no glenroy played with 17 blokes in the first qtr for a lot longer period then the rules States after a player got sent off (craigieburn kicked 4 goals in this period) ! Rule states 15 minutes , No whinging from there behalf cause you just except the umpires decision so I think you craigieburn people should just except the umpires decision and move on with your 4 points

Last edited by a moderator:
What in the hell are you talking about Bissa? i didnt say a word! i just agreed with the rules mate! i wasnt even at the game so i dont know what happened! relax max! hahaha

Don't worry Aussieone, I like your big footy posts.
By what I read it looks like it was an honest mistake and he came straight off didn't he. But Craigieburn are within there rights to call a count. It's a bit harsh to penalise them though if he was on the ground even for 60 sec, but that's the rule I suppose. Interested in what the umpires seen prior to the count..
Ok let's move on. How did young cox go? I see he was named in the best. Gives his all and tough little bloke. Great kid and character..

Don't worry Aussieone, I like your big footy posts.
By what I read it looks like it was an honest mistake and he came straight off didn't he. But Craigieburn are within there rights to call a count. It's a bit harsh to penalise them though if he was on the ground even for 60 sec, but that's the rule I suppose. Interested in what the umpires seen prior to the count..
Ok let's move on. How did young cox go? I see he was named in the best. Gives his all and tough little bloke. Great kid and character..
not sure Turbo, i wasnt at the game, but apparently he played really well. the whole backline did

Oak Park big winners
We said last week we couldn't see hillside 0-2 now this is where they sit. Have we over estimated the success that hillside should have this season or has oak park snuck up on all of us and can challenge for the finals?

Don't you people from craigieburn start talking about arrogants, I've never seen or heard so much arrogants in my life like the arrogants showed and spoken up DS AIKEN on Saturday ,
Craigieburn won the game and from what I hear and read you are the one still making a 19th a topic when to me it looked like he was on for no more then 20 seconds and had no impact on anything other then the glenroy coaching panel from I seen , if you want to bring a video tape into it your more then welcome cause I no glenroy played with 17 blokes in the first qtr for a lot longer period then the rules States after a player got sent off (craigieburn kicked 4 goals in this period) ! Rule states 15 minutes , No whinging from there behalf cause you just except the umpires decision so I think you craigieburn people should just except the umpires decision and move on with your 4 points
Are u kidding here or what? Having 17 on the field for a guy punching a craigieburn player in the face and getting sent off doesnt 'square' up that they then had 19 later in the game. Thats the most pointless argument ive heard its got nothing to do with it. Lets forget that comment hey that is just ridiculous, it was not the eagles fault what happened. That is a very ordinary post. Maybe its time we start talking about this weeks games hey

Last edited by a moderator:
Are u kidding here or what? H the byeaving 17 on the field for a guy punching a craigieburn player in the face and getting sent off doesnt 'square' up that they then had 19 later in the game. Thats the most pointless argument ive heard its got nothing to do with it. Lets forget that flogs comment hey that is just ridiculous, it was not the eagles fault what happened. That is a very ordinary post. Maybe its time we start talking about this weeks games hey
you crack me up Bissa! yes, lets move on. Couple of good games i think. Roys v Taylors should be a beauty! Westy v Oakers will be closer than what a lot of people think IMO. Crazyburn have the bye (Tulla)

Craigieburn won the game and from what I hear and read you are the one still making a 19th a topic when to me it looked like he was on for no more then 20 seconds and had no impact on anything other then the glenroy coaching panel from I seen , if you want to bring a video tape into it your more then welcome cause I no glenroy played with 17 blokes in the first qtr for a lot longer period then the rules States after a player got sent off (craigieburn kicked 4 goals in this period) ! Rule states 15 minutes , No whinging from there behalf cause you just except the umpires decision so I think you craigieburn people should just except the umpires decision and move on with your 4 points you flogs

As someone who watched the game I'm glad glenroy got the 19th Man off before the count as we wouldn't have seen the last qtr of the game which from the sidelines was a cracker to watch and must say the atmosphere at DS was great a big crowd from both teams and a very loud last qtr this is what we should be talking about, yes it didn't affect the game and I think where getting away from what was a excellent game to watch, time to move on!! by the way the send off rule is for the rest of the qtr for the first card not a time period..
Looks to be a competitive year by the results, any team could get up if they play well on the day, the standard in div 1 is getting better

you crack me up Bissa! yes, lets move on. Couple of good games i think. Roys v Taylors should be a beauty! Westy v Oakers will be closer than what a lot of people think IMO. Crazyburn have the bye (Tulla)

WESTY @home 27points
GLENROY @ home 7 points
HILLSIDE @home 47points
CRAIGIEBURN away by 88points

As someone who watched the game I'm glad glenroy got the 19th Man off before the count as we wouldn't have seen the last qtr of the game which from the sidelines was a cracker to watch and must say the atmosphere at DS was great a big crowd from both teams and a very loud last qtr this is what we should be talking about, yes it didn't affect the game and I think where getting away from what was a excellent game to watch, time to move on!! by the way the send off rule is for the rest of the qtr for the first card not a time period..
Looks to be a competitive year by the results, any team could get up if they play well on the day, the standard in div 1 is getting better

I think you'll find the rule has changed. 15 minute time period. So if it's 5 minutes in 2nd quarter then it's another 10 in the 3rd. Makes it fairer for the team that has the advantage. Cause he gets sent off with 1 minute to go in a quarter then no great advantage. Now the team will get 14minutes in the next quarter

On the edfl website, unless this doesn't count in the seniors which would be silly

Temporary Order Off Rule20.4 In all reserve and under age games a Field Umpire may order a player

from the ground for the remainder of the quarter without reporting the player where the player is engaged in conduct or commits acts or omissions which could potentially constitute a reportable offence or would otherwise bring the game of football into disrepute.
  1. No player will be allowed to replace a player temporarily removed from the ground for the remainder of the quarter.

2. 20.6 Any player ordered from the ground on two occasions during a game under this Rule:

(a) Shall not be permitted to return to the ground for the remainder of the match.
    (b) Shall be automatically reported for committing the reportable offence of misconduct.

(c) Can be replaced by the player’s Club with another player at the start of

the following quarter.

3. 20.7 A field umpire shall, in addition to informing a Player that he or she is to

immediately leave the Playing Surface, signal that the Player has been ordered off the Playing Surface by pointing to the Interchange Area. He or she shall hold aloft a red card to signal that the Player has been ordered off for the remainder of the match or a yellow card to signify that the Player has been ordered off for the remainder of the quarter. [Amended December 2010].

C:\Users\marc\Documents\Work Folder\Rules & By Laws\EDFL Statement of By Laws Final Revised 2013.docP a g e |26

On the edfl website, unless this doesn't count in the seniors which would be silly

Temporary Order Off Rule20.4 In all reserve and under age games a Field Umpire may order a player

from the ground for the remainder of the quarter without reporting the player where the player is engaged in conduct or commits acts or omissions which could potentially constitute a reportable offence or would otherwise bring the game of football into disrepute.
  1. No player will be allowed to replace a player temporarily removed from the ground for the remainder of the quarter.

2. 20.6 Any player ordered from the ground on two occasions during a game under this Rule:

(a) Shall not be permitted to return to the ground for the remainder of the match.
    (b) Shall be automatically reported for committing the reportable offence of misconduct.

(c) Can be replaced by the player’s Club with another player at the start of

the following quarter.

3. 20.7 A field umpire shall, in addition to informing a Player that he or she is to

immediately leave the Playing Surface, signal that the Player has been ordered off the Playing Surface by pointing to the Interchange Area. He or she shall hold aloft a red card to signal that the Player has been ordered off for the remainder of the match or a yellow card to signify that the Player has been ordered off for the remainder of the quarter. [Amended December 2010].

C:\Users\marc\Documents\Work Folder\Rules & By Laws\EDFL Statement of By Laws Final Revised 2013.docP a g e |26
Yeah i think the EDFL need to update most of there rules! A lot of there rules are very vague.

Given craigieburn
Move on Oldman!!
won the game and I'm sure Glenroy didnt do it on purpose I reckon everyone should move on. My tips after picking all the winners last week are
Craigieburn by plenty
Taylor's in a tight one over Glenroy
Westy to remain undefeated Ina close one 13 points and hillside to notch a comfortable win

Not at the game stop throwing off

EDFL Division 1