EDFL Division 1

Not talkin bout the money biut the fact of havin smoke blown up there asses bout how good they are asked to contract for 2 years for $150 then find out they are payin outsiders massave amounts of money , feel abit used I think

Oldest trick in the book. How many clubs sign kids to $150-200, they spruik to their mates about it and then play 2-3 senior games. All good to sign for a few bob but ya gotta be good enough to run out at 2pm to get it.

That's why so many pox level clubs are battling to recruit, surely a guaranteed senior game at a lesser level for $100-150 is good grounding, but no said young blokes think 2-3 senior games are worthy of $300 or more ..... get over yourselves boys, get the runs on the board and a nice quid can be made.

Seems the Craigieburn kids are a bit soft and would rather the club sit in the current level of mediocrity to protect themselves and there own self interest rather than see the club rebound back to the force that an club in an area as big as Craigieburm deserves to have. If you are not good enough, play in the Ressies, support the club and have some cans and watch the big boys at 2pm or head up the road to Wallan or Kilmore who I am sure will be happy to have you.

Ok so when did local footy become a elephant grave yard for ex afl players lookin to feather there nests and not a fantastic place for kids and blokes that never got to or never will get a chance to play the big league's if theses kids dont get a chance footy at a grass roots level will be history teams like craigieburn played and won flags before all these ex afl blokes started shopping themselves for profit

Seems the Craigieburn kids are a bit soft and would rather the club sit in the current level of mediocrity to protect themselves and there own self interest rather than see the club rebound back to the force that an club in an area as big as Craigieburm deserves to have. If you are not good enough, play in the Ressies, support the club and have some cans and watch the big boys at 2pm or head up the road to Wallan or Kilmore who I am sure will be happy to have you.

Totally agree. Crazyburn look to be having a real crack, and are trying to bring in some quality players to a club which should be performing to a higher standard than in recent times.

Ok so when did local footy become a elephant grave yard for ex afl players lookin to feather there nests and not a fantastic place for kids and blokes that never got to or never will get a chance to play the big league's if theses kids dont get a chance footy at a grass roots level will be history teams like craigieburn played and won flags before all these ex afl blokes started shopping themselves for profit
The reality is that this is what local footy has become whether u like it or not, and if the eagles dont recruit some quality players they will not win a premiership its as simple as that. They have recruited well, retained all there current list and will be a stronger team on an off the field because of it, if u wanna stick to just the locals an the young kids the harsh reality is that u will be making up the numbers, simple.

Im just an avid footy watcher that likes to go down to the local footy oval and watch 3 bloody decent games of footy and im just using craigieburn as an example of the state of local footy these blokes shoppin them selves around for exorbitant amounts of money out of clubs that supported them and with out whom none would have achived the heights they atained why not come back and give a bit back just a unbiased observer

Why should they when someone is willing to pay them for it.

Ok so what about those blokes that have come through juniors get to 18s have a real crack play ressies trying to get a run in seniors cause lets face it EDFL play some decent footy have no chance of playin so what do theses kids have to aspire to. So they leave and eventually you lose that core group of people that have supported these club and lets face it grass roots footy is struggling l went and watched most of the EDFL finals this year and the crowds wernt big

They have to have ability to be in the best 21 and if they're not they suck it up and play 2's or they leave... Pretty simple really... Life doesn't award you with a job just because you applied for one!

He is a gun ruckman! Craigieburn recruiting very well

It's pretty obvious the club has had a good look at itself and said bottom of div 1 isn't where we want to be.

I remain confident anyone playing good footy will get a crack at senior level.

They have to have ability to be in the best 21 and if they're not they suck it up and play 2's or they leave... Pretty simple really... Life doesn't award you with a job just because you applied for one!
exactly right:thumbsu:
Society as a whole seems to have a hard time with this concept.

So are we giving the premiership to craigieburn now? Or is it a 2 horse race between the eagles and the stars? Any news on recruits at the stars?

EDS lost heaps but slowly starting the recovery process. I believe it will be between them and Craigieburn from what we have heard so far. Been very quiet from EDS but don't think it will stay that way for too much longer.

Still more than happy to stick with my Oct 22 post about the Eagles. Clearly white hot favourites with the inclusion of that giant of a ruckman. The big question is have Douttas missed the boat on signing some big recruits? Or is there plenty of time left for the rest of the competition to grab some high quality recruits? It seems that clubs have moved incredibly quickly on signing players.

West meadows have recruited well I hear and Taylor's Lakes are always there abouts and finished so strongly last years that they won't need to add much to ensure they are top 4 again. Tulla have lost Manning but have they kept there core group of players together?

Not so sure your comment is true about the core group at Tulla staying together.

The leading goalkickers are gone - one of them following Manning to Lancefield along with a few other players from the "core" group.

The ex Westi coach might have his hands full however sure he can recruit some.

Westy add McLean from apw, tails back from to, couple from tulla, and young blokes from rdfl league.
Tulla to loose mango, Kent, both Lauries, vernon, Egan. Will be the big sliders next year with the club struggling all round
Cburn, the ones we know but still more to come
Glenroy, picked up a couple kids nothing flash yet. Look to be leaving are kite and Morrison
Stars, getting closer to getting pevrill with the essondon connection but have lost quite a few
Lakes will miss a few due to retirement

Looks to be a great year, westy the favs as they were near shouts last year and have only added

Westmeadows have also added Cameron Trewin from Avondale / Tatura, Tamer Abdullah from Abers, a young kid from Northern saints Bilal Allouch and Avery from Yarraville. ( its all posted on their facebook page, so not trying to hide it lol )
I would think they will be there about
Tulla are in all sorts, 6 have followed Manning. Maybe the wrong call to sack him so late ? A heap have left / Retired, with no depth and no juniors they could slide badly.
Lakes quite, Oak park talking to a few but nothing really done, Hillside quiet.
All the rage Craigieburn, have added 5 quality but did finish 8th with 3 wins..
DS were not that bad in premier div, so they will be hard to beat

Agree that EDS would be favourites, even if they lose a few there Dessie's finished 4th in Premier and u/18 5th so should have heaps of depth to replace those that leave.

Depends who they've lost? If it's the FF from the Geelong league, the 4 blokes they signed as a package from Sunbury or wherever and/or Kardefeldt, Morris, Rounds etc then they are big losses. But if it's their fringe players and they keep most of the aforementioned players then they'd be favourites for sure as they were the best side to get relegated in a fair while.

Westmeadows have also added Cameron Trewin from Avondale / Tatura, Tamer Abdullah from Abers, a young kid from Northern saints Bilal Allouch and Avery from Yarraville. ( its all posted on their facebook page, so not trying to hide it lol )
I would think they will be there about
Tulla are in all sorts, 6 have followed Manning. Maybe the wrong call to sack him so late ? A heap have left / Retired, with no depth and no juniors they could slide badly.
Lakes quite, Oak park talking to a few but nothing really done, Hillside quiet.
All the rage Craigieburn, have added 5 quality but did finish 8th with 3 wins..
DS were not that bad in premier div, so they will be hard to beat
Westy signed plenty but how good are they? Abdullah an trewin couldnt get games at premier div clubs, an the rest are certainly far from A graders. But will be great for there depth at the club and competition for spots will make them a better side than this year u would think, they should be top 4 again. Think tulla an lakes will come back to the pack, gut feel says sydenham will suprise a few, craigieburn to push into top 4 i think after 4-5 High quality signings, clokes will be enormous, young and page gun players. Hows east keilor expected to perform?

Struggled for games at finals calibre sides on Prem div, should be good enough to make an impact at the lower grade.
Tulla in all sorts by the sounds of it, funny for all of the talk that half the side was leaving due to him, a decent number have left anyway, with a number following him to Lancefield (or so I'm told).

EDFL Division 1