EDFL Division 1

Most of your new recruits were enticed to the club by the all mighty dollar, which was more than what other clubs were offering. That's not opinion, that's fact.

Previous years Paccos budget would have been around the Marbi, Airport west mark. This year it would be more than Keilor and up around the Strathmore, Greenvale mark.

My old friend Weeney, long time between drinks mate.

Money is sometimes not the only enticement but:
-how the side is looking and how the will fit in.
-because they know people there.
-Could also be which club they found to be better during the interviewing process. What we need to remember is Pacco haven't won an A Grade premiership so this is something that also attracts players. It also must be noted the current coach has been involved with the club for a long time and is passionate about the club which is a bit different to most coaches, so this passion & commitment can only be a positive. "But" yes players are getting paid well in this day and age..

I know a guy who went to another club because he had a good friend there and it was a bit closer to home. We wanted him as well, and was prepared to "maybe" make a better offer, but he said no thanks, I'm happy with the current offer.. So there are people out there who are decent people and not just going to the highest bidder..These are quality people in my book.

Your comments regarding where they sit regarding player budget, is pretty similar to my post..

Back from the country mate to give us your two cents? How has the sun been up Mulwala way?
Been overseas Chairman, what have i missed? You playing Saturday? Some interesting games on this weekend. Crazyburn v Oakers should be a belter! Westy v Tulla should be close too. EDS v Roys will be interesting dont you think?

Hey Product2,
Like your work on big footy, but for the record Pacco are not close to Abers.

Pacco would be about 4th or 5th in order of player payments in the EDFL behind Abers, Strathmore, Greenvale & Avondale (in no particular order). Yes we have recruited well (and smart) but maybe surprising some people as we are coming from the lower end of the ladder. Pacco's top 12 would be rated lower in average against at least 3 other clubs. Anyway that's my opinion.

For the record Abers, Strathmore & Avondale have recruited more players than they lost from last year, so I'm pretty much on the mark. I'm not sure about Greenvale has don't know many people down there..

Anyway who cares as surely we enjoy the quality of these players in our league.. As long as clubs stick to there budgets and pay players I don't see a problem with it..

From what I read & hear everyone is jealous of what Abers pay their players, and it's been going on for years. Just put your head down and take up the challenge to try and knock them off. I suppose Abers are the Collingwood of the EDFL but good luck to them. You go into there social rooms and they have a lot of people working hard, weather that be behind the bar, canteen or whatever..Its also an expensive area to reside in, so selling raffle tickets is no problem..

Anyway bring on rounds 6 & 7 to see if Pacco can continue on there merry way and be be serious challenger. Some tough games but the Pacco panthers say bring it on, as we are ready...

You're getting worse by the day Turbo.

As an example last weeks teams - Pacco had 16 players that are new to the club either this year or joined last year - Abers had 7..

Cheers

Hey Product2,
Like your work on big footy, but for the record Pacco are not close to Abers.

Pacco would be about 4th or 5th in order of player payments in the EDFL behind Abers, Strathmore, Greenvale & Avondale (in no particular order). Yes we have recruited well (and smart) but maybe surprising some people as we are coming from the lower end of the ladder. Pacco's top 12 would be rated lower in average against at least 3 other clubs. Anyway that's my opinion.

For the record Abers, Strathmore & Avondale have recruited more players than they lost from last year, so I'm pretty much on the mark. I'm not sure about Greenvale has don't know many people down there..

Anyway who cares as surely we enjoy the quality of these players in our league.. As long as clubs stick to there budgets and pay players I don't see a problem with it..

From what I read & hear everyone is jealous of what Abers pay their players, and it's been going on for years. Just put your head down and take up the challenge to try and knock them off. I suppose Abers are the Collingwood of the EDFL but good luck to them. You go into there social rooms and they have a lot of people working hard, weather that be behind the bar, canteen or whatever..Its also an expensive area to reside in, so selling raffle tickets is no problem..

Anyway bring on rounds 6 & 7 to see if Pacco can continue on there merry way and be be serious challenger. Some tough games but the Pacco panthers say bring it on, as we are ready...
Old mate Turbo, with every Pacco victory, the "WE" factor has increased. You are a classic mate.

You're getting worse by the day Turbo.

As an example last weeks teams - Pacco had 16 players that are new to the club either this year or joined last year - Abers had 7..

Cheers

Puff I thought you were one of the smart ones. What I wrote was the other "high end spending clubs" have improved there lists from last year so I could guess that there budgets have got slightly bigger in 2015 than 2014. Agree Pacco have recruited a lot of players just to be competitive with the top clubs. Pacco (we) did turn over a lot of players after the 2013 season mainly due to a full review of player payments. Remember Pacco are coming from a long way back as during most of 2014 were in relegation zone.
Most people seem to be surprised by Pacco's performance this year but even you would agree it's good for the competition to see another team going well. Some people really sh## me on here, but I know your a smart man and know that the Pacco football department would never spend the money some fools on here think we have spent.

Now to pushtothecone, I'm not quite sure who you follow as your on a few leagues like me.. Cmon tell us, as you know I'm a Pacco boy these days. Well jumped on board last year so seen the ups & downs in a short period of time.

Now to this Willow chap out at Craigieburn, I do seem to be copping a few cheap whacks lately from some people but I still have plenty of followers as would have to get a gig in the big footy team of the year. I'm probably going to line up at CHB and then drift down to the forward pocket late in the game and take a hanger over full forward Puff.. Willow you need to give us a bit more input to get into the starting 18 otherwise you will be starting on the pine in the red vest..

I've been training for a few weeks now on my own and planning on heading down to Tuesday training next week and might look to play round 7 and start in the twos lining up on Puff. We match up well for size and there could be some big hits. I'm sure to attract a good crowd as well..
Ha ha..

Anyway boys got to go as just seen my merchandise arrive. Got myself a Pacco beanie, windbreak jacket, umbrella and bumper sticker.. Best not tell you what the bumper sticker says!!

Should I retire after this due to ongoing criticism or keep providing some "mail".

Cheers

Puff I thought you were one of the smart ones. What I wrote was the other "high end spending clubs" have improved there lists from last year so I could guess that there budgets have got slightly bigger in 2015 than 2014. Agree Pacco have recruited a lot of players just to be competitive with the top clubs. Pacco (we) did turn over a lot of players after the 2013 season mainly due to a full review of player payments. Remember Pacco are coming from a long way back as during most of 2014 were in relegation zone.
Most people seem to be surprised by Pacco's performance this year but even you would agree it's good for the competition to see another team going well. Some people really sh## me on here, but I know your a smart man and know that the Pacco football department would never spend the money some fools on here think we have spent.

Now to pushtothecone, I'm not quite sure who you follow as your on a few leagues like me.. Cmon tell us, as you know I'm a Pacco boy these days. Well jumped on board last year so seen the ups & downs in a short period of time.

Now to this Willow chap out at Craigieburn, I do seem to be copping a few cheap whacks lately from some people but I still have plenty of followers as would have to get a gig in the big footy team of the year. I'm probably going to line up at CHB and then drift down to the forward pocket late in the game and take a hanger over full forward Puff.. Willow you need to give us a bit more input to get into the starting 18 otherwise you will be starting on the pine in the red vest..

I've been training for a few weeks now on my own and planning on heading down to Tuesday training next week and might look to play round 7 and start in the twos lining up on Puff. We match up well for size and there could be some big hits. I'm sure to attract a good crowd as well..
Ha ha..

Anyway boys got to go as just seen my merchandise arrive. Got myself a Pacco beanie, windbreak jacket, umbrella and bumper sticker.. Best not tell you what the bumper sticker says!!

Should I retire after this due to ongoing criticism or keep providing some "mail".

Cheers
I've seen you go the whack turbo happy I was having a kick on your side and not against you

Ha ha..

Cheers
4k a quarter is what I'm hearing at pacoe I don't no where that sits with the big boys but that's the mail

Think you might be dreaming here Puff.

McLean
Blackwell
Vassal
Blake
Kefford
Allan
Toy
Cubillo
Patak
Oswald
Reimers
Lynch
Johns
McNamara
Davis

That's 15. And we all know what they are getting paid north of. Plus the other 10 that are getting $6-800. There is a bloke who can't get a gig on the ball who is on $1250 a week. That is serious money for a half forward who doesn't kick goals.

Only one who could get close and they probably are in Pascoe Vale.

And you know what... I don't care. We all know Abers are spending like it is the Boxing day sales. They have for the last 4 years. But they are not Robinson Crusoe. PV, GV, Strathmore and Keilor all spend plenty. Abers are just pipping them right now.

It's just a fact. If Abers don't spend it they can't win it. Simple.

Even when they do spend it, they dont win it.

4k a quarter is what I'm hearing at pacoe I don't no where that sits with the big boys but that's the mail

Billy, that's not correct but if you believe this then we are still under 3 or 4 other clubs in premier. Craigieburn are also around this mark yeah..
Then again if you have the $$ you have the right to spend it so good on them all..

As I said, "if" Pacco can win there next 2 games it sets up one of the best games you will see in any metro/country footy when Abers play Pacco. I know Abers will make a killing on the day with the bumper crowd..

For the record Pacco will only get better in the second half of the season..

Billy, that's not correct but if you believe this then we are still under 3 or 4 other clubs in premier. Craigieburn are also around this mark yeah..
Then again if you have the $$ you have the right to spend it so good on them all..

As I said, "if" Pacco can win there next 2 games it sets up one of the best games you will see in any metro/country footy when Abers play Pacco. I know Abers will make a killing on the day with the bumper crowd..

For the record Pacco will only get better in the second half of the season..
Not bagging them just sayn and I wouldn't have a clue what others are spending but 16k a games a few raffle tickets

Come on

Ha ha..

Cheers
Come on Turbo don't be so defensive, I love your posts. Just needed to call you out because all pre-season you said you didn't follow a particular club and now you're wearing your Pacco polo up at Broadie shopping centre.

My club? North Ken.

Come on

Come on Turbo don't be so defensive, I love your posts. Just needed to call you out because all pre-season you said you didn't follow a particular club and now you're wearing your Pacco polo up at Broadie shopping centre.

My club? North Ken.

Now let me put you straight on a few things.

I've always stated I follow Pacco but also follow a VFL team..

I don't live anywhere near Broadie..

North Ken, yeah no worries.. Now your got me interested & thinking as I knew people there. I used to go to every Ken Store Sunday games back in the day ( in Brunswick near the zoo) but I was only young..

it could be on this week at Sewell Reserve.

Glenroy V Essendon Doutta Stars.

Very spiteful clash brewing.
Can you give some reasons why that would be the case
Both clubs got what they wanted
Div 1 is the closest , fairest comp in the EDFL
Both clubs will be chasing the win against each other
Or is it just peanuts like you want to stir the pot and try and make something of nothing
Maybe do us all a favour and get involved with a club at committee level to see how much goes into the running and help , rather than making ****wit comments

Ha ha..

Cheers

Pacco turned over there whole list after a "FULL REVIEW OF PLAYER PAYMENTS"
What a crock! It is fact 20 odd players WALKED OUT of that club because of the way the club was being run and how the players there who had been there for years were being pushed aside by the new recruits who were coming in and out of that revolving door. then refused to pay the players after the last game of 2013 after crying poor. That is fact. Only 2 players from the premiership team in 2011 left at that club.

EDFL Division 1