EDFL Juniors

Like an AFL club, local clubs need to get their sh*t together off the field. And that’s not just finances, that’s building great cultures from U8’s and up right through the junior ranks. And most importantly, that includes all the parents.
Kids just want to play footy, and the vast majority don’t like the crap that some kids give out from some clubs that appear to go unchecked. Then you have the parents….I’ve seen plenty that are absolute nightmares so no wonder their kids are brats.

My sons first year in u9’s I decided to be coach, we played against Keilor and we had 18 and Keilor had 16. Usually we’d give a kid a quarter each to the oppo so the numbers are even but the Keilor coach said they’d play as 16 so we did. A bonehead parent came out onto the ground to confront me about how unfair it was twice, I pointed out this was a mutual decision between coaches. To cut the story short, the Keilor coach came up to me after the game and profusely apologised and said she would be making sure the club dealt with the parent adequately.
It’s not a coincidence that Keilor is a big club!!

And parents are quite happy to pay more, as I am, to ensure their children are a part of a club with a good culture. I know my footy club has moved on a few families that weren’t prepared to follow the club ethos and that stuff gets talked about when prospective parents ask other parents about joining the club or what’s a good footy club to have their kids play at.
I chose the footy club my son plays for after I spoke to a mate that captained Glenroy a couple of decades ago, I live in Glenroy so naturally I thought that would be best. He just straight out said to join the club we are currently at and who his daughter also now plays for. Speaks volumes I reckon as to why some clubs are big clubs.

Teaguey - So you decided to go to a club further away from home because you were told too by a mate? OK , I kinda get that... You say clubs need to get their sh*t together off the field... Let's take Glenroy for example..... How exactly are they meant to get their sh*t together when families will not even go there to experience the club for themselves... Hypothetically , if you were to go to Glenroy what would be your contribution to helping them get their sh*t together? Or are you happy just being another Flog Strathmore Parent?

My point has been very eloquently answered by yourself. Thank you

And it wasn’t just a mate, it was someone that was club captain and still to this day will go back there for functions when asked. Just wouldn’t have his kids there.

Btw, I do quite a bit for the footy club actually. Over the years, been a coach/Team manager/games official/bar duties/registrar/junior coordinator.

Seen a lot of stuff happen at a lot of clubs on GameDay that makes me happy to be where my son is at. Funnily enough, never seen any issues at the bigger clubs. Funny that!!

My point has been very eloquently answered by yourself. Thank you

And it wasn’t just a mate, it was someone that was club captain and still to this day will go back there for functions when asked. Just wouldn’t have his kids there.

Btw, I do quite a bit for the footy club actually. Over the years, been a coach/Team manager/games official/bar duties/registrar/junior coordinator.

Seen a lot of stuff happen at a lot of clubs on GameDay that makes me happy to be where my son is at. Funnily enough, never seen any issues at the bigger clubs. Funny that!!

Wasn't hard to work out.... Never seen anything at the bigger clubs? Try opening your eye's to what happens at your club and places like Keilor and Abers , they are no different to other clubs , all have their issues , just different types.... I agree that there are clubs that need cleaning up , unfortunately for some it is harder than others with the demographic , so unless good people get involved it will never change. By good people I mean people who are willing to get in and do the hard yards, show their kids what community spirit is all about instead of driving past and lobbing at a club already established and enjoying the easy ride... Elitist knobs , no wonder kids expect everything easy these days. Anyway good luck sitting on your pedestal , Flog

Umm, In my case Glenroy is an older club by close to a decade.

It’s got nothing to do with being an established club or not, it’s about the environment and the values of the coaches, participants and particularly the parents. Clubs that don’t appear to do anything about nightmare parents, which unfortunately resonates down to the kids that don’t know any better, or clubs that have coaches that use berating as a tactic they think will get the best out of kids don’t provide the environment most parents want their kids to be in.

It’s the kids that are the backbone of every local footy club, provide the right environment and have them follow some strong values whilst having consequences for those that don’t and they will come.

If you don’t understand that and want to sit on a pedestal of some sort of perceived exclusiveness getting angry, then nothing will ever change.

All this will do is eventually see smaller weaker clubs die..
As to clubs getting it together, it’s really the chicken and the egg

Umm, In my case Glenroy is an older club by close to a decade.

It’s got nothing to do with being an established club or not, it’s about the environment and the values of the coaches, participants and particularly the parents. Clubs that don’t appear to do anything about nightmare parents, which unfortunately resonates down to the kids that don’t know any better, or clubs that have coaches that use berating as a tactic they think will get the best out of kids don’t provide the environment most parents want their kids to be in.

It’s the kids that are the backbone of every local footy club, provide the right environment and have them follow some strong values whilst having consequences for those that don’t and they will come.

If you don’t understand that and want to sit on a pedestal of some sort of perceived exclusiveness getting angry, then nothing will ever change.

Was trying to refrain from posting but thought I might reply briefly.

Glenroy have one of the best “senior” presidents in the league at present so if you have an issue go speak to him as I’m sure he would sort it out.
However I do agree with you and totally understand why you did what you did. I can recall a number or incidents with this at junior level from years ago ( talking 15 years) that still I remember so unfortunately bad incidents can stay in people’s minds for a long time.

Junior footy is about developing kids and seeing them improve over time. Not necessarily premierships you win. A lot of people forget this even the big clubs.

Example I seen recently: A bigger kid playing juniors was running around trying to knock kids over with late hits and dirty play. However he would only target smaller, lighter opposition players or do it late. When it was his turn to go the footy he wouldn’t pick it up but kick it off the ground. He did appear to have ability, so my my question is why hasn’t the coaching group taught him to focus on the ball and pick it up and carry it to his advantage and use his size to become an advantage rather than just be a bully.. Surely one of the coaches has some kind of footy knowledge. However what is there mindset..
I seen most of his teammates didn’t like his style of play and would say to others “are you ok” and “we don’t like him either”.

Cheers.

Was trying to refrain from posting but thought I might reply briefly.

Glenroy have one of the best “senior” presidents in the league at present so if you have an issue go speak to him as I’m sure he would sort it out.
However I do agree with you and totally understand why you did what you did. I can recall a number or incidents with this at junior level from years ago ( talking 15 years) that still I remember so unfortunately bad incidents can stay in people’s minds for a long time.

Junior footy is about developing kids and seeing them improve over time. Not necessarily premierships you win. A lot of people forget this even the big clubs.

Example I seen recently: A bigger kid playing juniors was running around trying to knock kids over with late hits and dirty play. However he would only target smaller, lighter opposition players or do it late. When it was his turn to go the footy he wouldn’t pick it up but kick it off the ground. He did appear to have ability, so my my question is why hasn’t the coaching group taught him to focus on the ball and pick it up and carry it to his advantage and use his size to become an advantage rather than just be a bully.. Surely one of the coaches has some kind of footy knowledge. However what is there mindset..
I seen most of his teammates didn’t like his style of play and would say to others “are you ok” and “we don’t like him either”.

Cheers.
What was the club this Big Kid was playing at Turbo?

The League seem to be in the sh*t regarding its decision on the Girls final series.

The only issue is marby having a sook. The problem is their under 12 girls will finish 3rd and won’t get to play finals because the league changed the structure. Has nothing to do with them being girls.
The league has made lots of decision across the whole competition effecting boys girls males and females.
Marby are trying to use social media to blackmail the league into getting what they want. Hopefully the league stands up to them and says no. Because it will set a precedent that other clubs will follow to get what they want.

So are juniors finals done for the year now, or will all divisions play a 1v2 GF ??? thoughts
If lockdown doesn’t end by next Sunday I’m guessing all junior finals may be called off or maybe just a 1 v 2 GF but unlikely.
The EDFL just don’t have the required umpires to have all the GF’s on the same day that’s why they have to stagger them. Plus senior finals start in 2 weeks and that’s Saturday & Sunday stretching resources even further.

As it currently stands for Juniors

Division 1 to 4 Boys - 1v4 and 2v3, winners in to GF
Division 5 and below Boys - 1v2 in GF
All Junior Girls Dvisions - 1v2 in GF
That’s not correct. There is no Boys division in under 10’s, 12’s or 14’s. There is only mixed and girls.
So not sure how people can say the league is being sexiest to boys over girls when their isn’t a boys division till they reach under 16’s.
But the truth never gets told with the new ‘WOKE’ community.

That’s not correct. There is no Boys division in under 10’s, 12’s or 14’s. There is only mixed and girls.
So not sure how people can say the league is being sexiest to boys over girls when their isn’t a boys division till they reach under 16’s.
But the truth never gets told with the new ‘WOKE’ community.
Agree , Marby Park need to issue a Public Apology to the League... How can they possibly be allowed to get away with accusing someone(EDFL) of sexism when that was 100% incorrect. That person(parent) on social media needs to be held accountable also

Why not ask these parents to come along to a meeting, give them a list of the ladders and ask them to fixture in a complete finals series with no penalties to any teams. It may sound like an easy job ( fixturing games ) until you have to do it yourself.
This may help them understand how hard it is.
All these people have the problem but never have the answer.
They should stick to blogging about stilettos, cooking and menopause

Why not ask these parents to come along to a meeting, give them a list of the ladders and ask them to fixture in a complete finals series with no penalties to any teams. It may sound like an easy job ( fixturing games ) until you have to do it yourself.
This may help them understand how hard it is.
All these people have the problem but never have the answer.
They should stick to blogging about stilettos, cooking and menopause
Agreed. Been an absolute disgrace what those parents have done at Marby. Should be held to account. I note that Sarita and cachia stuck their big heads in without understanding anything which bought momentum to it.

On a note of clubs using whatever means necessary to stay in a particular division, I know a club who entered a completely incorrect score into gameday for Round 5 when they knew it was the last round of grading. Instead of entering the correct score of 92-7 they entered 14-7. I guarantee you if the correct score was entered the would have been moved back to Div 2. Instead they stayed in Div 3 where they have remained undefeated. Interesting the final score shows 14 points but their goal kickers show one boy kicking 3, 2 more kicking 2 and 7 other individual goal kickers. This isn't a "mistake" in score entry but a blatant attempt to remain in a lower division to win a flag. So many kids go to that club because they are seen as being successful.... but nobody can excuse this. Hope they enjoy their plastic premiership.

On SM-N985F using BigFooty.com mobile app

so 1 week of juniors remains, atm, until dan gives us another week! so does that mean all juniors are now at the stage of 1v2 Grand finals for the weekend of the 22nd?? if we get out of lockdown before then?? will the EDFL tell anyone....

Agreed. Been an absolute disgrace what those parents have done at Marby. Should be held to account. I note that Sarita and cachia stuck their big heads in without understanding anything which bought momentum to it.

On a note of clubs using whatever means necessary to stay in a particular division, I know a club who entered a completely incorrect score into gameday for Round 5 when they knew it was the last round of grading. Instead of entering the correct score of 92-7 they entered 14-7. I guarantee you if the correct score was entered the would have been moved back to Div 2. Instead they stayed in Div 3 where they have remained undefeated. Interesting the final score shows 14 points but their goal kickers show one boy kicking 3, 2 more kicking 2 and 7 other individual goal kickers. This isn't a "mistake" in score entry but a blatant attempt to remain in a lower division to win a flag. So many kids go to that club because they are seen as being successful.... but nobody can excuse this. Hope they enjoy their plastic premiership.

On SM-N985F using BigFooty.com mobile app
To be fair Sarita’s daughter is playing in that team.
If you look at the scores the top 2 teams in that division are so much better that Marby who will finish 3rd wouldn’t get within 5 goals of Strathmore in 2nd. Which equates to a 10-15 goal win in senior footy.

If lockdown doesn’t end by next Sunday I’m guessing all junior finals may be called off or maybe just a 1 v 2 GF but unlikely.
The EDFL just don’t have the required umpires to have all the GF’s on the same day that’s why they have to stagger them. Plus senior finals start in 2 weeks and that’s Saturday & Sunday stretching resources even further.

surely for kids finals they could use club umps? Better that and 1v2 GF than nothing at all

maybe put volunteers in a pool and send them to other grounds? Don’t know just thinking outside the box here
Short of umpires? how?? there are 4 games a week in most divisions, If that is now 1 - there is more than enough umpires, and only the better ones at that - the league spreads the GF's out over 2 weeks to ensure they have enough grounds with fencing to take gate takings, thats it! and perhaps get the some of the same people to go each week.
Junior season is done - least they got to play 11 rounds this year, 11 more than last year

EDFL Juniors