EDFL moves

litening said:
Like to know peoples thoughts on the finals system.....

An A & B grade top 6 - finals footy brings in the big crowds and an extra couple of weeks of finals would be terriffic - a grade especially is over too quick.....:thumbsu:

A top 6 out of a 10 team grade does not sit well with me

Barts said:
So why does the EDFL site have: Under 18 R Gordon Doutta Stars Abuse, Assaulting & Striking Umpire - 7 years ????

Misprint or have you got your facts wrong?

East Keilor player i think it was Wittmar got 6 weeks last year for abusing and pushing an umpire so he (doutta U18) must have done something very bad

Hard Ball Get said:
Some conflicting stories here.
Anyone actually there?
If this one is true then he deserves more than 7 years. He deserves life.

If he simply grabed the ump then I think the 7 year punishment is adequate.
my mate was at the game and saw the whole thing.

molly99 said:
110% champ!

So why didnt you go AJ? Could these clubs not supply enough Hot Dogs and pies? That was a flattering pic of you in the paper the other day. Still enjoy a bourbon or 60? And how is the champ of a younger bro going? Will he be part of the superstar package that is the James family?:thumbsu: :cool: :cool:

mcphee_is_a_gun said:
He threw a punch but the ump ducked so he didnt actually make contact.

What a load of rubbish! He did not throw or attempt to throw a punch.

I saw with my own two eyes and have also spoken to the player himself since then.

I am not defending his actions, what he did was wrong, but just making sure everyone knows the truth.

As for the newspapers and websites claiming he "struck" the umpire, that is pure bullsh*t.

Everyone's tips for the weekend.

WC v Pacco - WC i hope because Marbi will be better suited playing them than Pacco. WC haven't got the runners to go with Marbi, the week of will definately assist and WC's bigger bodies will suffer on the biggest stage. Good luck to both teams, i think that WC with their backs against the wall (play their best footy) will get up, a completey different side if Rabee plays - the premier midfielder in both grades i reckon.
DS v Greenvale - Very very tough to pick a winner here, even more so given Douttas couple of injuries last week. Will Toddy Peel get a guernsey?
Do Douttas have enough strength down back if GV setup with Paxman, Georgie, Budge, Smith and Co. I'll tip Douttas just even though Lenne will have a day out, i think Carey will kick a half D.

Good luck to invloved!!!

mcphee_is_a_gun said:
He threw a punch but the ump ducked so he didnt actually make contact.

he did not that is a pure b*llsh*t how would the umpire duck, all he did was grab the umpires jumper and shake him that is it NO PUNCHES thrown get your facts right before you mouth off boys:thumbsdown:

mcphee_is_a_gun said:
my mate was at the game and saw the whole thing.

your mate must have had his eyes closed, if he threw a punch he would have been given life and put up on assualt charges thus he got 7 years

obviously not a gun your mate is he:thumbsdown:

Canna7 said:
What a load of rubbish! He did not throw or attempt to throw a punch.

I saw with my own two eyes and have also spoken to the player himself since then.

I am not defending his actions, what he did was wrong, but just making sure everyone knows the truth.

As for the newspapers and websites claiming he "struck" the umpire, that is pure bullsh*t.

He did not intentionally hit the umpire – he grabbed him and shook him 3 times. But when pulling a person backwards and forwards with clenched fists your bound to make contact! He never had any intentions to hit him. Hope that clears everything up.

The G Ghost said:
Most wonderfully put Abers, his eloquent use of the english languauge, and wording is definately something to behold.:D

what is this the vafa forum where you have to reduce yourself to mocking a person for how fluently they can write?

bricksta said:
he did not that is a pure b*llsh*t how would the umpire duck, all he did was grab the umpires jumper and shake him that is it NO PUNCHES thrown get your facts right before you mouth off boys:thumbsdown:

ALL HE DID???

well he should have got off then, Are there bricks in your head or what?
open the other eye Bricksta,

bricksta said:

So the 7 years is deserved then.
If he threw a punch as some claim, even if he didnt make contact, then he deserved life.
If no punch was thrown the 7 years is a decent enough punishment. Possibly could have been more but no less.
We need to take a zero tollerance on this stuff.
Same should be happening for king hits but what are the chances of that:rolleyes:

litening said:
G Ghost......definately is spelt definitely, if you want to really be petty....;) :thumbsu:
Yeah sorry Litening, got a bit carried away with the typing. That's why I don't play the piano - fat fingers !:D