EDFL moves

The little mad face is because from reports out of apw everyone down there was saying he'll be gone for 4 or 5 games turns out thats all he played !:thumbsu: don't really care that much just thought apw would of been a little bit dissapointed

I think the supporters were disappointed, but the coaches and players closer to the action weren't too surprised and i guess couldn't dwell on it with finals looming....!!

Yeh spot on i suppose if he's gone he's gone apw got on well without him thru some good young blokes makes you think what a difference he might of made come finals time :thumbsu:

Its fair to say that the young blokes would have walked a little taller in the finals. Should have beaten pacco but WC would have been a different story.....all in the past now.

Simple fact is with the same side, including Mercuri, Eaton, Cacapardo (injured) and Gatt (suspended), it would be safe to say APW will play finals in 07...!

Its fair to say that the young blokes would have walked a little taller in the finals. Should have beaten pacco but WC would have been a different story.....all in the past now.

Simple fact is with the same side, including Mercuri, Eaton, Cacapardo (injured) and Gatt (suspended), it would be safe to say APW will play finals in 07...!

Seems like apw have got a good mix down there of older blokes and young blokes . with those inclusions and all the young blokes set to stay , if the younger blokes can take another step up sounds like apw might be a big show this year , barring injuries etc. Exciting time to be a part of apw i reckon ! :D :thumbsu:

can any tell me if ther's any truth to the rumour abouut "a-train" Thomas and brendon "salty" trebilcock getting caught with their hands in the till after a cricket match 2 weeks ago and salt spending it all the skyways pokies

That wouldnt be six bums from riddells creek would it? i heard your arse has got that big this off season that they had to put a new interchange bench for you to sit on.
icon10.gif

That wouldnt be six bums from riddells creek would it? i heard your arse has got that big this off season that they had to put a new interchange bench for you to sit on.
icon10.gif
no spud it wouldn't be but can you confirm the rumour about the boys getting caught with their hands in the till?

Is Aaron Thomas not playing this year at Strathmore ??? Aaron has an exceptional talent for basketball. Apparently he has shown a keen interest by approaching the Sunbury Basketball Club about the possibility of him representing them in the VBL. There is not way he could commit to both programs. Wonder whether the super coach knows of this ??

There is truth to that rumor i ran into the A train on sunday night he has been training flat out for basketball but he still has a month on his suspension. Dont think he would leave the mores he loves it there

no spud it wouldn't be but can you confirm the rumour about the boys getting caught with their hands in the till?

Not true they have already got enough off strathmore. what can you tell me about lee james i heard a great rumor about him

Don't know the bloke personally, we tried to get him this year but apparently has headed murray way

Mark Zucco looks like another KP player moving over to Keilor for 07.....!!

Wouldn't be that big a surprise - good mates with Damian Zahra went to school together along with a few others at Keilor. I haven't seen EDFL A grade in a while, but I know Zucs and is a very handy player - will he slot in well at Keilor? I haven't seen Keilor play since Todd McHardy was there so I have no idea what they're like these days.

The little mad face is because from reports out of apw everyone down there was saying he'll be gone for 4 or 5 games turns out thats all he played !:thumbsu: don't really care that much just thought apw would of been a little bit dissapointed

Mercs was a huge bonus to the APW football club.He was never going to be the prime recruit but his presence gave the whole club an enormous boost in many ways.He played for peanuts and gave the club's younger brigade someone to look up to. The same can be said for guy's like Barclay, Martin,Collier,Verrall and Pappa.These player's are at the club for the right reasons and will play a huge part in the future of the APW footy club! I just hope that others follow in their footsteps and we may see a club work their way into the A Grade competition in the near future without having to fork out big dollars. Never have been a fan of buying one day wonders and I hope that trend continues.Give us another season Mercs.I don't think you realise just how much our club appreciated your presence:thumbsu:

:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: Nuff said well done eagle spoken for everyone there !

Originally Posted by mcphee_is_a_gun
Anyone know if an extra division of 18's has been aproved or not yet?

Total rubbish Thru Da Lines. There may be enough A & B grade clubs available as you suggest, but very little catered towards this age group. The reality is 16s to 18s is a big leap, but 18s to Seniors quite another for some players. The EDFL Annual General Meeting is tomorrow - Wednesday (6/12) at 7.00pm which is to be attended by all Club representatives (Presidents and Secretaries).

For your information, all club chairmans were invited to a President's Forum held at League headquarters on October 25. One of the agenda items was the possibility of an Under 17 side which would actually be deemed Under 18-Division 3. The EDFL indicated it would need more than or a minimum of 6 teams to make it viable and the likely indication at that time was that 8 clubs were going to vote YES on December 6 (when it finally goes to vote and will be decided on the night).

The EDFL Board was convened to its most recent meeting to make a recommendation to the member clubs. Also, all EDFL clubs were asked to register an "Expression of interest" in this additional team with the club entry forms which were due to be lodged on November 15th. Take it from someone in the know... since that time only 4 clubs had offered the go-ahead at that stage. Unless player numbers have dramatically increased and clubs have had a violent change of heart then take it from me it will NOT be happening!

Did anyone go to the AGM? if so was the under 18's division 3 ruled out? or did more clubs come to the party?

Did anyone go to the AGM? if so was the Under 18's Division 3 ruled out or did more clubs come to the party?

The subject was on the agenda. Five clubs are willing for it to go ahead, which according to the EDFL is one less than the numbers they believe needed for a viable comp. They have "closed the books" on the subject until February/March just in case numbers improve and will obvioulsy bring it up in the next President's and Secretaries meeting.

I see that as highly unlikely as a Board Member told me that of the five only 2 or 3 in actuality currently have the player numbers. Remember the five nominating clubs were only giving "an expression of interest".

More disconcerting at the end of the night was the EDFL President's thought that with the state of grounds due to water restrictions, there is a very real possibility of a shortened season. ie. possibly a ten week competition. A decision won't be made until closer to April 07 but it's looking grim. Let's hope there's plenty of rain over the summer!

The subject was on the agenda. Five clubs are willing for it to go ahead, which according to the EDFL is one less than the numbers they believe needed for a viable comp. They have "closed the books" on the subject until February/March just in case numbers improve and will obvioulsy bring it up in the next President's and Secretaries meeting.

I see that as highly unlikely as a Board Member told me that of the five only 2 or 3 in actuality currently have the player numbers. Remember the five nominating clubs were only giving "an expression of interest".

More disconcerting at the end of the night was the EDFL President's thought that with the state of grounds due to water restrictions, there is a very real possibility of a shortened season. ie. possibly a ten week competition. A decision won't be made until closer to April 07 but it's looking grim. Let's hope there's plenty of rain over the summer!

Well lets all pray for rain or we will all have to start playing netball !:D :D

Thanks for the info mate, its greatly appreciated :thumbsu: