EDFL moves

lets get a couple of points straight.

1.no police (CORRECT)
2.no ambulance (CORRECT)
3.no king hit 100m off the ball (CORRECT)
4.contact was high and late, Zerafa had just got rid of the ball (OBVIOUSLY, WAY LATE & SMASHED IN THE BACK OF THE HEAD)
5.no-one could have controlled what happened (IF HADFIELD WEREN'T GOIN G CHEAPS SHOTS EARLY)

6.no mention of the Hadfield bench, water boy or crowd getting involved
(TWO OF THERE BENCH RAN ONTO GROUND INTO MELEE & ONE GOT ABSOLUTELY BELTED BY NUMBER 18. HE WENT DOWN IN HIS TRACKSUIT JACKET & HIS COACH RAN ON PICKED HIM OFF AND GOT HIM OFF.

7.incident was not good,, there is no doubt about that
TRAGIC. BUT A FRIEND OF MINE FROM APW SAID THEY WERE INTIMIDATED THE WEEK BEFORE BY HADFIELD.\

MARBY PUNCHED HADFILED UP, FINAL STORY!!!
TALL AFRO BLOKES HAD HIS NOSE SMASHED IN BY BIG BLOKE FROM MARBY.
GARBUTT GAVE A BEAUTIFUL RIGHT TO SOME BLOKE (NUMBER 10) WHO WAS SNIPING FROM BEHIND. DALTON HAD NUMBER 4 PINNED ON THE GROUND.

I DON'T SUPPORT ANY OF THESE TEAMS, BUT IT WAS OBVIOUS TO ME THAT HADFIELD STARTED IT AND MARBY PARK FINISHED IT.

SCARY TO SEE HOW KNOCKED OUT ZERAFA WAS.
THAT ROC HARRY (SMALL FELLA) IS BRILLIANT. ZIROS (OAKERS BOY) WAS ON FIRE ALSO. THEY HAD THIS QUICK BLOKE 'FRASER' AT MARBY WHO WAS VERY IMPRESSIVE AND SOME FORWARD BLOKE WHO KICKED ABOUT 10, THAT WAS BRILLIANT.
HADFIELD STILL HAD A FEW YOUNG BLOKES WHO PLAYED GOOD FOOTBALL.

Zerafa was king hit behind play, that what caused the all in brawl, Haddy players got there just deserves. Of course poor poor Hadfield are not saying it was not a king hit. :rolleyes:

Situation did not help when the one of the umpires was young 17/18 yeras old if that.
My north you are a fool, you only need to ask players from both sides who were down the ground and they will tell you that it was a hip and shoulder but high. Because the ball was cleared so quickly, most spectators, including myself didnt notice Zerafa go down and when there was only a few players around it looked like he had been kinged.
Unfortunately, there was then spectulation from the sidelines and advice given to certain players on who had kinged Zerafa.

Either way both clubs are in a lot of trouble and it was extremely ugly

My north you are a fool, you only need to ask players from both sides who were down the ground and they will tell you that it was a hip and shoulder but high. Because the ball was cleared so quickly, most spectators, including myself didnt notice Zerafa go down and when there was only a few players around it looked like he had been kinged.
Unfortunately, there was then spectulation from the sidelines and advice given to certain players on who had kinged Zerafa.

Either way both clubs are in a lot of trouble and it was extremely ugly
Geez boys who gives a shit about the bgrade floggers get on the latest news how is anybody gonna compete against Sunbury next year yep thats right their application arrived at the EDFL last friday you want ugly wait until next year when we all got go up and play Scumbury they will make crazyburn look like angels hey hows thats they stuffed the riddell and ballarat leagues and now there coming to the edfl to do the same.

R we predicted lengthy suspensions for any-one in particular ???

Sounds impossible to single any single certain players out.

Will the Melee fines / sanctions be imposed ???

R we predicted lengthy suspensions for any-one in particular ???

Sounds impossible to single any single certain players out.

Will the Melee fines / sanctions be imposed ???

After the EDFL's inept handling of last years A Grade prelim brawlathon which resulted in no suspensions, I wouldn't be surprised if they just do their 3 wise monkeys trick and pretend it never happened.

surely massive fines will be handed out....nothin marby cant afford but....does anyone know if their was actually any reports laid or as usual people get off scot free

I challenge anyone to accurately make a report when you have 20+ players and spectators fighting. It is easy looking on from 50+metres.
The perfect example is that no-one can definitively say how Zerafa was hit!
We can all make wild accusations, but conclusive? No!

I challenge anyone to accurately make a report when you have 20+ players and spectators fighting. It is easy looking on from 50+metres.
The perfect example is that no-one can definitively say how Zerafa was hit!
We can all make wild accusations, but conclusive? No!

Understand what your getting at and agree it would be impossible for ALL offending players to be identified but surely the main contributors can. Isn't that part of the umpires job?? Often umpires get caught up in trying to stop the fight rather than do there job and either get the ball moving (clearly not an option here) or taking reports as necessary. There must be a deterrent for this kind of behavior.... As mentioned earlier, the inaction after the A grade prelim last year was laughable! :rolleyes:

I hope the Drebster didnt see all of this unfold..........would have broken his heart............:thumbsdown:

Doutta Stars would like to announce the appointment of their new HPM for Season 2007 - Steven Smith. Steven will provide his unquestioned expertise in the field of High Performance Management. Steven has put together some cutting edge technology to provide Doutta Stars with an important edge over this season's competitors. Programs involving rehabilitation and training will be put in place by Steven to ensure Players will be at the ultimate playing levels come match-day. Combined with his unparalleled High Performance programs, Steven's experience in both the business & dietary fields will ensure Doutta Stars are a force in 2007 and beyond. Please join us in welcoming Steven aboard.

Has this bloke been sacked or what?

Geez boys who gives a shit about the bgrade floggers get on the latest news how is anybody gonna compete against Sunbury next year yep thats right their application arrived at the EDFL last friday you want ugly wait until next year when we all got go up and play Scumbury they will make crazyburn look like angels hey hows thats they stuffed the riddell and ballarat leagues and now there coming to the edfl to do the same.

they cant be coming straight into our comp and into a-grade can they??
surely cragieburn and jacana wouldnt be happy about that...although Jacana probably should just be happy that they are still surviving!

i heard whispers that the b-grade winner will go upto a-grade aswell as Sunbury making it a 12 team a-grade....the only problem is that Keilor Park probably wont be coming down if it goes that way.

what have others heard/know?

I wasnt at the game on sat but the league need to have a good look at the age of umpires at games some of these kids are to young to control situations like this and they are putting young kids at risk

surely cragieburn and jacana wouldnt be happy about that...although Jacana probably should just be happy that they are still surviving!

i heard whispers that the b-grade winner will go upto a-grade aswell as Sunbury making it a 12 team a-grade....the only problem is that Keilor Park probably wont be coming down if it goes that way.

Is anyone basing these 'whispers' on any reliable source?? Surely the league doesn't need another club?? What would Sunbury be bringing to the table to sell themselves?? - Best fight in a grand final?? Most league changes by a single club? All they would do is increase the petrol bill for each club.....

Wouldn't it be a similar process that Heidelberg went through trying to get to Eastern League?? The clubs had a say in that decision and no one wanted them, would think the same would occur here.

Ill clear something up, a close relative is the development manager of Sunbury junior footy club and what has to happen for Sunbury to play senior footy in the EDFL the junior club (which is a seperate affiliate) must commit to moving their teams to the EDFL. The process as I understand it would be Sunbury Junior A grade teams (Sunbury has up to 3 teams in each age group) would move across to the EDFL competition and the remaining B and C grade teams would play in the Riddel league, in saying this the parents from of the kids playing at Sunbury must agree to the move.

Alot has to happen but I do get the feeling after chatting to a few people on the weekend that the Junior footy club and Senior footy club will pretty much merge to form the 1 club to enable the senior football club to play in the EDFL. I think Sunbury footy club as a whole see the benefits of moving to the EDFL, the junior teams are all classy and would help with their development playing against different opposition and the senior team would obviouslt benefit as they seem to have run their race in the BFL, which in fact they have been a force in since day dot winning more premierships and having a better winninf % than anyother team since commiting to the league.

I do have the understanding though that Sunbury will enter B grade to start with if they HAVE TO, however I am sure they will apply to be granted entry into A grade. Really I dont see the point in the EDFL shoving Sunbury into B grade, the season would be a write off, it would be a practise run for them during the year and other sides would be their only to make up the numbers, it would be a similiar scenario to Marby this year. Expanding the EDFL A grade comp needs to happen, the league has grown a heap over the last 2-3 years and it needs to take its natural progression and expand the comp on all fronts. 2 more rounds, longer finals series and a 12 team competition, you could almost in fact have a 3 tier competition.

It will be interesting to see if all the Sunbury boys running around the EDFL and WRFL will head back to the footy club, I know a big reason why alot dont play their is the Ballarat and travelling issue. I know though when they do enter the EDFL 1 thing they wont accept is 2nd, it will be a huge boost to both league and club.

Ill clear something up, a close relative is the development manager of Sunbury junior footy club and what has to happen for Sunbury to play senior footy in the EDFL the junior club (which is a seperate affiliate) must commit to moving their teams to the EDFL. The process as I understand it would be Sunbury Junior A grade teams (Sunbury has up to 3 teams in each age group) would move across to the EDFL competition and the remaining B and C grade teams would play in the Riddel league, in saying this the parents from of the kids playing at Sunbury must agree to the move.

Alot has to happen but I do get the feeling after chatting to a few people on the weekend that the Junior footy club and Senior footy club will pretty much merge to form the 1 club to enable the senior football club to play in the EDFL. I think Sunbury footy club as a whole see the benefits of moving to the EDFL, the junior teams are all classy and would help with their development playing against different opposition and the senior team would obviouslt benefit as they seem to have run their race in the BFL, which in fact they have been a force in since day dot winning more premierships and having a better winninf % than anyother team since commiting to the league.

I do have the understanding though that Sunbury will enter B grade to start with if they HAVE TO, however I am sure they will apply to be granted entry into A grade. Really I dont see the point in the EDFL shoving Sunbury into B grade, the season would be a write off, it would be a practise run for them during the year and other sides would be their only to make up the numbers, it would be a similiar scenario to Marby this year. Expanding the EDFL A grade comp needs to happen, the league has grown a heap over the last 2-3 years and it needs to take its natural progression and expand the comp on all fronts. 2 more rounds, longer finals series and a 12 team competition, you could almost in fact have a 3 tier competition.

It will be interesting to see if all the Sunbury boys running around the EDFL and WRFL will head back to the footy club, I know a big reason why alot dont play their is the Ballarat and travelling issue. I know though when they do enter the EDFL 1 thing they wont accept is 2nd, it will be a huge boost to both league and club.

This is all well and good and it sounds like your a 'reliable' source.;) BUT you speak a lot about how much it will help Sunbury and how good it would be for them etc, but still there must be a chance for the EDFL clubs to have their say????
All clubs would have reasons to protect themselves from a further 'super' club. SM and GV as they wanna be the powerhouses. Keilor cause they've always been there abouts. AH, Crazyburn, WC and DS because they're not far off!! Throw in Marby Park too....
Sunbury would create another hurdle for all these clubs acheiving their goals. I can't see them allowing it without a fight.
It may be a great thing from a league point of view but I can't see the clubs getting on board.:confused:

Sunbury football club has pokie machines.This would be a a concern for the EDFL as it would give a clear advantage to get players to Sunbury.
Also if they were to come in, they would start in B grade.
SO STAY AT SCUMBURG YOU DOGS.:thumbsdown:

The best deterent the league could come up with from last years brawl was to introduce a melee fine of $100. The same fine applies to juniors (U14's has been discussed on this thread) and seniors, you have to be f****king joking.
They have penalised the clubs, made themselves feel better that they have been seen to have done something but the fact is they have achieved nothing but increase their bank account.
And these are the blokes that we have steering the league and have the vision for the future.
I am frustrated for all clubs that have been stung with melee fines this season when there has only been a push & shove. The league has been brought into disrepute but these clubs will pretty much get off.
The facts are the league boys have no balls it was shown last year & it will be the same again.

The best deterent the league could come up with from last years brawl was to introduce a melee fine of $100. The same fine applies to juniors (U14's has been discussed on this thread) and seniors, you have to be f****king joking.
They have penalised the clubs, made themselves feel better that they have been seen to have done something but the fact is they have achieved nothing but increase their bank account.
And these are the blokes that we have steering the league and have the vision for the future.
I am frustrated for all clubs that have been stung with melee fines this season when there has only been a push & shove. The league has been brought into disrepute but these clubs will pretty much get off.
The facts are the league boys have no balls it was shown last year & it will be the same again.
Its only B grade shit.Enjoy next year Sunbury.....:eek:

Sunbury football club has pokie machines.This would be a a concern for the EDFL as it would give a clear advantage to get players to Sunbury.
Also if they were to come in, they would start in B grade.
SO STAY AT SCUMBURG YOU DOGS.:thumbsdown:

They pay out a fair bit but my sources say it wouldn't be in the same league as Strathmore's match payments.

B grade would be where they should start in the EDFL. They shouldn't be there for any more than a year though.

The petrol bill is not a concern for anyone except Sunbury. It would only be once a year that you travel to Sunbury and you get another quality team in the EDFL. I think it's a good move.

They pay out a fair bit but my sources say it wouldn't be in the same league as Strathmore's match payments.

B grade would be where they should start in the EDFL. They shouldn't be there for any more than a year though.

The petrol bill is not a concern for anyone except Sunbury. It would only be once a year that you travel to Sunbury and you get another quality team in the EDFL. I think it's a good move.

You blokes are gonna get a rude shock if you think going to Craigieburn is a pain in the ass with the ground and supporters. Sunbury would be almost impossible to win at, you would have a population of close to 40k supporting the 1 team on a Saturday arvo, and playing on that big oval will present big problems for opposition teams. It will be good to play against them next year, as hard a side physically as you will come across at any level of footy.

So will you be playing in the EDFL next year tige? Whats happened to Red Hills?

Hey Right On you mentioned that Sunbury has pokies well pokies usually means fat tracksuit,mocasin wearing,Horizon smoking middle aged women so would this mean you would hang around for a while after the game when the Stars play up there ;) you filthy barstard :D